Chevron Left
Introduction to Genetics and Evolution(으)로 돌아가기

듀크대학교의 Introduction to Genetics and Evolution 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
944개의 평가
240개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Introduction to Genetics and Evolution is a college-level class being offered simultaneously to new students at Duke University. The course gives interested people a very basic overview of some principles behind these very fundamental areas of biology. We often hear about new "genome sequences," commercial kits that can tell you about your ancestry (including pre-human) from your DNA or disease predispositions, debates about the truth of evolution, why animals behave the way they do, and how people found "genetic evidence for natural selection." This course provides the basic biology you need to understand all of these issues better, tries to clarify some misconceptions, and tries to prepare students for future, more advanced coursework in Biology (and especially evolutionary genetics). No prior coursework is assumed....

최상위 리뷰

AT

May 29, 2020

I recommend this course for someone who is interested in learning of basics of population genetics and evolutionary processes. Prof. Noor is a very good teacher and I like his explanation of concepts.

YH

Jul 04, 2017

The course is really interesting! I love the way the professor demonstrate genetics theories by countless examples and evidence. And those questions about debates in genetics are thought-provoking!

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Genetics and Evolution의 238개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Sarthak N S

Dec 04, 2019

Extremely insightful, the way he transitioned from the knowledge that I, as a high school senior am aware of, to ideas that I hadn't ever encountered before was extremely impressive. The instructor was charismatic and insightful. The quality of the course was commendable as well but it has to be noted that the audio quality was a bit off in a couple videos from weeks 1 and 2. Nevertheless, the course remained gripping and exciting throughout.

교육 기관: Siddharth S

Jan 30, 2017

I absolutely enjoyed the course! The topics are well-explained and tie in together with each other, so you get a broad picture of genetics, speciation, evolution, and other concepts. The videos are backed with interesting supplemental material to read and ponder. Also, the lecturer is really interesting, not like most online courses where they simply read off notes. It's an informational and interactive course, and I highly recommend it!

교육 기관: Zaneta P N N

Mar 24, 2016

Dr Noor's enthusiasm and relaxed teaching style makes even the more technical subject matter seem interesting. Although not always easy I have been compelled to keep pushing forward as I feel I am learning a great deal about myself and species around me. By far one of the best courses I have taken on this platform. I hope to continue studying the area of genetics as a result of this course. Thanks and keep up the good work!!!

교육 기관: Sikandar Q

Apr 19, 2020

A very interesting course that has taught me the basics of genetics and evolution and has given me a fair direction for carrying out research in future. Dr Mohammad Noor has a wonderful way of delivering the knowledge he has acquired through his research over the period of his brilliant academic career and I recommend this course to everyone who wishes to pursue a career in the research related to Genetics

교육 기관: Hamid A

Jan 13, 2018

very interesting and full of knowledge course. I learn this course very much. and Dr. Muhammad Noor is a nice person and the way of teaching is very impressive. many of my concepts about genetics and evolution clear in this course within few weeks. I specially thankful to the coursera team which give this huge platform to the people who are the seekers of knowledge. thank you again team coursera

교육 기관: Arkady S

May 24, 2020

Very clear lectures requiring no background knowledge. Everything is super well explained. Now I'm able to read articles about related topics and understand them a little more. I wish the pace was a little faster but at the same time didn't want to skip ahead in case I would miss something cool. When professor Noor presents arguments supporting evolution, he can sound a little biased.

교육 기관: Herman A

Apr 09, 2018

There are a lot of things to take away from this class, but what struck me the most was Dr. Noor himself. Certainly he is a role model to all his colleagues. His lecture style, slide and quiz designs all show hints of a pedagogic genius at work. He certainly makes learning easy, and I have learned a lot! I feel fully confident in my ability to delve deeper into evolution and genomics.

교육 기관: leslie l

Mar 01, 2016

Great course for all. I go into a coma when it comes to doing math. I hate it. I like science so was happy to find that this course explains concepts including the math in a clear concise and comprehensible fashion. And Dr Khan is a fun dude who conveys his love of the subject in a snappy interesting manner. I would like more courses in genetics that can do this.

교육 기관: Ariel A

Mar 07, 2018

As of thus far (3 weeks into the course) the course is an excellent introduction to basic genetic and evolutionary processes. The videos are taught in a manner that is entertaining almost intuitive enough to be heard without watching the slides, sort of as a long audiobook. The quizzes are free and there is much supplementary material available for deeper diving

교육 기관: Artūrs B

Apr 15, 2016

Provides information from basic laws of inheritance to understanding the field of Evolutionary biology and genome sequencing. Explained in a 'light and easy to understand' way! Not a course you can pass by knowing a few facts about the subjects. Tricky at times, which help you find out if you understood everything correctly. Would recommend to others!

