Chevron Left
Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description(으)로 돌아가기

웨슬리언 대학교의 Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
1,259개의 평가

강좌 소개

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to the techniques that masters of fiction use to ground a story in a concrete world. From the most realist settings to the most fantastical, writers will learn how to describe the physical world in sharp, sensory detail. We will also learn how to build credibility through research, and to use creative meditation exercises to deepen our own understanding of our story worlds, so that our readers can see all that we imagine....

최상위 리뷰

EG

2020년 7월 1일

Great course, it taught me things that I would have never learned otherwise, in this course you must take your time, don't rush, because if you do you will miss the most important points of the curse.

AM

2021년 1월 19일

This was such a wonderful course. I got to learn a lot about strange lands, imaginative description etc. Generally how to set my world and describe it in a convincing manner. I totally recommend it.

필터링 기준:

Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description의 404개 리뷰 중 76~100

교육 기관: Victorya J

2016년 8월 21일

Thank you so much Amity for all the knowledge that you have given me. Your approach to teaching is wonderful and I was intrigued by your views on writing. I thoroughly enjoyed learning from you. You are amazing and I feel blessed to have been you as an instructor. Again, thank you!

교육 기관: Erica D

2016년 5월 31일

loved this course, the prompts really got me thinking and writing about things/topics that were different for me. Being forced outside my comfort zone has really gotten me thinking about writing from a different angle and I think that will help so much moving back to my own writing

교육 기관: Frankie W

2019년 3월 29일

I love how Amity explained everything and the assignments and peer responses where wonderful. I got some great feedback and cannot wait to move further with my novel! Thank you everyone, and thank you so much to Amity for taking the time to put together your thoughts into a class!

교육 기관: AmandaN

2017년 10월 31일

Brilliant course. I started just auditing these modules but eventually completed all four (waiting to do the capstone) with peer review. All of the modules have been amazing and I continue to refer to them regularly. It's certainly built my confidence and skills. Thank you!

교육 기관: Dena M

2017년 4월 12일

Amity has been the best teacher in this course series. She had us, big gasp, actually READ some wonderful stories and passages. Nothing like a writer reading. Her lectures were spot on and interesting and dynamic. The assignments were clear and fun to complete. Thank you Amity!

교육 기관: Steven M

2022년 3월 28일

The reading selections were excellent. I also enjoyed it when the instructor shared student examples of the assignments after we had a chance to do them. This was a very enjoyable class, perhaps the best instruction of the three I've now taken in this specilization. It's good!

교육 기관: Liora H

2019년 3월 12일

Excellent exercises. They really pushed me and challenged me to dive in and develop my ability to write and describe a setting. I feel that my observation in the process of writing has been refined - I pay more attention now to details in the setting while imagining a scene.

교육 기관: Jerri L L

2016년 5월 18일

I've enjoyed "The Craft of Setting and Description." It's given me a good chance to spend some time focusing on the details that matter. I've learned a lot about what to include where setting and description are concerned and what to leave out. It's been a very good course.

교육 기관: David J M

2019년 2월 23일

The course was excellent as was the teacher. I learned a great deal about writing and the weekly assignments really helped me as did reviewing peers work and having them review mine. I would recommend this course to anyone who wants to improve their creative writing.

교육 기관: Hui J H

2019년 5월 24일

I had to read this one instead of watch it but it was excellent and informative. I fully agree on the topic of treating setting as important as a character in its own right, because of all the media that has really demonstrated this. Spot on advice, love the lessons!

교육 기관: Ole D J

2018년 2월 19일

Awesome course.

Can feel the missing pieces slowly fall together in my writing for every assignment.

So happy this and other related courses were made available on Coursera.

Will mention the author as well as this course in my first book if I manage to get it published.

교육 기관: E .

2021년 8월 3일

T​hese were effective assignments and the course content from Professor Gaige was productive and creatively organized. I appreciated the short story and video suggestions as a complement to the course material. Writing is still hard but it's getting a smidge easier!

교육 기관: MPearsall

2017년 3월 14일

Excellent. I truly enjoyed the content, the tasks, the feedback, and the instructor's ability to engage learners. I perceived Mrs. Gaige as a natural motivator and a great facilitator.

Thank you so much for your time. Mrs. Amity Gaige.

Sincerely, Maria Barreto

교육 기관: cora B

2016년 3월 30일

I enjoyed the course of setting and description as this is an area I particularly enjoy and so it was a great learning experience and a chance for me to enhance my description and setting skills and Amaity Gaige really gave you a free hand at doing this.

교육 기관: Homer W

2018년 9월 18일

The course emphasizes the importance of believable writing. Choices in narrative voice are studied to describe scenes and characters with research to flush out what has happened, who is present, where and what is anticipated in a story. Good course.

교육 기관: Michelle K

2016년 3월 17일

I really liked Amity's style- a great presenter, great voice and very encouraging. She also really got into the meat of the subject. And her assignments were a challenge but really enjoyable. I have found out things about my writing in this course!

교육 기관: Ashish N

2020년 6월 22일

It was by far the best course in this specialization for me. Amity Gaige's teaching methods were lucid and very engaging. She allowed us to act like a sponge and soak in all the gems she had collected over the years. Really a grateful experience.

교육 기관: Melky P

2020년 7월 20일

The assignments given are quite challenging but at the end of the day I'm surprised to find the quality of my writing improved. What makes me happier is when I received a positive feedback and credits from my close friends who ready my stories.

교육 기관: Chaz G

2016년 12월 18일

I enjoyed everything about this course. I found every module extremely helpful along with all of the feedback I received from my peers. The exercises were extremely enjoyable and creative. This has been an excellent course through and through.

교육 기관: Andrés F G

2022년 3월 2일

Of all the courses I've taken so far in the creative writing specialization, I think this one has definitely been my favorite one. The readings, the assingments, Amity's videos. It was just amazing. Challenging as well! I absolutely loved it

교육 기관: Mary C

2017년 4월 4일

Excellent, of course! This segment made a huge difference for me. It completely changed how I look at writing in terms of using specific details to describe a setting that fits the mood and movement of what I'm writing. I loved this lesson!

교육 기관: Jayne B

2016년 12월 29일

So far, this is my favorite module. I can tell my writing is improving & am grateful for the thoughtful instruction. I would like some Instructor input, not just peers, however. That would be an amazing bonus to an already wonderful course!

교육 기관: Khushboo K

2020년 11월 2일

Amity Gaige keeps the attention of the learner in tact. I did not get distract for even a second in all Video lessons by Amity Gaige. I could feel what she was trying to make us learn. Thank you so much Amity. You are a passionate teacher.

교육 기관: Jai P

2019년 8월 9일

I found this to be better than the first two courses in the specialization. The instruction is detailed, focused and precise, unlike the others. Would highly recommend for those who want to improve their descriptive writing. Excellent!

교육 기관: William I H

2017년 10월 12일

This course helped me think more about how I describe and use details of the space the story occupies, thereby putting the reader into the story with the characters. Very well presented and the reading materials were excellent. Thanks!