Chevron Left
The Ancient Greeks(으)로 돌아가기

웨슬리언 대학교의 The Ancient Greeks 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
1,533개의 평가
419개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This is a survey of ancient Greek history from the Bronze Age to the death of Socrates in 399 BCE. Along with studying the most important events and personalities, we will consider broader issues such as political and cultural values and methods of historical interpretation....

최상위 리뷰

AS

Apr 23, 2018

This has been an enthralling course which introduces you to the world of the Ancient Greek. Thank you Prof. Andrew Szegedy-Maszak, and all the course creators and mentors, for this excellent course.

GL

Oct 16, 2015

Well presented, wonderful insight into the world of the ancient Greeks. I learnt a lot, and it has whetted my appetite for more. I really loved this course, and enjoyed it very much indeed

필터링 기준:

The Ancient Greeks의 415개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Ion G F

Sep 18, 2015

Even though it covers some topics a little "superficially", this course is of great value for those who want to get more knowledge about the history and development of ancient Greece. It is really interesting that it does not only cover political and military issues, but also daily life and civic aspects of this civilization.

Really recommendable!

교육 기관: Bruna F P

Jun 05, 2020

What an amazing course! I'm actually a bit sad it's over! Ancient Greece is such a passion of mine and I've learned alot from this course, the professor is astonishing and has a really effective way of teaching and explaning events and ideas, I'm truly amazed! Congratulations and many thanks to all envolved in this, I'm really going to miss it!

교육 기관: Joan C

Oct 09, 2020

Very interesting course! Big thanks to Mr Szegedy-Maszak, I enjoyed his classes a lot. The contents give a good overview of the main periods of Greek civilization. Could have an eighth week to cover Hellenistic Greece but as he put it, that's something we can tackle by ourselves having the main points of Dark age, Archaic and Classical Greece.

교육 기관: Spitsyna K

Jan 11, 2017

Ancient History: it is not boring anymore (for me)! Charming Prof. Andrew Szegedy-Maszak gives materials in a way, that you feel an every character (even mithological) was a real person involved in a real story. I also like nice sence of humor and a voice of lecturer! A lot of reading was easy and interesting to learn during the course.

교육 기관: Sonia S K

Sep 09, 2020

I absolutely loved this amazing course. It provided an outline of ancient Greek history. Though the list of reading materials was exhaustive, there are so much material to go back to and refer.The discussion forum of this course is the most active and responsive ever. Overall, this was a nice experience, thanks to Andy and the mentors.

교육 기관: May W

Mar 22, 2020

Excellent history course presented in such a way that is both informative and interesting. I visited Greece last summer and feel like going back to see more now that I am equipped with more knowledge about the ancient Greeks. I especially like the professor's cool and composed manner. It has truly been a great learning experience.

교육 기관: Gavin R

Dec 27, 2015

An engaging look at Ancient Greece from the Minoan civilisation on Crete through to the death of Socrates (with some bonus material on Alexander the Great by popular demand!). The course is extremely well-designed and presented by first-rate lecturer, Professor Andrew Szegedy-Maszak of Wesleyan University. Totally recommended.

교육 기관: LP

Jun 08, 2020

Really enjoyed the program. Read both the Odyssey by Homer and Histories by Herodotus, which is something I would never have done. Links need to be updated, purely to tighten up the package. I found myself expanding beyond the recommended reading lists. The timeline covered in the course was a lot, but it was done super well.

교육 기관: swagata m

Apr 27, 2020

Prof. Szegedy-Maszak's gripping method of conducting the lectures further inflamed my desire for learning more about Ancient Greece. But much of my thirst was quenched, too. Now I am going to find out more about the classical antiquity. Thanks for this fascinating course, sir!! And thank you for the excellent pictures used.

교육 기관: Wilson F

Aug 17, 2020

Excellent course - a wide subject covered with expertise and in terms accessible for those unfamiliar with the subject, It is introductory, as it had to be considering the broadness of the subject, but carried out in a very respectful way, without generalizations and vulgarisations. Strongly recommended!

