Chevron Left
Embedded Hardware and Operating Systems(으)로 돌아가기

EIT 디지털 의 Embedded Hardware and Operating Systems 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.2
358개의 평가
77개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course is intended for the Bachelor and Master's students, who like practical programming and making IoTs applications! In this course we will talk about two components of a cyber physical system, namely hardware and operating systems. After completing this course, you will have the knowledge of both hardware components and operating systems. You are able to plan and use embedded operating systems in resource-constraint devices for Internet-of-Things (cyber physical system) applications. In addition, you can use Cooja simulation for designing and simulating wireless sensor network applications. We have 4 modules, each with a graded quiz in the end and finally we have one peer reviewed programming assignment In case you have no experience with C programming, please check you a practical course like: https://www.coursera.org/learn/arduino-platform. The course is actually quite fun at the end when you are playing around with Cooja simulation for IoTs applications. So you can create and simulate your own design for sensor network applications. A lot of features and examples of Contiki and Cooja can be explored via assignments. There are some optional assignments of wireless sensor network applications for students who want to explore more about embedded OS in IoTs applications. - Marco Ramirez /University of Turku - Igor Tcarenko/ University of Turku - Nguyen Gia Tuan /University of Turku Check out our whole curriculum: http://iot4health.utu.fi/...

최상위 리뷰

SA

May 25, 2017

Initially it seemed easy and what I already knew... but the week 3 and 4 had alot of new and interesting stuff. It was great eventually... Especially the OS part and some practicals

SA

Jul 27, 2017

Excellent introduction to Embedded Systems development that could serve as platform for further studies and research. A valuable pedagogy.

필터링 기준:

Embedded Hardware and Operating Systems의 72개 리뷰 중 51~72

교육 기관: Marlon M P d O

Sep 14, 2018

The pronunciation of the professor was terrible.

The last activity wasn't coherent with what the course offered

교육 기관: Ronald H

Jan 19, 2018

The topic is definitely interesting. The course, however, does not go very deep into the topic. The assignments are not well explained and the grading criteria is severely deficient and does not help students or reviewers understand what is expected. The assignments are not well coupled with the presented material. Week 4 Assignment 2, for example, is about Contiki/Cooja analysis tools, but there is no such topic covered in the course.

교육 기관: Jeffrey R S

Jan 23, 2018

The last assignment (example) wasn't so clear.

교육 기관: João P N B

May 28, 2017

Well, I thank the teacher and his team for the effort to make the course available.

_______________________________________________________________

So, the course is not intermediate or beginner level.

If you know something about embedded system:

It's a good reminder with a bunch of topics that are only quoted and not explained in depth. No topic goes deeper, you have to do it by yourself it's like "Embedded systems can be classified as to dependability ( reliable, safe, secure, maintanable, etc), now go by yourself and search for it."

If you know nothing about embedded system:

Probably you are to feel a little bit effort and you're going to make a hard effort to understand something. Classes will be like " In the world there are processors, microcontroller, FPGA, ASIC and they have certain things(SRAM, peripherals, etc) and then you use them to build aerospace avionics, good look.

_______________________________________________________________

Improvement

The course should use more drawings ( flowchart, diagram), it would be much more understandable. Too many topics you can't bring to the real world.

The course has a nice tittle. But, I wish this course was seperated in longer modules or courses, because there are too many topics for very few time... so you wont learn anything really solid.

for instance:

1- Designing embedded - Raise requirements for project based on real project ( eg. temperature and humidity sensor to work battery powered, show information in a display the information of temp and humidity. Must be reliable, safe, low power consumption ) and so on. Learn how to search for components, price, availability, datasheet.

2 - FPGA - How to implement the project above using a platform ( or at least simulation). Program in VHDL or Verilog.

3 - Processor - ...

4 - MCU - ...

5 - Building firmware in C - Develop firmware without OS. Use state machines of things like that

6 - Build firmware with an OS.

7 - Drawing PCB - Ariiise board!!!

So, I just gave an idea I do not know how difficult would it be to bring to reality

교육 기관: Alan C M

Jul 13, 2019

It is a good course, but I think lacks something worth to make it great. There were times when I was very bored about how the e

교육 기관: 张明哲

Jul 29, 2019

the last weeks assignment need more detail and instruction, it is not hard , but i belive the guidance is too vague to understand

교육 기관: Michalis P

Oct 09, 2019

The video lectures are good with valuable information, and the course gives you a broad introduction to embedded systems and embedded operating systems. Although quizzes and assignments are low quality and don't help you with your understanding (that's why I give 3/5).

교육 기관: Wayne S

May 05, 2018

It gives a brief introduction to everything. But sometimes it is hard to understand because the lectures are without any figures or charts.

교육 기관: Kiranlal E U

Feb 24, 2017

The course is for people having advanced knowledge in embedded architecture and knowledge. Until 3rd week is perfectly alright. But from 4th week the course changes to advanced knowledge. I do not think an intermediate could easily grasp enough knowledge from the 4th week. Kindly do the needful to change it.

