Chevron Left
Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications(으)로 돌아가기

덴마크 기술 대학교 (DTU)의 Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
655개의 평가
176개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course will cover the topic of Whole genome sequencing (WGS) of bacterial genomes which is becoming more and more relevant for the medical sector. WGS technology and applications are high on international political agenda, as the classical methods are being replaced by WGS technology and therefore bioinformatic tools are extremely important for allowing the people working in this sector to be able to analyze the data and obtain results that can be interpreted and used for different purposes. The course will give the learners a basis to understand and be acquainted with WGS applications in surveillance of bacteria including species identification, typing and characterization of antimicrobial resistance and virulence traits as well as plasmid characterization. It will also give the opportunity to learners to learn about online tools and what they can be used for through demonstrations on how to use some of these tools and exercises to be solved by learners with use of freely available WGS analysis tools . By the end of this course you should be able to: 1. Describe the general Principles in typing of Bacteria 2. Give examples of the applications of Whole Genome Sequencing to Surveillance of bacterial pathogens and antimicrobial resistance 3. Apply genomic tools for sub-typing and surveillance 4. Define the concept of Next-Generation Sequencing and describe the sequencing data from NGS 5. Describe how to do de novo assembly from raw reads to contigs 6. Enumerate the methods behind the tools for species identification, MLST typing and resistance gene detection 7. Apply the tools for species identification, MLST typing and resistance gene detection in real cases of other bacterial and pathogen genomes. 8. Describe the methods behind the tools for Salmonella and E.coli typing, plasmid replicon detection and plasmid typing 9. Utilize the tools for Salmonella and E.coli typing, plasmid replicon detection and plasmid typing in real cases of other bacterial and pathogen genomes. 10. Explain the concept and be able to use the integrated bacterial analysis pipeline for batch analysis and typing of genomic data 11. Demonstrate how to construct phylogenetic tree based on SNPs 12. Apply the phylogenetic tool to construct phylogenetic trees and explain the relatedness of bacterial or pathogen strains 13. Describe how to create your own sequence database 14. Utilize the MyDbFinder tool to detect genetic markers of interest from whole genome sequencing...

최상위 리뷰

MB

Jun 10, 2019

Excellent course with a wealth of information about tools and applications of whole genome sequencing. Presented in a very lucid and interesting manner, very crispy and simplified course.

XL

Jun 30, 2019

The course is using cutting-edge genome sequencing technology and the authentic software to showcasing the applications and tools of genome sequencing. It is a great chance to learn it.

필터링 기준:

Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications의 175개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Joseph A M I

Mar 31, 2020

Very thorough course about WGS. They did a good job explaining from the beginning for those like myself that have very little experience. From there, they taught us how to use their web-based tools and even gave us little assignments to test our knowledge.

교육 기관: Nimat U

Oct 20, 2018

Thank you very much to all the team of DTU for organizing this course and made it easy for every student/researcher to analyze genomic sequence data. This course was very helpful to me and I appreciate Dr. Shinny for her excellent teaching methodology.

교육 기관: Sadia N M

Jun 21, 2020

It has been an wonderful journey. The instructors clearly explained the topics and the course materials were helpful to grasp the topics they were teaching. Highly recommend this to anyone who is keen to learn about bioinformatic tools in simple ways.

교육 기관: Uzma M

Feb 04, 2020

That was a very informative course for me. I would like to thank the instructors they teach us carefully and provide us a lot of knowledge related to gene sequencing. Now I would be able to utilize it into my research. Thank you, teachers :)

교육 기관: Dipti S

Jan 08, 2020

By taking this course, I am able to advance my knowledge on whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes and this course explores the applications of different tools for identification of bacterial species and its sub types. Thank you.

교육 기관: Jolanta G

Aug 28, 2017

Thank you for the excellent course. It was very interesting to try upload genome and use various tools for identification of the pathogens and resistance mechanisms.Very useful information and excellent excercises. Good luck!

교육 기관: Purvi R

May 21, 2020

This was very informative and easy to understand course for beginners. Whole genome sequencing tools were explained very easily. I learned bacterial sub typing and new bioinformatics tools for bacterial gnome analysis.

교육 기관: David M M

Apr 11, 2018

Learn the basics of WGS and how to use different tools for data analysis: species identification, plasmid search, resistance genes search, serotyping... All with a good structure and very well explained.

교육 기관: Magha R C B

Jul 13, 2020

Thank you very much for all the lecturers participated in this course.I believe the knowledge and the qualification which I gain from this course will benefit me in my future Biomedical science studies.

교육 기관: Mirza M V B

Jun 10, 2019

Excellent course with a wealth of information about tools and applications of whole genome sequencing. Presented in a very lucid and interesting manner, very crispy and simplified course.

교육 기관: Xiangyang L

Jun 30, 2019

The course is using cutting-edge genome sequencing technology and the authentic software to showcasing the applications and tools of genome sequencing. It is a great chance to learn it.

교육 기관: Ana V U B

Dec 17, 2017

I loved the course. I lerned how to use different tools to understant a DNA information, with a lot of practical exercises. I can wait the course of metagenomics.

교육 기관: S.Nipun

Jul 06, 2020

Very well structured and conducted .A very good course for hands on experience of bioinformatic online tools for Whole Genome sequencing of bacterial genomes.

교육 기관: Valeria O M

Jun 03, 2018

Me gustaron los video que van directo al fundamento de cada herramienta, y lo mejor es que el curso también se enfoca en la aplicación de lo enseñado. Gracias

교육 기관: Sanjana

Mar 31, 2020

The instructors are very efficient and helped me learn with full understanding and made me proficient to use the tools and databases.

Thank you very much ;)

교육 기관: David P

Apr 21, 2020

Excellent beginner course for WGS. The topics of the course are very interesting and well curated. The speakers are fluent and clear during the lessons.

교육 기관: Kulumanali G ]

Jun 20, 2020

It is a very wonderful and informative lecture & thank you so much Coursera & DTU for your amazing presentations. I am very grateful for this course.

교육 기관: Nidhi p

Jun 08, 2020

This course content is very informative. It gives both theoretical as well as practical knowledge of Whole Genome Sequencing. MCQ's are well designed.

교육 기관: Vanessa C d C L

Jan 14, 2018

This is a very interesting course, it's practical and simple to follow and I've learned a lot about whole genome sequencing and its techniques.

교육 기관: sandeep K

May 18, 2018

The contents of the course were really very good and with loads of knowledge. Thank you very much for improving my knowledge in this area.

교육 기관: D. J N

May 13, 2020

very informative, learn't new bioinformatic tools, Precise, crystal clear and fun learning sessions. Looking forward for more sessions

교육 기관: Md. E k

May 28, 2020

The course provides a basic understanding and analysis of bacterial whole-genome sequencing data regarding antimicrobial resistance.

교육 기관: amoulay

Jul 11, 2020

Dear Instructors! Thank you very much for sharing this important information. Looking forward to the next course with you.

교육 기관: Mahadi H

Jun 23, 2020

It was so informative and engaging course. I hope it will help me a lot as I intend to become a researcher in this field.

교육 기관: Md S S

Feb 11, 2020

This is my first course and this a amazing course.I learned a lot from this course.wish you all a good luck.Thank you.