Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
18,692개의 평가

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores the different histories and contemporary perspectives of Indigenous peoples living in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores complex experiences Indigenous peoples face today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

MJ

2020년 12월 8일

Thanks for teaching me a lot about indigenous history in Canada. I am inspired to learn more. I just finished Chelsea Vowel’s book, Indigenous Writes and I’m currently reading the summary of the RCAP.

AC

2020년 2월 23일

Very informative. They teach history and mention the aboriginal journey, but this tells another story. Thank you for allowing me an opportunity to glimpse into to the world of an aboriginal of Canada.

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 6,897개 리뷰 중 626~650

교육 기관: Sarah M

2022년 3월 29일

Thank you so much to the faculty, instructors, artists, speakers, and everyone involved in creating this course. Although I was familiar with some of the course content, each module was at least 90% new to me. The course content was presented so well, providing much needed context for a lot of contemporary discussions. Although I've been intentional about learning about Indigenous Canada for more than a decade, this course has really helped me put all the pieces together and increase my knowledge significantly.

교육 기관: G D S

2021년 2월 5일

very, very informative, I thought I knew more that I thought I did, I did learn a lot as well puts s lot more items into perspective, more Canadians need to take this course and learn form the past mistakes so we do not make them again.

we all need to learn to work together as one, help each other out and not worry so much about our selves but as a community so all can flourish.

there are a lot of past practices that I think we should be going back and bringing forward

thank you for all of your work and dedication

교육 기관: Mary t

2020년 12월 6일

Lots of interesting information is presented in a way that makes it easy for the student to understand the concepts. This course offers a broad spectrum of information about Indigenous people, including how art is part of culture, and the politics of colonization. I highly recommend this course for anyone who wants a greater understanding of Canada's history, and the peoples who were here first, and the Europeans who came after, and how these relationships were forged, and forever changed the history of Canada.

교육 기관: Barbara R

2020년 11월 22일

I've lived in Canada just over half my life now and through this course finally feel like I know the truth about Canadian colonialism and the wonderful opportunities that exist now for strong Indigenous leadership in this country. There is so much misinformed prejudice amongst people born in Canada that I can now disregard with confidence. The course itself is video based and very well organized and engaging, perhaps actually enthralling. I highly recommend this course and truly wish every Canadian would take it!

교육 기관: Colleen J

2020년 11월 8일

Thoroughly enjoyed learning along side Dr. Bear and Dr. Gareau; and the Sunday talks with Dan Levy helped me to see more clearly how the week's topic relates to today's current affairs. This course has given me a new perspective on Canada's original peoples and my place here as a settler. This is just the beginning of a desire to both learn more and inspire others to learn. Thank you for creating this program that encompasses video lectures and readings that include visual art, poetry, storytelling, and music.

교육 기관: Jennifer S

2020년 8월 7일

It is vital for Canadians to look carefully at all systemic racism in Canada, and not just that which is front page news. Our Indigenous communities are the original victims of our systemic racism and we need to do better. One way of doing better is knowing better. We can get closer to our Indigenous peoples by learning about them through their own representations, and not that of an education system directed by predominantly white scholars. This course is a generous start to learning, and I highly recommend it.

교육 기관: Cassandra T

2021년 11월 3일

I love how Indigenous Perspectives and worldviews are integrated into the course structure. There is an emphasis on understanding instead of rigid standardized testing that I appreciated as a learner. The inclusion of transcriptions for the videos also helped me greatly, as I learn best through audio and reading. Thanks for a wonderful learning experience and for giving me the privilege of learning from great Indigenous scholars. I will take this knowledge forward with me to become a better ally to my students.

교육 기관: Ebba K

2021년 3월 10일

Fantastic course! For anyone who wants to learn about Indigenous people in what we now call Canada I would highly recommend taking this course. Topics were interesting and thought provoking, and the contents are taught in a brilliant way. This course has helped me understand the history and how we got to where we are today. I feel like I have a solid foundation to keep pursuing knowledge of contemporary issues facing Indigenous people, government policies and understanding how I can contribute in positive ways.

교육 기관: Shelley K

2021년 1월 1일

Knowing that I had some Indigenous ancestry always made me want to know more about culture and history beyond that learned in the regular school curriculum. Finding and participating in this course has opened my eyes to many of the issues which my ancestors my have faced both on the settler and Indigenous side. I found the course very well laid out and informative. It leaves me eager to further explore my roots and determine my own role in the diverse culture of our country. Thank you for making this available.

교육 기관: Sharifa D R

2018년 6월 18일

This course was an amazing introductory course to Indigenous Worldview, Community, and History. The only way humanity can do better, is to educate themselves of failures and wrongdoings in the past. #preventhistoryfromrepeatingitself I hope this course acts as a staring point for people who want to know more about the Indigenous land we are inhabiting. As mentioned in the course there is much more knowledge to be learned, and I am sad the course was not longer. I Highly recommend this course to every Canadian!

교육 기관: Carol S

2022년 6월 13일

​I found the quizzes challenging! They caused me to ponder the choices of answers. The course was very detailed. I will never remember the many details. I feel I have a better view of Indigenous history, cultures, colonialism and their respect for the land. I wish this course would have been introduced in my grade eight class. To study and be taught by a knowledgeable teacher and learn indepth about indigenous people who cared for this country and lived on this land before Columbus ever thought of coming here!

교육 기관: June H

2021년 8월 4일

A​ deeply humble and sincere thank you to all instructors responsible in designing this informative course from a 65 year old Albertan woman (settler background) who has been woefully unaware of the history and persistant discrimination faced by our indigenous peoples of Canada. I stand in need of deep forgiveness for my ignorance and hope this is a new beginning in that I can pass on and encourage those in my circle to dig deep and seek out truth. I will be highly recommending this course as a great antidote.

