Chevron Left
Paradoxes of War(으)로 돌아가기

프린스턴 대학교의 Paradoxes of War 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
644개의 평가
152개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The Paradoxes of War teaches us to understand that war is not only a normal part of human existence, but is arguably one of the most important factors in making us who we are. Through this course, I hope that you will come to appreciate that war is both a natural expression of common human emotions and interactions and a constitutive part of how we cohere as groups. That is, war is paradoxically an expression of our basest animal nature and the exemplar of our most vaunted and valued civilized virtues. You will learn some basic military history and sociology in this course as a lens for the more important purpose of seeing the broader social themes and issues related to war. I want you to both learn about war, but more importantly, use it as way of understanding your everyday social world. So, for example, the discussion of war and gender will serve to start you thinking about how expectations of masculinity are created and our discussion of nationalism will make clear how easy “us-them” dichotomies can be established and (ab)used. I will suggest some readings for you to complement the class and assign some activities through which you will be able to apply the theoretical insights from the course to your observations of everyday life. At the end of the course, you will start to see war everywhere and come to appreciate how much it defines our life. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

최상위 리뷰

DW

2018년 3월 14일

Very interesting topic and well-presented, too. Covers virtually every historic period in which there's been warfare (which, I guess, is every historic period in which there's been people).

JW

2020년 1월 11일

Great course! This course has provided some great information and proposed some important philosophical questions. I wish there were exams and a certificate to go along with it too.

필터링 기준:

Paradoxes of War의 152개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Manuela E

2015년 10월 8일

This was a very interesting course - clearly presented and well paced. The assignments were at a good level - with my only recommendation being a bit more detail in the marking rubrik.

Thank you - it was a thought provoking analysis on a topic that could be very emotional.

교육 기관: Carolyn S

2016년 6월 2일

This course is entirely riveting and imminently informative, timely, and important. Dr. Centeno is a wonderfully engaging instructor and he does an excellent job of discussing these often difficult, thorny issues with sensitivity, academic acuteness, and balance.

교육 기관: Tracey P

2015년 9월 22일

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and thought it was an excellent introduction to thinking about war from a sociological perspective which picks apart our 'common sense' and 'everyday' understandings. I've also found it a great launchpad for further study.

교육 기관: Gustavo B

2015년 12월 22일

The professor is excellent, great didactic. Good material, readings and pictures to illustrate the course.

I would only suggest to try to not repeat the content on the classes, but I understand he was repeating some topics in order to state some points.

교육 기관: Nathalie v L

2020년 7월 26일

Great course. Studied a lot of history and anthropology and traveled a lot. I really was amazed how this course managed to connect some dots that I had perhaps senses but was unable to vocalize. Really interesting and the professor is very engaging!

교육 기관: Tom H

2015년 9월 4일

I found this course extremely interesting and very informative. I have long been interested in the evolution of society and in particular the advances made by society. The development of the nation state and its institutions was fascinating.

교육 기관: Hải T Q

2020년 7월 21일

As a learner, thank you so much for giving me an overall and thorough view about War. As a Vietnamese, I very much respect your neutral point of view on the Vietnam War. Wish you all the best and hope that you will visit my country some day!

교육 기관: Ricardo P

2016년 7월 11일

Excelente. Ofrece una gran cantidad de elementos teóricos para entender el fenómeno de la guerra. Como historiador militar me resulta muy constructivo conocer la visión sociológica que ayuda a comprender y complementar mis investigaciones.

교육 기관: Swen L

2017년 3월 9일

Interesting approach and good overview of the long history and development of the Western way of war.

A bit of a gap between the long historical development lines up until WW2 and the the last lectures about more recent events.

교육 기관: Dennis V

2016년 7월 17일

Great. Gives very interesting points of view and he enlightens interesting aspects.

I like his style of presentationand and he is very good to understand. If he would do another project with Cousera - I would join.

Thanks!

교육 기관: Angela J

2016년 10월 30일

Fantastic course on war by a professor who is passionate, articulate, and very focused in his effort to provide primer material on such a wide and complex topic. Thanks very much for creating this course! I've learnt a ton.

교육 기관: John C

2022년 1월 12일

This was one of the most enjoyable courses that I have participated in on Coursera. The material was interesting. The instructor was passionate about the material. My classes engaged in lively discussions. Thank you.

교육 기관: JOHN Q

2016년 1월 24일

As a 24 yr military officer from a service academy I would like to complement the instructor......He is doing a great job, especially given no military service and direct experience in battle. I complement him.

교육 기관: Jack K R

2016년 1월 18일

Well worth your time in hearing first hand from combat veterans. " War What is it Good For?" an excellent book that is thought provoking, it covers a lot of the material that is discussed throughout the course.

교육 기관: Patrick P

2017년 7월 3일

One of the best introductory courses. For a thoroughly understanding of the subject matter, you do need to read the additional texts (I would even recommend not only the given chapters, but the whole books).

교육 기관: Sanna H Y

2020년 5월 21일

Absolutely great course, I highly recommend it to everyone! It will definitely deepen your knowledge. The professor's knowledge on the topic is profound and his way of teaching is very clear. Thank you!

교육 기관: Oleg V K

2016년 5월 12일

It very interesting MOOC and quite unique of it's kind. It's good MOOC for everyone who want to get deep vision of history, it highlight and studies wars in a unique and very interesting way.

교육 기관: Joan V P

2021년 10월 2일

One of the best academic experiences I had.

As a soldier I would recomend it to my fellow soldiers and to my civillian friends so they could understand a little better the paradoxes of war.

교육 기관: Daithi M W

2018년 3월 15일

Very interesting topic and well-presented, too. Covers virtually every historic period in which there's been warfare (which, I guess, is every historic period in which there's been people).

교육 기관: Roei

2015년 8월 20일

Fantastic course on a global subject which lay in the core of the human experience. A must have course for any history lovers and geopolitical enthusiatists.

교육 기관: Thomasybruce

2015년 8월 14일

Highly informtative, relevant and has been useful in cross study with other modern state of war studies, such as Terrorism and Counter Terrorism studies.

교육 기관: gigi n

2019년 12월 7일

Well done and well organized. Instructor is an excellent teacher--it feels like you are watching an episode of National Geographic on sociology of war!!

교육 기관: Arkadeep M

2015년 12월 13일

This course has been an eye opening one, clearly giving poignant insights into the life of a soldier, the nature of war and the role of societies in it!

교육 기관: Jose A D D

2021년 2월 9일

Very good course provides, regarding his topics, a concise, precise, clear, and very well documented and supported arguments and background.

교육 기관: Víctor F

2017년 11월 26일

Great lectures and great reading recommendations, i have ordered a couple of books from the bibliography and was not dissappointed.