Chevron Left
Paradoxes of War(으)로 돌아가기

프린스턴 대학교의 Paradoxes of War 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
581개의 평가
125개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The Paradoxes of War teaches us to understand that war is not only a normal part of human existence, but is arguably one of the most important factors in making us who we are. Through this course, I hope that you will come to appreciate that war is both a natural expression of common human emotions and interactions and a constitutive part of how we cohere as groups. That is, war is paradoxically an expression of our basest animal nature and the exemplar of our most vaunted and valued civilized virtues. You will learn some basic military history and sociology in this course as a lens for the more important purpose of seeing the broader social themes and issues related to war. I want you to both learn about war, but more importantly, use it as way of understanding your everyday social world. So, for example, the discussion of war and gender will serve to start you thinking about how expectations of masculinity are created and our discussion of nationalism will make clear how easy “us-them” dichotomies can be established and (ab)used. I will suggest some readings for you to complement the class and assign some activities through which you will be able to apply the theoretical insights from the course to your observations of everyday life. At the end of the course, you will start to see war everywhere and come to appreciate how much it defines our life. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

최상위 리뷰

DW

Mar 15, 2018

Very interesting topic and well-presented, too. Covers virtually every historic period in which there's been warfare (which, I guess, is every historic period in which there's been people).

AM

Jan 28, 2019

Lovely course. Wonderful understanding of the Professor about War and its related implications. Thank you Professor. For the first time I fully understood the horror of holocaust.

필터링 기준:

Paradoxes of War의 125개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Víctor F

Nov 27, 2017

Great lectures and great reading recommendations, i have ordered a couple of books from the bibliography and was not dissappointed.

교육 기관: Anil O

Oct 27, 2015

This course is supling different perspective for people who are interesting war sociology.

교육 기관: Miguel A E

May 15, 2016

Flexible Learning. Communicates directly to us. Intellectual.

교육 기관: Tilen G

Jun 12, 2016

Excellent!

교육 기관: 刘又一

Feb 23, 2016

Bring you into a world of art of war with much better interpretation than Sun Tzu and Machiavelli.

교육 기관: Swen L

Mar 09, 2017

Interesting approach and good overview of the long history and development of the Western way of war.

A bit of a gap between the long historical development lines up until WW2 and the the last lectures about more recent events.

교육 기관: Kateryna K

Feb 06, 2018

great course! the only thing I could advice to change is to make the course a bit shorter, a more compact

교육 기관: Arianne L

Jul 28, 2016

Great course! Good, clear and well structured lectures and interesting readings. Although much of the information in the course was not new to me, the course taught me several new viewpoints and that was really nice. Thank you for providing this course and for the effort!

교육 기관: Sinjini D

Mar 02, 2017

Its a wonderful course and shows the dynamics of war

교육 기관: Francesc B G

Aug 26, 2015

Incedible structure and professor, an absolute must for everyone to understand war as an expression of humman being

교육 기관: Timothy

Jun 12, 2018

Thank you, Miguel. I watched your videos with great interest. You and I are the same age so it was interesting hearing your perspectives on things. I have spent most of my life in the Defense industry, both in uniform and now as a contractor. While having never served in combat or seen it from up close, I found your research and application of the sociological aspects of war on a civilization as extraordinarily fascinating. Thank you! Tim

교육 기관: Madeleine W

Mar 09, 2017

Really interesting course which allows for new insights.

교육 기관: Mariya G

Aug 11, 2017

Well-structured and organised course! I would recommend it to my colleagues.

교육 기관: Patrick P

Jul 03, 2017

One of the best introductory courses. For a thoroughly understanding of the subject matter, you do need to read the additional texts (I would even recommend not only the given chapters, but the whole books).

교육 기관: kittikoon s

Aug 14, 2015

This course has changed my view of war. It's very exciting course!

교육 기관: Maria d L C P

Aug 26, 2015

An incredible course with an amazing instructor. I love everything about it.

교육 기관: Krajc, D

May 29, 2016

Thank you for this brilliant insight about the nature of war. I am now "20.000 leagues" closer to understand the nature of war. In other words "Aha!". Sure, this course isn´t to replace real studies in sociology of warfare. Nevertheless: "How can I know what I say, until I see what I say." --- Thinking, speaking, acting --> makes us ethical blind or brings us to freedom and peace, changing everyday life in peace. Knowing to defend our planet, even to be in war with clashing ideology.

교육 기관: Daniel Z

Jan 05, 2016

Excellent Course with extremely detailed lectures.

교육 기관: Israel E C V

Sep 28, 2016

Amazing!

교육 기관: Laura D I L

Jun 01, 2016

This is an amazing and interesting course. I am really enjoying it, the explanations are clear.

교육 기관: Ricardo P A

Dec 22, 2015

Bom Dia

sou jornalista do terceiro site mais acessado do Brasil nas redes sócias na categoria geopolítica, o nome do meu site e Assuntos Militares ( www.assuntosmilitares.jor.br ) e minha 6 tentativa de finalizar esse curso, que seria de extrema importância a no meu currículo, mais infelizmente não estou conseguindo, gostaria de deixa registrado

Ricardo Pereira Azevedo

Journalist and Photographer

Site Assuntos Militares (Military Affairs)

Find us on Facebook

https://www.facebook.com/assuntosmilitaresbr.

For additional information, visit our website at: www.assuntosmilitares.jor.br

Add our Twitter: https://twitter.com/AssuntoMilitar

Thank you for visiting our website, have a great day!

교육 기관: Harun A

Feb 15, 2016

A well structured programme that adds a more informed perspective to current events.

교육 기관: Claire C

Aug 15, 2015

unexpectedly thought provoking

교육 기관: Andrew J

Oct 17, 2015

W

교육 기관: Michela M

Aug 08, 2016

so far very interesting and masterfully explained