Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
17,910개의 평가
6,406개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores the different histories and contemporary perspectives of Indigenous peoples living in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores complex experiences Indigenous peoples face today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

EG

2021년 5월 27일

Very well done! Thank you for allowing me to learn more about your history & culture. Being from Ireland and relatively new to Canada I wanted to know more about the beginnings of Canada as a country.

MD

2021년 7월 2일

This course was very interesting and very informative. Not only did it help correct stereotypes or prejudices, it showed a wide range of subjects pertaining to global and specific Indigenous cultures.

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 6,641개 리뷰 중 6151~6175

교육 기관: Alrac S

2021년 3월 13일

Great course with a lot of info to build from for reference. I would have like to see more Canadian representation in the artists section since I am an artist and have many talented Indigenous artist friends here in Vancouver.

교육 기관: Colby J H

2021년 1월 23일

Provided a wider perspective on indigenous people and culture in Canada. Covered a wide number of aspects influencing the culture, the people and the ongoing relationship between indigenous peoples and more recent settlers.

교육 기관: Reagan D

2019년 8월 21일

I loved it. I'm from Alabama and work with Indigenous peoples all over Canada. This is an amazing course that we will use as we bring people in to our ministry as a first thing to complete. Thanks so much for doing this!

교육 기관: Sharon B

2021년 9월 25일

​I enjoyed the course format, material, presenters and variety for different types of learners. Thank you to the Faculty of Native Studies, participants and contributors for your effort, experience and sharing of stories.

교육 기관: Tina

2021년 4월 17일

I found this quite insightful and enjoyed this course.

What I don't understand is why in Canada using the word Native is derogatory, yet the USA uses Native Americans?

Couldn't find it on the web and still don't understand.

교육 기관: Josh J W

2020년 10월 29일

an eye opening account of history that challenged my beliefs and what I had been taught in school growing up. I really enjoyed the first 8 or so units of the course, but found the later four to drop off in quality somewhat

교육 기관: Ingrid H

2019년 11월 7일

Great course, enjoyed it much! The faculty presentations could use more examples. For instance, when watching the last week on art, I would have loved to have seen pictures instead of only the descriptions of the art work!

교육 기관: Evelina D L

2021년 6월 3일

I​ learned so much from this course, it really gave me a different perspective on the relationship between Indigenous and non-indigenous people of Canada. I think that this is a great course for everyone living in Canada.

교육 기관: Jamie G

2021년 3월 13일

Great learning, but do wish they used real photos of the art pieces and the people they spoke of so the people who deserve recognition are seen, as are their important pieces of work that have been outlined in the course.

교육 기관: Jennifer W

2020년 12월 14일

The information in this course was well presented, thought provoking and a catalyst in the recognition of personal beliefs about Indigenous peoples. My eyes have been opened to the realities of our country's true history.

교육 기관: Christie B

2017년 9월 4일

I really enjoyed this lesson. We took it as a group at work. At times it was a refresher for me, but I learned lots of thing I didn't know previously. I loved this course, so much I signed up for another one.

Thank you.

교육 기관: Erica M

2020년 7월 9일

I appreciate the Aboriginal POV, and would have liked more examples and stories from individuals. I understand that this is a shirt, survey course and there may not be enough time/space in this course for such content.

교육 기관: Wendy M

2019년 5월 20일

As a complete beginner to a subject I shamefully should know more about, I thought it was a very comprehensive and informative introduction. If its purpose was to inspire me to want to know more, it worked! Thank you!

교육 기관: Barb D

2021년 11월 19일

The course was well laid out. The modules were easy to follow. The historical information was good. There certainly more info I would like to research now I know its there. The united nations declaration for example.

교육 기관: Simon H

2021년 10월 19일

Great content and very informative. The repetitive music and style of the videos becomes a little boring and annoying at times. Also, some of the quiz questions are not worded well and can be difficult to interpret.

교육 기관: Valerie S

2021년 3월 21일

I really enjoyed taking this course. The content was clear and very thought provoking. I had some issues with the videos suddenly ending but overall, I would highly recommend this course. Thank you to the instructors.

교육 기관: Krystyne C

2021년 7월 29일

So much information packed into a well organized course. The only thing I would change is that rather than using one artist at the end of every unit that they would highlight a wider variety of artists and art forms.

교육 기관: Cornelia C

2021년 11월 14일

Being from South Africa, I had very limited information of indigenous people of Canada and their history. I found the course very interesting and informative. The colonialism story is so similar and familiar though.

교육 기관: John W C

2017년 6월 8일

Lectures and course material were good. Content was very informative and educational. Some of the test questions were poorly constructed and inconsistent with the wording/context of the course material and lectures.

교육 기관: Lista G

2020년 3월 28일

A very informative and enjoyable course. This was definitely an area where I lacked knowledge. I now feel I have a much better understanding and grasp of the history, issues , and concerns of our Indigenous people.

교육 기관: Joel P

2020년 11월 22일

Great content, I will share this course opportunity with as many people as I can. Non-Indigenous and Indigenous. Some of the video's in the last couple chapters 10&11 wer a little glitchy, couls have been my Mac.

교육 기관: Jesse K

2020년 10월 2일

Very informative course. Provided a unique look into past and current issues from a perspective that is not easy to access or understand. Thank you for all the hard work that must have went into this presentation.

교육 기관: Nicole L

2020년 7월 16일

This is a great introductory course for those with limited background knowledge about Canada's indigenous groups. I would have liked to see a bit more content about the Inuit people; especially in the arts module.

교육 기관: Sean R

2019년 4월 3일

I really enjoyed this course. I learned a lot about indigenous culture. I would like to see more on-line course that expand on the modules in this course. One thing I would have like to have seen in the course was

교육 기관: Laura C

2021년 9월 10일

Thoroughly enjoyed the course - For the last Week/Module, it would have been nice to see the art they were discussing, instead of having to Google it myself. Otherwise it was great - great content and presenters.