Chevron Left
Paradoxes of War(으)로 돌아가기

프린스턴 대학교의 Paradoxes of War 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
644개의 평가

강좌 소개

The Paradoxes of War teaches us to understand that war is not only a normal part of human existence, but is arguably one of the most important factors in making us who we are. Through this course, I hope that you will come to appreciate that war is both a natural expression of common human emotions and interactions and a constitutive part of how we cohere as groups. That is, war is paradoxically an expression of our basest animal nature and the exemplar of our most vaunted and valued civilized virtues. You will learn some basic military history and sociology in this course as a lens for the more important purpose of seeing the broader social themes and issues related to war. I want you to both learn about war, but more importantly, use it as way of understanding your everyday social world. So, for example, the discussion of war and gender will serve to start you thinking about how expectations of masculinity are created and our discussion of nationalism will make clear how easy “us-them” dichotomies can be established and (ab)used. I will suggest some readings for you to complement the class and assign some activities through which you will be able to apply the theoretical insights from the course to your observations of everyday life. At the end of the course, you will start to see war everywhere and come to appreciate how much it defines our life. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

최상위 리뷰

DW

2018년 3월 14일

Very interesting topic and well-presented, too. Covers virtually every historic period in which there's been warfare (which, I guess, is every historic period in which there's been people).

JW

2020년 1월 11일

Great course! This course has provided some great information and proposed some important philosophical questions. I wish there were exams and a certificate to go along with it too.

필터링 기준:

Paradoxes of War의 152개 리뷰 중 101~125

교육 기관: Lucijano J

2015년 12월 11일

Very insightful!

교육 기관: Cihan A

2017년 8월 2일

Perfect course.

교육 기관: Theodoros E

2015년 8월 15일

Great course!!

교육 기관: Joaquin G

2020년 5월 4일

Just amazing

교육 기관: JongyongPark

2017년 1월 1일

informative

교육 기관: zichenzheng

2016년 6월 5일

nice course

교육 기관: Gilberto d S V

2016년 6월 20일

good curse

교육 기관: Tilen G

2016년 6월 12일

Excellent!

교육 기관: Reyhan P A

2021년 6월 25일

Very good

교육 기관: Deleted A

2015년 8월 11일

Excellent

교육 기관: Israel E C V

2016년 9월 27일

Amazing!

교육 기관: Massimiliano

2016년 1월 4일

Ottimo!

교육 기관: Ramon p

2019년 1월 12일

V

교육 기관: Madhavi S

2016년 7월 1일

P

교육 기관: Christophe v

2016년 3월 5일

g

교육 기관: Andrew J

2015년 10월 17일

W

교육 기관: Joan E F

2015년 8월 31일

A

교육 기관: David D

2017년 8월 6일

One may surprise oneself in being interested in taking such a course. My experience with this course is highly positive. You learn world history in general over the last 1000 years plus a glimpse into earlier times as shaped by war.

I would say one becomes convinced of the merits of war in shaping society into larger, stable entities and actually encouraging peace and prosperity. Who would have agreed to that before taking this course! Bravo.

교육 기관: Hélio C B

2015년 10월 2일

The passion of Prof. Centeno is contaminating, some of the issues pointed were somewhat new (I have a circle of friends from military profession) and definitely the connection of cultural basis of the society and its capacity to, and way of, fight a war is something that will change my way to see the results of these events in the future.

Thank you very much for this initiative.

교육 기관: צחי ג

2015년 9월 10일

Very interesting course. The first few weeks are little beat boring, discussing some features that are obvious, but as the course continues the questions become more untresting, especially those which concern war with politics. As a whole it is a very good course, which gives the student a broad understandung of the issue. recommended!!

교육 기관: Chooi C Y

2016년 1월 24일

A fresh perspective to see the relation between wars and our societies. The notion that wars are always bad and to be avoided is challenged, and seemingly controversial idea of wars bringing benefit to the societies (at a cost) is discussed, quite convincingly.

교육 기관: Paul F H

2016년 10월 19일

I thoroughly enjoyed the course. I think I must have virtually done it on my own as there were no other interventions, certainly in recent weeks. A very thought provoking course and all credit to the Professor and those who helped him put the course together.

교육 기관: GHOUSE B A

2015년 12월 22일

Specified subject and well explained view on WAR. Was also able to understand what are the other factors that for war. Being a Research and explorer this was one of the best learning that I had in 2015.

Thank you so much,

교육 기관: Steve D

2021년 1월 29일

Very interesting course, in which I learned things I'd never thought about before. The instructor was knowledgeable and enthusiastic. I enjoyed the course despite its sometimes depressing subject matter.

교육 기관: Ruben B P

2015년 8월 31일

An extremely interesting course, full of fascinating sociologycal and historical topics!

The only thing that wasn't that good about it was the difficulty to get some of books the instructor mentioned.