Chevron Left
FinTech: Foundations, Payments, and Regulations(으)로 돌아가기

펜실베이니아 대학교의 FinTech: Foundations, Payments, and Regulations 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
1,756개의 평가
397개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

In this course, you’ll learn the key components of modern-day investment strategies which utilize fintech. Professors Natasha Sarin and Chris Geczy of the Wharton School have designed this course to help you understand the complex structure of payment methods and financial regulations, so you can determine how fintech plays a role in the future of investing. Through analysis of robo-advising and changing demographic forces, you’ll learn how basic elements of trust underlie complex choice architecture in investments and impact investing. You’ll also explore payment methodologies and how fintech is emerging as an entrepreneurial solution to both investments and payment systems. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to identify different financial technologies, and understand the dynamic between the innovations and regulations, and employ best practices in developing a fintech strategy for yourself or your business. No prerequisites are required for this course, although a basic understanding of credit cards and other payment methods is helpful....

최상위 리뷰

RI
2020년 5월 24일

Nice introductory course to FinTech. However, I do not recommend the course for learners without prior knowledge on financial instruments as the course may become technical from time-to-time.

RN
2021년 3월 15일

Great teachers, excellent materials and one thing that I loved a lot a set of slides at the end of the chapter that made a lot easier to connect the lecture and class notes with the test.

필터링 기준:

FinTech: Foundations, Payments, and Regulations의 403개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: erik v d s

2019년 7월 11일

I found the course interesting, but given from a strong US perspective in general.

Which is sometimes interesting, sometimes funny and sometimes annoying being a Dutch and an European citizen.

I cannot say its not objective or scientific, but the cultural background gives me a feeling of bias. I don't know if its inevitable, for Wharton being an American University, but a more international integral approach (which is something different than adding 'international' chapters) would work better for me. Whether it would make the course better I can't say.

교육 기관: Denys P

2019년 8월 31일

Coursera is a global platform, however this course is extremely narrow-minded and US-focused.

Its not just about the content speaking about markets, regulations in the US and different states without even questioning if that is of interest to the global audience or providing any warning on the course page that it is a US-focused course. It is also about the sort of language the speakers choose - for example, on multiple occasions they divide the market into "US" and "International". This sort of language implies the speakers believe the US is a center of the world and local startups or companies in other countries are just falling under catch-all 'international'. Very insensitive and not recommended.

교육 기관: Jean-Yves D

2019년 7월 6일

Maybe a bit too theoretical at times. The tests at the end of the lecture could be more focused on conceptual understanding and applications rather than the current quizzes focusing a lot on details but not on the big picture.

교육 기관: Cong W

2020년 3월 3일

The first two weeks are a kind of Wikipedia.

The last two weeks are kind of reading the PPPPPPPPTTTTs.

교육 기관: Jiacheng L

2020년 1월 4일

The instructor Christopher Geczy's eyes are constantly looking at the scripts below the camera, he is literally reading scripts, rather than giving a lecture. The content is mostly showing data and statistics, rather than explaining how things work. The other instructor is alright.

교육 기관: Rachael E

2019년 8월 12일

I'll start by sayign that I took this course after 2 years away from a desk due to a stroke and my goal was to refresh and to see what I can and cannot still do. It achieved those objectives. Will it help me return to my career? I don't know yet but it's given me mroe confidence that the skills I've retained are still relevant.

Some of the material wasn't new to me but I've been in the finance industry for so long, way too long but there was some great content that made me re-evaluate my position.

I'm a product designer in alternative financial products and I'd never given much thought to the millenial perspective, until now. Understanding the shift in focus is critical for the future.

If you take a short course and come away having learnt something new that you can apply, then the course is a success. It did so for me.

교육 기관: Darran W

2020년 2월 17일

Well paced, good coverage of emerging and existing technologies and regulatory frameworks, and discussion on emerging issues that provide opportunities for innovation and regulation

교육 기관: Ralph H

2019년 6월 5일

Provides a good intro to the FinTech space in general, but as a Millennial with a bit of advanced knowledge in cryptocurrencies and underlying cryptographic technologies, I would like to criticize the representation of Bitcoin (it is not a "Company") and the presented issues in regards to the usage of crypto currencies for financing of criminal activities which in my opinion is by no means a bigger regulatory issue than the usage of cash / legal tender, like the US Dollar.

교육 기관: Amy S

2019년 7월 23일

Concise and informative overview of payment systems and regulatory perspectives on Financial Technology. Very introductory approach - no prior knowledge is required, nor is active research during the coursework. Poised several perspectives and detailed systems/structures that I had both never understood before, as well as detailing systems I had never been familiar with. Absolutely wonderful lessons!