교육 기관: Veronika M

2020년 11월 27일

This was an incredible introduction and starting point for my learning about Indigenous peoples and their interwoven experiences in Canada. At times, it was truly sobering and humbling to witness the recollections and present descriptions of colonial violence against Indigenous peoples. However, it is also clear that Indigenous peoples are resilient, purposeful, and extremely talented. I look forward to learning, recognizing, and witnessing more Indigenous-related stories in my community and across the nation.

교육 기관: Gwendolyn F

2017년 6월 5일

Indigenous Canada Course has opened my understanding of the powers that be and the destruction this power had/has over so much.

How Indigenous people held on to their culture in various ways to continue into the present, traditionally with modern inclusion.

How the Aborigine in Australia have used the North America Indigenous/Aboriginal culture to parallel with theirs.

Thank you for allowing me the opportunity of learning more of the cultures where I came from and gaining an appreciation for original "Canadians".

교육 기관: Debbie W

2022년 5월 29일

Comprehensive learning opportunity. This course provided compelling indigenous world views that have been isolated and discounted through colonization. All peoples would benefit from completing this course, the indigenous for respect, validation and dignity and all others to get their eyes opened to what relly happened to a culture with high values, traditions and respect for all living creatures.

Thank you for the personal approach to learning through art and story. This course has changed me as a humanbeing.

교육 기관: Carolyn Y L

2020년 12월 30일

Very informative training on the culture and history of the indigenous peoples of Canada and their interaction and relationship with the Euro-centric Federal government. It was very interesting to learn about their historical and continued mistreatment; but also heartening to see that the Canadian government is making strides in improving the relationships and treatment, whether by their own initiative or as a result of court action. this course makes me want to further my studies in the areas that it covers.

교육 기관: Erin M

2020년 11월 26일

Thank you to the University of Alberta Native Studies team for all of the work to create this course and share it with us. I have learned so much about Indigenous peoples and Canadian history, about which I (as an American) knew very little. The material was a great introduction to a complex and dynamic area of study. I was inspired to learn more outside of the course and to try to take actions to support Indigenous peoples. One of my favorite parts was reflecting on the lessons through Leah Dorion's art.

교육 기관: martin t

2022년 1월 8일

T​his was an engaging and powerful introduction to indigenous studies. I learned so much that I was not taught in public school growing up in Canada. Each module could serve as a dedicated full course, and even then there would remain so much more to learn and undrstand.

T​his course has ingnited a fire of curiosity and conviction in my personal journey to seek truth and reconciliation with our vital indigenous peoples and communities.

T​hank you to the instructors, contributors, and the University of Alberta.

교육 기관: Judith F

2020년 12월 10일

I have thoroughly enjoyed the course and am very happy that it was offered. I learned so much about the history of Canada that was not taught to me in school and I thank you for that because it should have been in the curriculum. The course material was so important and I appreciated the work that went into designing an 'introductory' course like this. The presenters were easy to follow and were passionate about the course material. I felt that the interviews and the art enriched the course.

Thank you.

교육 기관: Brenda A

2020년 11월 23일

This was a really informative and engaging course. I wish there had been more interviews with a variety of speakers, not just academics. I wish there had been more interviews with native speakers, as it was so engaging to hear a story in a language not often heard. I also found it frustrating during the arts section of the course to showcase so little of the pieces made by the artists mentioned. I saw no examples of artists' work and seemed a missed opportunity to flesh out the course with modern Native art.

교육 기관: D T

2020년 11월 8일

Well done and definitely "moving and thought provoking". Tracy Bear you are truly an amazing woman. Fantastic guest speakers. As a non-Indigenous Canadian I have taken a university course many years ago when Thomas King was at the U of L. This course (plus age and maturity) has broadened, enlightened and enriched my worldview as a Canadian, as a human. I found this course because of Dan Levy (big fan since "Schitts Creek" began) and it's been a highlight of my week to follow the discussions on Youtube.

교육 기관: Stefanie K

2020년 7월 26일

Not only were the instructors delivering the content in a spectacular way, but the voice-overs of chiefs, as well as the interviews with members of the community really put the entire course together. The history being told was such an eye-opener and helped to structure my support further for the Indigenous community. The interactive paintings at the end were so beautiful and well done, and it really shows the depth of history. I will begin to educate those around me with this authentic knowledge. Thank you!

교육 기관: Kim R

2017년 6월 3일

This course was truly inspiring and eye-opening. Each and every Canadian should take this course in order to educate him or her to the complexities of Indigenous peoples' history and culture. As an educator for 30 years, I wish that I had been more knowledgeable of the struggles and history, so that I could have better taught my students. I hope that more courses such as the one you have provided will be made available, so that myself and others can further our studies. Thank you so much for this opportunity

교육 기관: Christina S

2021년 7월 30일

This was a thought provoking course, and provided a greater understanding of Canada's true history and informed me about the atrocities committed against our Indigenous Communities. I am 52 years old and had no idea about the atrocities Indigenous children and families endured at the Residential Schools. Today in 2021 it is unacceptable that Indigenous communities still do not have access to clean water, or even that racism in any form still exists. Thank you for opening my eyes to the realities that exist.

교육 기관: Andrew B

2020년 8월 6일

This course was fantastic. There were a few glitches here and there, but they were merely technical. As someone who should know more, but knew almost nothing about the history of the country where I was born and the peoples who it belongs to, I now have an entire notebook of notes. I think that this course provided an extremely in-depth overview and I cannot wait to dive deeper into these histories and complex societies. I even picked up The Indigenous Peoples of Canada Atlas collection for further reading.