Chevron Left
Introduction to Forensic Science(으)로 돌아가기

싱가포르의 난양공대의 Introduction to Forensic Science 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
별점
833개의 평가
242개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

We have all seen forensic scientists in TV shows, but how do they really work? What is the science behind their work? The course aims to explain the scientific principles and techniques behind the work of forensic scientists and will be illustrated with numerous case studies from Singapore and around the world. Some questions which we will attempt to address include: How did forensics come about? What is the role of forensics in police work? Can these methods be used in non-criminal areas? Blood. What is it? How can traces of blood be found and used in evidence? Is DNA chemistry really so powerful? What happens (biologically and chemically) if someone tries to poison me? What happens if I try to poison myself? How can we tell how long someone has been dead? What if they have been dead for a really long time? Can a little piece of a carpet fluff, or a single hair, convict someone? Was Emperor Napoleon murdered by the perfidious British, or killed by his wallpaper? *For Nanyang Technological University (NTU) students, please be noted that this course will no longer be eligible for credit transfer....

최상위 리뷰

NU

Jun 18, 2020

The training and instruction received in the course of the program were an excellent one. It exposed me to various techniques used for crime investigation. Generally, I had an awesome experience.

DR

Jul 09, 2019

This was a good course for reviewing forensic medicine. Some detail part of medicolegal aspects are insufficient but as a package, it is most essential for the expert to upgrade their knowledge.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Forensic Science의 239개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: JIGNASHA D

Jun 10, 2020

The course goes in depth into the world of forensic science. The course dwells into the idea of a crime scene which not only makes one use critical analysis but also puts you into the shoes of the criminal themselves. The topics covered in this course were immense and the easy understanding of complicated topics such as DNA,Toxicology and many others made me want to continue on the course with interest and curiosity.

교육 기관: Julia Y

Jul 17, 2017

Amazing! I would highly recommend this to anyone, no need to have too much scientific knowledge, just basics, everything is explained incredibly well and the lessons are engaging - especially the case studies. Also, the skills learned are able to be applied to evidence in the short response assignments (of which there are 2). Over all, this was a great experience, this course is great for anyone and everyone!

교육 기관: Alicia J

Jun 05, 2019

This course is a well written and structured course i have taken an "introduction to forensic science" course before but it was not as good as this one was. The website i took my course on was https://www.futurelearn.com/ it was an okay course but the accent was very difficult to understand. If you were to take a forensic science course take this one first i reccomend you to take the class on this website.

교육 기관: Rodrigo P R V

May 02, 2020

A simple and easy to follow course, wich introduce the main techniques used in the field of forensic Science. The cases ilustrative of the advances in the multiple subjects, like DNA o Poisons. I especially enjoy the Case assignments at the end of some lectures, it was a great oportunity to test the knowlegdes of this course. I recomended as a first approach to the forensic Science.

교육 기관: Ganapati K

Jun 19, 2017

Amazing course, and brilliantly designed. The Professor peppered his lectures with occasional anecdotes and humour, making the course very interesting. Initially I had some misgivings on taking this course, as I do not have a prior background in chemistry, but with a little bit of extra effort could grasp the essential nuances of chemistry as was required for this course.

교육 기관: MENG Y

Jun 20, 2020

I am used to be an NTU student. While when this MOOC course is available for NTU undergraduate for electives, I have finished all my electives AUs. But luckily I can still take a free audition after graduation. It is a very interesting course and solves many of my questions when I saw those SCI episodes. Thanks a lot for the professor and tutors for preparing it!

교육 기관: Maude L

Jul 07, 2018

I love this course. I have no background in science and everything is explained very well, I am learning so much. It is more time-consuming for me than the average time the course is giving as approximates. I'm in week 4 and I needed to spend about 5 hours every week on each subject except for week 1. I recommend it to everyone who finds this subject interesting.

교육 기관: Martina P

Jul 16, 2017

This course was very interesting and the teacher explained all the concepts clearly and easily so that everyone could learn even without any previous knowledge. All the assignments were easy to do. The only thing that I would reccomend to improve is the peer assignments that sometimes are subjected to free interpretations. I learned a lot and had a lot of fun !!!

교육 기관: Jose L L

Jul 14, 2017

Es uno de los mejores cursos que he tomado en línea. Me gusta la calidad de sus videos, y la información actual que manejan a través de diversos medios, como lecturas y artículos.

