Chevron Left
Paradoxes of War(으)로 돌아가기

프린스턴 대학교의 Paradoxes of War 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
581개의 평가
125개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The Paradoxes of War teaches us to understand that war is not only a normal part of human existence, but is arguably one of the most important factors in making us who we are. Through this course, I hope that you will come to appreciate that war is both a natural expression of common human emotions and interactions and a constitutive part of how we cohere as groups. That is, war is paradoxically an expression of our basest animal nature and the exemplar of our most vaunted and valued civilized virtues. You will learn some basic military history and sociology in this course as a lens for the more important purpose of seeing the broader social themes and issues related to war. I want you to both learn about war, but more importantly, use it as way of understanding your everyday social world. So, for example, the discussion of war and gender will serve to start you thinking about how expectations of masculinity are created and our discussion of nationalism will make clear how easy “us-them” dichotomies can be established and (ab)used. I will suggest some readings for you to complement the class and assign some activities through which you will be able to apply the theoretical insights from the course to your observations of everyday life. At the end of the course, you will start to see war everywhere and come to appreciate how much it defines our life. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

최상위 리뷰

DW

Mar 15, 2018

Very interesting topic and well-presented, too. Covers virtually every historic period in which there's been warfare (which, I guess, is every historic period in which there's been people).

AM

Jan 28, 2019

Lovely course. Wonderful understanding of the Professor about War and its related implications. Thank you Professor. For the first time I fully understood the horror of holocaust.

필터링 기준:

Paradoxes of War의 125개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Daniel Z

Jan 05, 2016

Excellent Course with extremely detailed lectures.

교육 기관: Claire C

Aug 15, 2015

unexpectedly thought provoking

교육 기관: Andrew J

Oct 17, 2015

W

교육 기관: Israel E C V

Sep 28, 2016

Amazing!

교육 기관: Laura D I L

Jun 01, 2016

This is an amazing and interesting course. I am really enjoying it, the explanations are clear.

교육 기관: Ricardo P A

Dec 22, 2015

Bom Dia

sou jornalista do terceiro site mais acessado do Brasil nas redes sócias na categoria geopolítica, o nome do meu site e Assuntos Militares ( www.assuntosmilitares.jor.br ) e minha 6 tentativa de finalizar esse curso, que seria de extrema importância a no meu currículo, mais infelizmente não estou conseguindo, gostaria de deixa registrado

Ricardo Pereira Azevedo

Journalist and Photographer

Site Assuntos Militares (Military Affairs)

Find us on Facebook

https://www.facebook.com/assuntosmilitaresbr.

For additional information, visit our website at: www.assuntosmilitares.jor.br

Add our Twitter: https://twitter.com/AssuntoMilitar

Thank you for visiting our website, have a great day!

교육 기관: Michela M

Aug 08, 2016

so far very interesting and masterfully explained

교육 기관: Massimiliano

Jan 04, 2016

Ottimo!

교육 기관: Gilberto d S V

Jun 21, 2016

good curse

교육 기관: Joan M V P

Jun 02, 2016

One of the best academic experiences I had.

As a soldier I would recomend it to my fellow soldiers and to my civillian friends so they could understand a little better the paradoxes of war.

교육 기관: Ning J

Mar 29, 2016

Great lectures. The course material spans from ancient warfare and tactics all the way to modern wars that involve atomic bombs and guerrillas. He not only introduces us to the history of western warfare, but more importantly he focuses on the relationship of war and society -- on how wars arise from societal needs or conflicts as well as on how wars shape and transform society. He strikes a good balance between addressing the paradoxes of war and avoiding getting too much in politics and ideologies of war.

교육 기관: Tim J

Aug 29, 2015

Great teacher, very passionate. Cheers from Australia.

교육 기관: Ricardo P

Jul 12, 2016

Excelente. Ofrece una gran cantidad de elementos teóricos para entender el fenómeno de la guerra. Como historiador militar me resulta muy constructivo conocer la visión sociológica que ayuda a comprender y complementar mis investigaciones.

교육 기관: William M

Oct 05, 2017

This is an outstanding course. I was not sure that I would be interested in the topic, but it turned out to be a very interesting course. It is a course about the sociology of war, but it also covers some military history, philosophy of war and psychology of war, which gives it an intriguing interdisciplinary spirit.

교육 기관: Olga L

Dec 11, 2017

very interesting view and perspective on a sensitive and difficult subject

교육 기관: Daniel

Oct 04, 2015

Curso imperdível! O melhor do Coursera até agora!

교육 기관: Gustavo B

Dec 22, 2015

The professor is excellent, great didactic. Good material, readings and pictures to illustrate the course.

I would only suggest to try to not repeat the content on the classes, but I understand he was repeating some topics in order to state some points.

교육 기관: Filippo T

Apr 29, 2016

Really good! Great teacher and very good structure and arguments.

교육 기관: Johanna Y

Dec 05, 2016

Just brilliant. After this course you'll get a comprehensive idea of war, and of the society itself.

교육 기관: Ricardo R I

Nov 12, 2016

It's a extended introductory course. Very useful to first understanding about war, history and sociologycal issues related.

교육 기관: Savannah D

Jan 03, 2017

This is one of my favorite courses I've taken. Its very interesting and I really enjoy the lectures.

교육 기관: Iwo L

Jan 16, 2017

Great toppic, nice optics

교육 기관: Hyunsook K

Aug 20, 2015

This is the best of the best.

교육 기관: Víctor F

Nov 27, 2017

Great lectures and great reading recommendations, i have ordered a couple of books from the bibliography and was not dissappointed.

교육 기관: Anil O

Oct 27, 2015

This course is supling different perspective for people who are interesting war sociology.