Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
16,355개의 평가
5,965개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

LH
2021년 6월 29일

I thoroughly enjoyed this course in the the way it is presented and the information given. It expanded my knowledge and insights of indigenous history, culture, and knowledge, as well as so much more.

GC
2021년 10월 13일

This was one of the best online courses I have taken. It was well written, great material related to my own personal development and gave me a better understanding of the Indigenous Peoples in Canada.

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 6,167개 리뷰 중 351~375

교육 기관: Amanda R

2020년 11월 16일

This course opened my eyes to all the work I still need to do to understand the past and present issues faced by Indigenous peoples in Canada. I have never been so drawn in by an online course. I have really taken this course to heart and appreciate the time, expertise and emotional energy put into this course by its creators. A lot of these things I've heard about or knew loosely, but this course really helped me un-learn the misconceptions I took away from being educated as a child within the mainstream settler understanding of Canadian history. I will be taking these lessons with me into the future and will try to steer as many people as I can towards this course.

교육 기관: Maria F

2020년 12월 20일

This course was absolutely amazing and eye opening. I am an immigrant and therefore the only narrative that is readily available for me is the one of settlers. A lot of undercurrents and stereotypes and reservations are not always obvious to me, as well as the reasons behind things being the way they are, so this was a great compilation of resources for me to start on my own journey of understanding the overwhelming impact of colonialism on my life and lives of others. I have already recommended this course to others and will continue doing so to those who look for starting this process. My heartfelt thanks goes to everyone who made this important course what it is.

교육 기관: Katherine M P

2020년 11월 16일

I loved this course!!! I have learned so much. I am thankful to The University of Alberta for preserving this history and culture. It is all of our story whether indigenous or colonial peoples. There are lessons to be learned from the past. Let's honor those memories by not making similar choices in the future. I hope that more will take the time to learn about cultures that differ from their own. Maybe then we will have a better understanding of the strength that comes from those differences. I also want to say thank you to Dan Levy for promoting this course as I would have never known about this offering. Good Luck and continued enrollment. -Katherine M Persinger

교육 기관: Christine L

2021년 7월 25일

E​XCELLENT COURSE. An opportunity for interaction with the professors or teaching assistants would have enriched the course. This course should be heavily promoted so more settler Canadians like myself and new immigrants can embark on a voyage of 1) understanding the significant role Indigenous Canadians played in the history of our country and 2) providing active support by non-indigenous to right the many wrongs that the Crown and successive Canadian governments perpetrated against Canada's Indigenous people. This would be great as a Multi-part course so more depth could be added to this already GREAT COURSE. Thanks to all who have made this course available.

교육 기관: Phranc G

2020년 12월 21일

Thank you Tracy Bear and Paul Gareau for creating this course. By combining lecture, storytelling, art, and personal experience you have raised my consciousness. I just moved here from the U.S. and was sad to see the same white male patriarchal oppression here in Canada. I am encouraged by the current social activism, the start of reparation and regaining of native land and aboriginal rights. I am recommending this course to all my friends. I just wish I had found the IG discussion group while I was in the course modules, it would have made a wonderful experience even better,

I am grateful for this knowledge and will always be in support.

Thank you,

Phranc Gottlieb

교육 기관: Corinne S

2021년 10월 24일

I have taken a few Indigenous courses over the last five years and this one has been by far the best! It spoke about four different groups across the country of their worldviews, MMIW, residential schools, languages, governence and political issues, spiritual, land and treaty history.

I would have liked to see more art culture included in Module 12. Actually showing some of th 1818 vamps made, mukluks, head dress, parkas and current artists work.

Thank you to the fabulous moderators, the scholars and all persons who were involved putting this learning course together for others to have this opportunity to learn.

Gratefuly appreciated this learning nopportunity!!

교육 기관: Patricia W

2021년 7월 29일

I cannot express how much I enjoyed and learned from this course. I had not done an online course for many years and I found it very easy to follow and that the format was very user friendly. I liked the module set up and found it motivated me to complete sessions and move forward, I actually finsihed ahead of the schedule I had set for myself.

The course content and presenters were such a pleasure to listen to, I found it very engaging from start to finish. I feel that I learned so much and will have a new lens as I move forward with my work with Indigenous students and their families. Many thanks for offering this course at such a relevant time in our counrty.

교육 기관: Christine V

2021년 2월 4일

I was very grateful to take this course. I feel that it is true clear history and geography that we were never taught in our public schools. I feel betrayed by our Canadian government and educational system for not having this extremely important part of our history and heritage included in my education. I now feel that I have a much clearer view into the Indigenous Peoples way of caring for their families, communities, their land and traditions that I had very limited knowledge of before. I took this course solely to become more informed about Indigenous Peoples and their ways of thinking and living. I would recommend this course to anyone and everyone.