It stands to mention that at a point in this course - in the fourth week, there is a reference to "Bitcoin" as a company. The instructor clearly understands Bitcoin is an asset, but a given example/case study displays "Bitcoin" as a company experiencing problems with using decentralized/anonymous assets to purchase illegal goods. This was presented in an embarrassingly biased format, completely ignoring any possible discussion of further regulation in decentralized asset classes/cryptocurrencies or any comparisons to FIAT.

교육 기관: ZheyuChen

2019년 7월 5일

Thanks to this course, providing the logic, systematic and data-convincing scopes to let novice know the fundamental knowledge of FinTech, I learnt a lot. Moreover, the methodology to analyze comprehensively and rationally is potentially passed to the learners, which is really helpful.

교육 기관: Basil C

2020년 10월 14일

Excellent programme by Professor Christopher Geezy and Assistant Professor Natasha Sarin. Enjoyed the presentation. Right pace and informative. Highly recommend for non-practitioners.

교육 기관: Chiasheng O H

2019년 6월 22일

This is a solid introductory of FinTech knowledge. I'm glad that I learned from the Masters on the trend, foundations, backing up by market-driven statistics that succesfully acco

교육 기관: Abdulkader

2019년 6월 30일

My first course in Coursera and it did not disappoint! I recommend this FinTech course to anybody seek a quick yet detailed introduction to the world of FinTech! Thank you

교육 기관: Ajay C

2019년 6월 19일

Great Introductory courses. I was able to build concepts around FinTech & new Payment systems & regulatory needs. Thank you professors !!!!

교육 기관: Jeremy B

2020년 5월 5일

A good high level overview. But too broad and not specific enough to have any use for anybody working in the FinTech industry. Too US focused. And many slides lacked labels, had errors etc.

교육 기관: Philip P

2019년 6월 29일

Very useful dive into what fintech is and is not, the potential benefits globally, the potential risks, and the challenges of regulation within countries and between countires

교육 기관: Colin F

2019년 7월 7일

clear and concise teachings lead to a quick understanding of the material presented. video length was great; never too long. visuals were easy to understand and interpret.

교육 기관: Paolo G

2020년 11월 11일

This course was a bit disappointing: from the title, one would guess that Fintech companies are the focus, whereas the bulk of the discussion is on pre-Fintech players (e.g. Visa/Mastercard instead of eWallet players). Additionally, I found the content to be very superficial in nature, with plenty of quotes and statistics, but little in the way of substantial insights into the industry. Finally, and perhaps inevitably, the content is mostly US-focused, thus making this course less relevant for a non-US audience (notwithstanding the importance of Fintech in, for instance, China, Australia, the EU and the UK).

교육 기관: The G

2021년 6월 10일

Half the course doesn't talk about how people feel about FinTech. Or, it's just me feeling lost about what is being said and not being able to understand what Fintech is.

교육 기관: bert

2021년 2월 3일

This was not a serious class. Very Disappointing.

교육 기관: Bhumika R

2020년 3월 30일

very basic. No focussed knowledge on regulations

교육 기관: ADNAN A G

2020년 9월 24일

No certificate

교육 기관: Inaja L

2020년 4월 19일

This was my first Coursera course and I enjoyed learning and understanding some of the fintech trends, and how this topic is important now and will continue to be in the future. I graduated one year and a half ago with a BBA in finance and didn’t get the chance to take a Fintech intro class. I am glad I was able to take this course while in quarantine due to coronavirus to add knowledge and learn about a hot topic.

The course was helpful to understand the important role of millennials in the sector of Fintech and how fintech companies should pay attention to these demographic groups now and in the future. Also, the course gives a good explanation of the big picture of regulation and its challenges within fintech. In addition, the professors were clear and concise with their way of explaining each topic.

I would recommend this course for anyone who is interested in learning the introduction to Fintech and its trends.

교육 기관: Temitope O

2020년 4월 30일

This course exposes the history of Fintech whilst unraveling the foundation of Payments. It is insightful with many analogies and Fintech terminologies to learn. As an in-house counsel in the financial services sector, I have become acquainted with a number of algorithms and technical terms used in Fintech. The regulation of Fintech has been a concern for me. The analogies and examples of various attempts to regulate Fintechs as well as the comparative analysis offered in this course have enabled me comprehensively to analyze risks inherent in partnerships between structured organizations and emerging Fintechs, especially in Africa. This course has propelled me to hatch innovative ways of how Fintechs in Africa can be regulated.

교육 기관: Clifford B

2021년 8월 30일

The course presented a number of underlying issues within the payments and regulatory space. The efforts to make digital payments faster, easier & more secure also contribute to the efficiency and cost-effectiveness of completing every day transactions. The complexity of the regulatory environment was soundly illustrated by the diagrams presented by the professor. I have a new appreciation for why an attorney is likely the most qualified professional to present an understanding of the inherent issues within this space. It content opened up my thinking as to the potential for future development, regulation and need for collaboration within this emerging industry.