Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
10,109개의 평가
4,030개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

BE
2020년 11월 17일

Thank you so much for this course. Also thanks to Dan Levy for suggesting it. The course and weekly chats helped educate me in Canada's true history, information that I should have received in school.

AS
2020년 9월 6일

I found this course to be very informative. Thank you for the opportunity to see our shared history from another perspective. I hope this is as groundbreaking for my fellow Canadians as it was for me.

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 4,030개 리뷰 중 3476~3500

교육 기관: Rebecca L

2020년 10월 13일

Great!!

교육 기관: ELIAS P N

2021년 2월 8일

Great!

교육 기관: Elise L

2021년 1월 16일

Vital.

교육 기관: Adriana

2019년 4월 15일

Great!

교육 기관: Brynne W

2018년 3월 25일

Great!

교육 기관: Rahul D

2021년 3월 15일

Love!

교육 기관: Tanner L

2018년 4월 24일

Every

교육 기관: Mona A A

2020년 7월 14일

good

교육 기관: MD. R A

2019년 4월 6일

5*

교육 기관: Laura C

2021년 2월 17일

G

교육 기관: Shelagh W

2021년 2월 2일

E

교육 기관: Jason B

2020년 9월 7일

V

교육 기관: Karolina U

2020년 8월 31일

E

교육 기관: Isobel W

2020년 8월 26일

t

교육 기관: Kristian M L

2020년 6월 26일

e

교육 기관: Harrison C

2018년 8월 27일

G

교육 기관: Colette P

2018년 1월 3일

E

교육 기관: Theresa G

2017년 6월 19일

When I see indigenous people comment online, they trash-talk both government and first nations community leaders alike. They distrust both the government who never came through on promises and the leaders who have underfunded their communities for their own enjoyment.

I didn't see many solutions suggested or a means to an end to some of these issues in this course so in spite of my new found knowledge it would seem this will remain a vicious circle of poverty, distrust, and fear and this saddens me that that there is still little hope for a resolution.

However, this course did bring to light many aspects of my heritage that I was not aware of. My birth father is Métis however my birth mother is not. I was given up for adoption to a Caucasian family when I was 8 months old, so was unaware of being Métis for almost all of my life, let alone did I ever feel remotely a part of it once I found out. So this course also suggested that when you are no longer a part of the Indigenous culture and do not look Indigenous in any way, and because you will never experience the hardships or really know anyone who has, you will never be part of that culture. It's like you get to sit in the front row but will never be in the show.

The rest of the course was okay, the history I knew, the issues I knew, although the elaboration of them was nice. The introduction of key individuals in forming some semblance of a united indigenous culture were good to know. But this course also reminded me that indigeneity in Canada is also about a fractured and injured culture of people, who are separated by language, distance and who will never have the funding that other communities enjoy, and it will never be a whole. After all had there been more formal territories when NA was colonized, maybe it wouldn't be indigenous Canada, it would be Enoch Territory or Papaschase Territory or State and many others where Alberta currently sits and it would now be the United Territories of North America, but alas that will never be.

교육 기관: Gail S

2020년 12월 2일

it is very good introductory program providing an overview of the history of the colonization of First Nations people. I'm interested if there are additional courses that includes other Nations and the impact and their history. I was saddened to find that some of the politicians from the 60's and on have continued in a variety of way to decimate First Nations with legislation that would take continue land, rights and "life" away from First Nations. I am so thrilled to see and witness the trajectory of First Nations getting their education that allows them to FIGHT and WIN within the Canadian Judicial and Gov't. It was something I said along time ago. The course could used additional vetting of information and how it flows..but it works .as an introduction. I especially enjoyed the Professors and speakers.. I remembered those the best. I do wish you could have shown some examples of the ART of the artists you highlighted... Also how, where, who have been able to retieve some of the art back to First Nations. Many thanks, I have soooo much to learn and look forward to additional opportunities to do so.

I will share that I always wondered how the German people who survived under the Nazi regime owned and dealt with the shame of what their gov't did to millions of Jews... I assume Shame guilt disbelief...I now have similar feelings... I can't believe so much happened in my lifetime. My deepest apologies !!! Whatever I can do, I will.. to enlighten my peers of what we've done and now witnessed to draw a blind eye to and need to acknowledge, take responsibility and hope to gawd, I don't keep doing it!

