Chevron Left
US Social Services Compared(으)로 돌아가기

컬럼비아대학교의 US Social Services Compared 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
121개의 평가

강좌 소개

In all nations, social policy is a very large public investment. Course 1 will explore the size, structure, and outcomes of U.S. social policy and compare this policy to those of similar developed countries. The course will also probe the values this policy represents and the values debate regarding about how big our welfare state should be— in other words, how much of our education, housing, health, income support, and social services the government should supply and how much individuals should supply for themselves. This course addresses issues of power, oppression, and white supremacy. The course is part of a sequence in social policy that has an HONORS TRACK. This track will prepare the learner for masters-level work in policy, which involves reading the literature, writing concise summaries and probing critiques. Over the sequence the learner will develop a policy analysis that will create a foundation for professional policy analyst assignments....

최상위 리뷰

IL

2021년 5월 9일

I learned a lot and very much enjoyed learning about the social policy. Thank you professor Robertson and all the speakers for their lessons taught throughout the course!

JB

2022년 8월 9일

Loved the course and Professor. Learned so much. I was waiting for my final paper to be graded to get my Honors Certificate. So far, I have a 95%. Good luck to everyone!

필터링 기준:

US Social Services Compared의 37개 리뷰 중 26~37

교육 기관: Loubna C

2021년 11월 11일

very nice introduction to welfare state

교육 기관: Kevin I

2022년 7월 19일

Very good foundational course!

교육 기관: Robert B S M

2020년 1월 6일

Good course... thanks.

교육 기관: Michael L B J

2020년 8월 17일

Un excelente curso.

교육 기관: Codie J V

2020년 5월 14일

Excellent Material

교육 기관: Suhmer F

2019년 10월 5일

Excellent

교육 기관: Mona A A

2020년 5월 30일

GOOD

교육 기관: Melanie H

2021년 8월 22일

The information was overall really helpful in giving a broad view of social policy, but it felt a bit shallow and I would have loved to dive deeper into some of the topics, or see more research to back up some of the analysis of U.S. social policy efficiency and outcomes.

교육 기관: EMERSON O

2020년 12월 6일

This was a very good course, and I'm glad that I completed it. From Emerson Overton

교육 기관: Smith V P

2021년 12월 4일

Gracias por este gran curso

교육 기관: Aaron A

2021년 2월 19일

Good information, but fragmented presentation. The speaker, pop-up questions, and discussion questions often refer to discussions that either haven't happened yet or simply don't exist in the course. Also, you should probably find a companion book to flesh out some of the ideas in this course, because the content is very high level.

교육 기관: WILLIAM M

2021년 11월 16일

I took the course as a general review of information I had not specifically studied in some time. It was surprising that so little new information was available. It seemed almost as if nothing had changed since 1990 when I was originally studying for my MSW.

I also found that some of the quiz questions were poorly worded or were unclear, more than one had a typo. The answer to the question on "means tested" meaning stated "enough wealth to LIVE themselves out of poverty-clearly meant to say LIFT.

Overall the presentations could use a good proofing-- I mean this is coming from Columbia University. Several slides have typos and even outright error or wrong word choices. "venerable" instead of vulnerable- Worker Safer? when it should have been safety. FOR used when the intention was FROM, several places in the document. What are the "really" choices? REALLY? obviously real was the correct word.

Sorry but it simply seemed sloppy, and generally I was disappointed in the overall course.