Chevron Left
Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 샌디에고 대학교의 Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.4
별점
1,847개의 평가
432개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Mathematical thinking is crucial in all areas of computer science: algorithms, bioinformatics, computer graphics, data science, machine learning, etc. In this course, we will learn the most important tools used in discrete mathematics: induction, recursion, logic, invariants, examples, optimality. We will use these tools to answer typical programming questions like: How can we be certain a solution exists? Am I sure my program computes the optimal answer? Do each of these objects meet the given requirements? In the course, we use a try-this-before-we-explain-everything approach: you will be solving many interactive (and mobile friendly) puzzles that were carefully designed to allow you to invent many of the important ideas and concepts yourself. Prerequisites: 1. We assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), common sense and curiosity. 2. Basic programming knowledge is necessary as some quizzes require programming in Python....

최상위 리뷰

AD
2019년 3월 25일

The teachers are informative and good. They explain the topic in a way that we can easily understand. The slides provide all the information that is needed. The external tools are fun and informative.

AM
2021년 2월 27일

It is a great course! teachers explain everything with care. While providing lectures there are some popup ques that verify whether you understood that lecture or not. Overall, a great experience.

필터링 기준:

Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science의 425개 리뷰 중 351~375

교육 기관: Les C

2021년 4월 19일

Interesting summary of basic concepts.

교육 기관: Ketan V

2020년 5월 27일

The instructors were not clear enough.

교육 기관: CHIRANJEEV A

2020년 5월 8일

The Course was excellent. I loved it.

교육 기관: Riya G

2020년 8월 18일

amazing for beginners like me!

교육 기관: Amer A

2019년 9월 15일

very useful and impressive

교육 기관: Aryan B

2020년 7월 12일

Quite good for beginners!

교육 기관: AMEY G

2020년 5월 24일

very good and intuitional

교육 기관: Deleted A

2020년 10월 29일

Shen is a great teacher!

교육 기관: JAYANTH B

2020년 8월 28일

very useful. thankyou

교육 기관: Abhijeet S P

2020년 9월 14일

good experience.

교육 기관: Abu M A M S

2020년 7월 24일

very good course

교육 기관: Edson E L Z

2018년 7월 5일

muy practico!

교육 기관: YimingJia

2019년 7월 12일

Too simple

교육 기관: Gourav C

2019년 2월 2일

very good

교육 기관: 121910316019 C G S

2021년 1월 9일

good

교육 기관: Thành N K

2019년 6월 26일

good

교육 기관: Juan P G

2021년 6월 12일

I never quite understood who this course is meant for. The initial videos were interesting and the level of difficulty was such that someone without a strong mathematical background could follow and ramp up gradually. All of a sudden the difficulty increased significantly, the instructor started using Python code, the explanations weren't thorough, and the challenges required coding to be solved. Very strange jump in level of difficulty. I tried to stick with it, but I was not getting what I was hoping out of it, so I gave up on week 3.

교육 기관: Ricardo Z

2020년 4월 21일

The course content was good, I've learned new things and remembered others. Was nice to practice Math and use all those concepts to solve puzzles and understand the origins of lots of stuff. But the content of the course was not sufficient to me to understand every proposal assignments or content. I had to look others explanations on Youtube/articles to get a better understanding. I think you guys could work more on the explanations. A few times I had to play the videos more than three times to get what you were saying.

교육 기관: Steven W

2017년 12월 3일

This course is pretty great. You get to play with puzzles thats always fun. I think the course could use some refinement. The material feels a little unfocused. What I'd like is for the course to be focused on induction fundamentally. As a learner I want to be introduced to the concept of induction, build skills in applying induction and, develop intuition in reasoning about induction. The course ends up being a sampler for the rest of the courses in the series and, I think it's worse off because that.

교육 기관: Dimitry K

2020년 2월 18일

Material is good, but some of the explanations were very clunky and hard to comprehend. Really missed some smoother connections from topic to topic. The quality of explanations are very uneven between the lecturers. Some were excellent, while others - not so much.

Still, I enjoyed the course, and it was a good introduction to mathematical thinking, as the creators intended, I hope.

교육 기관: Aryan R

2020년 7월 5일

There are some problems with the third-party tool for this course, maybe it would be better off to use quizzes BUT I appreciate the use of puzzles as a complement to this course. The instructors are enthusiastic and knowledgeable. More emphasis can be given on simpler ways to put forward the ideas without tough use of mathematical terms. All in all, this was a good course.

교육 기관: Akash V S

2020년 5월 18일

The course was engaging and comprehensive yet a lot of the topics mentioned, especially in the last week, were not explained at all - for example, Big O Notation and time complexity. Moreover, there was an immense disparity between the difficulty in the problems that were to be solved as coursework and the bonus track.

교육 기관: Animesh S

2020년 6월 23일

It's hard to cope up with someone who didn't study math in the past. Course content is not sufficient according to the problem sets. I had to look for references to the video and then would understand everything completely. Honestly, I wouldn't recommend it for a non-math person

교육 기관: Aditya D

2020년 6월 14일

The course material is great! Also the way the course was planned is commendable. The course instructors especially Prof Alexander Shen are hard to understand most of the times when they explain a certain concept. The explanations by instructors need to improve.

교육 기관: Mohamed A J

2018년 12월 7일

It's a very stimulating course, though not caring for students much. The material sometimes should elaborate more on concepts, say in week 6, it should've been clearer to student what are permutations in a clearer sense.