교육 기관: Lisa-Patricia L

2020년 11월 1일

TAKE THIS COURSE!!! This is a must for everyone living in Canada, the United States and any country with indigenous peoples; especially if your ancestry makes you part of the settlers. I hope there will be a follow-up course, or many follow-up courses (I feel each class could easily be made into a 12 class courses!!) because I feel this is really just scratching the surface, a very good scratching, it's just there is so much to learn. We have so much listening to do. We have to encourage indigenous peoples to be way more present in politics; they are the ones who can show us how to be one with our surroundings. I am very grateful for this course. Thank you!

교육 기관: Julia B

2021년 11월 21일

I have thoroughly enjoyed this, my first, online course. I am profoundly changed because of it! This is information that should have been taught at various grade levels to all Canadian children enrolled in the public school system. As someone who took Canadian Studies at the high school level, I was saddened to realize and admit that I didn't know more!! Knowledge is power!! Once I learned that we were not given the full story of the Indigenous history and experience, I knew it was up to me to search it out for myself!! I enjoyed the lectures, the artwork and the video clips. Grateful for the experience! I will recommend it to everyone!! Thank you! JB

교육 기관: Gabriel M

2020년 11월 21일

Great learning about part of the history of this land, to learn about the traditions, lifestyles, societies, arts, etc of some indigenous cultures; the different battles that they have faced through colonization; the current injustices; the movements; and the achievements on getting some autonomy, recognition and respect back. Though the fight is not over. But having this exposure to the general population is an important step so they can recognize, understand and empathize with what the indigenous cultures have been through. A most sincere thank you for the research, work, art, stories, experience sharing, and effort that was put to make this amazing course.

교육 기관: Arlene H

2020년 10월 27일

I feel that the course was very informative and well put together. As a person who has First Nations people in my family i have quite abit of information but the course gave me actual time lines of events and dates that were relevant to what i was told. It certainly made me uncomfortable at times with the way our government dealt with and still does deal with Indigenous issues.

It didnt "pull any punches" when talking about the difference in the way First Nations and Settlers understood or chose to understand the details of treaties and land claims that still apply today

I think it is an excellent course and am glad to have been able to take part in it.

교육 기관: Robert A

2020년 12월 3일

I am emeritus faculty in Portuguese language and Luso-Brazilian studies. I have some non-specialist background in US Native American studies from high school and my undergraduate course. As an American with some understanding of Native studies, I truly enjoyed this course. It was a broad multi-disciplinary introduction to Indigenous Canada, as promised. For an American like me, too, it was well situated within Canadian studies. That is, I was simultaneously learning about our indigenous neighbors to the north and about the Canadian national context. Native Studies at the University of Alberta is to be commended. I look forward to pursuing this topic further.

교육 기관: Jennifer T

2020년 10월 22일

This was an amazing course and the journey for myself was enjoyable and thought provoking. I am truly inspired to continue on the native studies earning path. I developed a new perspective to some old knowledge, opinions and experience I have had, both positive and negative. All contributors to the body of work that became this course should have such pride. It should be considered a starting point for our social studies curriculum design in Canada. I especially loved listening to Leah Dorion discuss her art and process of creating the art along side the course content with the faculty members. Great interviews, great flow, just loved this course. Thank you!

교육 기관: Daisy J L

2021년 4월 14일

This is a very well done course! I was highly engaged & learnt a lot! I very much enjoyed the pace of the course. I also enjoyed the learning styles via video lectures, the lecture wording, how I could save my notes from the lectures & the overall course notes at the end of the week made for a great review before the module quiz. Personally I think that everyone should take this course & it should be made a part of learning through Canada. This should be a course taken by all Canadians & especially part of the immigration entry. Canadians would definitely benefit from taking this course. Merci, Thank you Dr. Tracy Bear & team for creating an amazing course!

교육 기관: Betsy B

2020년 11월 9일

I really appreciated learning from Indigenous folks and Canadians. As a U.S. citizen, I've never known much about the history of Canada, despite living along the shores of Lake Superior! I feel like learning some of it from the Indigenous perspective was especially important. I've worked with Native Americans for years and learned much from them. This has expanded on that. I especially loved the live discussions on Sunday afternoons. I felt I was really part of something and hearing from the instructors themselves, just being themselves, was really valuable. Having Dan the token "learner" was great. It was the best experience I've had this pandemic.

교육 기관: Kate G

2020년 11월 25일

Thank you very very much for creating this program and giving everyone an opportunity to learn and grow in knowledge and history. I have learned and experienced so much in these few short weeks. I have also cried and been very angry. I am now, I feel, educated and enlightened to issues I was blind to, or as a youth, had no care to learn.

