Chevron Left
Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest(으)로 돌아가기

코먼웰스 교육 신뢰의 Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
939개의 평가
369개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course is for curious students and aspiring authors with a passion for writing for young readers. Participate in a dynamic online community of writers as you experiment with your own writing and develop your voice. This course will guide you with a combination of video lectures, online readings, peer reviews, and guest appearances from world-renowned children’s authors. As you work through the writing exercises, you will give and receive feedback from your peers and gain tools and techniques for improving your writing. During this course you will identify stories that matter to you, explore cultural significance and boundaries, and shape your identity as a writer; become familiar with standard elements of narrative (character, setting, plot, theme, language, dialogue, point of view); reflect on your own work and practice essential self-editing skills; see the different ways in which words and art interact, and the possibilities of longer narrative forms; come away with practical insights into publishing options; and create a plan for pursuing your enthusiasm for writing. By the end of the course, you will have ten to twelve extracts of writing that you can develop into a portfolio. Join a dynamic community of many voices from around the world. Find inspiration in your own voice, heart, and place so that you can tell the stories for young readers you’ve always wanted to tell....

최상위 리뷰

DB

Feb 07, 2016

I am a beginner wantabee author and publisher, first steps are elementary, as I need. Self paced, life can get in the way. Instructors are wonderful, as are the guest speakers and interviewees Thanks.

FO

Jul 17, 2017

This course introduces writing in an easy to understand way. The interviews with published authors are very insightful as well. The exercises are a great avenue to practice what the Mooc instruct

필터링 기준:

Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest의 361개 리뷰 중 326~350

교육 기관: Phillip K

Aug 29, 2015

It's perfect for teach beginning Children's book writers how to start writing

교육 기관: Hanaa A

Sep 13, 2015

I love this course. I learned a lot. It ignited my passion for writing again.

교육 기관: Martin P

Sep 07, 2015

The general advice given is very good and useful, and the section

교육 기관: David M

Sep 01, 2017

Añadiría textos en español o la opción de subtitular los textos.

교육 기관: PASCAL D

Sep 05, 2015

interesting and clear !

For all levels of English

Good experience

교육 기관: Sudha M D

Sep 15, 2015

Many more Handouts to refer can improve the course much better

교육 기관: Kattia C

Sep 01, 2015

Very good Training! Lots of examples and practical knowledge.

교육 기관: Alexandra L

Aug 31, 2015

This was a very helpful course, as well as entertaining.

교육 기관: Ekaterina K

Sep 05, 2015

The course is helpful for begining writers. Thank you.

교육 기관: Mónica S

Jun 15, 2017

I learned a lot in this course. It was really good

교육 기관: CLauder

Oct 04, 2015

I'm learning to write a book which is great.

교육 기관: Hanto L S

Oct 15, 2017

Good explanation for non native speaker

교육 기관: Nguyễn M T

Nov 10, 2015

Great, this course upgraded my view.

교육 기관: Cátia B

Jun 27, 2016

I loved it all!

교육 기관: Karina N L

Nov 12, 2016

Very good :)

교육 기관: Meredith F

Aug 30, 2015

Great class!

교육 기관: Sara M S V

May 23, 2020

.

교육 기관: Kingsley C W

Aug 25, 2015

I loved the non-UK / American basis for the writing and the study texts: fascinating reads and great eye openers to other styles and languages. Such a rich source! The videos and interviews were great and I loved the transcriptions - they made life so much easier to make notes and annotate from.

The main issue I have is with the 'peer' marked work throughout the course. I feel this was meant to be a collaborative tool for us to use, but instead turned out to be a rather awkward device. Some students gave leeway to the 500 words limit; others not. I was failed because my explanatory note - not the piece itself, just a note for context - took me 34 words over. How pedantic was that reader? Another piece I read was over 2000 words long and had obviously been taken from some other assignment: it barely fit the study brief. Additionally, are non English speaking students penalised by having to write in English? Grammar and syntax in the west is very different depending on the country you come from - German syntax vs Italian vs English. All are different. How can I be fairly marked if the reader of my work has English as a second / third language? By that same token, can I really pass a student who has met the course criteria, yet has mis-spelled many words, has little or no punctuation and has jumbled tenses all over the place. This needs to be sorted out I feel, as it has marred this course for me. I don't feel it gave an even playing field to all. Thank you for the opportunity though, I did enjoy it!

교육 기관: Turnip

Sep 03, 2015

I want to give it 3 1/2 starts - sometimes the modules seem really segmented and you spend half the time repeating the same ideas or recapping the course material (that was new that week!).

While the assessment tasks were great exercises, the fact that they're peer-reviewed means that the feedback you get is often unhelpful or poorly informed.

It was a good course to do, but I don't think it's really going to change anyone's life (and I would encourage people to not take the peer feedback too seriously!).

교육 기관: Aurelien T

Sep 30, 2015

Far too basic in content. It's clearly aimed at people with next to no experience at all on writing and publishing! However, it still is insightful and inspirational as, 'Writing for Young Readers' is taught by two established children writers and, packed with interviews of other writers from all around the world. A nice introduction but, just that -an introduction. If you have experience writing (for children or else)

교육 기관: Roxanne

Jan 21, 2016

Provides good basic information. The assignments are simple and can easily be "passed" by following directions, not necessarily by writing well. Many reviews say the critiquing is the draw-point of this class, but that is all done by fellow students not by publishing experts or professionals. So while this course "opens the treasure chest," it leaves you a long way from publishable

교육 기관: Tyler H

Sep 14, 2015

This course should be given a basic or starter level tag. Some of the videos are great, but they cover very basic: things like genre and narration. I thought the presenters/teachers were great, and I liked their author interviews. I wish there had been more writing assignments. I am very glad I took the course.

교육 기관: Sue L

Dec 12, 2016

While I found the content and instructors to be very good, I don't feel I received any true constructive criticism that will help me with my writing. I would have preferred having an instructor review my work and provide proper feedback. I understand it costs to have someon

교육 기관: Alexander S

Feb 05, 2016

A good but simple introduction to writing. The instructors (particularly David) are friendly and helpful - it's just that nothing is dealt with in any great depth. However, that helps make it good as an introduction.

교육 기관: Cristian S P

May 30, 2016

Kind of basic about the writing stuff, i wish it work more about audience and characteristics of each age. Very useful the second part of the course, about editing.