Chevron Left
Writing and Editing: Structure and Organization(으)로 돌아가기

미시건 대학교의 Writing and Editing: Structure and Organization 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
388개의 평가
75개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This second course in the Good with Words: Writing and Editing series will help you become an effective architect of information, both with your sentences and with your paragraphs. You’ll learn that the traditional advice to “Show, don’t tell” is incomplete and that skilled writers actually switch back and forth between showing and telling. You’ll also learn more about the menu of time management techniques introduced in the first course of the series, including “deep work,” “studio time,” and “the Animal Farm Principle.” And as with the other three courses in this series, you will get access to a wide range of books and other resources you can use even after you finish the course. These include: (1) the readings and exercises provided to the students who have taken the in-person version of this course at the University of Michigan and the University of Chicago; (2) two digital libraries of excellent writing from a diverse collection of journalists, scientists, novelists, poets, historians, and entrepreneurs; and (3) a monthly “Good Sentences” email....

최상위 리뷰

AD

2020년 11월 21일

Great course! There's plenty of materials and opportunities for practice. There's a sense of continuation from one topic to the next; coherence is impeccable.

JD

2021년 8월 17일

Patrick Barry is a phenomenal teacher and guide. His passion for writing is infectious. His stories are captivating. One of the best MOOCs I have taken.

필터링 기준:

Writing and Editing: Structure and Organization의 81개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Brandon L S

2020년 6월 2일

I enjoyed the videos and the content within them, but I felt they were often too short and needlessly broken into shorter videos. I understand that this was probably done to break things into more digestible content, but it became rather annoying having to sit through several < 1 minute videos in a row.

I felt a bit overwhelmed with all the reading, not because of the content, but rather the number of options offered.

I would have liked to have seen more practice offered. The quizzes weren’t terribly helpful because they seemed to test your ability to recall information such as author names; this wasn’t particularly helpful for reinforcing the ideas in the videos and reading and provided a source of frustration, rather than information.

There’s even errors in some of these quizzes (Battle and the Ballot); not a good look on a writing course.

교육 기관: Analeil D

2020년 11월 22일

Great course! There's plenty of materials and opportunities for practice. There's a sense of continuation from one topic to the next; coherence is impeccable.

교육 기관: John D

2021년 8월 18일

Patrick Barry is a phenomenal teacher and guide. His passion for writing is infectious. His stories are captivating. One of the best MOOCs I have taken.

교육 기관: Si

2020년 12월 21일

Excellent class. Very clear and interesting instruction that is supported by videos and additional reading material.

교육 기관: Jorge G

2020년 8월 13일

Everything I expected—and a little bit more. Excellent, consistent structure.

교육 기관: Ardak K

2020년 6월 18일

expected something more than was given. moreover, nevertheless it is said you can do courses in any order there are too much references to the 1st course.

교육 기관: Sam B

2021년 4월 15일

It is often remarked as a general rule that the only way to learn something is to do it. Writing is no exception. If you do wish to improve your writing then write.

With that said, Professor Barry outlines ways in which to analyze your own writing, as well as others. This is invaluable to someone who wishes to improve their communication in the written form. Moreover, Professor Barry teaches how to get better at getting better in the most general sense.

For these two reasons, I have found this course to be immensely impactful on the way I approach writing and learning. I suppose there is no greater takeaway one can wish for in a writing course.

교육 기관: Kat Z

2020년 7월 10일

This course taught by Professor Barry gave me many new ideas and perspectives on how to write better-structured writing. He communicated this information in an engaging and entertaining way. Thank you for creating this course!

교육 기관: Shoaib M

2021년 8월 31일

Excellent in excellence!

I highly recommend this course for those who aspire to be a writer or an excellent professional in their niches.

교육 기관: Deborah S

2020년 9월 11일

Excellent and inspiring and at the same time very informative and beneficial. Great teacher. Beautifully presented and organised.

교육 기관: Jenny J

2021년 10월 25일

I have learned a lot of new things from this course and I am excited to try the next course of this specialization.

교육 기관: Ewurajei

2020년 9월 30일

This is one of the best self-paced online courses I've taken. Thank you for sharing top-notch learning materials.

교육 기관: Zulfiqar A

2022년 2월 13일

Professor Barry has a very unique way of teaching. Overall course is good and one needs to do a lot of readings.

교육 기관: Eduardo J K

2020년 11월 29일

O curso é incrível. Conteúdo interessante, apresentado de forma didática e leve. O professor é didático e engajado. Apesar de ser dedicado a alunos do curso de Direito da Universidade de Michigan, pode ser aplicado a qualquer área do conhecimento. As dicas sobre o uso da língua inglesa são muito boas e proveitosas. Recomendo este curso para todos(as) que desejam escrever de forma persuasiva.

교육 기관: Bernice A

2020년 12월 15일

This course has been super helpful. It gave me a variety of readings. My instructor is very smart. He knows the concept at his fingertips and he really takes time to teach. I like how he invites his students to share at the end of the class what they remember from the class. He is a gem.

교육 기관: Jennifer M

2020년 11월 30일

Professor Barry excels in organizing and communicating ideas in ways that are engaging and revelatory. This course will give you the tools and resources to improve your writing in every area of your life, and the ability to express your ideas effectively and persuasively.

교육 기관: Ha D

2021년 9월 9일

The course is very helpful for both my professional and personal life. I get to improve my productivity, enjoy more readings and writings, and make a meaningful impact on my society just with the power of writing and editing. Big thanks to Professor Barry and Coursera!

교육 기관: Maina W

2022년 4월 5일

I truly enjoyed taking this course and Prof. Barry is a great teacher. I love his enthusiam and how knowledgable he is in regards to writing. I am inspired not only to write but to write really well. Thank you Coursera for giving me this wonderful opportunity.

교육 기관: ajenkins67@hotmail.com

2020년 12월 30일

This course was very good. I am learning a lot of good writing skills from both of the first courses that i have taken. The only thing I would do DIFFERNTLY IS MAKE MORRE ASSIGMENTS AND LESS PRATICE QUIZZES.

Allan JENKINS

교육 기관: Gloria J M

2021년 4월 12일

Excellent review of past learning with many ideas for improving communication through writing. I recommend this course to anyone who wants to be clearly understood as well as interesting and entertaining to the reader.

교육 기관: Pamela P

2021년 2월 5일

This course helped me understand how to write good sentences. I knew writing good sentences is important but, being shown how to write was very helpful.

교육 기관: Sharon J

2021년 7월 20일

I love this course! It offers an escape into a whole new world! Thank you for curating the content and for creating such compelling courses!

교육 기관: Gabriel P

2021년 2월 9일

Although the courses are designed to be taken in any order, the order taken does support a nice gradual approach.

교육 기관: Maureen M

2021년 7월 28일

A very helpful course. I am looking forward to learning more with Professor Bary and the University of Michigan.

교육 기관: Donna C

2021년 4월 8일

Best writing course I have ever done. Cant wait to complete the others in the specialization. Excellent teacher!