Chevron Left
Introduction to Environmental Law and Policy(으)로 돌아가기

노스캐롤라이나대학교 채플힐 캠퍼스의 Introduction to Environmental Law and Policy 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
별점
2,556개의 평가
697개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Environmental law may be the one institution standing between us and planetary exhaustion. It is also an institution that needs to be reconciled with human liberty and economic aspirations. This course considers these issues and provides a tour though existing legal regimes governing pollution, water law, endangered species, toxic substances, environmental impact analyses, and environmental risk. Note: The Environmental Law & Policy Course will close for new learner enrollment on February 22, 2019. Learners who have already enrolled will continue to see it on their Coursera Dashboard as long as they remain enrolled in the course. If you are currently enrolled in this course, please see the announcement sent on February 19, 2019, for additional details....

최상위 리뷰

LH

2018년 4월 19일

Incredible course with an engaging professor who makes you want to learn more with every lesson.

The best course I saw on Coursera and exactly what I would appreciate in any course, online or not.

MS

2020년 6월 2일

Really great class. Covers all the main topics of environmental law. The Professor is very interesting, informative, and clear. A great introductory class for environmental topics in the legal realm.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Environmental Law and Policy의 694개 리뷰 중 626~650

교육 기관: JUSTIN G M

2016년 5월 19일

Good

교육 기관: 18eucv035 R P

2021년 6월 23일

by

교육 기관: John G

2017년 2월 15일

W

교육 기관: Vasileios C

2016년 5월 27일

-

교육 기관: Pat D

2016년 1월 2일

E

교육 기관: Natàlia B P

2020년 5월 10일

I really enjoyed the course and I think it's great to learn about the perspectives and approaches used in environmental law and policy to address and/or solve the issues that we have, do and will face in terms of human and environmental health. I really liked how it was structured (the 6 weeks), the 1-min lawyer, reading the case and the full-length lesson, and of course I really enjoyed how Prof. Hornstein expressed himself. He made it really fun and interesting. I'm not from the US so I would have appreciated a little bit more of an international perspective, but I knew what to expect given that the course is taught by a US university. All in all, great experience.

교육 기관: Jhonatan L

2015년 9월 20일

I thought the course was a fantastic introduction to environmental law and policy. I especially enjoyed the structure of each lesson (reading -> video) and the entire course. I thought the Prof did a great job of being enthusiastic and was mostly clear when explaining, analyzing and discussing each case. Perhaps, an aspect that could be improved in the future is to ask more in-video question to challenge the student to think critically while watching the videos. However, where there is most room for improvement is to have much better management of the discussion section. There was no authority answering any questions whatsoever, not content related nor operational.

교육 기관: Felix K K

2020년 11월 6일

Excellent course with very useful re-introduction to environmental law and policy from both an international and national perspective. However, there is need for the course content to be updated as a lot has happened with regard to the jurisprudence and legal framework for international environmental law and also the need to expand the course content to provide more comparative jurisprudence from other countries especially countries making prorgressive jurisprudential developments in this area such as Canada, Colombia, Sweden, South Africa, India and Kenya

교육 기관: Kirsten A

2020년 5월 9일

I enjoyed this course very much. The plan flowed well, covering a range of different types of law and discussing the economics and policy that influence all aspects. Professor Hornstein is very knowledgeable, engaged with his topic and takes to heart his role as teacher. His lectures are full of information and infected with his enthusiasm. The activities were interesting and promoted learning. The only distraction is that the course was first recorded in 2013. A lot has changed in Environmental law since then.

교육 기관: Kylie P

2018년 1월 22일

I've learned an incredible amount from this course. There is a LOT of information to process. I'm very happy that I took it. The professor is entertaining and passionate. My only issue is that the videos must have been created2013- which isn't itself a problem. However, one of the videos mentions that new information will be coming in 2015... I'd like for that information to be included in the course- even as a short side video or link to a relevant article! Otherwise, fantastic!! would recommend!!

교육 기관: Harry G

2018년 7월 1일

Interesting and well presented; covers development of US law but the principles and concepts (nuisance, regulation, endangered species, clean air, clean water, political economy of environmental law, risk distribution, climate change, and others) are common across other systems of environmental law. Unfortunately, the content is now out of date with regards to climate change as the recording seems to be from 2013, well before the Paris Climate Agreement.

