Chevron Left
Mastering Data Analysis in Excel(으)로 돌아가기

듀크대학교의 Mastering Data Analysis in Excel 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.2
별점
3,725개의 평가
900개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Important: The focus of this course is on math - specifically, data-analysis concepts and methods - not on Excel for its own sake. We use Excel to do our calculations, and all math formulas are given as Excel Spreadsheets, but we do not attempt to cover Excel Macros, Visual Basic, Pivot Tables, or other intermediate-to-advanced Excel functionality. This course will prepare you to design and implement realistic predictive models based on data. In the Final Project (module 6) you will assume the role of a business data analyst for a bank, and develop two different predictive models to determine which applicants for credit cards should be accepted and which rejected. Your first model will focus on minimizing default risk, and your second on maximizing bank profits. The two models should demonstrate to you in a practical, hands-on way the idea that your choice of business metric drives your choice of an optimal model. The second big idea this course seeks to demonstrate is that your data-analysis results cannot and should not aim to eliminate all uncertainty. Your role as a data-analyst is to reduce uncertainty for decision-makers by a financially valuable increment, while quantifying how much uncertainty remains. You will learn to calculate and apply to real-world examples the most important uncertainty measures used in business, including classification error rates, entropy of information, and confidence intervals for linear regression. All the data you need is provided within the course, all assignments are designed to be done in MS Excel, and you will learn enough Excel to complete all assignments. The course will give you enough practice with Excel to become fluent in its most commonly used business functions, and you’ll be ready to learn any other Excel functionality you might need in the future (module 1). The course does not cover Visual Basic or Pivot Tables and you will not need them to complete the assignments. All advanced concepts are demonstrated in individual Excel spreadsheet templates that you can use to answer relevant questions. You will emerge with substantial vocabulary and practical knowledge of how to apply business data analysis methods based on binary classification (module 2), information theory and entropy measures (module 3), and linear regression (module 4 and 5), all using no software tools more complex than Excel....

최상위 리뷰

JE
2015년 10월 30일

The course deserves a 5-star rating because: (1) content is relevant, (2) the professor is concise and possesses great teaching skills, and (3) the learning modules are applicable to daily problems.

PW
2020년 10월 13일

The course was excellent. A little difficult and overwhelming at times but as long as you stayed the course the professors gave you every opportunity to succeed. Thank you for your time professor.

필터링 기준:

Mastering Data Analysis in Excel의 880개 리뷰 중 401~425

교육 기관: Pramit A M

2015년 11월 2일

Awesome

교육 기관: Jose C S M

2016년 2월 11일

Great!

교육 기관: Marica C

2015년 12월 13일

Great!

교육 기관: HUILIN M

2015년 12월 2일

useful

교육 기관: DAMPANABOINA S

2020년 11월 28일

nice

교육 기관: Arya s

2020년 10월 28일

Best

교육 기관: Md. R Q S

2020년 10월 10일

good

교육 기관: Dishant P

2020년 2월 12일

Nice

교육 기관: Chirag K

2019년 9월 27일

Good

교육 기관: Meenal C

2018년 12월 5일

ccol

교육 기관: Bharath M

2017년 7월 4일

good

교육 기관: Кирилл

2017년 4월 7일

Nice

교육 기관: Kyle A

2016년 2월 22일

Ver

교육 기관: Malgorzata P

2016년 2월 10일

:)

교육 기관: Michal K

2017년 10월 7일

V

교육 기관: winnielou

2016년 10월 24일

k

교육 기관: Al S

2015년 12월 16일

e

교육 기관: Tania K

2015년 12월 8일

.

교육 기관: Madeline K

2021년 3월 16일

This was a good course for anyone looking to learn advanced excel analytics techniques. I learned a lot and the quizzes and final project give sufficient hands on practice to go along with the videos.