This is one of the best courses I have studied online. I like the quality of their videos, and the current information they handle through various media, such as readings and articles.

교육 기관: Bruno A T P

Nov 12, 2016

Very good introductory course, gives very good background on forensic science, evidence collection and analysis. Particularly enjoyed Professor Roderick Bates' informal style and witty comments during the video classes. A very interesting point were also the video experiments, showing us simple protocols that can be used in the lab. All in all, a great course!

교육 기관: Iga T

Jan 04, 2017

Very good course that provides a little more than only basics of forensic science at the same time giving overview of the major areas that this subject covers. Mr Roderick Bates explains everything very clearly implementing new ideas gradually. I loved plethora of examples and case studies. Assignments made learning enjoyable.

교육 기관: Esha L

Jun 24, 2020

Amazing course! It keeps on increasing the curiosity as you complete each week. The instructor is very good in demonstration and I like the way they explained usage and importance of instruments as well as various techniques with help of real case studies. I thank Nanyang Technological University and Coursera for this.

교육 기관: Venkateswaran M

Jun 06, 2020

I loved the course! It is really very cool to know how creative people get to kill people. It is even more fascinating to know their motive. Learning to decipher what they did and how they did is the best way to enjoy the essence of crime. All you Agatha Christie and Nancy Drew fans, this is the course for you. Dive in!

교육 기관: Devi D

Jun 10, 2020

This course is very much useful to the students who are interested in forensic science, I loved this course very much. It is very much informative and well structured. Thanks to NTU for providing us such an amazing course. Finally Roderick Bates Sir, for me He is one of the best teachers I have come across so far.

교육 기관: waseem A

Apr 14, 2020

The content is very comprehensive. Course delivery is exceptional and very lucid. The video lectures have good learning aids. Adult learning methodologies for maintaining focus and attention of the participants are implemented effectively, to the extent Prof Bates even had a glass of wine to prove his point....

교육 기관: Haritha S

Jun 27, 2020

An awesome course which was well elaborated and principles of techniques wonderfully explained.My thirst for forensics and the mystery behind its applications have been satisfied through this course.I really liked the way this course and the concepts were constructed and the tests really were mind wrecking.

교육 기관: Iva A

Apr 20, 2020

I highly recommend this course for anyone who is interested in exploring the field of Forensic science. The learning and practicing processes were truly enjoyable, especially taking the quizzes and solving the cases. I hope I have the opportunity to sign up for another course of this type very soon.

교육 기관: Di L

Aug 07, 2019

Great course. I found the material to be engaging but also presented in a scientific way. The examples and practical applications of techniques ensured understanding of different scientific concepts. I would highly recommend this course for any person interested in forensic science and application.

교육 기관: Abby H

Aug 14, 2017

Very fun and interesting course. Learned a lot about the field of Forensics with little background in it to begin with. Has a few quizzes on materials and a couple of fun peer reviewed assignments where you interpret a crime scene. Definitely recommend this for anyone with an interest in forensics.

교육 기관: Pablo C

Apr 14, 2020

Really gives a good introduction, not only into the subject matter but also into the mindset of a forensic scientist. Even though it is a online course, laboratory methods are demonstrated which gives you additional knowledge, not only of theoretic methods but also the practical application.

교육 기관: Olga

Apr 11, 2020

Brilliant course! Thank you for putting such an insightful and interesting course together! The case study practical tasks were great practice and the quizzes encompassing all of the previous learning up to that point is a great way to ensure that nothing is forgotten. Highly recommended!

교육 기관: Elizabeth K

Feb 06, 2018

Fantastic introduction to the area of Forensic Science! Very thorough and informative with a lot of detail on many subject areas. I enjoyed every second of this course and feel like I now have a more advanced knowledge of Forensics. Great at busting myths seen on TV shows such as CSI!

교육 기관: Niloufer K K

May 03, 2020

Amazing Course!!! :) Roderick Bates Sir is amazing!!! He has explained everything very simply and yet covering details... :) As I watched more videos my curiosity to learn more only increased!!! Also, peer-reviewing was fun!!! :) I strongly recommend this course!!! :)

교육 기관: Trevor J H

Apr 10, 2018

Lots of effort went into this course by Dr Roderick Bates. It was extremely interesting and informative and easily understood. The video material and examples are superb. I enjoyed doing the murder cases. One of the best courses so far Ive done here at coursera.