Chevron Left
Paradoxes of War(으)로 돌아가기

프린스턴 대학교의 Paradoxes of War 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
593개의 평가
127개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The Paradoxes of War teaches us to understand that war is not only a normal part of human existence, but is arguably one of the most important factors in making us who we are. Through this course, I hope that you will come to appreciate that war is both a natural expression of common human emotions and interactions and a constitutive part of how we cohere as groups. That is, war is paradoxically an expression of our basest animal nature and the exemplar of our most vaunted and valued civilized virtues. You will learn some basic military history and sociology in this course as a lens for the more important purpose of seeing the broader social themes and issues related to war. I want you to both learn about war, but more importantly, use it as way of understanding your everyday social world. So, for example, the discussion of war and gender will serve to start you thinking about how expectations of masculinity are created and our discussion of nationalism will make clear how easy “us-them” dichotomies can be established and (ab)used. I will suggest some readings for you to complement the class and assign some activities through which you will be able to apply the theoretical insights from the course to your observations of everyday life. At the end of the course, you will start to see war everywhere and come to appreciate how much it defines our life. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

최상위 리뷰

DW

Mar 15, 2018

Very interesting topic and well-presented, too. Covers virtually every historic period in which there's been warfare (which, I guess, is every historic period in which there's been people).

AM

Jan 28, 2019

Lovely course. Wonderful understanding of the Professor about War and its related implications. Thank you Professor. For the first time I fully understood the horror of holocaust.

필터링 기준:

Paradoxes of War의 127개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Pere T

Oct 08, 2017

It's a very interesting perspective of the war.

교육 기관: Patrick L

Nov 08, 2015

Very interesting and very well taught.

교육 기관: Oleg V K

May 12, 2016

It very interesting MOOC and quite unique of it's kind. It's good MOOC for everyone who want to get deep vision of history, it highlight and studies wars in a unique and very interesting way.

교육 기관: Christophe A M C B

Aug 25, 2015

A fantastic course if you want to realy understand what is to be a soldier.

교육 기관: Angela J

Oct 31, 2016

Fantastic course on war by a professor who is passionate, articulate, and very focused in his effort to provide primer material on such a wide and complex topic. Thanks very much for creating this course! I've learnt a ton.

교육 기관: JOHN Q

Jan 25, 2016

As a 24 yr military officer from a service academy I would like to complement the instructor......He is doing a great job, especially given no military service and direct experience in battle. I complement him.

교육 기관: Elizabeth S

Jun 29, 2016

Paradoxes of War was maybe one of the most interesting course I've enrolled in Coursera.

I can say for sure that I've learned a lot via Prof. Miguel Centeno through all those weeks. I admire him for his passion and his knowledge. I was really surprised to watch how many things he knows about Ancient Greek history and Mythology and most of all I was really pleased to listen to him using a great deal of "hellenic vocabulary". That amazed me!

I would like to thank him personally about this course.

I am looking forward to take another class of yours again in the future.

Thank you!

Elizabeth (Greece)

교육 기관: Jack K R

Jan 18, 2016

Well worth your time in hearing first hand from combat veterans. " War What is it Good For?" an excellent book that is thought provoking, it covers a lot of the material that is discussed throughout the course.

교육 기관: William A K

Oct 23, 2015

Professor is very engaging.

교육 기관: George H

Sep 06, 2016

An in-depth course on what war is!!!

교육 기관: Swen L

Mar 09, 2017

Interesting approach and good overview of the long history and development of the Western way of war.

A bit of a gap between the long historical development lines up until WW2 and the the last lectures about more recent events.

교육 기관: Kateryna K

Feb 06, 2018

great course! the only thing I could advice to change is to make the course a bit shorter, a more compact

교육 기관: Francesc B G

Aug 26, 2015

Incedible structure and professor, an absolute must for everyone to understand war as an expression of humman being

교육 기관: Mariya G

Aug 11, 2017

Well-structured and organised course! I would recommend it to my colleagues.

교육 기관: Timothy

Jun 12, 2018

Thank you, Miguel. I watched your videos with great interest. You and I are the same age so it was interesting hearing your perspectives on things. I have spent most of my life in the Defense industry, both in uniform and now as a contractor. While having never served in combat or seen it from up close, I found your research and application of the sociological aspects of war on a civilization as extraordinarily fascinating. Thank you! Tim

교육 기관: Arianne L

Jul 28, 2016

Great course! Good, clear and well structured lectures and interesting readings. Although much of the information in the course was not new to me, the course taught me several new viewpoints and that was really nice. Thank you for providing this course and for the effort!

교육 기관: Madeleine W

Mar 09, 2017

Really interesting course which allows for new insights.

교육 기관: Patrick P

Jul 03, 2017

One of the best introductory courses. For a thoroughly understanding of the subject matter, you do need to read the additional texts (I would even recommend not only the given chapters, but the whole books).

교육 기관: Sinjini D

Mar 02, 2017

Its a wonderful course and shows the dynamics of war

교육 기관: Gilberto O S

Oct 13, 2015

Very interesting topics about war and human history are analyzed in this course. Very recommended.

교육 기관: Mladen V

Aug 16, 2015

Nice course with broad overview, appropriate to wide audience concern to warfare, politics, defense and security. Also, literature is very interesting and suggested books have reasonable price. Topics of discussions are inspiring and ingratiating. Teaching style is relaxed, well pointed and very interesting.

교육 기관: Manuela E

Oct 08, 2015

This was a very interesting course - clearly presented and well paced. The assignments were at a good level - with my only recommendation being a bit more detail in the marking rubrik.

Thank you - it was a thought provoking analysis on a topic that could be very emotional.

교육 기관: Thomasybruce

Aug 14, 2015

Highly informtative, relevant and has been useful in cross study with other modern state of war studies, such as Terrorism and Counter Terrorism studies.

교육 기관: Maren M

Aug 20, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed the course. Professor Centeno guided us through history to show that even wars can make some positive contributions to societies and to soldiers. You do not have to agree with him to notice that he is a very good online lecturer. It was my first MOOC where I felt I'm in an auditorium and not at my computer.

교육 기관: Harun A

Feb 15, 2016

A well structured programme that adds a more informed perspective to current events.