I

교육 기관: Sandra P

2020년 12월 15일

My evaluation does not fully show how I feel about the content of this course as I feel the content was excellent. As as European, French Canadian living in Nelson, BC, and raised in the southern Alberta plains near Medicine Hat, I grew up in a system of racism towards my fellow Aboriginal citizens. As a young child and teenager, I played sports with my Aboriginal classmates and liked them very much and I was horrified one day in class when our control freak, white principal, strapped an Aboriginal student in our class and I was horrified. I remember crying all of the way home and knew that what I had witnessed was wrong but none of us had the courage to speak up against it. That picture of Wendell, who was such a kind and fun person in class has haunted me to this day. As an interculturalization specialist, I realized a while back that I needed to learn the true histories of our First Nations communities and people and then work to be a supporter and ally. This course was excellent. My issue is with the single, archaic assessment strategy as it seems it would have been so much more meaningful to have people write their reactions to situations of abuse and injustice to really internalize how they will accept this no further as white privilege and go beyond a social media post to show support. All in all - a very good course. I shall share it far and wide. Thank you presenters - you did an excellent job in waking me up to the truthful history that I and all Canadian need to know.

교육 기관: Greg B

2021년 2월 11일

This was a really well put together course, easy to follow, and was most importantly: current, relevant, and informative. Where this course loses points for me is that some of the videos are just not engaging. The content is heavy at times, and while I know it can't always be made 'exciting' there are ways to use technology in the service of pedagogy. Some of the visuals were great, and I could see that the designers were really trying, but it could be better. There are some really great examples of engaging educational video content (Youtube: Kurtzgesagt, CrashCourse Series) that course designers can take some inspiration from. I am not saying a direct copy is needed, but there are elements that can easily be replicated to increase the engagement factor. Often times it was just the host speaking, without any visuals / screen text. If creating a learning experience with videos, its important to keep the person visually engaged. Otherwise the learner can just listen, and has no reason to view the videos. I thouroughly enjoyed this course, and it was a good learning experience for me. This course definitely filled in the blanks for me that my Canadian primary/secondary schooling left, and I feel a responsibility to honor and recognize this land on which I have been allowed to create a life for myself. I highly recommend this course to others, as I think this is an important base knowledge to have for any Canadian. Great work!

교육 기관: Martha U

2018년 12월 8일

I really enjoyed the course. Having the transcripts along with the videos is great to help with review. The course notes are what I used extensively to write blogs about each module (I'm up to Week 6 on that - I will continue with writing a blog for each module every few days until I write a blog for each of the 12) .

I feel that someone does need some knowledge about the Indigenous issues in Canada to properly grasp what is presented in this course. There is a lot of information and (obviously) the course cannot go too deep. Some of the information was completely unknown to me (ie: the layering of rules around what the Indigenous peoples can do with the resources when they became too successful). And the module on treaties was difficult to understand because of the legalize.

I really enjoyed the information about the "modernization" of Indigenous peoples (ie: art, activism, success within urban settings). I think people are too stuck in viewing Indigenous peoples in their traditional roles and don't acknowledge how Indigenous peoples are just as adaptable as anyone else in changing times. Just like any other culture, values don't change, but day-to-day life does. I can't wait to see what an incredible country we can have when we are all arm-in-arm, linked together, walking towards the future together.

Thanks for the final recommendation to pursue some of the artists mentioned. I intend to do just that!

교육 기관: Terril C

2021년 1월 1일

I am very grateful for this course. I gained knowledge that I didn't have before but more importantly I have greater understanding of Indigeneity. Learning about Indigenous worldviews was very helpful. I specifically connected with the loss of identity, culture, histories, traditions and kinship ties as a result of the heteropatriarchal policies of colonialism and the intergenerational trauma caused by the Residential School system. Completing this course was an emotional experience for me but it will not be the end of my learning. It is my fervent hope that more Canadians and people around the globe learn about and learn to appreciate the first peoples of their countries. I believe that every school in Canada should have age appropriate primers on Indigenous peoples of Canada that will help us achieve reconciliation. Since I was a teenager I have believed in my core that the future belongs to the Indigenous peoples of Canada.

I have no issue at all with the content of the course. However, from a production editorial perspective, I found the sound of a toilet flushing or water draining in a pipe in the background in some of the videos distracting and unfortunate. Also, the course notes would benefit from some more editing. I found the odd sentence was incomplete or didn't make sense as if a partial phrase or sentence was copied from somewhere else and accidentally pasted in an entirely different spot.

교육 기관: Lisa R

2020년 8월 15일

I appreciated the material and how it was delivered. It could have had more examples from the east coast. The presenters were all well-spoken and knowledgeable on the topics that they were delivering. I especially liked the cameo appearances of Professor Tall Bear and her brief lectures on Genetics and Indigenous Feminism. I believe that a lot of time and effort were put into the lessons, but I think more focus is needed on some of the quiz questions. Assessments should consist of the main ideas the lecturer is focused on and what they want the students to take away from the lesson; not something that is not significant or barely mentioned. It was difficult to decide on what notes to take, as the lecturer could have spent a significant time discussing a subtopic and there was nothing on the quiz about that subtopic. As an educator, I would probably use about 50% of the questions. Also, there were “glitches” with the technology, as several times the quiz would “freeze” and when I tried to click the screen would eventually work but the click would change an answer (depending on where I had the mouse) or submit it when I was not finished. This happened 3-4 times. Thankfully, we could try again.