Chevron Left
Paradoxes of War(으)로 돌아가기

프린스턴 대학교의 Paradoxes of War 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
600개의 평가
130개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The Paradoxes of War teaches us to understand that war is not only a normal part of human existence, but is arguably one of the most important factors in making us who we are. Through this course, I hope that you will come to appreciate that war is both a natural expression of common human emotions and interactions and a constitutive part of how we cohere as groups. That is, war is paradoxically an expression of our basest animal nature and the exemplar of our most vaunted and valued civilized virtues. You will learn some basic military history and sociology in this course as a lens for the more important purpose of seeing the broader social themes and issues related to war. I want you to both learn about war, but more importantly, use it as way of understanding your everyday social world. So, for example, the discussion of war and gender will serve to start you thinking about how expectations of masculinity are created and our discussion of nationalism will make clear how easy “us-them” dichotomies can be established and (ab)used. I will suggest some readings for you to complement the class and assign some activities through which you will be able to apply the theoretical insights from the course to your observations of everyday life. At the end of the course, you will start to see war everywhere and come to appreciate how much it defines our life. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

최상위 리뷰

JP

Jun 02, 2016

One of the best academic experiences I had.\n\nAs a soldier I would recomend it to my fellow soldiers and to my civillian friends so they could understand a little better the paradoxes of war.

DW

Mar 15, 2018

Very interesting topic and well-presented, too. Covers virtually every historic period in which there's been warfare (which, I guess, is every historic period in which there's been people).

필터링 기준:

Paradoxes of War의 130개 리뷰 중 76~100

교육 기관: Ilandarage i s e k

Aug 09, 2016

detailed, easy to understand

교육 기관: José C G

Sep 21, 2015

Very good .. congratulations

교육 기관: William A

Oct 23, 2015

Professor is very engaging.

교육 기관: Iwo L

Jan 16, 2017

Great toppic, nice optics

교육 기관: Rose G

Mar 28, 2016

Very interesting course

교육 기관: Renato C d S F

Nov 08, 2015

Excellent course!

교육 기관: Alex

Jun 29, 2018

Amazing course!)

교육 기관: Lucijano J

Dec 11, 2015

Very insightful!

교육 기관: cihan a

Aug 02, 2017

Perfect course.

교육 기관: Theodoros E

Aug 15, 2015

Great course!!

교육 기관: JongyongPark

Jan 01, 2017

informative

교육 기관: zichenzheng

Jun 05, 2016

nice course

교육 기관: Gilberto d S V

Jun 21, 2016

good curse

교육 기관: Tilen G

Jun 12, 2016

Excellent!

교육 기관: Michael

Aug 11, 2015

Excellent

교육 기관: Israel E C V

Sep 28, 2016

Amazing!

교육 기관: Massimiliano

Jan 04, 2016

Ottimo!

교육 기관: Ramon p

Jan 12, 2019

V

교육 기관: Madhavi S

Jul 01, 2016

P

교육 기관: christophe v d

Mar 05, 2016

g

교육 기관: Andrew J

Oct 17, 2015

W

교육 기관: Joan E F

Sep 01, 2015

A

교육 기관: David D

Aug 06, 2017

One may surprise oneself in being interested in taking such a course. My experience with this course is highly positive. You learn world history in general over the last 1000 years plus a glimpse into earlier times as shaped by war.

I would say one becomes convinced of the merits of war in shaping society into larger, stable entities and actually encouraging peace and prosperity. Who would have agreed to that before taking this course! Bravo.

교육 기관: Hélio C B

Oct 02, 2015

The passion of Prof. Centeno is contaminating, some of the issues pointed were somewhat new (I have a circle of friends from military profession) and definitely the connection of cultural basis of the society and its capacity to, and way of, fight a war is something that will change my way to see the results of these events in the future.

Thank you very much for this initiative.

교육 기관: Itzhak G

Sep 10, 2015

Very interesting course. The first few weeks are little beat boring, discussing some features that are obvious, but as the course continues the questions become more untresting, especially those which concern war with politics. As a whole it is a very good course, which gives the student a broad understandung of the issue. recommended!!