Chevron Left
Basic Data Descriptors, Statistical Distributions, and Application to Business Decisions(으)로 돌아가기

라이스 대학교의 Basic Data Descriptors, Statistical Distributions, and Application to Business Decisions 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
2,306개의 평가

강좌 소개

The ability to understand and apply Business Statistics is becoming increasingly important in the industry. A good understanding of Business Statistics is a requirement to make correct and relevant interpretations of data. Lack of knowledge could lead to erroneous decisions which could potentially have negative consequences for a firm. This course is designed to introduce you to Business Statistics. We begin with the notion of descriptive statistics, which is summarizing data using a few numbers. Different categories of descriptive measures are introduced and discussed along with the Excel functions to calculate them. The notion of probability or uncertainty is introduced along with the concept of a sample and population data using relevant business examples. This leads us to various statistical distributions along with their Excel functions which are then used to model or approximate business processes. You get to apply these descriptive measures of data and various statistical distributions using easy-to-follow Excel based examples which are demonstrated throughout the course. To successfully complete course assignments, students must have access to Microsoft Excel. ________________________________________ WEEK 1 Module 1: Basic Data Descriptors In this module you will get to understand, calculate and interpret various descriptive or summary measures of data. These descriptive measures summarize and present data using a few numbers. Appropriate Excel functions to do these calculations are introduced and demonstrated. Topics covered include: • Categories of descriptive data • Measures of central tendency, the mean, median, mode, and their interpretations and calculations • Measures of spread-in-data, the range, interquartile-range, standard deviation and variance • Box plots • Interpreting the standard deviation measure using the rule-of-thumb and Chebyshev’s theorem ________________________________________ WEEK 2 Module 2: Descriptive Measures of Association, Probability, and Statistical Distributions This module presents the covariance and correlation measures and their respective Excel functions. You get to understand the notion of causation versus correlation. The module then introduces the notion of probability and random variables and starts introducing statistical distributions. Topics covered include: • Measures of association, the covariance and correlation measures; causation versus correlation • Probability and random variables; discrete versus continuous data • Introduction to statistical distributions ________________________________________ WEEK 3 Module 3: The Normal Distribution This module introduces the Normal distribution and the Excel function to calculate probabilities and various outcomes from the distribution. Topics covered include: • Probability density function and area under the curve as a measure of probability • The Normal distribution (bell curve), NORM.DIST, NORM.INV functions in Excel ________________________________________ WEEK 4 Module 4: Working with Distributions, Normal, Binomial, Poisson In this module, you'll see various applications of the Normal distribution. You will also get introduced to the Binomial and Poisson distributions. The Central Limit Theorem is introduced and explained in the context of understanding sample data versus population data and the link between the two. Topics covered include: • Various applications of the Normal distribution • The Binomial and Poisson distributions • Sample versus population data; the Central Limit Theorem...

최상위 리뷰

SN

2021년 8월 20일

This was a really enjoyable course, but challenging too. I struggled a bit with the final assignment, but nailed it in the end. My statistical knowledge base has indeed been enhanced by this course.

GG

2017년 8월 22일

The course has been designed in a manner to give maximum understanding of the concept. The Quizzes are really grilling. and helps you strengthen the knowledge gained from the lecture videos.

필터링 기준:

Basic Data Descriptors, Statistical Distributions, and Application to Business Decisions의 392개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Edmundo m

2020년 8월 27일

This is one of the best courses i have atended since, the exercises are all related to the topic.Great job. .

Thanks to Mr Sharad Borle for explaining very well the content in this course .

교육 기관: Corry A

2017년 6월 14일

This course was great. Although the concepts introduced are complex, the instructor breaks them down and gives relatable, real-world style examples to easily explain the application.

교육 기관: Bhumika R

2020년 8월 1일

Very

basic

course.

