Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
18,744개의 평가

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores the different histories and contemporary perspectives of Indigenous peoples living in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores complex experiences Indigenous peoples face today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

JS

2020년 10월 21일

I really enjoyed the course! So much I didn't know about the history. I also didn't have a true understanding why there is so much discourse between Indigenous people and government. Total eye opener.

EG

2021년 5월 27일

Very well done! Thank you for allowing me to learn more about your history & culture. Being from Ireland and relatively new to Canada I wanted to know more about the beginnings of Canada as a country.

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 6,910개 리뷰 중 651~675

교육 기관: Julia K

2020년 11월 23일

This is an opportunity to really begin to understand the history and culture of the Indigenous Peoples of Canada. The course flows well as it takes you from an overview of Indigenous worldviews, governance, social structures, the arts, and activism. The hard realities of their past and the lasting effects of colonialism are important to know and acknowledge. This course has inspired a new understanding of the people we share this land with and how we all can support one another as caretakers of this world.

교육 기관: Stephen W

2021년 8월 20일

A​n excellent course that I highly recommend. It really opened my eyes to the true history of what's now known as Canada and the destructive effects of colonialism that still are harming FIrst Peoples. I appreciated the delivery style of the course including Dr Bear and the other lecturers/guests, and gained much from the optimistic art and spirit of Leah Dorion whose paintings (and explanations of them) were the closing pieces of each module. Thank you, University of Alberta Native Studies, and Coursera.

교육 기관: Jazmyn-Rae D

2020년 8월 5일

I was raised on community and attended school in a small town just outside. I went to a French Immersion school until grade 10, until my parents let me make the decision on whether or not I will complete highschool with French under my belt. After this course, it helped me better understand my culture and what my ancestors have done to ensure I gave the tools I need to continue our battles for our rights. This course was taught at a great paste and offered great learning tools, I highly suggest enrolling.

교육 기관: Jasmine T

2021년 1월 9일

I am so glad this course is a requirement to apply for some professional programs at U of A. This course is eye-opening and especially essential for those of us living on settled land in Canada, and it's a shame more people are not exposed to this truth and reality that is not taught in the classroom. I have learned so much about Indigenous history, cultures, and perspectives, both through the course content and by researching and reading up for more information on the internet. Well done to the faculty!

교육 기관: Michael A D

2021년 1월 5일

Hello. I did my best to park my old worldview, which was shaped through decades of Eurocentric learning and misconceptions. I believe that I was helped through this excellent learning process by the fact that I have lived in highly indigenous populated locations for most of my entire life, and worked with many indigenous folks 'in the bush'. It is my intention to spread word of this course near and far, and it will come with my highest recommendation.

Well done, and May the Forest Be With You

Mike Dempsey

교육 기관: Randy Y

2020년 10월 11일

Took the course simply to be more informed about the history that lead to where things are now... and what is good to know as Canada moves toward reparations. I was a little familiar with culture/beliefs/art, but the course did a thorough job of presenting good depth in these areas. Overall, there was a lot of detail that was at times difficult to retain, but the written materials and videos are available for review for those determined to have all the information committed to memory. Thank you UofA.

교육 기관: Sue B

2022년 3월 11일

Excellent course. Provides a clear overview of history of Indigenous peoples from European contact forward. Wipes out commonly held stereotypes with fact. Gives clear context and details of impactful political events and important political realities. Outlines the devastation of the horrific experiences of generations of Indigenous families at the hands of European settler governing bodies. Provides enriching view of Indigenous culture, including arts, faith, spirituality and their interconnectedness.

교육 기관: B O

2021년 3월 1일

An important and accessible option for self-education regarding Indigenous history, experiences and issues in Canada. With the exception of some frustration with Quiz 10 (I understand from the forum they are aware of issues here), the course is extremely well put together. I would appreciate an extension of the course that focuses on more current matters, art, culture and present/future orientation. Thank you for this resource, accessible to all. I will be challenging those I know to complete it also.

교육 기관: Adrienne D

2021년 1월 4일

As an "introductory" free course, it was a fantastic way to start a journey to better understanding of Canada's Indigenous communities. It is a great opening to further reading and personal learning. The additional videos with Dan Levi created in 2020 were amazing additional resources, addressing some more current issues that fed into the module topics. I would recommend it to anyone I see, especially to colleagues in the museum field (which I am in). Great work and continue the great work. Thank you.

교육 기관: Derville L

2022년 3월 22일

Very important historical lessons learned about indigenous Canada and cultural contemporary context. It was eye-opening, fascinating and thought-provoking while providing a wealth of knowledge and historical context into how Canada came to be the country it is today. It expanded my scope of thought and understanding into Canada's indigenous people and their relations with "the settlers" from Europe and how the fur trade (buffalo) was pivotal in shaping Canada's socio-economic and political landscape.

교육 기관: BASCHIERI M

2021년 1월 5일

I visited Umistà in Alert Bay few years ago and I went back home with the wish to learn more about Indigenous peoples. I thank you for this really useful course because it gave me the opportunity to approach the Indigenous world and their history. Unfortunately we don't usually study it at school in Italy. but I think everyone should know it better . I'll keep on learning and reading about Indigenous Peoples in Canada and I hopefully will be able to come back and visit these wonderful places again.

교육 기관: Don M

2022년 7월 12일

T​his was a very informative and challenging intnroduction to a number of critical issues relating to the relstionship between Indigenous peoples and European colonizers (and colonizstion). I particularly appreciated the opportunity, ss a non-Indigenous person to reflet in a serious manner on these issues as presented from the perspective of Indigenous peoples. The University of Alberta Faculty of Nstive Studies has long been a leader in exploring these matters, asnd this course does not disappoint.

