Chevron Left
Business Analytics for Decision Making(으)로 돌아가기

콜로라도 대학교 볼더 캠퍼스의 Business Analytics for Decision Making 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
1,424개의 평가
380개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

In this course you will learn how to create models for decision making. We will start with cluster analysis, a technique for data reduction that is very useful in market segmentation. You will then learn the basics of Monte Carlo simulation that will help you model the uncertainty that is prevalent in many business decisions. A key element of decision making is to identify the best course of action. Since businesses problems often have too many alternative solutions, you will learn how optimization can help you identify the best option. What is really exciting about this course is that you won’t need to know a computer language or advanced statistics to learn about these predictive and prescriptive analytic models. The Analytic Solver Platform and basic knowledge of Excel is all you’ll need. Learners participating in assignments will be able to get free access to the Analytic Solver Platform....

최상위 리뷰

SS
2020년 5월 27일

I would like to recommend this course to the business analyst aspirants. It is really intriguing and helps to develop analytical skills. The examples and assignments are perfect to train a beginner.

PA
2020년 8월 11일

I think this is a practical and insightful course for understanding what business analysis is and how models apply in realily by providing useful and familiar examples. Highly recommend this course

필터링 기준:

Business Analytics for Decision Making의 376개 리뷰 중 251~275

교육 기관: Sandeepa

2020년 6월 9일

Good

교육 기관: Harshini R

2020년 6월 6일

Good

교육 기관: Gaurav R

2020년 5월 26일

Nice

교육 기관: Sunglak S

2018년 6월 21일

Very

교육 기관: Harsh V

2020년 7월 19일

I

교육 기관: Mira A A

2020년 5월 12일

-

교육 기관: uyeyama, R

2020년 9월 17일

Excellent because this is a hands-on class where you download Excel files and do the analyses yourself. Note that you will need to download a proprietary (Frontline) "Analytics Solver" add-on for Excel that has a temporary 15-day license, so if your corporate network doesn't allow this, then you may need to do this on your personal computer. There were a few early examples that used Microsoft's built-in Solver add-on, but as the course progressed, you need to have

I removed one star for these reasons: 1) the ***Monte Carlo function DID NOT WORK***on my 15-day license, so I was stuck guessing answers on the quizzes for this topic; 2) Cells with distributions (e.g., Poisson) did not show up. 3) Instructional video did not go through some of the setup problems and alternate dialog windows that occur when using the temporary 15-day license. 4) The provided Excel files were generally already completely set up. It would've been nice to have a little bit more in-depth review and consolidation for how to build some of these cells (e.g., uncertain distributions) ourselves.

Overall despite these issues, I was able to learn quite a bit of what is possible, and drove in the fact that it is relatively easy to perform these analyses using the ASP addon, even if I am a beginner. Granted I could see the addon had an incredible depth to it and that the course did not even scratch the surface of what is possible, but the course did its job to show how to actually do these analyses.

Finally in the section before the ASP add-on was required, I really enjoyed seeing how to use stock Excel (with Micosoft's Solver enabled) to perform cluster analyses-- now I can do this myself with my stock Excel installation! Amazing and very cool.

교육 기관: Mark H

2019년 8월 15일

Course expands upon previous material. The instruction is great, but the issues with ASP only get worse as you get deeper in this lesson. By the end, my Mac-based solver and web solver were not solving the problems at all, and worse, when they did, they solve it differently than what the instructor showed.

This course would benefit greatly from retooling to either use some combination of Python/R or to work wholly within Google Sheets and the Solver add-on there, which is free. At least everybody then would be able to use a free, consistent baseline (although I can't vouch that it would either be more stable or that Google won't change their own cost structure at some point in the future).

Other than that, the instruction is great and clear. We really blew through a lot of topics in this course, I'd love a very detailed course with heavier mathematics to really get a feel for the work involved in coming up with these analytics.

교육 기관: Dan H

2019년 7월 27일

Quality of teaching is exceptional, however the only difficulty is that he seems to be using a higher quality version of ASP to me, therefore he is able to run models with 10,000 iterations, whereas I am capped at 2,500 unless I pay £1000 or so for an upgrade. Running models with the lower number gives similar results so I managed to scrape through. just worth considering in the future.

