Chevron Left
Mastering Data Analysis in Excel(으)로 돌아가기

듀크대학교의 Mastering Data Analysis in Excel 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.2
별점
3,806개의 평가
921개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Important: The focus of this course is on math - specifically, data-analysis concepts and methods - not on Excel for its own sake. We use Excel to do our calculations, and all math formulas are given as Excel Spreadsheets, but we do not attempt to cover Excel Macros, Visual Basic, Pivot Tables, or other intermediate-to-advanced Excel functionality. This course will prepare you to design and implement realistic predictive models based on data. In the Final Project (module 6) you will assume the role of a business data analyst for a bank, and develop two different predictive models to determine which applicants for credit cards should be accepted and which rejected. Your first model will focus on minimizing default risk, and your second on maximizing bank profits. The two models should demonstrate to you in a practical, hands-on way the idea that your choice of business metric drives your choice of an optimal model. The second big idea this course seeks to demonstrate is that your data-analysis results cannot and should not aim to eliminate all uncertainty. Your role as a data-analyst is to reduce uncertainty for decision-makers by a financially valuable increment, while quantifying how much uncertainty remains. You will learn to calculate and apply to real-world examples the most important uncertainty measures used in business, including classification error rates, entropy of information, and confidence intervals for linear regression. All the data you need is provided within the course, all assignments are designed to be done in MS Excel, and you will learn enough Excel to complete all assignments. The course will give you enough practice with Excel to become fluent in its most commonly used business functions, and you’ll be ready to learn any other Excel functionality you might need in the future (module 1). The course does not cover Visual Basic or Pivot Tables and you will not need them to complete the assignments. All advanced concepts are demonstrated in individual Excel spreadsheet templates that you can use to answer relevant questions. You will emerge with substantial vocabulary and practical knowledge of how to apply business data analysis methods based on binary classification (module 2), information theory and entropy measures (module 3), and linear regression (module 4 and 5), all using no software tools more complex than Excel....

최상위 리뷰

TB
2021년 11월 16일

I like and appreciate courses provided through Coursera.This course is very interesting and valuable for those whose jobs do have relevance with data management .God bless Coursera and Duke University

JE
2015년 10월 30일

The course deserves a 5-star rating because: (1) content is relevant, (2) the professor is concise and possesses great teaching skills, and (3) the learning modules are applicable to daily problems.

필터링 기준:

Mastering Data Analysis in Excel의 903개 리뷰 중 851~875

교육 기관: Shivek C

2020년 7월 10일

I did not like the course at all. The first week was fine but then the course only offers pre-made excel sheets where we just have to change values and pass tests. The teaching videos every week are for less than 30 minutes total and there are 2 tests for 30 mins each. How is it even fair? It is really a pain. I am sorry but I am highly disappointed.

교육 기관: Tyler R

2022년 1월 23일

I stopped listening as soon as I heard the statement that aggregate information was pretty much useless. That is a blissfully ignorant statement. I am a Data Integrity Analyst for a large corporation with a global presence and I can tell you from real world work experience the opposite is true.

교육 기관: Nicole H

2016년 1월 19일

Was very frustrated with this course. Does not have a strong emphasis on Excel skills and the statistics models provided seem to be randomly chosen and poorly explained. Quizzes were interesting, but time-consuming because of the necessary extra research outside of provided lectures.

교육 기관: WEI H

2020년 6월 29일

I don't even want to give 1 star even. The videos do not match the quizes at all. You have to put in much much more time on the useless sheets it provided, and they call it as practical experience! It's probably the worst course I've encountered on Coursera. Don't enroll it.

교육 기관: Camilla O

2016년 3월 8일

Content is not well organized, videos are disconnected from one another, explanations are not clear, spreadsheets contain vast information that is not explained anywhere. It is been quite difficult to follow through the course and I bet many students are giving up.

교육 기관: Eduardo S H

2016년 1월 22일

Being honest, the lessons in the course are disconnected with the weekly tests, specially for the final exam. Professor Daniel Egger and his assistan MUST improve the lessons, including examples step by step specially for the multiple linear regression su

교육 기관: Ketian Y

2017년 2월 21일

Not very helpful for those with a solid statistical background. I prefer to use R to do the modeling things, while this course should talk more about pivot tables and existing useful financial functions which advantage over other statistical tools.

교육 기관: Mohamad H

2016년 7월 10일

Really unhappy with how difficult and over complicated it is. I came here to learn about Excel. Pivot tables? functions? The course really loses focus and its unfortunate that I am now stuck here and cannot continue the entire specialization.

교육 기관: Ümid O

2020년 7월 4일

I can't even convey my frustration. Terrible course with a terrible teacher and misleading name. At the end of the course you don't learn any practical skills in Excel. Just avoid this course if you looking for practical knowledge

교육 기관: Nicole P

2015년 12월 12일

Very confusing lectures, he says you don´t have to have a basic level of excel to do the course but I didn´t find that true. Struggled through all of the lecture videos and the quizzes seemed to come out of left field.

교육 기관: Aaisha A

2020년 7월 5일

No concept was shown in Excel, it was just like paper and pen, the traditional one. And the professor was eating half of the words in between. Please explain all the concepts using excel. this course is a total waste.

교육 기관: Dan L

2016년 1월 22일

In the course info this is described as the first course in the series and that it requires no prior knowledge but the first week quiz contains questions referring to an equation 'discussed in the previous course'.

교육 기관: E B

2016년 2월 11일

Given this is the third (or fourth) iteration of this course, it's telling that the errors from the original release remain in the videos and quizzes. There are other, higher-quality Data Science MOOCs available.

교육 기관: Abhiroop B

2020년 4월 18일

The Audio is not audible properly and the course material is not explanatory. The content and the quizzes or tasks dont add up. I had to often refer to google to find the modeling ideas.

교육 기관: sagar c

2016년 3월 24일

The course structure is not thoughtfully prepared. There is a lot of confusion around what the instructor wants to say. The practice quizzes and course content have no match whatsoever

교육 기관: 吳詠妤

2015년 11월 14일

Don't know how to apply the statistics and excel formula in real world situation. Besides, it becomes focus on approving statistics equation than teaching data analysis in excel

교육 기관: Iselie I

2016년 8월 10일

En mi opinion es un tema muy interesante sin embargo cuesta entender lo que el profesor está diciendo por lo que es muy dificil llevar el ritmo del material...

교육 기관: Esuene S

2016년 4월 24일

Poorly coordinated lectures. References to resources that are not provided. No response (at least, for days on end) when questions are posted on the forums

교육 기관: Roberto K

2016년 4월 13일

Interesting statistical concepts, and great theory. However, the lectures and the quizzes do not prepare the student well for the final project.

교육 기관: Siamak R

2020년 8월 31일

Not a well structured course at all. There is not much clear explanation on the subjects. You pretty much need to figure it out by yourself.

교육 기관: Ashish G

2021년 7월 18일

A​lthough course is good but not satisfied with frequent updates for which you have to again pay as we had already paid for the course.

교육 기관: Josh H

2017년 12월 15일

Terrible course, almost no focus on Excel and the lectures were incomprehensible. Please redo this class with Dr. Borg teaching it.

교육 기관: Inna G

2020년 11월 17일

not about data analysis in excel, but mostly how to create models, not related to real life and very hard to grasp

교육 기관: Richard C

2015년 11월 11일

Where is the course study material and are you providing a book on this subject and Excel? You have me lost.