교육 기관: aishita m

Aug 05, 2020

Absolutely loved this course !! i learnt soo much and made me fall in love with evolution and genetics all over again. Very interesting , interactive , engaging , very well explained concepts and an amazing teacher! This was such a good learning experience . I thank everyone that made it possible for me to attend this fantastic course !!

교육 기관: Mohnish S

May 06, 2020

I think this is one of the best online courses you would find related to genetics and evolution. It was a pleasure learning the basics and applications of genetics and evolution from Noor Sir. I got to explore so much and this study reconsolidated my basics. A big shout out to Dr Noor and the Coursera team for making my dreams come true.

교육 기관: Tania G A

Aug 01, 2017

Wonderful course! Beautiful topic, but most importantly for this kind of teaching platforms, very very dynamic!. Dr. Noor really nailed it, he totally masters every subject of the course and puts in a easy-to-learn and motivational way. I would happily go over this course or any other given by Dr. Noor! Congratulations and thank so much!

교육 기관: Martin S

Aug 08, 2016

Probably the best explained course I have ever taken in Coursera. Professor Noor makes the material easy to understand making it seem like it is a straight forward class. It is not until you try to explain to others what you have learned that you realize the material is complitaced. at making a science class simple and fun!!!

교육 기관: Samuel A

Aug 25, 2019

The teacher is amazing, and videos are short, easy to understand and overall fun to listen to and learn new things if you're really interested in genetics. I just finished my AP Biology class my junior year of high school and got A's both semesters and still felt there was a ton to be learned by taking this class.

교육 기관: Jingtian Z

Mar 13, 2020

Well, for me it's everything from scratch, I'm having fun in this course and for me, it was very hard at first, but easier towards the end. At first, I am failing, but toward the end, I am handling everything with genetics and evolution. I now kow that mutations are very often, how species evolute, and so on.

교육 기관: AP

May 12, 2016

Dr. Noor is a gem. He shows enthusiasm both for his subject, and for teaching. I felt the course was well organized, and provided a good foundational understanding of genetics. Importantly, it was enjoyable. The forum moderators responded promptly, and their answers were well-informed. An excellent course.

교육 기관: Anagi S K

May 29, 2020

This course provides a great overview touching every aspect of genetics and evolution. Prof. Noor is a skilled and friendly lecturer. His teaching methods made this educational journey enjoyable. As a medical student, I believe this course provided additional skills and qualifications to my career.

교육 기관: Konstantinos L

Feb 09, 2020

An exceptional course. I loved every minute of it! Definitely everyone who's interested in Genetics and Evolution -and of course their interaction in understanding better life on Earth- should give it a try. A big thanks to Dr. Moor, an excellent professor. I'm going to miss his teaching.

교육 기관: DOLKIRAS F

Jul 08, 2018

The best course i had in coursera!! I have learned so much and in an such enjoyable way. I recommend it to anyone looking for some insight into genetics and evolution ( even if it states that is an introduction in covers many topics which are introduced in a simple comprehesive way).

교육 기관: Abhishek k

Jun 16, 2020

My experience through course era is so good and knowledgeable. I am especially thankful to Mahmood Noor sir. his teaching way is so good and I feel he is a so grateful personality and I wish to will do further online courses on the course era in the future. Thanks a lot, course era.

교육 기관: Tanya L J

Sep 12, 2019

This course is very interesting. Professor Noor has presented the lessons in a simple manner, which enhanced me to understand the main concepts very easily. The questions in the quiz is also very good which is mostly application level questions. I really enjoyed learning.

교육 기관: Alma D

Feb 24, 2016

It's one of the hardest more joyful courses I have taken. I suffered so much with the so well designed exams, but that pushds me to study harder and read more. I enjoyed it very much and I think the better way to say THANKS to Dr. Noor is don't give up and keep trying.

교육 기관: S M J

Oct 06, 2018

I have found the explanation in this course very intuitive and well suited for making me understand basic genetic topics that is very important for further complex studies of genetics. Really well put together and would highly recommend everyone to try the course.

교육 기관: Karolina M

Dec 04, 2018

Such a good course. My background is ecology and nature conservation and i am trying to get more into phylogenetics. This course was a nice introduction and coherent summary of important topics tying together evolution and genetics as an intro to phylogenetics.