Chevron Left
Wood Science: Beyond Building(으)로 돌아가기

웨스트 버지니아 대학교의 Wood Science: Beyond Building 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
669개의 평가

강좌 소개

The central question of this course: “why study wood?” If “why study wood” is the question, one answer would be that it is the only raw material available to us that is truly renewable in human life span terms. Wood is as important to society today as it ever was, despite the development of many man-made substitute materials, changing resource availability, and the changing needs of society. Some items on the list of wood products stay the same (lumber, plywood and veneer for building construction, furniture, shipping pallets & crates and other containers & packaging materials, railroad ties, utility poles, chemical feed stocks, etc), but the list also keeps changing to meet new needs and challenges as the resource changes. In short, wood is a far more diverse, green, and renewable resource than you might have imagined. Join us to learn about the important role of wood in human history, civilization, and our future. By the end of the course, learners will be able to: - describe wood as a raw material and its critical importance to the world economy, and the lives of the people that make that economy work. - identify the projected trend for wood consumption to continue to grow in the coming years, despite the image of wood as a "low tech" material. - identify the ways in which wood's properties can lead to its efficient and sustainable use. -identify wood's positive role in boosting the world economy and ability to lead to unexpected vocations....

최상위 리뷰

DB

2020년 6월 4일

I am glad that I took this informative course. This course is useful to each and every people irrespective of their academic background and interests. It is good course regarding wood and its uses.

CZ

2020년 2월 11일

As a Civil Engineering student, this course has been very helpful for me. I do recommend to have this course in order to get the basic concept of wood science and its use as a building material.

필터링 기준:

Wood Science: Beyond Building의 180개 리뷰 중 126~150

교육 기관: Bailey A T B

2021년 5월 7일

Excellent

교육 기관: Adnan L

2020년 8월 31일

EXCELLENT

교육 기관: Pratikkumar D

2020년 6월 22일

excellent

교육 기관: Sreemathi G S

2020년 5월 4일

Awesome

교육 기관: PAVANKUMAR D

2020년 5월 21일

Good

교육 기관: karthik k m

2020년 4월 25일

Good

교육 기관: GOPIKA S

2022년 1월 24일

Goo

교육 기관: SARANYA K P S

2021년 6월 25일

ood

교육 기관: Krish K

2020년 4월 24일

Osm

교육 기관: Daniel M

2020년 8월 8일

As a Civil Engineering student this course gave me a lot of information about wood both as a resource and as a building material, even though a lot of it was common knowledge. Even for me as someone who isn't a native english speaker everything was easy to understand. Unfortunately some of the links were dead or lead to empty pages. There were times where the audio was very hard to understand but with the included script it wasn't hard to figure out what they were talking about.

All in all a very informative course for everyone who wants to learn a little bit about wood as a building material. Just don't expect it to make you a timber engineer

교육 기관: Ogreits

2017년 7월 23일

Great content. I would like to suggest diving deeper into some of the North American silviculture practises and forestry operations as well as roundwood measurement and sawmill business. That could be a nice insight for the forest industry people here in Europe. Thank you for your work and I'm looking forward to the next "Wood Science & Forestry" course.

교육 기관: tommaso b

2017년 7월 3일

In my opinion the course is very interesting. One reason is that it gives you insights into a topic which is not normally in the mainstream. Also it is strongly connected with social, economical and environmental themes. I would recommed the course to anybody interested in the world of wood production, use and the links to nowadays impacts on economics.

교육 기관: Minka G

2020년 9월 25일

The course content is very variated and nicely balanced. Issues from multiple areas of the world are discussed, as well as different uses. I especially enjoyed the perspectives of the guitar builder.

The audio and video differ a lot in quality, sometimes leading to barely being audible.

교육 기관: CM L

2020년 9월 19일

Well done! Lots of useful information and to learn about how to make good use of wood that build into products. Lecturers have provided many examples and elaborations with wood samples really make learning more fun.

교육 기관: Toni K

2017년 7월 21일

Great advanced course in wood science! Fits best for the person with at least basic knowledge of timber and use of it. If you are a newbie with timber, no problem; you'll get the point and maybe some great ideas.

교육 기관: Sagiraju L P

2020년 7월 26일

The course was really informative to me. As a civil engineering student I could know the importance of the most important building material I. E wood and it's types and uses and it's climatic conditions etc.

교육 기관: Helen

2020년 11월 26일

I like course very much. Nice to see and hear proffesionals. I want more information about Forest/Wood plantation managment in the future. A big intrigue was put in the course. Recomended.

교육 기관: Andrew H

2018년 2월 15일

Several of the links were dead, but other than that, great information in a very easy to follow manner. I especially enjoyed the questions during the video. Those helped tremendously.

교육 기관: Md M N K

2020년 8월 25일

The audio quality of voice during the presentation videos were not very clear. Sometimes not clearly audible as well. But the content was good anyways. Got to know many things.

교육 기관: Alistair M

2021년 4월 22일

Fun and interesting course for anyone who deals with lumber or wood products. it really piqued my interest in the wood industry and makes me want to learn more. Thanks.

교육 기관: Dana C

2018년 1월 26일

Very informative. Production value lower than what I've previously seen in other courses but it seems to work for this course, and give it an underlying charm.

교육 기관: Ebru T

2020년 10월 5일

sound and video quality was not always good, the subjects were repeated many times however it is a enjoyable course anyway

교육 기관: Christina M

2020년 5월 27일

A lot of excellent information. I especially enjoyed the guitar makers videos and the experiment with veneer and water.

교육 기관: Pranil b N

2020년 5월 23일

I gotta chance to get info about wood and it's various uses in different fields as well as knowledge of wood materials.

교육 기관: Ro M

2017년 6월 21일

It is interesting, but I would like to go deeper into the wood industry, new products, new techniques of sylviculture.