Chevron Left
A Journey through Western Christianity: from Persecuted Faith to Global Religion (200 - 1650) (으)로 돌아가기

예일 대학교의 A Journey through Western Christianity: from Persecuted Faith to Global Religion (200 - 1650) 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
259개의 평가
81개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course follows the extraordinary development of Western Christianity from its early persecution under the Roman Empire in the third century to its global expansion with the Jesuits of the early modern world. We explore the dynamic and diverse character of a religion with an enormous cast characters. We will meet men and women who tell stories of faith as well as of violence, suppression, and division. Along the way, we encounter Perpetua and her martyrdom in Carthage; the struggles of Augustine the bishop in North Africa; the zeal of Celtic monks and missionaries; the viciousness of the Crusades; the visions of Brigit of Sweden; and the fracturing of Christianity by Martin Luther’s protest. We hear the voices of great theologians as well as of those branded heretics by the Church, a powerful reminder that the growth of Christianity is a story with many narratives of competing visions of reform and ideals, powerful critiques of corruption and venality, and exclusion of the vanquished. The troubled history of Christian engagement with Jews and Muslims is found in pogroms and expulsions, but also in the astonishing ways in which the culture of the West was transformed by Jewish and Islamic learning. We shall explore the stunning beauty of the Book of Kells, exquisitely prepared by monks as the Vikings terrorized the coast of England. We will experience the blue light of the windows of Chartres, and ponder the opening questions of Thomas Aquinas’ great Summa. We will read from the Gutenberg Bible of the fifteenth century, which heralded the revolution brought by the printing press. We will travel from Calvin’s Geneva to Elizabeth’s England to Trent, where a Catholic Council met to inaugurate a modern, missionary Catholic church. We will walk through the great Escorial of Philip II of Spain, hear the poetry of John of the Cross, and follow the Jesuits to Brazil and China. Christianity in the West was forged in the fires of conflict and tumult, and it brought forth both creativity and violence. It echoed with calls for God’s world to be transformed, it inspired the most sublime art and architecture, yet it also revealed the power of the union of cross and sword to destroy. The course is a journey through the formation of the West as one strand of Christianity, as one chapter in a global story. It is a journey that has shaped our world....

최상위 리뷰

ES

Mar 23, 2018

A great journey! Lots of information and bonus material! I'm very thankful for the course. It might be that the professor's speech is sometimes a bit difficult to follow, but it's a minor drawback

SN

May 27, 2019

I enjoyed this course so much!! I learned a lot about history and the church. It has kept me looking for more courses and books to learn more!!!!!\n\nThank you so much for offering this!

필터링 기준:

A Journey through Western Christianity: from Persecuted Faith to Global Religion (200 - 1650) 의 80개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Danilo M

Feb 14, 2020

The best online course that I ever did!!!! Amazing!!!

교육 기관: Lee T

Nov 14, 2018

Clear explanation how western christianity developed

교육 기관: Celmira A S

Oct 08, 2017

Excellent! A really journey throught the history.

교육 기관: ZHANG,FEIRAN

Feb 04, 2020

It's a great course, and I highly recommend it!

교육 기관: Aniceto P

May 02, 2018

Great course. Clear content. Good teachers

교육 기관: Gabriela S L T

Sep 09, 2019

Excellent and very interesting course.

교육 기관: Sanjy R

Jan 27, 2019

Thanks for all, it's a very good MOOC

교육 기관: Julio C N P

May 01, 2017

excellent mooc, thank you very much.

교육 기관: Brent H

Jun 07, 2018

great course, very informative.

교육 기관: Omacel

Jun 14, 2017

Excellent! Really worthy.

교육 기관: Andrey C

Sep 10, 2018

Excellent course!!!

교육 기관: Derik B

Apr 10, 2017

Excellent course.

교육 기관: Luz M

Oct 23, 2017

i

R

E

A

L

L

Y

E

N

J

O

Y

E

D

I

T

교육 기관: alice

Oct 15, 2017

very insightful

교육 기관: Paulo S L B

Dec 26, 2019

Curso incrivel

교육 기관: Ralph N

Jun 22, 2017

Great Course

교육 기관: Charles E M

Apr 30, 2018

Everthing

교육 기관: Abdulqader A

Jul 09, 2019

amazing

교육 기관: Vincent B

Nov 19, 2017

T

교육 기관: Greg C

Jan 30, 2018

I enjoyed the course and learned a lot. I was somewhat familiar with the big themes of the course when I started so that made it a bit easier than coming in cold, but there is still lots to learn. I would recommend it to anyone who is interested in the topic of church history. I hope they make a part 2 someday, from 1650 to the present. The reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is that the transcriptions are poor, I assume being done by a generic speech to text program, and this will be a problem for people either totally unfamiliar with the material, or perhaps have English as a second language. Often the names of historical names and places and people are incorrect in the transcriptions, and if you are not sure what the instructor said, it could get confusting. For example when the instructor said "Constantine" in one place it was transcribed as constant time. Not a big deal for some, but for others could be very confusing. I would offer to volunteer for some transcribing but there doesn't seem to be a way to convenientally contact anyone at Coursera.

교육 기관: Kenneth O

Oct 04, 2017

This is an excellent course. Prof. Gordon offers a very intimate and compelling narrative through the fifteen hundred years of history presented. Hi is a very good storyteller! He brings this complex topic to life through his focus on the individual people who impacted and were impacted by their times as our context for understanding the broader social and theological events that were occurring. I not only learned much, but enjoyed doing so. Therefore the course certainly fulfilled my expectations. I rated it four stars rather than five however because I missed interactivity. The discussion area was not really utilized and many posts were not only old, apparently from an earlier presentation of the course, but went unanswered or with no dialogue by other participants. My suggested would be to make this aspect of the course as compelling as Dr. Gordon's presentations by enhancing interactivity through stimulation of topics and active engagement.

교육 기관: Bach-Mai V

Mar 15, 2018

Fascinating survey course that touches on the major figures and trends that led the early Christian church from a persecuted minority to a global movement. Good representation of the economic, political, and cultural context of this evolution. I learned a lot, fleshing out the things I'd previously picked up in grade school world history and art history courses. Excellent choice for anybody interested in European history and religion. My only complaint is the lead professor's lecture style, which seemed off-the-cuff and halting and stream-of-consciousness, even though his content was very much on point. I often read the transcripts of his videos rather than listen to his voice. Also, it would have been nice to have more dynamic videos like I've seen in other courses from Yale via Coursera. Each video is the professor standing or pacing in front of 3 images projected or mounted behind him.

교육 기관: Noah M

Aug 23, 2017

For a free resource, all things considered, this was a helpful and useful brief overview of the early history of Christianity, that can be taken and underwent (excluding the 'bonus' material, which I liked very much) in a short period of time.

교육 기관: Olaf D

May 28, 2017

Thanks for this course which I found very informative. I did learn a lot about Western Christianity

교육 기관: Keith S

Sep 05, 2017

Very interesting themes developed which are described in an engaging and empathetic manner.