Chevron Left
Mastering Data Analysis in Excel(으)로 돌아가기

듀크대학교의 Mastering Data Analysis in Excel 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.2
별점
3,553개의 평가
840개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Important: The focus of this course is on math - specifically, data-analysis concepts and methods - not on Excel for its own sake. We use Excel to do our calculations, and all math formulas are given as Excel Spreadsheets, but we do not attempt to cover Excel Macros, Visual Basic, Pivot Tables, or other intermediate-to-advanced Excel functionality. This course will prepare you to design and implement realistic predictive models based on data. In the Final Project (module 6) you will assume the role of a business data analyst for a bank, and develop two different predictive models to determine which applicants for credit cards should be accepted and which rejected. Your first model will focus on minimizing default risk, and your second on maximizing bank profits. The two models should demonstrate to you in a practical, hands-on way the idea that your choice of business metric drives your choice of an optimal model. The second big idea this course seeks to demonstrate is that your data-analysis results cannot and should not aim to eliminate all uncertainty. Your role as a data-analyst is to reduce uncertainty for decision-makers by a financially valuable increment, while quantifying how much uncertainty remains. You will learn to calculate and apply to real-world examples the most important uncertainty measures used in business, including classification error rates, entropy of information, and confidence intervals for linear regression. All the data you need is provided within the course, all assignments are designed to be done in MS Excel, and you will learn enough Excel to complete all assignments. The course will give you enough practice with Excel to become fluent in its most commonly used business functions, and you’ll be ready to learn any other Excel functionality you might need in the future (module 1). The course does not cover Visual Basic or Pivot Tables and you will not need them to complete the assignments. All advanced concepts are demonstrated in individual Excel spreadsheet templates that you can use to answer relevant questions. You will emerge with substantial vocabulary and practical knowledge of how to apply business data analysis methods based on binary classification (module 2), information theory and entropy measures (module 3), and linear regression (module 4 and 5), all using no software tools more complex than Excel....

최상위 리뷰

JE
2015년 10월 30일

The course deserves a 5-star rating because: (1) content is relevant, (2) the professor is concise and possesses great teaching skills, and (3) the learning modules are applicable to daily problems.

PW
2020년 10월 13일

The course was excellent. A little difficult and overwhelming at times but as long as you stayed the course the professors gave you every opportunity to succeed. Thank you for your time professor.

필터링 기준:

Mastering Data Analysis in Excel의 820개 리뷰 중 651~675

교육 기관: Sundeep g

2019년 2월 24일

It was great to have this course.

교육 기관: Hao C

2016년 2월 9일

Not so relevant with real work.

교육 기관: Joseph M

2016년 5월 2일

It was an interesting course.

교육 기관: Carlos S C

2016년 2월 14일

Final project really hard

교육 기관: Vishal R

2015년 12월 18일

Not much explanatory

교육 기관: Santiago B

2020년 5월 27일

Very theoretical.

교육 기관: Syed A M K

2015년 12월 11일

good course

교육 기관: Jorge D

2015년 10월 17일

great!

교육 기관: Gabriel O C

2016년 7월 5일

PROS:

- Classification lecture is good;

-Weekly assignments are challenging enough

CONS

- No slides provided. Professor draws on an eletronic chalkboard (with a very bad handwriting) and you need to keep going back to videos when you are doing the homework. For me, this shows lack of professionalism and laziness

- Some excel sheets are provided. But they are very messy and badly formatted, matching the messy handwriting in the videos. AND, the instructions are for MAC! No instructions for PC are provided whatsoever. I never used MAC, so I had a very hard time!

- Very few examples real examples are provided;

- You learn math concepts, not Excel skills! Except for the LINEST function, which is very handy, BUT it's NOT TAUGHT in the videos. I had to google the function to learn it.

- They say to complete each piece of the final assingment after you finish the respective week related to that piece. But they only say that as you start week 6!

- The course doesn't provide sufficient material for the final assignment. You get stuck without knowing how to get to answers;

- Some answers to the final assignment are not correct, you check the answer sheet, and the results aren't present in the test!

OVERALL:

I'd never recommend this course to anyone. I only took it because I'm plannening to finish the specialization.

I've taken several Online Courses (5+ on Excel), and this is the worst and most frustating one by far!

