Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
1,420개의 평가
465개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

JB

Jan 22, 2018

Excellent course that provides a great foundation for learning about Indigenous cultures and worldviews. Provides thoughtful topics to explore and insightful knowledge. I highly recommend this course!

AC

Feb 24, 2020

Very informative. They teach history and mention the aboriginal journey, but this tells another story. Thank you for allowing me an opportunity to glimpse into to the world of an aboriginal of Canada.

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 470개 리뷰 중 76~100

교육 기관: Jonathon R L

Aug 07, 2019

Very interesting, learned a lot, great presenters. Excellent course to take to become acquainted with the current state of indigenous affairs. Also provided a perspective that I had previously not been exposed to. Would benefit greatly from a more dynamic presentation of the content--while the videos are well-done, delivery felt very static after the first few modules and made it difficult to stay focused.

교육 기관: Robert C C

Jan 12, 2018

This is an excellent course and it hits one right between the eyes and in one's heart about the history of Indigenous peoples not only in Canada, but also in all of North America. Sometimes it was hard to choose best answers on quizzes as some of the answers were very similar, but the quizzes were fair and the lectures were excellent. I really enjoyed the discussion of the arts. Highly recommend this

교육 기관: Elyssa D

Sep 13, 2017

I have always had an interest in Indigenous culture and issues. This course has allowed me to gain insight into an Indigenous' perspective of Canadian's history. The way videos and notes were used was very organized and helpful. This course should be mandatory for all Canadians and be integrated in our education system. Thank you for this wonderful learning experience! Highly recommend it!

교육 기관: Sharon S

Feb 18, 2018

This was an important learning for me, to bring the history into the contemporary world we all live in. The course material was clear and accessible with various ways to learn (auditory and visual). The online/mobile app was also useful to be able to keep up the course work. I will recommend this course to my colleagues, friends and family. Thank you. Sharon Stevens

교육 기관: Priya K

Mar 21, 2020

I never expected I can complete a wonderful course. From the beginning of the course to the end, each part I have learned is really interesting and I have enjoyed a lot by acquiring knowledge in Indigenous Canada. I thank the educators for enlightening my existing knowledge and for their efforts to spread a really wonderful history on Indigenous people of Canada.

교육 기관: Jeff H

Sep 22, 2018

Highly informative, challenges preconceived notions regarding Indigenous people within Canada. Not afraid to shed light on difficult parts of Canadian history that you don't always hear about in schools. A must-take for anyone interested in Canadian history, anyone interested in helping our FNMI people, or anyone wanting to know more about Canada's FNMI cultures.

교육 기관: Wally S

May 19, 2019

I was blessed to have taken this course and to have increased my awareness and understanding of indigenous peoples, the role that they have played in Canada, their history, and the shameful what that the European settlers treated them and that we as "new Canadians" have treated them. I would highly recommend this course. It will educate you and open your mind.

교육 기관: Matteo C F

Jun 18, 2017

Learnt a great deal that I only wish had been covered through out my formal education. Thank you so much for this. I hope to find additional ones I can take to keep on expanding my knowledge. Thank you for the intersectional approach through out the course, the guest speakers, integrating different modalities of learning through out, and really just all of it.

교육 기관: Kamshi K

Jun 07, 2019

This is an excellent course. It's clear, concise, varied and easy to follow. It was good to be able to download the course notes and to make notes along the way using the "save note" function. It covered a wide range of aspects that any non-indigenous or unlearned indigenous person can gain much insight and information from. Highly recommended!!

교육 기관: Jack M C

Sep 05, 2019

Covers a tonne of information on the history of indigenous peoples in Canada. I came here after reading a few books on First Nations history. This course has enabled me to learn more and will hopefully give me valuable knowledge that will benefit me and help my career path one day as a social worker wanting to immigrate to Canada in the future.

교육 기관: David R

Sep 20, 2017

This is the history and social studies class we all should have had in school! My thanks to the instructors for filling in these deeply regretted blind spots in our education. I wonder how much more progress could have been made towards reconciliation if everyone was taught this 20 years ago. I heartily recommend this course to everyone!

