Chevron Left
Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel(으)로 돌아가기

라이스 대학교의 Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
5,871개의 평가
1,323개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The use of Excel is widespread in the industry. It is a very powerful data analysis tool and almost all big and small businesses use Excel in their day to day functioning. This is an introductory course in the use of Excel and is designed to give you a working knowledge of Excel with the aim of getting to use it for more advance topics in Business Statistics later. The course is designed keeping in mind two kinds of learners - those who have very little functional knowledge of Excel and those who use Excel regularly but at a peripheral level and wish to enhance their skills. The course takes you from basic operations such as reading data into excel using various data formats, organizing and manipulating data, to some of the more advanced functionality of Excel. All along, Excel functionality is introduced using easy to understand examples which are demonstrated in a way that learners can become comfortable in understanding and applying them. To successfully complete course assignments, students must have access to a Windows version of Microsoft Excel 2010 or later. ________________________________________ WEEK 1 Module 1: Introduction to Spreadsheets In this module, you will be introduced to the use of Excel spreadsheets and various basic data functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • Reading data into Excel using various formats • Basic functions in Excel, arithmetic as well as various logical functions • Formatting rows and columns • Using formulas in Excel and their copy and paste using absolute and relative referencing ________________________________________ WEEK 2 Module 2: Spreadsheet Functions to Organize Data This module introduces various Excel functions to organize and query data. Learners are introduced to the IF, nested IF, VLOOKUP and the HLOOKUP functions of Excel. Topics covered include: • IF and the nested IF functions • VLOOKUP and HLOOKUP • The RANDBETWEEN function ________________________________________ WEEK 3 Module 3: Introduction to Filtering, Pivot Tables, and Charts This module introduces various data filtering capabilities of Excel. You’ll learn how to set filters in data to selectively access data. A very powerful data summarizing tool, the Pivot Table, is also explained and we begin to introduce the charting feature of Excel. Topics covered include: • VLOOKUP across worksheets • Data filtering in Excel • Use of Pivot tables with categorical as well as numerical data • Introduction to the charting capability of Excel ________________________________________ WEEK 4 Module 4: Advanced Graphing and Charting This module explores various advanced graphing and charting techniques available in Excel. Starting with various line, bar and pie charts we introduce pivot charts, scatter plots and histograms. You will get to understand these various charts and get to build them on your own. Topics covered include • Line, Bar and Pie charts • Pivot charts • Scatter plots • Histograms...

최상위 리뷰

SW

May 26, 2020

The training provided by Dr. Sharad is easy to follow and learn. Bravo and Thank you.\n\nThe level of difficulty from the quiz and the final task is just right and it is making us to think creatively.

SS

Apr 28, 2017

good course gives a basic foundation for data analytics ! Excellent for beginners who have no idea how to use excel for want to learn systematically excel files given at every lecture are very useful.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Data Analysis Using Excel의 1,310개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Peter K

Jan 05, 2018

First of all Question 2 on the Week 3 quiz is horseshit & while the instructors have not gotten back to me on that run-on paragraph of nonsense at least one other student seems to agree with me. I also threatened to call it out in my course review if it wasn't rewritten for clarity & I am an extremely petty person.

Other than that this is an absolutely fantastic course for people with limited Excel experience like myself. The lectures are all good length and skills are build upon each other in a nice logical way. The quizzes (sans week 3 question 2 & a few other questions that could be rewritten for better clarity) are well designed & actually help with developing the skills instead of just asking you to regurgitate facts from the lectures.

Not currently enrolled in the full specialization, but would consider coming back to it when I have more time.

교육 기관: SARI R

Jun 24, 2019

Brief Course with very efficiently organized course material. The way of teaching was very good in simple way.A great course in MS Excel for beginners to have an in-depth knowledge with confidence.

교육 기관: William J

Oct 04, 2018

Excellent Course. I have been using Excel for years and still learned some very useful skills here. Most notable for me was the use of Pivot Charts and Tables, and the use of Excel Data Analysis tools to create histogram charts(which, up until now I did manually). The section on VLOOKUP and HLOOKUP was also very useful. The section on IF statements is well laid out in case you have not worked

교육 기관: Amit M

Dec 10, 2018

The course is very helpful to enter into Data Analysis starting Excel. I learned many new things to analyse data using excel and I am confident now to handle more data after this course. Whom so ever want to learn data analysis using excel must go for this course.

교육 기관: AMEESHA M

Jun 03, 2020

Everything was explained in detail, even the smallest bits we don't pay attention to. Beautifully designed course, I would recommend it to anyone looking to get started with excel and data analytics.

교육 기관: Raj D C

Nov 28, 2017

A very well taught, comprehensive course on Excel, VLookups, Pivot Tables, Pivot Charts, etc, etc. I really enjoyed this course, and feel like I learnt a lot from taking it. The lectures were interesting, and the quizzes and course material was just right, not anywhere near overwhelming or difficult to understand.

So from me to you, a big thank you !!!

교육 기관: Raju B

Jan 03, 2019

Overall the course content and the way it is explained with right examples is making one to follow and understand the tools available in excel. It would be nice, if the course gives the option to choose the Excel version one has, so that it will be easy to quickly find the options being discussed

교육 기관: Heather H

Jan 11, 2019

A good course for anyone looking for an introduction to using Excel for analysis. There is some help with navigation, but to be successful in this class it would be very helpful for a person to already be fairly familiar with the Excel ribbon and basic Excel navigation.

교육 기관: Sidharth

Apr 28, 2017

good course gives a basic foundation for data analytics ! Excellent for beginners who have no idea how to use excel for want to learn systematically excel files given at every lecture are very useful.