Along

with

the

videos,

some

reading

material

for

detailed

understanding

of

conceptual

topics

like

binomial

and

other

distributions

is

needed

교육 기관: Moshiur R 1

2021년 1월 19일

It was a very good course, the concepts were taught very clearly. But it was just surface level idea about each. Looking forward to cementing the concepts in the following courses!

교육 기관: Dibyajyoti D

2020년 8월 16일

A Wonderfully structured Course that provides you with the base to start your journey in Business Statistics. Best part is if you want you can complete this course in about 2 days.

교육 기관: Carlos J B A

2019년 5월 5일

A rewarding experience because I have been able to learn very valuable information. It is an excellent course. It has helped me in the personal and professional field. Thank you.

교육 기관: Sofia L

2018년 7월 3일

Loved studing and learning about normal distributions, continuous vs discrete data and how to estimate probabilities by different distributions approach. Learning is fascinating

교육 기관: nima s

2021년 12월 5일

It was great introduction to Business and Analytics using Statistics. The instructor goes over various type of distribution and its application in business task by using excel.

교육 기관: Noaman R

2021년 9월 27일

Excellent course for someone who wants to learn statistics. This is a fantastic course for a person that wants to learn real world examples rather bogged down with formulas.

교육 기관: Orville L

2020년 9월 23일

Excellent exposition on popular statistical functions such as Binomial, Poisson and Normal distribution functions. Thorough understanding of discrete versus continuous data.

교육 기관: Md. A R P

2020년 6월 23일

The Instructor is awesome. Every content is been introduced simply that anyone can understand. The course will increase your intention towards the statistics in daily life.

교육 기관: Asha

2018년 1월 8일

I personally loved it!! Coming from a technical background, it really helped me to understand how we can apply the concepts and techniques to real world/practical problems.

교육 기관: Joao S

2020년 11월 3일

well, im very satisfied with this course. i was wanting any course that show me applications of probability functions in business and it is exactly that is inside course.

교육 기관: Dhimant P

2020년 3월 7일

Learned good statistics on practical problems. I love the fact that instructor provides enough discussion so when faced with real world problems, you know how to proceed.

교육 기관: Kevin G

2018년 7월 3일

Very interesting course on the practical applications of statistics in business and other matters. Professor was very informed and made concepts easy to absorb and appl

교육 기관: Aviroop B

2018년 2월 28일

Statistical concepts were made very clear in this course. Very useful course if someone wants to implement stats in real business scenarios. I've ENJOYED thoroughly!!

교육 기관: Himanshu B

2020년 6월 5일

Great course to understand statistics and start with Business Analytics. Builds the base with great methodology and professor is evident to be highly experienced.

교육 기관: Scott H

2018년 5월 8일

I really like Professor Borle,

He speaks very clearly and concisely.....easy to understand even for a non-technical person like me. Five claps for this class.

교육 기관: Padmaja D

2018년 4월 18일

A lot of real life examples to understand the concept clearly is extremely valuable. Its an excellent course and I have gained a lot of knowledge form this.

교육 기관: Dr. A R G

2021년 8월 22일

wonderful course . course is very well designed. Mr. Sharad Borle explained the content of this course in a very simple manner. i also enjoyed the quizzes.

교육 기관: Priyanka P

2018년 8월 7일

Questions of the last week are very tricky. Would appreciate if you could provide the answers with an explanation , it would help us to understand better.

교육 기관: Okulalu A

2020년 9월 23일

It was an intensive learning process. My mind was opened to new skills .

Thank you to the facilitator, Rice University and coursera for this possibility.

교육 기관: Orin E

2020년 10월 18일

The presenter seems passionate about teach and he did a great job of explaining statistical concepts. Gives you a good overview of the topics covered.

교육 기관: Ravi D S

2020년 7월 29일

The content of the course help me to increase my analytical thinking, I really like the way teacher explains the concept and his presentation style.

교육 기관: Naresh T

2022년 2월 26일

the subject was tought nicely and the question was also very good. I like the subject a lot and i learned a lot of things and improme my knowledge.