교육 기관: Emanuele M

2020년 10월 3일

An interesting course, however, undermined by the number of topics addressed that for their complexity would have deserved a more systematic and less random treatment. The course is based on several pre-compiled excel files that should be a demonstration of the theoretical topics covered. This approach does not ensure the mastery of the theory by reducing the quizzes to the mere filing of cells with predetermined formulas.

I find the part on linear regression the most catastrophic. Having personally some basis of statistics, I have somehow managed to complete the course, but the treatment, especially with regard to the concept of entropy in information theory, should be completely revised. I don't understand why Professor Eggers doesn't start from basic concepts and then expand to more complex ones instead of the opposite. The final work, despite the formulation, is almost completely incomprehensible (check on the forums to believe), as unfortunately often happens here on Coursera is judged good-natured and the general level is very low, with a wide degree of plagiarism.

교육 기관: Noelle G

2018년 2월 9일

Understand that this is a course in Data Analysis that utilizes excel, not a course in excel. That being said, that's not my main reason for the lower rating. The math taught in this course is not geared well to people who struggle with math. Much of the learning time is devoted to understanding the math at a theoretical level. Much of the terminology is inadequately explained, and thee are too many instances of mathematical proofing over concrete, numerical examples. What numerical examples there are tend to be deliberately specific, simple and limited because the instructor wants you to take what you learned and apply it to the more complicated problems using your own understanding. Sadly this does not work when you don't understand the math with only a few simple examples and the theoretical reason as to why it works as a reference. Additionally the mentor for the course forums has very similar problems to the professor, relying on complicated mathematical terms and definitions that mean very little to someone who wasn't able to get it the first time.

교육 기관: George T

2017년 3월 8일

The course was a bit disappointing. We didn't cover enough advanced Excel functionalities, opting instead to focus on 2 statistical models (Binary Classification and Linear Regression). Having a BSc in Economics, the Linear Regression tutorials and quizzes seemed infantile, while the Binary Classification tutorials proved to be too vague, when we actually had to apply this knowledge on the final project. In retrospect, I regret not starting to work on the final week's material right from the start, which resulted in having to switch session multiple times in order to finish the course. Even if I had done so, though, it wouldn't have made up for the vague instructions in the quizzes and assignment of the final week that made feel at a loss, until I asked for help in the forums. All in all, this course need some serious re-working, in terms of how the material is presented and how the assignments are phrased.

교육 기관: Monique P

2016년 8월 11일

I did learn a few helpful tips for analyzing data with excel - particularly how to do a regression analysis in excel which is something I didn't know and is not intuitive. But for a course that is supposed to teach you how to analyze data in excel, there are actually very few lectures that actually show you how to do anything in excel. So much time is spent on how to calculate stuff by hand, without even mentioning how it translates to excel. Also the lectures have a lot of errors that were not corrected in a professional way. Just a random slide put in as an afterthought. The lectures got a bit disorganized towards the end, like the professor was in a rush and then forgot to relate everything to actual business analysis. The final project was especially difficult as not much was explained - I had to read the forums to figure out what I was actually supposed to do.

교육 기관: Carmen R

2016년 7월 22일

This course was tough, but I dont mind a challenge. But what I found frustrating about this course was that first the quizzes were often inconsistent with the lecture material, the TA's were less helpful than my fellow classmates (without whom I would not have made it through the course) and the final was an IMMENSE challenge that took over my life for about 1 week - despite the calculation by the instructors that it would take 6-8 hours. I did give it a few stars because I honestly did learn things I did not know, and I understand the value of the application of what was taught for modern businesses. I have been informed that the course is being reviewed by the instructors for strengthening and I 100% agree with that direction.

교육 기관: Dan E

2020년 7월 27일

The course title is misleading. Various statistical methods are introduced in this course without much thought to ordering, then presented in pre-made Excel templates that are used for the course's final project. The analysis techniques are worth learning, but their connection is not clear, and the difficulty spike from the first week to the second and especially the final project is high. Additionally there were some mistakes in the course that lead to several hours of wasted time in preparing the final project. Prof. Eggers is obviously very knowledgable, so if you are willing to invest more time than the average, this course may be worth taking.

교육 기관: Jason R

2016년 7월 20일

Beware this course, especially if you are new to this area (despite what the course/specialization says). There are very few examples to clarify and illustrate the different topics of the course, but what's worse is that the assignments are almost completely divorced from the instructional videos; the assignments and especially the final project are much more complicated than anything presented in the instructional videos, so there is no knowledge basis from which the student can operate to complete the assignments/projects satisfactorily or smoothly.