교육 기관: OCTAVIO R

Jul 31, 2020

A fantastic course. I'm very happy with the contents lerned these weeks. Good exposition about the historical events, interesting references and lectures, accurately considerations of differents interpretative's position and definite video's contents (I apologise for my english, need to practice more).

교육 기관: Gail J

Dec 08, 2017

A fantastic course with so much information and so much modern scholarship about Ancient Greece. The discussion forums are excellent. We covered so much in these lectures. Anyone interested in history would enjoy this class. I wish this professor would cover other parts of ancient history for Coursera.

교육 기관: Matthew V

Oct 23, 2020

This course provides a great overview of the timeline of basic Greek history. But don't be fooled by the word 'basic'. While only a sweeping summary, this class was long and challenging, and got me to read many classic works I was beforehand too intimidated to pick up! Difficult and worth every week!!

교육 기관: Ian T j

May 10, 2020

A wonderful course presented with clarity and feeling by Professor Szegedy-Maszak. It made the lives and civilization of the Ancient Greeks so much more accessible. I am delighted to have had the opportunity to complete this course - thank you Coursera and Wesleyan University for making it possible.

교육 기관: Martha P T

Aug 03, 2019

It was a delight to listen to Ph. Szegedy-Mazsack teaching us about the Greek Culture. I recognized the Greek legacy in our world. I enjoyed a lot the beautiful buildings, statues and paintings. So, History, Litterature, Art and Philosophie supported the marvelous Greek Culture view. Thanks a lot!

교육 기관: Michael S

Mar 15, 2019

Very good course. I had only studied Greece briefly during World History class so some of the topics were familiar but this course fleshed them out in great but easy to understand detail, and there were many topics we had omitted in World History that were covered in the course. Highly recommend!

교육 기관: Vivek B S

Apr 15, 2020

The Ancient Greeks course was really an eye opener into the greek history. Unfortunately, the educational system portrays greek history to be just Alexander and few philosophers nothing else. This course shows us that there is much more to greek history. One of the best history courses to study.

교육 기관: Lucy I D L R T

Apr 04, 2017

Estudiar historia, es parte de estudiar lo que es el hombre, y el arte siempre revela la parte más bella de este, su parte creativa. El arte Minoico, Arte Micenica, y los poemas de Homero, son parte de ese arte hermoso que es un legado y un disfrute, para ver, leer, estudiar y comprender.

교육 기관: Rhonda S H

May 30, 2016

I love this class. So much important history that can be related to current events and people. I highly recommend everyone to take this course and think about it. We still make the mistakes these people did, and the successes are a part of our existence today. Instructor is very pleasant too.

교육 기관: Joanna C

Dec 08, 2015

Fantastic course. Nicely paced with good lectures and background reading. Highly recommended if you want to learn about history of ancient Greece, with a side order of drama, literature, lives of women, slaves and metics (do the course and you will know who they are). Highly recommended.

교육 기관: Diane G

Aug 23, 2020

I was thrilled to have the opportunity during the isolation of the pandemic to focus on such an extraordinarily intelligent and transporting material. I struggled through the readings, loved the video lectures and strived to do my best on the reviews. I thought it was time very well spent.

교육 기관: Maria

Jan 12, 2019

A great course. It gives you a deep idea of the Greek world in those centuries, the way of thinking and behaving. A good base to continue deepening The professor is stupendous: synthetic and critical in his vision of History.

Thank you very much for giving us this opportunity to learn.

교육 기관: Marta F

Sep 08, 2017

Muchísimas gracias a Coursera y a todos los que participaron en la elaboración del curso, principalmente al profesor. Es un gran regalo poder escuchar estas conferencias y aprender con tan grandes maestros. Muy ameno el profesor y muy buena la información. Saludos desde México.

교육 기관: Priscilla C

Jun 23, 2018

I learned a lot from this well organized and well presented course. I appreciated the lists of readings... but unfortunately a lot of the links to the texts did not work. This was easily remedied by doing internet searches. I wish this professor would have more online courses.