교육 기관: Pablo M

Dec 25, 2016

The course is a shallow introduction to a set of topics about embedded systems, it tries to cover too much without really explaining the concepts. The videos could have some diagram.

교육 기관: Bharat K

Nov 06, 2017

In first three weeks the topics covered are not covered in much detail, but it is good enough to get started, and you can learn about that topics from other sources. The reason I am giving such a low rating to this course was, first I expected much more in depth knowledge and wide coverage of topics, and secondly the most important reason is that the week 4 of course sucks, there is no detail, no sources to understand topics, the forums are down right dead and there is no help from the staff (TAs) and faculty, the assignments of week 4 are not clear in terms of what to do and how to do, and it is very difficult to find relevant information on-line. In my opinion you should take this course only when:

1) You already have a clear understanding of C, OS concepts.

2) You are ready to search on-line for the topics taught even when you have no idea where you should start.

3) You have zero expectations from TAs and forums.

교육 기관: Elyasin S

Nov 19, 2016

I found this course to be dry. No practical examples. Just information presentation, like reading from a book. The lectures do not prepare you very well for the Quizzes and even less for the assignments. This is the only course in Coursera that really got me disappointed. Since there are not many students in this course one might feel a bit "left alone".

교육 기관: Jay

May 18, 2017

Theory ..theory...theory.... into the 4th week...too dull and boring. The instructor could just have written a book or something about this.

교육 기관: Alexey S

Dec 13, 2016

Useless bla-bla-bla in general words. Nothing concrete. It is not possible to build embedded system with OS after finishing it. IoT is mentioned just for marketing and promotion. If you seriously consider developing OS-based embedded system even just reading Wiki pages about EOS would not be such a waste of time as listening to this course.

교육 기관: HuangQingZhen

Jun 21, 2017

The ContikiOS is not a suitable for IOT for now. It is too expensive

교육 기관: Bill W

Feb 25, 2018

I wasn't very happy.

The subject material was very shallow; brief overviews of some aspects of the material with repeated references to "suggested materials" that didn't actually exist.

Even at the level of detail presented, there was a lot of info on slides that did not appear in the transcripts. It would have been useful to have the slides be downloadable.

I didn't like the design of the quizzes; this might be a coursera thing (I've seen the same thing in other classes), but the inclusion of 5 subparts of a one-point question meant no "partial credit", making a "5-question" quiz (with 20-odd things to get wrong/right) a lot more difficult to pass than they should have been. (In other MOOCs, I've seen such multi-part questions handled by having the question as a whole be worth 5 points (for a 5-subpart question), and you get a point awarded for each subpart you get right, and not awarded for each one you get wrong (whether it should have been checked and wasn't or should have been not-checked and was.)

There was no interaction with "staff" on the class forums. The "extra thought" topics were simplistic and only barely related to the class materials, and the participation that happened was ... poor, like people thought they were getting points for "taking part" even if all they said was "I don't know."

The professor seemed to have some strong opinions about "controversial" subjects, presented as facts, that I happen to disagree with, and didn't really have any supporting material. (The big one for me was "FPGAs are lower power than MCUs." Which I asked about on the forums, and was never answered. But also several several cases of "the advantage of XX os is that it has small memory requirements", followed nearly immediately by several examples of other OSes described as even smaller.)

Finally, for a 4-week class where the first 3 weeks have only short quizzes, I thought the "week 4" assignment: "download a VM and set up Contiki/cooja, write two programs and get them both peer reviewed by the end of the week" was unrealistic. Especially without "supported matierals", tutorials on setup, or even copies of the sketchy instructions on the slides in the video. (I might not have been awful, given an extra week to complete. I gave up, though.) (existing forum message from a prior iteration of the class says "don't use contiki 3.0 like the instructor talks about, or even 2.7 that he mentions. Go all the way back to 2.6.1...")

There was some interesting stuff there. The lack of "suggested materials" and downloadable slides were the biggest problems.

교육 기관: Razi

Mar 15, 2017

I categorize this course in the beginner level not intermediate.

교육 기관: Bo Z

Mar 22, 2017

I do not recommend this course if you want to be taught intuitively. The slides are mostly just a list of bullet points, with very few intuitive figures or charts (normally figures/charts are easier to understand and remember, even the simple ones). You are just fed with lots of concepts throughout the course. But in the end, you are suddenly required to do some practical C programming in Contiki (an embedded OS), which you need to spend some time to figure out quite a number of practical issues just for a successful run.

교육 기관: shaimaa

Jul 29, 2017

the tutorial is so bad

교육 기관: vasudha

Oct 28, 2019

Why can I not change course. I started with the first course by mistake,but I wanted tio start with the third one. Very poorly designed for asking such questions.

교육 기관: Pierre N

Aug 25, 2019

was not good at all and i did not gain any experience thanks for wasting my time

교육 기관: Archit R

Apr 15, 2017

NOT GOOD..REALLY BORING