The reason I am not giving this course 5 stars is because there were times when the instructor rushes through some of the concepts in the course. I had a hard time following along at times and had to do a lot of reading in the forums to understand how to complete the final project. I would not rate this as a beginner course, these are advanced data analytics techniques requiring using calculus and statistics in excel. There are also some errors in the quizzes and I found that the course mentors are not super active in the forums -- many of their posts and tips being from 3-4 years ago.

All that said, I don't want my review to deter folks from taking this course. I learned a lot and I feel very accomplished that I completed it and I am walking away with a thorough understanding of the topics. I'd still recommend this course to anyone who is willing to put in extra hours outside of the course to do your own research, spend time with the spreadsheets, and use the forums.

교육 기관: Isa P

2018년 6월 3일

This course was a rigorous introduction to using Excel for the specific purpose of solving data analytics problems. The challenges were fun and rewarding for those who love mathematics, applications to real-world data problems, and who are comfortable with wrestling with complex concepts independently. The core components of this course were binary classifications, linear regression, and the supporting mathematical and statistical theorems. While the first two weeks of the course were a very steep learning curve (even for a student with a B.A. in Applied Mathematics), the supplemental explanations after submitting assignments helped the learning process. I wished such structure and explanatory post-quiz materials persisted through weeks 3-6 of the course. This would have made it more rewarding, as I came away wishing I could review my weaker areas.

교육 기관: Yun Q N

2020년 9월 17일

After completing the course, I'd like to say that the title of the course seems quite misleading as it focuses very much on math and statistical concepts behind some of the commonly used techniques and not so much on using excel to perform data analysis. It's interesting to know the concepts behind, but I have to admit that I struggled with the course as I've not touched advanced maths and statistics since college almost 2 decades ago.

From the peer review assignment, it appears that I'm not the only one struggling with the course. One suggestion to Duke University would be to set up screening of the peer review assignments and single out those that have exceptionally short responses, out of 5 that I reviewed, 2 submissions have only (.) in its response. That surely shouldn't be allowed

교육 기관: Max H

2015년 12월 13일

Entering this course with a pretty in-depth knowledge of Excel, it was good to be able to brush up on some things I don't use on a day-to-day basis such as VLOOKUP and STANDARDIZE functions. The subject material is quite good, AOC and Binary Classifications were very interesting to learn about and have tons of applications, particularly in operation optimization problems/cases. One point of suggestion would be to double-check and clean up the accompanying Excel files. Some of the material was confusing to follow along with. If you could define cells, arrays, and tables for instance it would make the material much more intuitive to follow-along with.

교육 기관: Evan D

2021년 2월 22일

I learned new things, and each time something clicked I felt like it was a huge achievement. Overall, I found this course very hard. Things build on each other so if you don't get any of the steps along the way, then you can't really move on. I think it is anticipated that you have a deeper knowledge of algebra and other concepts in general than I have. This is supposed to take 6 weeks, and it took me 13 weeks, so basically twice as long. To be fair, I spanned the holiday season as well, but overall it took me much longer to complete things than the outline suggests.

교육 기관: Charlie C

2019년 7월 10일

The material is actually very good. But the assignments have too many overall flaws, flaws that are not fixed in years. It wasted me a ton of time. A lot of materials are also very "skippy" where the instructor derives something suddenly and does not say if this is derived from a out-of-scope method or what not. It leaves you hanging and rewatching and thinking and wasting time just because he does not explain "hey don't think about it because it's out of scope and i am just giving you the result and nothing else is going on ". All these said, I love the materials.

교육 기관: Rebecca S

2018년 3월 27일

I learned a ton, but the course was TOUGH! You really have to hunker down, pay close attention, and take notes...sometimes even re-watch lectures more than once. I am glad I took the course. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that the lectures can be tough to follow, and the quizzes and assignments have missing or misplaced information that make it difficult to get to the right answer. It takes some serious patience, reading of the supplemental material, and hints from others on the discussion forums.