학생용
Chevron Left
Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications(으)로 돌아가기

덴마크 기술 대학교 (DTU)의 Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
891개의 평가
244개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course will cover the topic of Whole genome sequencing (WGS) of bacterial genomes which is becoming more and more relevant for the medical sector. WGS technology and applications are high on international political agenda, as the classical methods are being replaced by WGS technology and therefore bioinformatic tools are extremely important for allowing the people working in this sector to be able to analyze the data and obtain results that can be interpreted and used for different purposes. The course will give the learners a basis to understand and be acquainted with WGS applications in surveillance of bacteria including species identification, typing and characterization of antimicrobial resistance and virulence traits as well as plasmid characterization. It will also give the opportunity to learners to learn about online tools and what they can be used for through demonstrations on how to use some of these tools and exercises to be solved by learners with use of freely available WGS analysis tools . By the end of this course you should be able to: 1. Describe the general Principles in typing of Bacteria 2. Give examples of the applications of Whole Genome Sequencing to Surveillance of bacterial pathogens and antimicrobial resistance 3. Apply genomic tools for sub-typing and surveillance 4. Define the concept of Next-Generation Sequencing and describe the sequencing data from NGS 5. Describe how to do de novo assembly from raw reads to contigs 6. Enumerate the methods behind the tools for species identification, MLST typing and resistance gene detection 7. Apply the tools for species identification, MLST typing and resistance gene detection in real cases of other bacterial and pathogen genomes. 8. Describe the methods behind the tools for Salmonella and E.coli typing, plasmid replicon detection and plasmid typing 9. Utilize the tools for Salmonella and E.coli typing, plasmid replicon detection and plasmid typing in real cases of other bacterial and pathogen genomes. 10. Explain the concept and be able to use the integrated bacterial analysis pipeline for batch analysis and typing of genomic data 11. Demonstrate how to construct phylogenetic tree based on SNPs 12. Apply the phylogenetic tool to construct phylogenetic trees and explain the relatedness of bacterial or pathogen strains 13. Describe how to create your own sequence database 14. Utilize the MyDbFinder tool to detect genetic markers of interest from whole genome sequencing...

최상위 리뷰

AP
2020년 7월 19일

Thank you very much for this course through which i learnt basic handling of bioinformatics tools and concepts of WGS. This will help me a lot while pursuing my PhD research work in my field.

MB
2019년 6월 9일

Excellent course with a wealth of information about tools and applications of whole genome sequencing. Presented in a very lucid and interesting manner, very crispy and simplified course.

필터링 기준:

Whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes - tools and applications의 243개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Sebin J

2020년 7월 9일

It was a great course which introduced me into the world of whole genome sequencing and application of various tools for finding bacterial sub-typing, serotyping of plasmids and constructing phylogenetics trees. Really satisfied with course and looking forward to more courses like this.

교육 기관: Amro H

2019년 11월 11일

Thank you for the very helpful informative course. Very useful online tools. and great effort.

Only may we try to improve the English subtitles and attach answer for the quiz even at the end of the course?

Thank you again for all of your help, you are doing an OUTSTANDING job.

교육 기관: MITESH S

2020년 4월 2일

The course was very much helpful for my current work and it helped me understand many things especially on data analysis front of whole genome sequencing of bacteria. I would like to thank all the tutors of the course for giving their time for the development of this course.

교육 기관: Mohamed E

2018년 7월 28일

Not to mention, the power of the tools illustrated in this course, I just wanna mention that I am senior student in bioinformatics bachelor degree and Dr. Pimlapas Leekitcharoenphon is by far the best instructor I have ever come across in the field till now. Thank you.

교육 기관: Orlando R

2020년 11월 2일

Congratulations to the team preparing and delivering the course it is very well designed, organized, and delivered, the presentations are clear, the quizzes are very helpful, the tools are excellent, in summary, a very good course, thank you very much to all of you.

교육 기관: Opeyemi U L

2018년 2월 2일

The module was easy to follow and the class exercises made it very easy to understand. I will highly recommend this course to microbiology students especially the ones without prior knowledge of basic bioinformatics for epidemiological study of bacterial infections

교육 기관: Katya B H V

2020년 5월 11일

I highly recommend this course, even for me a non molecular biologist/medical student, it was very helpful and very enriching. I am so grateful to all the professors for sharing their experience with us. I will keep an eye on the future courses of the DTU.

