Chevron Left
Introduction to Financial Accounting(으)로 돌아가기

펜실베이니아 대학교의 Introduction to Financial Accounting 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
5,790개의 평가
1,331개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Master the technical skills needed to analyze financial statements and disclosures for use in financial analysis, and learn how accounting standards and managerial incentives affect the financial reporting process. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to read the three most common financial statements: the income statement, balance sheet, and statement of cash flows. Then you can apply these skills to a real-world business challenge as part of the Wharton Business Foundations Specialization....

최상위 리뷰

MM

Feb 04, 2016

I took Brian Bushee's course and found him to be one of the BEST INSTRUCTORS I'VE EVER HAD IN MY ENTIRE LIFE. If you've had trouble with accounting courses in the past, HE IS THE INSTRUCTOR FOR YOU!!!

EY

Sep 20, 2019

The course is very easy to understand, and most importantly it is fun to learn accounting! I find this course covers basic yet comprehensive contents compared to other basic accounting online courses.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Financial Accounting의 1,297개 리뷰 중 1126~1150

교육 기관: Sara B

Dec 05, 2015

Excellent introduction to a tough subject. The instructor is excellent, anticipates questions in a fun way, and makes it easy to pay attention. Only reason it's not 5 stars is that I found the second part of final exam surprisingly difficult and had a hard time looping back to the course material to understand why I was getting the answers wrong. I still don't know, but the discussion groups are quite active and the instructor participates, so there area a lot of pluses.

It's a lot to take in over a short period of time when you have other obligations. I recommend making time to review the week 3 material well before taking the exam.

교육 기관: JOVIKA N

Apr 29, 2020

A very good & creative teaching method adopted - animated students, gave a good feel of virtual class and moreover Prof. Brian's way of teaching was nice with his in depth knowledge of the subject.

Only thing that can be improved on overall Coursera exams & quiz is: after the student has passed the exam, he / she should have an option to see the detailed answers of the questions which he attempted wrong, because a student might not try again & again after he has passed the test & moreover he could gauge the answer at all. So it will be really helpful if he gets to know the detailed answer instead of just saying "Incorrect / Correct".

교육 기관: Tyler G

Nov 06, 2018

A lot of material is covered in this course. Would help a ton if the subjects covered were given twice as much time to comprehend and really nail down the different facets. As it is there are tons of new concepts taught each week. Pretty intense. The condensed nature of this course is not really the teacher's fault, just a victim of the format.

That said, Brian Bushee is clearly a great teacher who does an excellent job of walking you through the principles and practices in accounting. I also greatly appreciated his sense of humor throughout the course!

교육 기관: Nicholas K E

May 16, 2020

I found this course engaging and interesting for the majority of the time. I have struggled with previous courses (especially ones with accounting or finance) where the jump between weeks are so great it's difficult to keep up, but Professor Bushee did an excellent job addressing more difficult topics with the 'virtual students'.

I struggled a bit in week 2 but eventually came through after some additional self-study. With that being said, I can now confidently say I can read financial reports issued by public corporations.

교육 기관: Sarah S

Jun 15, 2017

The teacher is absolutely terrific. I really loved how he thinks out questions and is very thorough. He is amazing. However, I felt like the statement of cash flow part was a little confusing. Also, I felt like there could have been more examples during the lesson like what was in the final exam where it actually walked through fixing mistakes and knowing how to detect errors. I struggled with understanding those questions because I don't remember going through many examples like that during the lessons.

교육 기관: Smita S

Nov 28, 2016

I enjoyed the hands on examples. For someone like me with absolutely zero background in accounting, the examples provided a good way to truly grasp the concepts. While I don't anticipate actively using any accounting methods in my own career, I believe this course gave me an intro on how to gauge a company's growth and performance based on some standard financial metrics. I'll admit the starting was hard but by the end of the course, I was able to understand more and more of the material.

교육 기관: Patrick Y

May 15, 2017

The professor was very funny and his virtual students kept me interested when I started to fall asleep from all of the formulas. I have a good high level understanding of accounting now, but if I was asked specific questions about formulas we covered I would not know them off the top of my head. This is more because there were so many of them rather than the professor not explaining them well enough. However, I have the PDF notes from each week so I can always pull those up!

교육 기관: ABRAHAM J V

Dec 22, 2015

An awesome course, as an economist I handle the basics of corporate finance and investments, however, felt like reinforcing the finance foundations and couldn't find a better course than introduction to financial accounting to do that.

Professor Bushee designed this course flawlessly as it is intuitive to understand what he's trying to explain in each session. Also he's got a great sense of humor which makes a quantitative course like this a lot less boring.

Congratulations!!

교육 기관: Anand K

Mar 20, 2019

Overall the course was really good. Given the subject, I was expecting the videos to be dry and boring. But Professor Brian manages to keep the sessions light and funny. There is a good mix of theory and practical examples using the case studies. This helped me to solidify my knowledge and apply it against real use cases. I also found the tests at the end of each week to be adequately challenging ie not too easy and not too hard. Great job putting up this course.

교육 기관: Savvas P

Oct 22, 2019

Very good course for an introduction to financial accounting.

Most of the basics are covered from the professor in a course of 4 weeks.

The homework/quiz for each week was really good. Only drawback is that you cannot contact the professor. For any questions you have to post in the forum and hope that someone will reply.