교육 기관: Ashwin G S

2020년 9월 20일

It was a very good learning experience. But i had difficulty in downloading ASP as it was not affordable for students like us . But highly recommend this course to all Managers and MBA grads out there. All the excel sheets and video explanations were perfect and was relatable to real life scenarios. Thank you university of Colorado Boulders for making designing such a wonderful course.

교육 기관: Louis C

2020년 9월 7일

This course is not the same as I thought. It's more simple and basic, it hasn't contained any of programming knowledge which is widely and generally used in practical problems. Building a model in excel can't offer much help, I think the course should bring in more difficult contents. All in all, this course is still great and helpful, and I will recommend it to my classmate.

교육 기관: Imran N

2020년 4월 10일

Very detailed and nice explanation course, The best part is the questions are not easy and straightforward which makes it more fun to play around the data and come to the conclusion. 1 star i removed because the Analytic solver is a paid application which should be added to Excel, Should also provide options where we can do it without solver.

교육 기관: Aditya R N

2020년 4월 16일

Excellent course. The modules are well defined and each topic is explained in a simplified manner. It would be better if there complex assignments/examples are also included which involve conceptualizing one's own model from a set of unclassified/unsegmented data. This would help course-takers to be able to make a model from scratch

교육 기관: Alex K

2020년 12월 31일

Interesting and practical course. Only downside is the dependency on the Solver platform. I will not be able to use that in my daily work so an open source implementation would have been more helpful (I implemented some of the exercises in Python but that makes it very time intensive to do from scratch).

교육 기관: Noa Y

2020년 4월 19일

The usability of XLMiner is simply awful. I spent a lot of time trying to figure out how to properly enable the add-ons in the ribbon in Excel even it's already properly installed, and how to be patient with every click with the setting to not to crush the software.

Other than that, all good!

교육 기관: Ali N

2017년 9월 30일

Course is useful, helped in understanding Analytical models, types of Analytics but for Big Data these excel assignment cannot be applied on larger data set of Millions of Records. Overall it helped me in understanding to apply analytical tools in making good decisions for business.

교육 기관: Ajay Z

2020년 8월 13일

Insightful and quite interactive assignments to implement concepts of the module with the inclusion of day to day business scenarios.Although, I think it would have been much cooler had I brushed up the mathematical-statistical concepts involved in the course.Thanks a ton!!

교육 기관: N R P

2020년 5월 17일

The course was very useful. The instructor was clear in his approach and systematic in developing concepts. The demonstrations of several business decision situations and how these could be brought down to quantitative parameters, were the clear takeaways from the course

교육 기관: Arko B

2020년 7월 9일

The course covers in depth predictive and prescriptive models for data based decision making and is a must in todays data driven business scenarios . However it is preferable to have prior knowledge of Excel tools such as Analytical Solver Platform.

교육 기관: Gabriel H G B

2020년 6월 21일

Thanks a lot, I really learnt so many things, however i'm a little bit sad that company where I Work don't use Excel, because they use R. Taking that in account the class would have been perfect if i had the chance to learn all in open software.

교육 기관: Catalina V

2020년 5월 21일

It's Mandatory for exams to use ANALYTIC SOLVER PLATFORM, it's basic, but it's good to understand the logic behind the problems, it would be good to work in something that doesn't be excel, something where you can work with large datasets.

교육 기관: Pooja

2018년 1월 19일

The course is very informative. The instructors has presented the concepts with great clarity. However, the fourth module is succinctly discussed complicated concepts and few more examples would have provided more understanding.

교육 기관: Ashish A R

2020년 7월 11일

It was really awesome course. It was fun learning about business analytics for decision making through the course. I learned how to make use omathematical functions to make successful decision.

교육 기관: MANUEL G I

2020년 11월 17일

The hard part is actually having to buy the ASP :') nevertheless, i gain a very deep understanding on how i can use prescriptive analytics in everyday business. Thankyou very much !

교육 기관: Kumaran R

2019년 7월 18일

Training course was very useful in decision making with analytical tools to cope up with risk analysis, data optimization, evaluating scenarios, binary model decision making etc.