교육 기관: Luis C

May 18, 2018

Excellent class, well-written and presented with real-world examples that are challenging but not impossible to complete if you follow the small quizzes and stay on top of the deadlines. Great job!

교육 기관: Ashok A

Oct 18, 2017

This is amazing to see that i have completed the course with so much logical and analytical questions been answered. It is really valued a lot the course and lots of useful information to learn.

교육 기관: Myka T

Aug 19, 2018

If you need a very basic introduction to Excel this would be a perfect course. Anyone who has little to no familiarity with pivot tables, lookup functions, and basic mathematics calculations would definitely benefit from the course. The instructor is very thorough. I consider myself an advanced user and found a few of the end-lesson testing questions to have a good level of challenge to them considering the lessons at hand. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone needing to learn Excel for data manipulation.

교육 기관: Chris

Jul 16, 2017

A very methodical and careful explanation of each stage involved in using MS Excel for basic data analysis in a business context. It is necessary that candidates look on the discussion forum, check the web, review the materials, and think carefully about the tasks in the weekly quizzes to pass. The support from the instructors was excellent: prompt and helpful. I am looking forward to taking the next stage. Thank you, Dr Sharad Borle and his team.

교육 기관: M.Vikas

Nov 11, 2016

I would give 5 out of 5 without any hesitation. It is a wonderful course covering right from the basics to a moderate level, presenting the approaches to analyse the data. Good that Dr.Borle had presented tricky assignments for the course, that really helped us to use our brains and dig into the analysis. Much appreciated course. Thank you Dr.Borle and Coursera. Look forward to many more interesting courses on Data Analysis and Analytics.

교육 기관: Kalyani

Jan 12, 2019

The professor and the team has done a great job here!

Excel sheets always looked and sounded like French and Greek to me until I took up this particular course, thanks to the efforts to the professor and his team!

I will definitely recommend this course to my friends who are looking into taking their first steps towards Excel.

Thanks for one such great, simple yet comprehensible course.

교육 기관: Fattah M T

Dec 20, 2016

Excellent!!! Thanks a lot to all behind this course ( specially the course instructor Mr. Sharad Borle for his clear and to the point presentation) . Examples, Videos, Sub-Titles, Quiz and other contents really help the learner to be more adroit and practical. I would like to complete advanced courses and other upcoming courses if possible. You guys deserve high rating, Kudos (y)

교육 기관: Tom M

Jan 26, 2017

I use Excel constantly at work, but I have frequently gotten information from it the hard way. This course helped me increase my knowledge in some Excel functions that I knew about, but wasn't getting the most out of, such as Pivot Tables. I have already applied what I learned in this course at work and THAT is about the best that you can hope for from a class.

교육 기관: Angelique P

Oct 23, 2017

This course helped reinforce some of the excel data analysis I learned during my MBA statistics class. The most useful content for me was vlookup and pivot tables. I realize the importance of applying the learning immediately in order to master the skills learned in this course. I look forward to taking the next course in the series!

교육 기관: Alouache N

Aug 21, 2019

Very good introduction to approach data analysis with Excel. The author of this MOOC gives an efficient method of using Excel sorting and processing functionalities, using files-scenarios close to real situations.

On the other hand, I would have liked the quality of the videos to be better and sharper.

Thank you for this course.

교육 기관: Eric L

Oct 05, 2017

I would definitely recommend this course for anyone who wants to learn advanced excel functions. The module is easy to understand and the videos are so helpful. Also you'll have a good teacher so it adds to the fun part of studying. It is definitely a must for people who would want to expand their existing knowledge of excel.

교육 기관: Estu K W

Nov 15, 2018

For someone who is very unfamiliar with Excel and Data Analysis, this course really help me to understand the concept of each functions which are useful for data analysis. The explanation and curriculum is packed and clear, so for someone who's full time worker, it does help them to learn new things effectively and efficiently.

교육 기관: Joy S

Nov 07, 2019

Good course, but would be good if it was similar to Macquarie's Excel Course, in terms of providing Exercise material to practice with while watching the videos.

교육 기관: Susannah

Jun 16, 2020

I took this as part of the specialization, so this review applies to the whole 5-course specialization. In this specific course, I learned some useful Excel problem-solving tips and functions here. It didn't go into too much detail on formatting and some other functions, since I think its intended to set you up for statistics specifically, but it was an excellent class nonetheless. The files and PowerPoint slides were well-done; for example, unlike some other Excel courses I've taken on Coursera, the PowerPoint slides are explanatory and clear, the text is big enough to be able to take screenshots of for note-taking purposes, and the quiz and test questions are clearly worded. Sharad also is a very good lecturer- engaging and doesn't rush through things; rather, he reminds you of things throughout the course, rather than just mentioning them once and then never explaining it again and assuming you remember it.

교육 기관: Hussain H

Aug 10, 2020

A good intro to people who are looking to learn excel and data analysis in general. The mini practice quizes are really nice to directly apply what you have learned in the video lessons. The weekly quizzes are of normal difficulty and everyone should be able to complete it by going over the video lessons.

Other than that, this course is not that demanding and should fit nicely into your work/college schedules. Looking forward to more courses in the specialization.

교육 기관: Parth G

May 03, 2020

I have been using Excel since my High School days, and hence am not new to the software. When I joined college, my usage grew, and along with it, my knowledge about the features of this software. However, I had just begun to scratch the surface of the capabilities of Excel, and this course taught me so much about the data analytics tools of Excel.