Chevron Left
Paradoxes of War(으)로 돌아가기

프린스턴 대학교의 Paradoxes of War 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
644개의 평가

강좌 소개

The Paradoxes of War teaches us to understand that war is not only a normal part of human existence, but is arguably one of the most important factors in making us who we are. Through this course, I hope that you will come to appreciate that war is both a natural expression of common human emotions and interactions and a constitutive part of how we cohere as groups. That is, war is paradoxically an expression of our basest animal nature and the exemplar of our most vaunted and valued civilized virtues. You will learn some basic military history and sociology in this course as a lens for the more important purpose of seeing the broader social themes and issues related to war. I want you to both learn about war, but more importantly, use it as way of understanding your everyday social world. So, for example, the discussion of war and gender will serve to start you thinking about how expectations of masculinity are created and our discussion of nationalism will make clear how easy “us-them” dichotomies can be established and (ab)used. I will suggest some readings for you to complement the class and assign some activities through which you will be able to apply the theoretical insights from the course to your observations of everyday life. At the end of the course, you will start to see war everywhere and come to appreciate how much it defines our life. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

최상위 리뷰

DW

2018년 3월 14일

Very interesting topic and well-presented, too. Covers virtually every historic period in which there's been warfare (which, I guess, is every historic period in which there's been people).

JW

2020년 1월 11일

Great course! This course has provided some great information and proposed some important philosophical questions. I wish there were exams and a certificate to go along with it too.

필터링 기준:

Paradoxes of War의 152개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Iskra K

2015년 8월 30일

The course was so helpful. I had the opportunity to develop myself in interesting for me area. Definitely recommend the training.

교육 기관: Ricardo R I

2016년 11월 12일

It's a extended introductory course. Very useful to first understanding about war, history and sociologycal issues related.

교육 기관: Francesc B G

2015년 8월 26일

Incedible structure and professor, an absolute must for everyone to understand war as an expression of humman being

교육 기관: James O

2020년 6월 17일

Enjoyed this very much from start to finish and would highly recommend it from any young military officer.

교육 기관: Kateryna K

2018년 2월 6일

great course! the only thing I could advice to change is to make the course a bit shorter, a more compact

교육 기관: Kshitij K V

2022년 6월 19일

Great course to understand the war, its nuances, and most importantly its effect on shaping societies.

교육 기관: Savannah D

2017년 1월 3일

This is one of my favorite courses I've taken. Its very interesting and I really enjoy the lectures.

교육 기관: Johanna Y

2016년 12월 5일

Just brilliant. After this course you'll get a comprehensive idea of war, and of the society itself.

교육 기관: 刘又一

2016년 2월 23일

Bring you into a world of art of war with much better interpretation than Sun Tzu and Machiavelli.

교육 기관: Gilberto O S

2015년 10월 13일

Very interesting topics about war and human history are analyzed in this course. Very recommended.

교육 기관: Laura D I L

2016년 5월 31일

This is an amazing and interesting course. I am really enjoying it, the explanations are clear.

교육 기관: Anil O

2015년 10월 27일

This course is supling different perspective for people who are interesting war sociology.

교육 기관: Harun A

2016년 2월 15일

A well structured programme that adds a more informed perspective to current events.

교육 기관: Mandhir S

2021년 4월 7일

Excellent course. Really liked the Professors teaching style and knowledge-base.

교육 기관: Henry-Claude B

2019년 2월 28일

I liked a lot this course.

Thank you for your humanism and bravo for yours skills.

교육 기관: Kam L

2021년 6월 5일

Puts a new perspective on how war affects civilization and the future of war.

교육 기관: Mariya G

2017년 8월 11일

Well-structured and organised course! I would recommend it to my colleagues.

교육 기관: Maria d L C P

2015년 8월 26일

An incredible course with an amazing instructor. I love everything about it.

교육 기관: Christophe A M C B

2015년 8월 25일

A fantastic course if you want to realy understand what is to be a soldier.

교육 기관: Olga L

2017년 12월 11일

very interesting view and perspective on a sensitive and difficult subject

교육 기관: Tom B

2018년 10월 21일

Outstanding! Very informative, nonpolitical and thought provoking.

교육 기관: Filippo T

2016년 4월 29일

Really good! Great teacher and very good structure and arguments.

교육 기관: Miguel A E

2016년 5월 15일

Flexible Learning. Communicates directly to us. Intellectual.

교육 기관: Marcel

2021년 7월 31일

Very good course I hope there will be a part2 in the future

교육 기관: Madeleine W

2017년 3월 9일

Really interesting course which allows for new insights.