Knowing that my ancestors on my mother's side settled in Quebec in the 1640's, I would like to know that they were not part of any problem but shared the land and were decent and respectful people but of course I will never know and can only hope that they were kind and helpful settlers.

Again, thank you.

Elisabeth Green

교육 기관: Barbara Y

2021년 9월 22일

A​n excellent course that gave me a much improved understanding of an Indigenous perspective. The material was well presented and I loved the art by Leah Dorion that accompanied many of the lessons and her gentle presentation. Some of the quiz questions were a little too tricky as they required an interpretation of the material presented and in some cases more than one answer might have been interpreted as correct by a student - but most were straightforward. There were a couple of things presented that I disagreed with but I took the position that this is an introductory course meant to present an Indigenous perspective so I did not take issue with them.

교육 기관: Carolyn M

2021년 5월 3일

I was referred to this course through a friend. I thought at the very least, I might gain some additional knowledge regarding questions and uncertainty about the history and culture of Indigenous peoples.

The instructors were relatable and personable while sharing their knowledge. I was so encaptured, I found myself speeding through the course so that I could learn more.

I´m going to take it again and with my notes, really take the time to research resources that were discussed.

Thank you Coursera, for making this course available. It is of my opinion that this course should be mandatory in every public and private Canadian school. This is our history.

교육 기관: Julie B

2020년 12월 30일

Good evening,

I have learned so much taking this course. I was going to mention that this course was originally written in 2015. I wonder if there could be an amendment to the TRC regarding additional recommendations being addressed since 2015 and also the admission of that the MMIW numbers are even greater than known when this course was written. As an aside, when I was 10 years old I had the amazing good fortune to attend expo 67 and I clearly remember the "Indian" pavillion and being very confused. I began to ask questions that only a very inquisitive 10 year old can ask and no one could answer them or wanted to answer them. I now know why!!

교육 기관: Pam B

2020년 9월 20일

This is an excellent course. I highly recommend it. As someone who grew up on Treaty six territory, I never learned the history of the indigenous peoples who were here before my family came to Canada. I appreciate that the course creators do not present the indigenous peoples of Canada as a single homogenous group, but rather use examples from different cultures to illustrate larger points. This course changed me and gave me a perspective of indigenous history and culture I have never had before. I really believe that this, or a course like this, should be mandatory for all Canadians. And it should certainly be mandatory for anyone seeking public office.

교육 기관: Gillian B

2021년 7월 13일

I have learned so much more about Indigenous peoples. This course was indeed thought provoking, sometimes I felt in awe of the culture, anger and sadness at the continuous treatment from settlers throughout the years as well as what is still happening in modern times. I had dreaded the module on Residential schools but it had to be faced and acknowledged. Truly grateful to the Faculty of Native Studies for their work in putting this course together and I sincerely hope many more will take this course. So enjoyed Leah's paintings - tied into the modules beautifully! Thank you to all who were involved in this necessary education about First Nations.

교육 기관: Heather P

2022년 1월 8일

Middle-aged white woman, beginning to learn - I can't comment on the content. The lectures and notes were easy to follow, broken into small segments for focused learning, and spaced out in an easy-to-accomplish timeline. The course introduced me to a wide variety of new information, gave me lots of links to original sources to continue learning, and (in some cases) made me feel uncomfortable about the historic and continuing problems of colonialism, without feeling too threatening to my (dammit) white fragility.

I appreciate very much that this course is available to me, and hope to find more from the same faculty, and/or on the same general subject.

교육 기관: Dwight H

2020년 11월 27일

I completely enjoyed the entire course and found each module well planned and the presenters provided a clear and concise delivery of the content. The early Canadian history from early settlers to the modern times has provided me with a new perspective on Canada s indigenous peoples.

Professor Tracy Bear was especially knowlegable and her calm and thoughtful approach to the course content was refreshing and highly appreciated. Every Canadian member of Parliament and the Senate should be required to take and pass this course , as they will be enlightened to the History, trials and tribulations , and future aspirations of Canada's Indigenous peoples..

교육 기관: Paul B

2020년 11월 26일

4.5/5. The course delivered more than my expectations. I have been stretched by information and perspectives that have increased my understanding of Canadian history in association with the First Peoples. If I had Aladdin's lamp, one rub would have every non-Indigenous Canadian, and those to come, to have the knowledge, viewpoints, history, heart and emotions ingrained in them from the teachings of this course.

The exception to full marks is the embarrassing amount of grammatical mistakes (spelling, incomplete sentences). I acknowledge "forgiveness" had been asked for in this regard, but, c'mon, it's a university course! Raise the bar and all's well.