Chevron Left
GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 대학교 데이비스 캠퍼스의 GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
별점
1,719개의 평가
373개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

In this course, the second in the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization, you will go in-depth with common data types (such as raster and vector data), structures, quality and storage during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn about data models and formats, including a full understanding of vector data and raster concepts. You will also learn about the implications of a data’s scale and how to load layers from web services. Week 2: Create a vector data model by using vector attribute tables, writing query strings, defining queries, and adding and calculating fields. You'll also learn how to create new data through the process of digitizing and you'll use the built-in Editor tools in ArcGIS. Week 3: Learn about common data storage mechanisms within GIS, including geodatabases and shapefiles. Learn how to choose between them for your projects and how to optimize them for speed and size. You'll also work with rasters for the first time, using digital elevation models and creating slope and distance analysis products. Week 4: Explore datasets and assess them for quality and uncertainty. You will also learn how to bring your maps and data to the Internet and create web maps quickly with ArcGIS Online. Take GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. You should have equivalent experience to completing the first course in this specialization, Fundamentals of GIS, before taking this course. By completing the second class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program....

최상위 리뷰

LT
2018년 12월 25일

Great course. Quite challenging, huge amount of info shared and employed in the assignments. This makes the course very thorough yet as mentioned, challenging to complete. Not for the faint at heart!

SS
2016년 4월 30일

Awesome..... The lectures are very helpful to the students or gis learners who wants to do some on-line, especially the final project was awesome... i really enjoyed and learned much more things...

필터링 기준:

GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality의 366개 리뷰 중 326~350

교육 기관: Litia

2018년 3월 11일

N

교육 기관: Siskin C S

2016년 9월 14일

G

교육 기관: Simon D

2018년 4월 16일

The course is very good, but I did find that I had problems with some subjects that were not covered well enough to be able to work out the outcome required. I push myself hard anyway, so pretty happy to get through when I know I could have done better. Thanks again Nick, I will start the 3rd course, once I am happy my computer has all the components I need for ArcGIS to run without wanting files from my other computer. Have a great day.

교육 기관: Cornelis A G

2020년 7월 14일

The course is interesting, especially the part explaining several of the workflows with rasters. There is so much you can extract from a Digital Elevation Model. The part dealing with SQL and queries could be improved upon. I for one, would like to learn a bit more of the basics of the models underlying this part of ArcMap. At lerast give some pointers to a book or a course that deals with the basics of these programming languages.

교육 기관: Aarthi P

2019년 9월 3일

Great course! Compared to the first course of this GIS specialization (Fundamentals of GIS), this 2nd course has a few minor gaps in the lecture notes/videos. However, some exploration and practice, as well as other readings do help with overall understanding and with completing the assignments successfully.

Thanks very much!

교육 기관: Megan H

2020년 7월 19일

I learned a lot in this course. The only thing that I could say needs improving is to give answers to the open-ended questions posed in the tutorials. I really wanted to know the answers. Overall, I think that I am way more knowledgeable about ArcGIS than I was before I began this course.

교육 기관: Adam S

2016년 8월 22일

Peer Review system needs an overhaul. I would suggest increasing the number of reviews required by each student so you one incorrect (based on user error) review does not influence your grade so significantly.

Otherwise, this is an informative and useful course.

교육 기관: Sean B

2017년 12월 19일

I would have given it 5 stars, but Tutorial Assignment 3 was written as though it was pulled from another course without editing, and contained references to file paths and names that didn't match the reality of the course and required some deduction to sort out.

교육 기관: Mathew M

2017년 8월 8일

Content is excellent. It does go by very fast and a lot of key elements of tools are glossed over... so you need to watch many of the lessons more than once in order to complete the final project unless you have done this work before.

교육 기관: Andrew R

2017년 12월 30일

I understand that all the information presented here is valuable but the subject matter was a little more dry than the first course in the specialisation. Nonetheless, it was very well put together and I learned a lot.

교육 기관: Sarah V

2018년 9월 12일

Great information and weekly assignments/lectures. The final project, at times, was very difficult and I did not receive much mentor help. It was still a doable assignment and was able to pass.

교육 기관: Alex G

2018년 6월 18일

This course was more difficult than I expected, but provided good video lectures and plenty of examples to help me better understand some of the many things that can be done with GIS.

교육 기관: Holly S

2017년 1월 26일

I didn't love the final project for this. It took a lot of time due to some software glitches. Seems like that is unnecessary and should be better managed in the future.

교육 기관: Jason M

2016년 10월 11일

More in-depth work with ArcMap and associated principles. Redundant to a degree with the intro to the specialization, but good blend of instruction and assignments.

교육 기관: Zannis K

2018년 9월 2일

Really nice intro to working with rasters and performing calculations based on them, either to produce new rasters or in comparison with vector data.

교육 기관: Sreenivasan N

2018년 4월 9일

I found the final quiz to be slightly tricky. But could crack it with the support of the members from the discussion forum.

Thank you Coursera

교육 기관: Paing T P @ A J R

2020년 8월 25일

A little boring at first in this course, but it become interesting later. A little difficult to doing assignment. But it is cool.

교육 기관: Francisca P D A

2020년 10월 28일

Muy buen curso. Super clara la información y muy didáctico . Hay que dedicarle varias horas a la semana, pero vale la pena.

교육 기관: Pedro P

2020년 6월 2일

Everything great except for the web lesson. Very nice assigments. You can feel how much work is behind this course.

교육 기관: Jesse B

2017년 3월 1일

Introduces some good spatial analysis techniques. You learn how to integrate raster and vector data.

교육 기관: Kyle

2020년 1월 8일

Nick is a great and friendly instructor. Assignment was challenging, generally in a good way.

교육 기관: Andres F V M

2020년 9월 28일

Buen curso, bastante claro en las lecciones y las multiples aplicaciones que se le puede dar

교육 기관: Nancy V W

2017년 6월 25일

This is a very good course and would recommend it to anyone interested in learning GIS.

교육 기관: Simona B

2016년 11월 18일

Lots of contents, I really enjoyed this course. Good material and videos. Thanks

교육 기관: Ignacio R G

2019년 7월 15일

The course needs more practice items that does not require to buy a GIS book.