I am extremely dissatisfied and wish I hadn't paid for this specialization. Beware.

교육 기관: bisheng

2016년 3월 10일

I am sorry to say this, but the tutorial could have been organzied in a much more serious way.

I do not know how much time the Professors have put on preparation. But it gives me a "sloppy" impression!!! The class carries the name of University of Duke and 70 euros are charged, so I think the learners would reasonably expect to see that the teacher puts lots of time to organize the course structure, in order to efficiently give as much as information to the learners within limited time!

For example, I believe nobody would not say that the Week 2 content on confusion matrix is very consistently explained. And this is just one example.

교육 기관: Shulun C

2016년 1월 24일

The lecture videos are not super helpful and the instruction and support for final project is somewhat lacking. You need a relatively solid background coming into doing the project beforehand. Just study the course material is not enough for you to complete your final project, in fact you need peer help or to read more materials to fully understand and finish the project. The quizzes compared to what is asked in the project is too simple and thus not constructive enough in the overall learning. Overall I would recommend you to have a solid background before proceed with this course if you want to improve your learning experiences.

교육 기관: Ryan K

2015년 12월 12일

The material is sort of interesting but there is not much hand-holding. I actually am an Excel beginner, and have merely an average grasp of mathematics. Before signing up, I read the prerequisites - there were none! It is advertised as a class for beginners, but I have found it beyond frustrating, and whats more I pre-paid for the specialization so this Excel class and the final project seem to be an utter waste of money without me going off to study Excel at length before trying the course again. Why not label it as an intermediate or higher class? I feel there should be a more obvious indication of the difficulty.

교육 기관: Kartik K

2020년 6월 9일

Only Suggested. If you've studied Maths/ Statistics in your undergrad, or if belong to a Commerce background. (That is the limit!)

And mind you, there are many glitches. Many.

There is no continuous flow; the video is not good; the audio is not good; the instructor seems way more casual and relaxed (even did a 15-20 second dance, can you believe it?!)

And sure the things taught and the things asked, are quite different from each other. But maybe if you've the 'needed' background, you might do it just as well.

Anyhow, if you do finish the course at last, it's all worth it.

I guess!?

교육 기관: Чурсина К Е

2020년 11월 11일

This course has lower quality then others in specialization. Warning: it is concetrating on math not on Excel. This fact isn't bad by itself, but there is a big gap between video materials and quizes. There aren't enough practic examples which allow you to do graduated exercise confidently.

More than that there are a lot of cases of inaccuracy in automatic quizes and only forum discussins can hepl you understand that there is no your mistake.

Also sound is not perfect (in other courses it is much better) like it was recorded with home mic not professional.

교육 기관: Alexander K B

2020년 11월 2일

The course material is very interesting and important for learning the mechanics of data analysis. However, the course organization and presentation is sub-par. Course assignments are often explained poorly, incorrectly, or not at all. Course videos are poorly organized and often difficult to follow for many reasons. After also completing another course by this instructor (Mr. Egger) I would steer clear of the courses that he teaches, if possible. When the learners in the discussion boards teach the material better than the instructor, there's a problem.

교육 기관: Carlos A V J

2015년 12월 2일

It has a lot of problems, including: Not so many lectures about excel itself - most of the time you will be watching videos about statistic methods. The lectures are very superficial, even though the quizzes and projects demand a lot of knowledge and time. The course seems to have a staff of one man: the professor of the course rarely replies (even though he did at the beginning of the session) and all the work seems to be done by his assistant, who tries his best, but ends up not coping with all the questions asked at the discussion forums.

교육 기관: Raimundo G

2016년 1월 12일

The content is really interesting and useful. However, the way in which the lessons are organised I'd say is confusing. The professor explain you complex concepts like entropy or binary classification to continue with an excel worksheet. It's here where the issue relays, the excel files are filled and instead of learning by doing you have to figure out how the prof made the file. In consequence, the solution is always available.

In my opinion, it'd be better if a raw data set is given and you build the model step by step from the scratch.

교육 기관: Manuela

2017년 6월 20일

Though the course teaches important topics, I found the practical part of it rather lacking. The videos are mostly about the theory, using algebra and all that, but the exercises are on Excel spreadsheets that either you don't really need to do much (change a number here or there) or, when you do need to really work on it, there's no instruction provided other than the discussion forums and an one-page PDF. It was very disappointing, prepare yourself to spend a lot longer on this course, just trying to understand the spreadsheets.