교육 기관: Joseph A M I

2020년 3월 31일

Very thorough course about WGS. They did a good job explaining from the beginning for those like myself that have very little experience. From there, they taught us how to use their web-based tools and even gave us little assignments to test our knowledge.

교육 기관: Nimat U

2018년 10월 20일

Thank you very much to all the team of DTU for organizing this course and made it easy for every student/researcher to analyze genomic sequence data. This course was very helpful to me and I appreciate Dr. Shinny for her excellent teaching methodology.

교육 기관: Sadia N M

2020년 6월 21일

It has been an wonderful journey. The instructors clearly explained the topics and the course materials were helpful to grasp the topics they were teaching. Highly recommend this to anyone who is keen to learn about bioinformatic tools in simple ways.

교육 기관: Uzma M

2020년 2월 3일

That was a very informative course for me. I would like to thank the instructors they teach us carefully and provide us a lot of knowledge related to gene sequencing. Now I would be able to utilize it into my research. Thank you, teachers :)

교육 기관: Muskan k

2020년 7월 19일

The course explicitly consist all tool of bioinformatics to demonstrate resistance and species profile of bacteria. Very nicely done each element is descriptive. Specially lessons by Pimplas Mam is outstanding. Happy to accomplish each task!

교육 기관: Dipti S

2020년 1월 8일

By taking this course, I am able to advance my knowledge on whole genome sequencing of bacterial genomes and this course explores the applications of different tools for identification of bacterial species and its sub types. Thank you.

교육 기관: Jolanta G

2017년 8월 28일

Thank you for the excellent course. It was very interesting to try upload genome and use various tools for identification of the pathogens and resistance mechanisms.Very useful information and excellent excercises. Good luck!

교육 기관: Jyotika P

2020년 8월 5일

I really liked this course very much. It gave me hands on experience and the best part is the final quiz of this course. This course has given me confidence to do further study in this field. Thanks to Coursera and DTU.

교육 기관: Purvi R

2020년 5월 21일

This was very informative and easy to understand course for beginners. Whole genome sequencing tools were explained very easily. I learned bacterial sub typing and new bioinformatics tools for bacterial gnome analysis.

교육 기관: David M M

2018년 4월 11일

Learn the basics of WGS and how to use different tools for data analysis: species identification, plasmid search, resistance genes search, serotyping... All with a good structure and very well explained.

교육 기관: Magha R C B

2020년 7월 13일

Thank you very much for all the lecturers participated in this course.I believe the knowledge and the qualification which I gain from this course will benefit me in my future Biomedical science studies.

교육 기관: Xiangyang L

2019년 6월 30일

The course is using cutting-edge genome sequencing technology and the authentic software to showcasing the applications and tools of genome sequencing. It is a great chance to learn it.

교육 기관: Anisha M

2020년 11월 4일

excellent instructors... really enjoyed the course ...my sincere thanks to all the instructors for their effort...looking forward to meet them in forecoming sessions...thanks a lot

교육 기관: Charan R

2020년 7월 21일

Thank you very much coursera and all educators who helped me learn this WGS. This course is just awesome. It really helps me pursue my career. Once again thanks alot to DTU TEAM.

교육 기관: Abdullah A J

2020년 8월 20일

It was an immense journey throughout the course. The structure of the course, so organized and informative. Truly appreciate Coursera and the DTU instructors for the course.

교육 기관: Ashraf A

2020년 7월 22일

Excellent Course. Many thanks to DTU and Coursera for providing such a wonderful course. I learned a lot of things from this course. This course is definitely a winner.

교육 기관: Ana V U B

2017년 12월 17일

I loved the course. I lerned how to use different tools to understant a DNA information, with a lot of practical exercises. I can wait the course of metagenomics.

교육 기관: S.Nipun

2020년 7월 6일

Very well structured and conducted .A very good course for hands on experience of bioinformatic online tools for Whole Genome sequencing of bacterial genomes.