Chevron Left
A Journey through Western Christianity: from Persecuted Faith to Global Religion (200 - 1650) (으)로 돌아가기

예일 대학교의 A Journey through Western Christianity: from Persecuted Faith to Global Religion (200 - 1650) 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
246개의 평가
77개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course follows the extraordinary development of Western Christianity from its early persecution under the Roman Empire in the third century to its global expansion with the Jesuits of the early modern world. We explore the dynamic and diverse character of a religion with an enormous cast characters. We will meet men and women who tell stories of faith as well as of violence, suppression, and division. Along the way, we encounter Perpetua and her martyrdom in Carthage; the struggles of Augustine the bishop in North Africa; the zeal of Celtic monks and missionaries; the viciousness of the Crusades; the visions of Brigit of Sweden; and the fracturing of Christianity by Martin Luther’s protest. We hear the voices of great theologians as well as of those branded heretics by the Church, a powerful reminder that the growth of Christianity is a story with many narratives of competing visions of reform and ideals, powerful critiques of corruption and venality, and exclusion of the vanquished. The troubled history of Christian engagement with Jews and Muslims is found in pogroms and expulsions, but also in the astonishing ways in which the culture of the West was transformed by Jewish and Islamic learning. We shall explore the stunning beauty of the Book of Kells, exquisitely prepared by monks as the Vikings terrorized the coast of England. We will experience the blue light of the windows of Chartres, and ponder the opening questions of Thomas Aquinas’ great Summa. We will read from the Gutenberg Bible of the fifteenth century, which heralded the revolution brought by the printing press. We will travel from Calvin’s Geneva to Elizabeth’s England to Trent, where a Catholic Council met to inaugurate a modern, missionary Catholic church. We will walk through the great Escorial of Philip II of Spain, hear the poetry of John of the Cross, and follow the Jesuits to Brazil and China. Christianity in the West was forged in the fires of conflict and tumult, and it brought forth both creativity and violence. It echoed with calls for God’s world to be transformed, it inspired the most sublime art and architecture, yet it also revealed the power of the union of cross and sword to destroy. The course is a journey through the formation of the West as one strand of Christianity, as one chapter in a global story. It is a journey that has shaped our world....

최상위 리뷰

ES

Mar 23, 2018

A great journey! Lots of information and bonus material! I'm very thankful for the course. It might be that the professor's speech is sometimes a bit difficult to follow, but it's a minor drawback

SN

May 27, 2019

I enjoyed this course so much!! I learned a lot about history and the church. It has kept me looking for more courses and books to learn more!!!!!\n\nThank you so much for offering this!

필터링 기준:

A Journey through Western Christianity: from Persecuted Faith to Global Religion (200 - 1650) 의 76개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Michael X

Jan 08, 2019

If you want a course super biased towards Catholicism, by all means, take this course. Completely glosses over the faults of Catholicism in history, like the failings of the peasant crusade, which is actually the 1st crusade. He named the 1st successful crusade as the 1st crusade. Just listen to the language and content. If you really know history, you'll know he skips over ugly stuff and tries to paint everything in a positive light.

교육 기관: Frank

Sep 04, 2018

Very good introduction (or re-introduction) to Christianity in the early world up until the Colonial Era. The instructors skillfully brought in elements from the arts, primary sources, and on-site visits to paint a cohesive image of Christianity through this time. The discussions between the staff were also very good in bringing out more subtle differences in some areas where opinion still differs.

교육 기관: Rafael M

Jun 03, 2018

The course brings up a great and unknown view of Christianity throughout history. It was an execellent opportunity to take it.

교육 기관: Christophe S

Mar 28, 2018

It was a great course to have a global overview of the role religion had in the history of europe and even some parts of other continents with the last week session about jesuits.

교육 기관: Qin L

Dec 30, 2018

Distinctive Christian scholarship is demonstrated throughout this course. A wealth of information is presented. Professor Bruce Gordon knows the things he teaches really well. His sincerity towards knowledge, combined with his cooperation with Nazanin and Maximilian, makes the course an enriching and inspirational experience.

교육 기관: Kristi D

Nov 14, 2018

I have enjoyed Professor Gordon's class so much and could repeat it several times and still not absorb the vast amount of information that he has spent so many hours sharing with us.

Loved it!

Thank you Dr. Gordon, Nazanin and Max, for your time and talent.

교육 기관: Melody L

Oct 08, 2018

Recommend to anyone wanting to expand their knowledge on the growth of Christianity. The subtitles are a bit iffy at times, but if English is your first language you should be fine.

교육 기관: Sophie W

Mar 30, 2019

Excellent thousand foot view of roughly 1400 years of Western Christianity, covering a huge number of critical events.

교육 기관: Sanjy R

Jan 27, 2019

Thanks for all, it's a very good MOOC

교육 기관: Andrey C

Sep 10, 2018

Excellent course!!!

교육 기관: Damon T R

Sep 30, 2018

Absolutely loved this course! Could not recommend it more!

교육 기관: Patricia N W

Oct 04, 2018

The presentation is superb and attention holding. I'm enjoying this class so very much. I would love more by this University and this Professor.

교육 기관: Sylvia S M

Nov 07, 2018

I enjoyed the notes, the references the videos and professor. I learned a great deal about a subject I had some awareness of. A subject I am keenly interested in, as I pursue a career as a minister. Thank you.

교육 기관: Lee T

Nov 14, 2018

Clear explanation how western christianity developed

교육 기관: Julio C N P

May 01, 2017

excellent mooc, thank you very much.

교육 기관: Diana L

May 29, 2017

Generously shared, vast exploration, deeply knowledgeable teaching, excellent references for further study. Thank you!

교육 기관: Greg L

Apr 19, 2018

A good survey of Western Christianity taught in an engaging manner.

교육 기관: George

Jun 21, 2017

I thought the historical presentation was of great value, and I am confident it with be of assistance in my spiritual endeavors going forward. If I have a criticism, it is just that sometimes I thought that the course presented a little more of a faith-based presentation rather than a more strict historical perspective. All in all, however, it was fascinating and I learned a great deal.

교육 기관: Derik B

Apr 10, 2017

Excellent course.

교육 기관: Gerard K R

Jan 26, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed it! Liked its independent, no denominational leanings. Well paced. And good estimates of time commitments for the student.

교육 기관: Brent H

Jun 07, 2018

great course, very informative.

교육 기관: Soon H Y

Jul 10, 2017

an eye opener and a great point of reference conducted by an excellent team

교육 기관: hendra m a

Oct 11, 2017

Interested course. I learned a lot fro this course. I will recommend this course to my friends. So they will have a better understanding in history of Christianity.

교육 기관: Celmira A S

Oct 08, 2017

Excellent! A really journey throught the history.

교육 기관: Vincent B

Nov 19, 2017

T