교육 기관: Yugesh P

2017년 3월 27일

The material was exceptional, but as I came to found out, that the assignments were watered down with respect to the earlier version of the course that was available in 2014. Please work to get back peer-reviewed assignments. Also, Prof. Hornstein's informal manner and way of teaching greatly helped in understanding the concepts. Thank you University of North Carolina and Prof. Hornstein for this wonderful primer on Environmental law.

교육 기관: David C

2015년 8월 18일

the course was fantastic especially the 1 minute lawyer segments. Not sure if it is a site problem, problem with the course or with my machine but I frequently had times where the picture would freeze and audio would continue. The videos while informative were also quite long and it might have been a better idea to divide each 20 minute video into 2 smaller ones. Otherwise though it was a great course by a fantastic professor.

교육 기관: Thuy N

2015년 8월 22일

Thank you so much Prof for guiding us through a difficult yet an interesting topic. The course is well arranged in the way the choosen cases make it easier to understand the statutes, though it not that easy. I wish the course had brought in more international cases as the non-American students like me might be more intersted in.

I love this course, as well as the T- shirts and the tux :)

교육 기관: Michael L

2016년 2월 21일

Instructor was very enthusiastic about the course, I thought it was well structured and it's good to get a framework for things. As someone who came in as pretty conservative leaning on the Environmental issue, it helps me become more knowledgeable about why the EPA can do the things it can, and a better understanding of how environmental law works. More information is always better!

교육 기관: Sophie A

2020년 8월 23일

Good introduction to some of the fundamental ideas and formative cases in environmental law and policy. The professor was engaging and explained the concepts clearly.

I wished the quizzes and readings had been more challenging (and that the course was longer!). It would also be great to update the course with more recent information and cases that affect GHG emissions policy.

교육 기관: Kandace S

2017년 3월 3일

Really informative and enlightening course! Prof Hornstein made the content easy to understand especially for those of us who don't have a law background. For anyone looking for some insight into environmental law, whether it's for your own general knowledge or if you want an idea of what studying environmental law entails, I'd definitely recommend it.

교육 기관: Annie P

2015년 11월 16일

This is a very informative course that directly applies to many present-day environmental issues. If you're someone who has a passion for the environment and wants a better understanding of the underlying statutes framing these issues, take the course! It is heavily focused on United States law, but the basic concepts are universal.

교육 기관: Rachel G

2018년 1월 4일

Overall an engaging and informative course, thank you! It was at the right level for me coming from a Geography background with little knowledge of Environmental Law. I would have enjoyed more international case studies. The course was made in around 2013 and, in places, would benefit from being updated / checked for typos.

교육 기관: Patricia O

2016년 12월 8일

Great course on the basics of environmental law an policy, very easy to follow and enganging for the audience. Still, would suggest to update some issues e.g. GHG as the Paris Agreement was ratified recently. But overall I would recommend for everyone interested in environmental issues as it was a great introduction.

교육 기관: Madelein W

2020년 7월 19일

I liked this course. I have a law degree from a different country and I completed mine many year ago. I wanted an overview of US environmental laws and just general positive law as it stands. This was a good course and interesting. My only critique would be that it seems somewhat dated... maybe 4-5 years?

교육 기관: Rebecca P

2017년 6월 25일

Really enjoyed this course. It has definitely enhanced my understanding of the general mechanisms that govern environmental law and introduced me to a lot of important language for these concepts. Highly recommend for people affiliated with land management (I'm a park ranger).

교육 기관: Urika H

2018년 7월 20일

In my junior year and I was over the fence on whether to consider Environmental Law as my guiding path and realised there wasn't a lot I had to carry further with it and this course was exactly what reaffirmed my passion for the environment and conservation through law.

교육 기관: Tan W

2017년 2월 12일

Enjoyed learning about the different statuates and policies as well as how to read them. From those not from US and fear that the stuff learnt may not be as relevant, don't fret! What's introduced are major policies that are important to the global community!

교육 기관: Dave A

2021년 9월 10일

This course provides a good high-level overview of environmental legislation. Some of the material is slightly dated as the course was first developed in 2014. The presenter is engaging and very good at conveying complex legal information to non-lawyers.