Chevron Left
Wind resources for renewable energies(으)로 돌아가기

에콜폴리테크니크의 Wind resources for renewable energies 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

3.6
별점
110개의 평가

강좌 소개

The main goal of this course is to get the necessary knowledge on atmospheric and fluid dynamics in order to quantify the wind resource of a local or regional area. We’ll learn about basic meteorology, the specific dynamics of turbulent boundary layers and some standard techniques to estimate wind resources regardless of the type of turbine used or the level of efficiency achieved. Then, we will see what are the turbines characteristics to consider in order to estimate the electricity production from an isolated turbine or from a turbine farm. The differences and similarity between wind or marine resource assessment will also be discussed. Finally, you will have the opportunity to get hands-on experience with real in-situ data sets and apply what you have learned on wind resource assessment....

최상위 리뷰

필터링 기준:

Wind resources for renewable energies의 48개 리뷰 중 26~48

교육 기관: henri

2021년 1월 12일

A great course & serious coverage of the physics behind. Master level maths/physics if you want to get all of it, but not compulsory. A few bugs in the Quizzes (esp last week), already pointed out by many users, should be fixed

교육 기관: Sufi S H J

2017년 6월 4일

Very great course especially for the engineers who work in the renewable energy field. However, it very brief. If you could add real examples in and good flow of information, that would be very interesting to students.

교육 기관: Vinícius B d S

2021년 1월 23일

The course is very good, mainly the following topics: (Wind measurements in the boundary layer, energy definitions, and all third and fourth week). The negative point is the test, which ask not given content.

교육 기관: Sivateja M

2021년 7월 15일

There are some errors in the assignments. And there is no support in the course. Apart from these aspects it is a very well designed course. I learnt something applicable knowledge from this course.

교육 기관: Ma t

2018년 7월 25일

Very good course . The time spent to understand lectures and pass all exams was much more than the time advertised by the course.

교육 기관: Seyed M E

2019년 11월 6일

The topics of the wind power plant are very deeply taught but the quiz questions are very complex and conceptual.

교육 기관: Mohamed E

2021년 1월 10일

great information and excellent experience ,but exams so hard to pass it easy

교육 기관: Hamidreza M

2021년 11월 22일

A very usefull, helpful and difficult course.

교육 기관: Sean B

2019년 8월 8일

This was a challenging and interesting course and I'm glad I participated. I'm rating it with three stars because of some frustrating problems:

Errors in quizzes have been reported by other course participants and have not been resolved (refer to the discussion forum for each Week). Some of these issues were reported months or years ago.

There is no feedback (hints or suggestions) after taking graded quizzes other than the scores themselves. This makes learning from mistakes difficult. Multiple quiz questions have answers not discussed during the course.

교육 기관: BRUNO G C

2017년 7월 6일

The course brings up good features and widgets for better understand and assess wind energy sources.

On the other hand, the last part of the course relies on calculation and statistic data, no practical examples are given, no bibliography is available so that you may sort out any risen doubts related to the topics.

Finally, the forums are not a quick tool for clarifying doubts and no relevant discussion and proper support from the coordinators is provided.

교육 기관: Max M

2020년 5월 27일

The course is good if you only want to improve your theoretical knowledge of fluid dynamics and wind resources. However, students are not very likely to gain some practical skills from this course. I personally didn't like that the last assignment was quite interesting, but the lecturers didn't provide sufficient guidance on how to solve the given problems. So, it took me a long time to accomplish the course.

교육 기관: Mattia M

2020년 5월 2일

In general the course is extremely interesting and I really enjoyed the final applied exercises. However, quizzes are definitely a waste of time as they have tricky questions whose answers cannot be found in the videos most of the time and do not provide feedbacks on the mistakes made.

교육 기관: Raphael

2021년 9월 21일

The content is very interesting and well presented but there are some mistakes and imprecisions in the quizzes (week 4) which make the class frustrating and time-consuming. There is a lot of room for improvement

교육 기관: pierre g

2020년 11월 11일

The course is ok and interesting but quiz are not clear. We dont really know how answer should be formulated and we loose a lot of time in the formulation.

The course support is also quite weak.

교육 기관: Hector R

2022년 4월 5일

Overall, the course has good content. However, it can be challenging for those without previous knowledge in the area of wind energy.

교육 기관: Julian V

2020년 9월 24일

The course is overall very complete and interesting. However there are several issues with the quizzes that have been pointed out by many other students in their comments since 2017 without getting any answer or solution by the coordinator (if there is still someone in charge). Though sometimes are tricky, all quizzes are feasible, but the last one ("Wind resource assessment") is a mess. One has to mark wrong answers to pass it... It's a pity because the course would be perfect if this issue is fixed.

Despite this, I encourage to anyone who wants to learn some key concepts in wind resources and power production assessment to do this course, just recommending to read the comments of other students before getting desperate with the quizzes.

교육 기관: Pierre-Emmanuel V

2021년 1월 2일

I found the content of this course good and interesting. However there are some heavy minuses when it comes to quizzes which are very tricky and sometime not even asking questions related to the course. There are a few errors in the slides too and the quality of the video is sometimes poor. I would recommend not paying for this course

교육 기관: Daniel v G

2022년 6월 29일

Interesting content, however there are some MAJOR PROBLEMS that haven't been adressed.

1) It is not clear from the course description but you need programming experience in order to finish the course, such as Python or MATLAB. If you dont have that, you will battle.

Microsoft Excel helps, but its an imperfect solution and you'll need a lot of help and self learning.

2) there is errors in the quizzes and assignments that havent been adressed since 2020, this course has been abandoned by the instructors.

Many people have just quit due to the lack of access and assistance. The forums are saturated with unanswered questions dating back to 2020 or earlier.

Its a waste of time and money, honestly.

교육 기관: Matthew M

2021년 5월 28일

If you are a graduate level student in meteorology, and are interested in wind energy, then this course may be for you. Otherwise, stay away. That is the level of expected knowledge out of the gate. I've never felt less prepared for the quizzes. The lectures jump right into lists of equasions and are brushed over by the lecturer. All questions are multi-select so be prepared to second guess yourself and watch the videos over and over again. I like a good challenge for sure, but there is a reason why this is the lowest rated course I've seen on Coursera. Be prepared to grind and consult other resources to pass. Proceed with caution.

교육 기관: Ayesha S

2022년 6월 29일

I had mainly wanted to study the course from this university because of its higher ranking. However, I did not enjoy the course to the fullest. I would not recommend this course to students that have just completed their high school and want to acquire a new skills, or anyone who cannot interpret graphs and large amounts of data very well. I also did not enjoy the way the professors taught in the video which made it a little difficult to understand the theory. There was also not much reading material provided to understand the theory better. There were also a lot of questions in the assignment that were not covered in the lecture videos.

교육 기관: Muhammad A K

2021년 9월 21일

No support for any quiz. The explanations does not help much to finish the quizzes. At one point, it became so frustrating that I had to leave the course incomplete. Pity, because I was really looking forward to it.

교육 기관: Manasi A

2022년 2월 3일

Last two quizzes are of extremely high difficulty or lack accuracy. Almost all participants are unable to solve these. Please review and look into them. Thanks.

교육 기관: Rahul A K

2020년 4월 17일

Very Tough