Chevron Left
Wood Science: Beyond Building(으)로 돌아가기

웨스트 버지니아 대학교의 Wood Science: Beyond Building 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
115개의 평가
33개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The central question of this course: “why study wood?” If “why study wood” is the question, one answer would be that it is the only raw material available to us that is truly renewable in human life span terms. Wood is as important to society today as it ever was, despite the development of many man-made substitute materials, changing resource availability, and the changing needs of society. Some items on the list of wood products stay the same (lumber, plywood and veneer for building construction, furniture, shipping pallets & crates and other containers & packaging materials, railroad ties, utility poles, chemical feed stocks, etc), but the list also keeps changing to meet new needs and challenges as the resource changes. In short, wood is a far more diverse, green, and renewable resource than you might have imagined. Join us to learn about the important role of wood in human history, civilization, and our future. By the end of the course, learners will be able to: - describe wood as a raw material and its critical importance to the world economy, and the lives of the people that make that economy work. - identify the projected trend for wood consumption to continue to grow in the coming years, despite the image of wood as a "low tech" material. - identify the ways in which wood's properties can lead to its efficient and sustainable use. -identify wood's positive role in boosting the world economy and ability to lead to unexpected vocations....

최상위 리뷰

MM

Apr 24, 2018

Very imformative, very engaging, very inspiring!\n\nAn awesome course to be taken and the knowledge shared here is simply shocking and usefull.\n\nTHANK YOU.

KG

Jun 01, 2019

Very useful to understand about the American wood industry. Also helps know about some general information about wooden materials and wood itself.

필터링 기준:

Wood Science: Beyond Building의 33개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Kurian G

Jun 01, 2019

Very useful to understand about the American wood industry. Also helps know about some general information about wooden materials and wood itself.

교육 기관: Ronald S

Jul 08, 2017

Great course for intro to wood science.

교육 기관: dp

Jun 03, 2017

Very curious and useful information. Looking forward for more languages!

교육 기관: Erland R L

May 14, 2018

Great introduction!

교육 기관: Margaret

Apr 24, 2018

Very imformative, very engaging, very inspiring!

An awesome course to be taken and the knowledge shared here is simply shocking and usefull.

THANK YOU.

교육 기관: Boleslaw J S

Apr 06, 2017

Amazing, complex, interesting, professional.

교육 기관: Richard L W

May 27, 2017

Very interesting course. The instructors, Larry and Jeff, were both excellent.

교육 기관: JOHN Q

May 10, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed the course!

교육 기관: Daniel C P

Jan 31, 2018

Very useful course. Nicely presented in a well structured way, it gives a global view of wood science. It has links to very interesting resources of books, international associations and technical NASA papers (pretty understandable, in my opinion). It has a great value for the time required. Fully recommended!

교육 기관: Kalliopi K

Mar 26, 2018

Great course for introduction to forestry with many information about wood science. GREAT teachers !

교육 기관: Volodymyr N

Nov 21, 2017

Thanks, for offering this course! Though I've been working with wood at home for some years, I learned a great deal about the wood, ranging from specifics of working with the wood from the different species of trees to the global market and management of the forest. Your corse gives a great incentive go to forward with learnig more and working more with wood, looking at it in bigger depth rather than a conventient material only. Thanks, again!

교육 기관: Laura C

Feb 07, 2018

Highly recommended to those interested in learning the basics on wood science.

교육 기관: Harry A H

Feb 20, 2018

This course opened my eyes to a whole new world. Kind of helps you over the stumbling block to then study yourself further. Loved the honest simplicity of the teachers though it quickly becomes obvious that there is a huge industry behind it.

교육 기관: Rangani s p

Apr 15, 2019

It is a very useful topic to everyone. It explains about the how human damage environment. And how we regulate the wastages of wood

교육 기관: Briseida L J A

Apr 04, 2019

This course is a great oppontunity to learn and take a look about wood from other point of view. It explain very well theory and process with good examples and clear schemes. From the architecture point of view is very useful. Excellent!!

교육 기관: RAJESH B

Apr 07, 2019

Very nice introduction course of wood science

교육 기관: Dana L

Jun 22, 2019

I loved the course. Very informative, I shared some resource links with my mothernatureus facebook fanpage too.

교육 기관: Akemi I

Sep 08, 2019

I really liked this course in terms of structure, in particular. The quizzes in the video effectively kept me paying attention to the contents and made me better understood the contents of the course. Thank you very much!!!

교육 기관: Manoj K R

Aug 24, 2019

This is very good course. I enjoyed this and the science of wood. How principles of physics works in wood science. I alot of thanks to course instructors and whole team of course they describe the things very practical and easy way.

교육 기관: Jason D M

Sep 04, 2019

A few of the external links are missing, the course is relaxed and well taught.

교육 기관: Toni K

Jul 21, 2017

Great advanced course in wood science! Fits best for the person with at least basic knowledge of timber and use of it. If you are a newbie with timber, no problem; you'll get the point and maybe some great ideas.

교육 기관: Dana C

Jan 26, 2018

Very informative. Production value lower than what I've previously seen in other courses but it seems to work for this course, and give it an underlying charm.

교육 기관: Richard K

Nov 20, 2017

interesting material

교육 기관: tommaso b

Jul 03, 2017

In my opinion the course is very interesting. One reason is that it gives you insights into a topic which is not normally in the mainstream. Also it is strongly connected with social, economical and environmental themes. I would recommed the course to anybody interested in the world of wood production, use and the links to nowadays impacts on economics.