Chevron Left
Mastering Data Analysis in Excel(으)로 돌아가기

듀크대학교의 Mastering Data Analysis in Excel 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.2
별점
3,784개의 평가
914개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Important: The focus of this course is on math - specifically, data-analysis concepts and methods - not on Excel for its own sake. We use Excel to do our calculations, and all math formulas are given as Excel Spreadsheets, but we do not attempt to cover Excel Macros, Visual Basic, Pivot Tables, or other intermediate-to-advanced Excel functionality. This course will prepare you to design and implement realistic predictive models based on data. In the Final Project (module 6) you will assume the role of a business data analyst for a bank, and develop two different predictive models to determine which applicants for credit cards should be accepted and which rejected. Your first model will focus on minimizing default risk, and your second on maximizing bank profits. The two models should demonstrate to you in a practical, hands-on way the idea that your choice of business metric drives your choice of an optimal model. The second big idea this course seeks to demonstrate is that your data-analysis results cannot and should not aim to eliminate all uncertainty. Your role as a data-analyst is to reduce uncertainty for decision-makers by a financially valuable increment, while quantifying how much uncertainty remains. You will learn to calculate and apply to real-world examples the most important uncertainty measures used in business, including classification error rates, entropy of information, and confidence intervals for linear regression. All the data you need is provided within the course, all assignments are designed to be done in MS Excel, and you will learn enough Excel to complete all assignments. The course will give you enough practice with Excel to become fluent in its most commonly used business functions, and you’ll be ready to learn any other Excel functionality you might need in the future (module 1). The course does not cover Visual Basic or Pivot Tables and you will not need them to complete the assignments. All advanced concepts are demonstrated in individual Excel spreadsheet templates that you can use to answer relevant questions. You will emerge with substantial vocabulary and practical knowledge of how to apply business data analysis methods based on binary classification (module 2), information theory and entropy measures (module 3), and linear regression (module 4 and 5), all using no software tools more complex than Excel....

최상위 리뷰

TB
2021년 11월 16일

I like and appreciate courses provided through Coursera.This course is very interesting and valuable for those whose jobs do have relevance with data management .God bless Coursera and Duke University

JE
2015년 10월 30일

The course deserves a 5-star rating because: (1) content is relevant, (2) the professor is concise and possesses great teaching skills, and (3) the learning modules are applicable to daily problems.

필터링 기준:

Mastering Data Analysis in Excel의 895개 리뷰 중 701~725

교육 기관: Steven T

2018년 5월 15일

The content was very useful but I felt that instruction was lacking

교육 기관: demehin I

2016년 1월 31일

still needs a better way of explaining the diversity of the course

교육 기관: Luke R

2017년 4월 6일

Good Course, but final project asks a lot for what this course is

교육 기관: steven u

2015년 11월 22일

Good intro and fundamentals, but focuses far too much on finance.

교육 기관: Diogo H M d F T

2016년 7월 7일

Superficial, esboça assuntos de estatística e mal fala do excel.

교육 기관: 张之晗(ZhiHan Z

2017년 9월 9일

So many terminologies, can you talk those principles concisely?

교육 기관: cherie

2016년 9월 19일

Very hard to comprehend for 6 weeks. But could have been great.

교육 기관: Bernhard K

2016년 2월 28일

Way too theoretical. This is Excel, not Information Theory....

교육 기관: Ernesto R

2016년 3월 11일

Not enough practices for the unexperienced students.

교육 기관: Scott R

2020년 10월 21일

Definitely way more statistics than I expected.

교육 기관: Neelam M

2016년 7월 27일

inclination was more towards concept than excel

교육 기관: SARAH S A

2017년 7월 18일

Tough Course.. Need Mathematical Background

교육 기관: Yohann B

2016년 2월 6일

good, but no material and lack of structure

교육 기관: Ricardo C

2018년 12월 8일

Too much theory and no excel learings.

교육 기관: Reiko M

2016년 5월 3일

Not so comfortable with using Excel.

교육 기관: Sundeep g

2019년 2월 25일

It was great to have this course.

교육 기관: Hao C

2016년 2월 9일

Not so relevant with real work.

교육 기관: Joseph M

2016년 5월 2일

It was an interesting course.

교육 기관: Carlos S C

2016년 2월 14일

Final project really hard

교육 기관: Vishal R

2015년 12월 18일

Not much explanatory

교육 기관: Santiago B

2020년 5월 27일

Very theoretical.

교육 기관: Syed A M K

2015년 12월 12일

good course

교육 기관: Jorge D

2015년 10월 17일

great!

교육 기관: Gabriel O C

2016년 7월 5일

PROS:

- Classification lecture is good;

-Weekly assignments are challenging enough

CONS

- No slides provided. Professor draws on an eletronic chalkboard (with a very bad handwriting) and you need to keep going back to videos when you are doing the homework. For me, this shows lack of professionalism and laziness

- Some excel sheets are provided. But they are very messy and badly formatted, matching the messy handwriting in the videos. AND, the instructions are for MAC! No instructions for PC are provided whatsoever. I never used MAC, so I had a very hard time!

- Very few examples real examples are provided;

- You learn math concepts, not Excel skills! Except for the LINEST function, which is very handy, BUT it's NOT TAUGHT in the videos. I had to google the function to learn it.

- They say to complete each piece of the final assingment after you finish the respective week related to that piece. But they only say that as you start week 6!

- The course doesn't provide sufficient material for the final assignment. You get stuck without knowing how to get to answers;

- Some answers to the final assignment are not correct, you check the answer sheet, and the results aren't present in the test!

OVERALL:

I'd never recommend this course to anyone. I only took it because I'm plannening to finish the specialization.

I've taken several Online Courses (5+ on Excel), and this is the worst and most frustating one by far!

교육 기관: Emanuele M

2020년 10월 3일

An interesting course, however, undermined by the number of topics addressed that for their complexity would have deserved a more systematic and less random treatment. The course is based on several pre-compiled excel files that should be a demonstration of the theoretical topics covered. This approach does not ensure the mastery of the theory by reducing the quizzes to the mere filing of cells with predetermined formulas.

I find the part on linear regression the most catastrophic. Having personally some basis of statistics, I have somehow managed to complete the course, but the treatment, especially with regard to the concept of entropy in information theory, should be completely revised. I don't understand why Professor Eggers doesn't start from basic concepts and then expand to more complex ones instead of the opposite. The final work, despite the formulation, is almost completely incomprehensible (check on the forums to believe), as unfortunately often happens here on Coursera is judged good-natured and the general level is very low, with a wide degree of plagiarism.