Chevron Left
Paradoxes of War(으)로 돌아가기

프린스턴 대학교의 Paradoxes of War 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
581개의 평가
125개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The Paradoxes of War teaches us to understand that war is not only a normal part of human existence, but is arguably one of the most important factors in making us who we are. Through this course, I hope that you will come to appreciate that war is both a natural expression of common human emotions and interactions and a constitutive part of how we cohere as groups. That is, war is paradoxically an expression of our basest animal nature and the exemplar of our most vaunted and valued civilized virtues. You will learn some basic military history and sociology in this course as a lens for the more important purpose of seeing the broader social themes and issues related to war. I want you to both learn about war, but more importantly, use it as way of understanding your everyday social world. So, for example, the discussion of war and gender will serve to start you thinking about how expectations of masculinity are created and our discussion of nationalism will make clear how easy “us-them” dichotomies can be established and (ab)used. I will suggest some readings for you to complement the class and assign some activities through which you will be able to apply the theoretical insights from the course to your observations of everyday life. At the end of the course, you will start to see war everywhere and come to appreciate how much it defines our life. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

최상위 리뷰

DW

Mar 15, 2018

Very interesting topic and well-presented, too. Covers virtually every historic period in which there's been warfare (which, I guess, is every historic period in which there's been people).

AM

Jan 28, 2019

Lovely course. Wonderful understanding of the Professor about War and its related implications. Thank you Professor. For the first time I fully understood the horror of holocaust.

필터링 기준:

Paradoxes of War의 125개 리뷰 중 101~125

교육 기관: GHOUSE B A

Dec 22, 2015

Specified subject and well explained view on WAR. Was also able to understand what are the other factors that for war. Being a Research and explorer this was one of the best learning that I had in 2015.

Thank you so much,

교육 기관: Peter T

Feb 24, 2016

A good course and very interesting perspectives. A pity Princeton does not issue certificates.

교육 기관: Jonathan G

Feb 29, 2016

Very well done. However, I disliked how the course itself and even the professor glorified positive aspects of war.

교육 기관: Derek D V

Sep 06, 2016

I loved the elaborate structure, but they should provide a certificate

교육 기관: Hélio C B

Oct 02, 2015

The passion of Prof. Centeno is contaminating, some of the issues pointed were somewhat new (I have a circle of friends from military profession) and definitely the connection of cultural basis of the society and its capacity to, and way of, fight a war is something that will change my way to see the results of these events in the future.

Thank you very much for this initiative.

교육 기관: David D

Aug 06, 2017

One may surprise oneself in being interested in taking such a course. My experience with this course is highly positive. You learn world history in general over the last 1000 years plus a glimpse into earlier times as shaped by war.

I would say one becomes convinced of the merits of war in shaping society into larger, stable entities and actually encouraging peace and prosperity. Who would have agreed to that before taking this course! Bravo.

교육 기관: Gregory W C

Mar 14, 2016

Solid presentation of ideas that SHOULD be considered before entering a war -- but sadly are usually ignored in the emotions of a mindless mass moment.

교육 기관: Fumio S

Jan 24, 2016

I did enjoining this program. Many thanks.

교육 기관: Rahul

Sep 08, 2015

Good information. Good discussion forum. Recommended.

교육 기관: samantha

Jul 22, 2017

Great information shared in an easy to understand method.

교육 기관: Rubén A B P

Sep 01, 2015

An extremely interesting course, full of fascinating sociologycal and historical topics!

The only thing that wasn't that good about it was the difficulty to get some of books the instructor mentioned.

교육 기관: Clifford L B

Jul 16, 2016

A different perspective of war that made me think very differently about the whole process and the reactions of people involved in any form of confrontational situation

교육 기관: Itzhak G

Sep 10, 2015

Very interesting course. The first few weeks are little beat boring, discussing some features that are obvious, but as the course continues the questions become more untresting, especially those which concern war with politics. As a whole it is a very good course, which gives the student a broad understandung of the issue. recommended!!

교육 기관: Chooi C Y

Jan 25, 2016

A fresh perspective to see the relation between wars and our societies. The notion that wars are always bad and to be avoided is challenged, and seemingly controversial idea of wars bringing benefit to the societies (at a cost) is discussed, quite convincingly.

교육 기관: Paul F H

Oct 19, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed the course. I think I must have virtually done it on my own as there were no other interventions, certainly in recent weeks. A very thought provoking course and all credit to the Professor and those who helped him put the course together.

교육 기관: Janis A

Oct 04, 2015

Good course, with a lot of information.

교육 기관: Rui F V

Sep 22, 2016

Weekly quizzes would be great!

교육 기관: Julie C

Jan 14, 2016

For an undergraduate course it's good - my only comment is on delivery - quotations given verbally might have been better if shown on screen to drive them home.

I hope the professor will do a military history course that analyzes war more particularly now that we have the broad strokes. My interest is piqued from this course and I want to know more about specific wars/battles. I am also interested in war prior to 1500, esp. ancient civilizations.

교육 기관: Bill W

Jun 12, 2018

The course content is very good and well delivered. Unfortunately, the forums are not replied to and you have to send months rejoining the close in order to get sufficient comments on your work to complete the course. In my case it took nine months just to finish, even though I completed the materials in under two months. It would be great if the backroom parts of the course were as good as the material and delivery.

교육 기관: Robert W M

Feb 05, 2016

After almost a year I am still waiting to receive my grade of 90%+ for c

교육 기관: Diane L

Aug 22, 2015

New format makes it impossible to watch off-line.

교육 기관: Christine L

Nov 02, 2015

It said it could be done on your schedule, but that is not true. I want to withdraw from this stupid course - it sucks.

교육 기관: Bart S

Jun 04, 2016

The title of this course is Paradoxes of War. One of the paradoxes is how little paradox there is in war, after reviewing and reflecting on the lectures and the reading materials.

교육 기관: Wylie К י

Aug 20, 2015

My initial impressions are of astounding mediocrity. Amazes me how academic careers are made these days.

교육 기관: James K W

Sep 08, 2017

As a Vietnam Veteran, I believe war is when humankind caves in upon itself. It brings out the very worst of humanity, destruction of humanity and societies, manipulation of humankind, including minorities, women, and children for production of war resources. War shows the resilience of humankind from the worst of events, experiences and horrors.

The only good of war is the good inside mankind. War involves the destruction of humans. I believe the concept of this course is lunacy. The US Military is deterrence and preparation for war to defend America. Nevertheless, only barbarians celebrate war. James Kirk Wiggins (MSGT, USAF, RET)