교육 기관: Devon A

2021년 1월 3일

Indigenous Canada expanded my views and allowed me to collectively understand Indigenous views, culture, residential schooling, history and opened me up to so much more. I had taken some courses about Indigenous Culture in the past but this was an excellent and in-depth course. The chats with everyone were beneficial to my learning and allowed for rich conversation from others perspectives. I highly recommend this course for anyone who is interested in learning more about being Indigenous in Canada.

교육 기관: Maureen E S

2020년 10월 22일

I live in Scotland (UK). After watching my hero Dan Levy talk about this course i decided to undertake it. During the course I have cried with the pain of the past and the mistreatment to Indigenous people. I have also learned and appreciated throughout my journey. I highly recommend this wonderful and interesting course. I have found the lecturers, videos and reading fantastic. Clear and easy to follow. I personally think everyone should undertake this course. Thank you again. Love Maureen

교육 기관: Linda O

2020년 10월 2일

Thank you for making such a valuable resource available online and free! This added so much to my knowledge of Indigenous culture, history and contemporary issues. The topics were rich and diverse with enough depth to understand historical and contemporary perspectives of Indigenous peoples. The interactive tools, community interviews and use of art really added a lot of value. I am grateful to University of Alberta for leading the way and I hope all Canadians get to take advantage of this resource.

교육 기관: E L D

2021년 11월 26일

Once I understood the format, i really appreciated the high quality of educational opportunities offered by the instructors, curriculum developers and presenters. Together with other courses offered for seniors and various readings, i hope I now am a much more informed Canadian - and therefore, a better citizen. I've recommended this course to many people and some of us might form a study group the year to learn more about what has evolved since 2015 when the course first was offered. GalaKes'la.

교육 기관: Brenda K

2021년 8월 14일

​This is an excellent course for anyone interested in the origins and and experiences of the Indiginous peoples in Canada. It explains the trajectory of subjugating these peoples through successive government policies, and shows the resilience that has persevered down the generations rejecting oppression and assimilation. This is an introductory course - "Indiginous 101", if you will. it has certainly done its job of making me determined to learn more, and to suggest that others take the course.

교육 기관: Luiz A G

2021년 7월 28일

The course was superb, really amazing. The amount of information about the aboriginal people of Canada, the way they have been explored since the beggining of colonization until now was something I really had difficulty to assimilate. I want to express my acknowledgement to the resilience, wisdon, culture and strenght of the native people from Canada. At same time I want to say a huge thank to Dr. Tracy Bear and all the staff who made this course possible, as well at The University of Alberta.

교육 기관: Janina K

2020년 12월 27일

Fantastic course. Learned so much. The course provides a good overview over all the crucial historic developments. Through art and interviews you get a very good understanding of what First Nations perspective on historic and contemporary issues looks like. The course raises awareness for issues like political suppression, racism, sexism, exploitation, environmental issues etc.

I'm a little sad this course is over as I really loved the instructors and the course became part of my weekly routine. <3

교육 기관: Jordan R

2020년 11월 19일

Great introductory course for all who are interested in learning more about the history and current experiences of Canada's Indigenous peoples. The subject matter illuminates many of the historical and consequential ongoing struggles and successes of Indigenous peoples. As a recognised citizen of the Metis Nation of Alberta, I enjoyed learning about the history and ongoing challenges (and successes) of Metis people in Canada. Approach this course with an open mind and you will not be disappointed.

교육 기관: Shelly K

2020년 11월 7일

Growing up near Detroit, I always thought that I, along with my fellow Michiganders, received a bit more information about our neighbors to the North than the average American. While I still think I did, at least when I was in elementary school, I actually knew nothing! I can't tell you how great I thought this course was. My friends and family are sick of me popping in random Canadian facts into conversations lately. :-) Thank you. Can't wait to visit ( when we're allowed back across the border).

교육 기관: Matt A

2020년 9월 20일

It is the best massive open online course I've ever taken. I'm blown by how the instructors/developers managed to put together a self-paced course with an enormous amount of information and yet kept the course interesting. It is a lot, but each module is a fascinating and eye-opening learning experience. I'm grateful that I get to go through this course and look at Canadian history through Indigenous' lenses. This is a fantastic course. It's a must for history fanatics and everyone else in Canada.

교육 기관: Sandy t

2021년 8월 21일

I am so glad I took the step to learn about a history I was very unfamiliar with. This history was raw and at timesd hard to fathom why this has happened in our society. This needs to be told and taught in schools. People need to understand and realize the trauma survivors of the abuse suffered by so many. I feel I have contributed in some small way to show my respect to the Indigenous Community and I will spread my knowledge on this for the rest of my life. Thankful for the learning experience!

교육 기관: Lisa w

2020년 11월 21일

Thank you! This course has helped me to understand in greater detail the impact of colonization on indigenous people across Canada and north america. The course has highlighted the strength and courage of indigenous people and their determination to be heard. I will continue to promote this course. I truly hope the changes that need to take place for indigenous peoples voices to be heard, for their beliefs and values to be honoured, for their traditional ways of life are facilitated successfully.

교육 기관: Elizabeth M

2020년 11월 13일

I really enjoyed this course. For someone that only learned the bare minimum about Indigenous people in school, this course helped broaden my knowledge on their true story and I gained a deeper connection and respect for them, their culture, their views and their past. With this knowledge, I hope to enlighten other Canadians and do my best to fight alongside my Ingenious neighbours in their fight for respect and equality in this country. I think every Canadian should take this course, hands down!