Chevron Left
Paleontology: Ancient Marine Reptiles(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Paleontology: Ancient Marine Reptiles 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
별점
862개의 평가
250개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Paleontology: Ancient Marine Reptiles is a four-lesson course teaching a comprehensive overview of the evolutionary changes that occur when air-breathing terrestrial animals return to water. This course examines the diversity, adaptations, convergence, and phylogenetic relationships of extinct marine reptiles. Students will explore three major groups of marine reptiles: ichthyosaurs, plesiosaurs, and mosasaurs. Watch a preview of the course here: https://uofa.ualberta.ca/courses/paleontology-marine-reptiles...

최상위 리뷰

JC

Apr 02, 2016

An excellent introduction to the sometimes overlooked marine predators that lived alongside the dinosaurs! A lot of detail is presented here, so be prepared to act like a sponge and soak it all up.

DB

Apr 23, 2020

I really enjoyed the course & finding out about the creatures that have fascinated me for years. The course was very well structured in logical sections that enabled me to study when I wanted.

필터링 기준:

Paleontology: Ancient Marine Reptiles의 245개 리뷰 중 226~245

교육 기관: Guy M

Apr 11, 2020

There is a great deal of content in this course and as always the course materials are excellent. I would prefer at least two presenters to break up the style of the single presenter used. I find his presenting style quite hard. He sounds patronising when he introduces the quizzes and his pronunciation is at times rather odd. Phil Currie could teach him a thing or two.

교육 기관: DC

Jun 22, 2018

It's pretty good, though be prepared to be beaten to death with MANY often confusing and nearly unpronounceable taxonomic terms. Can't be helped I guess. Those who took the early vertebrate evolution course will be pleased to note that Mr. (Dr.?) Persons is a bit more subdued in this one with a bit less theatrical style.

교육 기관: Raena S

Aug 31, 2017

Very cheerful and concisely-speaking instructor! Although the course was vast in information to take it all in and could do better with more questions and quizzes. Very educative videos and data about ancient marine reptile palaentology. Beautiful course!

교육 기관: Ian A

Mar 08, 2020

This course is a great gateway into this fascinating part of our earth's history, I look forward to learning more from other courses that are offered and would highly recommend this course to others.

교육 기관: Robert P

May 11, 2020

Loved learning about these animals and learned a lot of things I didn't know already but the amount of video content each week was too much the theropod/bird class progressed in a much nicer manner.

교육 기관: Katherine M

Oct 16, 2016

Can be extremely complicated with all of the unfamiliar names, and I'd lose focus. As a result, I had a hard time keeping up. I'd recommend pausing and returning another day if you lose focus.

교육 기관: Stephanie V

Aug 20, 2017

Very informative and well presented. The videos could perhaps have been a little shorter. More videos of c. 15 mins are more readily digestible than fewer at c. 30 mins.

교육 기관: Brian D M

Jun 10, 2016

excellent course would love to see more on early crocodilians and turtles, I know turtles have a debated history but would be awesome to look at possible origins.

교육 기관: Marike S

May 25, 2017

Thank you for a wonderful course. Ancient Marine Reptiles isn't my main area of interest and I still enjoyed every second!

교육 기관: Andres A

Oct 24, 2017

I would like more information about taxonomy an evolution. The couse focus mostly in the aquatic problem

교육 기관: Walter P

Jan 15, 2020

Great course! Very well done. The only flaw: subtitles in some lessons are not in syncro with video.

교육 기관: Francine

Mar 23, 2016

A very interesting course, but it's a pity one can only do the quizzes after payment.

교육 기관: André V

Sep 24, 2020

Nice intoductory course. More questions and quizes would be nice. Thx!!

교육 기관: Erick J A O

Mar 20, 2016

It would be great if even the auditing students cool take the quizzes.

교육 기관: Clotilde D

Feb 02, 2019

Great course, interesting topics and explanations, thanks !

교육 기관: Richard K

May 13, 2017

very well presented course

교육 기관: Sayantan S

Jul 15, 2020

The course was pretty informative but it lacked a couple of things. Most important of which was the lack of pictures. I believe that using more pictures of actual fossils can be a lot more helpful. Many examples of fossils being found were mentioned throughout the course but only a handful of them were shown. Showing pictures of the actual fossils excavated helps us to visualise these animals properly.

교육 기관: Céline L

Nov 03, 2019

Le contenu du cours est intéressant et Scott Persons rend le cours dynamique. En revanche les sous titres déclalés en permanence et la non présence de sous titres en français comme annoncé initialement rendent le cours très difficiles à suivre. c'est bien dommage

교육 기관: Talita S B

Oct 19, 2018

A maioria dos vídeos estavam com as legendas em inglês fora de sincronia. Do restante, ótimo curso

교육 기관: Luis A

May 14, 2016

This is a very basic course that introduces you to the topic, but doesn't go into much depth. While it's clear that a lot of time was spent filming and creating the course material, I still would not recommend this course. Both the presentation itself and the in-video quizzes are unbelievably obnoxious. The presenter emphasizes every other word and talks in a very unnatural manner that makes it very tiring to listen to, and the in-video quizzes are far too basic and take up too much time. Sometimes you also have to go to an external site in order to do the activities, which are badly designed and just frustrating. Overall, I recommend waiting for a better course.