Recommended for anyone who feels that needs to revise the basics of Financial Accounting quickly or start from scratch!

교육 기관: Kulwinder R

Apr 15, 2017

The course material is very well designed to suit the needs of anyone who does not come from a finance background. I would recommend this course to anyone who is just about to begin his journey on the path of financial accounting. Professor Bushee explains all the elementary concepts very effectively.

I faced a lot of server related issues while pursuing this course. Hopefully that will not affect any other courses I take in the future.

교육 기관: Anna D G

Dec 22, 2016

Everything in this course was new to me, since I've never had anything to do with accounting before; in the beginning it was pretty comprehensible, all new terminology was explained,; but in week 4 I felt completely lost- I wasn't sure what we were working on anymore. Anyways, I just wanted to discover if accounting would be something that would interest me- I don't think so now :) But I did enjoy learning new things.

Best,

Anna

교육 기관: Marcos P

Aug 02, 2017

Awesome course. The professor did an excellent work keeping the engagement high and explained the key concepts very well.

The only thing I didn't like was how fast week 4 went. The leap was huge and there weren't enough explanations to understand how the professor came up with some numbers (unlike what happened in earlier weeks, when there were many clarifications and more examples). Aside from that, I'd recommend taking it.

교육 기관: Andres T

Nov 16, 2016

Professor Brian Bushee is definitely hilarious with his lowkey jokes and virtual students, but he approaches the theoretical side way too abstractly (only terms and straight formulas), all in a row, making it significantly hard to understand or even memorize what he is trying to teach. Tons of exercises partially make up for it, but I would enjoy better if his slides weren't basically composed of terms and definitions.

교육 기관: Hernando E

Apr 15, 2020

Professor Bushee's presence on camera and instruction style were very good.

As a complete beginner in the field, the content of weeks 3 and 4 was a bit excessive and presented too rapidly

Would prefer more detailed feedback (specifically recommended areas of study) in response to failed quizzes.

Overall an informative (but difficult) course that confirmed my long-standing belief that I have little aptitude for accounting

교육 기관: Mariam M

Dec 04, 2016

A great course for someone (such as myself) who has next to no knowledge of finance and accounting. I was looking to be able to generally make sense of company financial reports, and that's exactly what I gained from this course. It became a tad more technical than I needed it to be in weeks 3 and 4, but don't let that put you off. It's worth the extra effort (and a couple of failed first attempts at quizzes) to pass.

교육 기관: Soyoung P

Feb 28, 2016

It was a really great course! The lectures were high-quality, to-the-point. and very enjoyable. I wish there had been a bit more opportunities to practice the calculations, though. The first couple weeks were perfect because the instructor provided plenty of exercises, but the other two weeks did not have as many of those, and I'm worried that I won't be able to retain the knowledge without the practice.

교육 기관: Paul D

Nov 22, 2015

I feel like I am really learning a lot about a topic I've always considered to be pretty difficult. Professor Bushee does a good job of communicating the concepts and the way they fit together. His approach has helped me develop a confident grasp of the fundamentals--which is saying a lot since I've tried to make sense of this material before but have never quite gotten my head around it in the past.

교육 기관: Francois R

Nov 30, 2015

Very clear, organised, and entertaining course. Professor Bushee (and his tech team) did a great job. Some non-graded practice exercises could be provided to the students as a form of training prior to the different tests. I would suggest the following number of non-graded exercise sets per week: 2 easy (2 x 10 questions) + 2 medium (2 x 10 questions) + 2 hard (2 x 10 questions).

교육 기관: Mustafa A

Mar 18, 2020

Very good content, very organized. But the material is heavy and need a lot of focus as the instructor needs to deliver a lot in very short time. I got back to some videos more than two times because I've missed some information. But in general it was not very hard.

The instructor is humorous and entertaining and I liked the virtual students very much.

교육 기관: Matthew K

Oct 01, 2016

Pretty good course. The instructor is engaging, and parts of the course make sense. I had a lot of trouble with Accounting, and I spoke with a friend and he agreed. Accounting is one of those subjects where things don't necessarily make sense in a way you can just figure out. The only way to get those items is brute force, memorize them.

교육 기관: Amber H

Apr 24, 2016

Thoughtful and smart introduction to accounting. I thought some of the quiz/test questions were worded poorly so some of the test content did not feel like you were actually being tested on your knowledge of the content, it was testing how literal or non-literal your understanding of the questions to be.

교육 기관: Yolanda C

May 06, 2017

Lecturer explained concepts really clearly and in way such that it is easy to understand. The examples given are great as I can see how the concepts work and how they are applied. The pace is fast for a beginner but acceptable taking into account that it spans over only a few hours for 4 weeks.

교육 기관: Rishi R

Oct 13, 2018

You could improve a little bit by considering that this course will not be taken by just Economics related students. You might want to develop a short notes kind of stuff for ease of access. Otherwise, great work sir! Especially, when you do the "Put the gain in, take the gain out..." :P

교육 기관: George B M

Jul 11, 2016

Professor kept it lively. Accounting is hard, and the work was challenging but he taught well, kept it engaging, and taught me a LOT. This class truly shows the quality of education that Coursera houses, at a truly great price compared to a class at an institution.