교육 기관: Sarah H

May 23, 2019

Fabulous course that gave me the foundation to further my own education in this area that's so important today. I knew I needed to learn more but didn't know where to start but I found this to be a good starting point. The videos were concise and informative and the teachers are great. I appreciate that this course was made the way it was.

교육 기관: Jacqueline K

Feb 05, 2020

Super informational! Lots more legal and socio-cultural impact analysis than I was expecting, or usually receive in my education. Super insightful and teaches much more in-depth than I've ever gotten through the school system. Would love to learn more about the scientific and medical advances that were made or buried with colonialism

교육 기관: Mandy N

Jul 26, 2019

Fascinating course with great instructors. Each unit goes into plenty of depth on each topic, it doesn't just skim. I especially liked the last unit on modern indigenous art which I knew nothing about, now I have a lot of new artists to enjoy. I will definitely be checking out more courses from the University of Alberta. Thank you!

교육 기관: Hannah G

Sep 10, 2017

Excellent course. I'm glad to have found such an engaging way to start to learn about the Indigenous histories of Canada. I was recommended the course by several friends, and recommended it to several more, and I know they are really enjoying it as well. I particularly loved the artwork commissioned for the course. Thanks so much!

교육 기관: Nagwa A

Mar 15, 2018

An eye opener for what has been going on in the land that we call it now Canada. I wish to learn more about the history and as a professor at Sheridan College, I would like to come with ideas to support Indigenous students in their learning journey. Thanks so much for the professors and teacher assistant, they did a great job :)

교육 기관: Tyson M

May 19, 2019

This course is a very in-depth overview of history told from the perspective of the indigenous tribes of Canada and includes a unique view of cultural practices and the impacts of colonialism both past and present. I thoroughly enjoyed this course. It was easy to follow and the videos were well made. Thank you for the hard work.

교육 기관: Shaila H

Sep 20, 2017

This is the best course I have come across in terms of reflecting the indigenous experience in a forward thinking/reconciliatory way.

In my degree we had a course with a similar objective but the course providers were filled with pain and anger that made the course unbearable for the majority of my classmate indigenous and not.

교육 기관: Shavaun P

Oct 07, 2019

This course, without question, has: deepened my understanding of current Indigenous issues and their connections to the past, created a more intense emotional connection, prompted a desire to be a better listener, and as an Arts Educator, challenged me to think of ways to create more pathways for Indigenous voices to be heard.

교육 기관: Kimberly M G

Jun 07, 2018

A wonderful starting place to get a broad sense of Canada's history, pre- and post-settler community, and understand some Indigenous worldviews. This is the most informative, detail-rich course I've taken in regards of cultural immersion and perspective. Thank you to all who contributed in making this course and delivering it!

교육 기관: Jody A

Nov 26, 2017

This course has given an incredibly rich insight into our history as people from this part of the world, Canada. Thank you for sharing such an in-depth view of the Indigenous peoples history and transporting it into the larger global village scope! It has been an emotionally stirring and invigorating journey.

Masi

Jody Anker

교육 기관: Gemma R

Mar 16, 2018

I moved to Canada from the UK just over two years ago and I found myself knowing little of Canadian indigenous culture. This course has provided insight into indigenous cultures through history, politics, gender, religion and the arts. I would recommend every Canadian and non-Canadian to take this course, it is essential!

교육 기관: Sally L

Jan 22, 2018

Essential learning for all settlers in Canada. This is what we should have learned in school, but never did. Thank you to all the teachers, TAs, and learners who commented in the forums. I learned to much and am now on a life-long path to continue learning about indigenous issues and culture here, and around the world.

교육 기관: Julia M

Oct 31, 2017

Very well done. I had no technical issues. The pace and presentation of the course is great. The content was very informative and factual. I really appreciated this course and it contributed significantly to my understanding of colonialism, First Nations, and some of the issues that need to be addressed as Canadians.

교육 기관: Dree

Apr 19, 2019

Excellent course that presents a lot of information. I had to do some background reading in a few lessons because (as an American) my knowledge of Canadian history is limited. I especially appreciate how this course covers largely the 20th century and into the 21st, and covers the arts as well as treaties and laws.