Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
6,507개의 평가
2,565개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

LM
2020년 10월 31일

so grateful for the experience and the opportunity. I am richer for having participated. I am not interested in learning more about the indigenous people that lived/live in my area of the PNW (Oregon)

ER
2020년 11월 2일

I'm so pleased to have been able to educated myself further on the true history of "Canada", what should have stayed Turtle Island. Being able to continue my learning and hopefully being a better ally

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 2,627개 리뷰 중 126~150

교육 기관: Donnalu C

2020년 10월 14일

How different would our Canada, our world, be if instead of trying to assimilate the indigenous peoples we had explored, embraced and adopted their view on Mother Earth and our relationship to our land and to community? I personally find in current times, many of us so unsatisfied, so disillusioned with hectic schedules and constant stress when really we are just completely disconnected from Mother Nature and respect for our environment and each other. This course amplifies the price, the darkness of colonization, capitalism and total disregard for what should be sacred. Too much has been lost, too many lives lost in horrific ways and Canadians need to recognise this truth and hope the Indigenous ways can still help save us all. Thank you to Tracy Bear, her team and Leah Dorion for educating us with skill, knowledge, honesty, strength and sensitivity.

교육 기관: Robert J L

2020년 10월 2일

I found the course to be an excellent beginning to understanding the Indigenous issues in Canada. I grew up in Port Arthur during the 40's and 50's. I knew, vaguely, about the Reserves around Fort William and Lake Nipigon, but I don't think I ever met or interacted with an Indigenous person.

Not once in those years was I ever exposed to information that would help me appreciate the people on reserves, or the issues that lead to how they arrived there. I hope that some of that mistake are being better addressed now in our schools.

When I worked as a teacher in North Bay, I had Indigenous students in a few of my classes, most from the North Bay and a few from the North. Most were excellent people, One became a prominent lawyer in the Maritimes. The very few that were "problems" where problems because of their personalities and actions, not their indigeneity.

교육 기관: Gabrielle D

2017년 7월 5일

In June 2017, I was extermely lucky to visit Mashteuiatsh, a First Nations reserve in the Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean region of Quebec, Canada. It was a life-changing experience and upon my return to San Francisco, CA I came across this course. I really wanted to understand more and this course has met my expectations beyond my wildest dreams. It's very well done, both intellectually challenging and emotionally powerful. I look forward every week to the new content. I would recommend it to anybody who lives in the Americas and like me is Caucasian and "had no idea". There is another reason why I really enjoy this course : I have been many times to Canada and some of my best friends are Canadians. This course is an excellent introduction to the history of their country. As a conclusion, this is one of the most interesting classes I have ever taken on line.

교육 기관: Edward B

2020년 10월 21일

As a 68 y/o white male from the U. S., this course was eye opening and very educational. While the course focused on Canada and the Indigenous/First Nation issues, I felt it also mirrored the struggles and unfairness that First Nation Peoples in the U. S. face and still face today. I'm new, sad to say, to the conversation about injustice within the Indigenous Peoples community. I was taken that the art that is beautifully presented at the end of each module included, as a point of leadership, nearly all male figures because I learned that it was women that decided much of Indigenous life and are particularly important now in 2020 as we forge ahead both in Canada and the U. S. I was hoping to see women portrayed in art in a more positive, more forward-leaning place in the depiction of Indigenous future. Thanks for an outstanding course!

교육 기관: Pamela B

2020년 11월 21일

I really loved this class. I grew up in ND and currently live in Minnesota, so my knowledge of Indigenous people in Canada was quite limited. I have Indigenous friends in Saskatchewan and the class helped me to understand some of their families' history and converse with them about a variety of issues. The course instructors were very knowledgeable and professional, and the topics were easy to follow and engaging. There was a great deal of history and wide range of topics covered in the 12 lessons. The class has inspired me to continue to learn more about Indigenous people in North America and follow the politics and issues more closely. I appreciate having the opportunity to take this free online class, and will explore other Coursera classes that are available. Thank you and I wish you all the best in future endeavors!!

교육 기관: Sarah F

2020년 9월 2일

As a recent immigrant to Canada I don't know much about Canadian history, let alone Indigenous history. I thought this was a fantastic introductory course to begin to understand the complex groups of people who make up this country. It has definitely inspired me to seek out more information on Indigenous groups local to me and other places I travel in North America. I do think it was a bit generalising at times but the hosts acknowledged they couldn't talk about every nation in Canada in depth so I am happy to forgive this. I would have liked to see more pictures in the Art course but I now have the suggestions to look these up in my own time. I also thought it was very helpful to learn what certain terms actually mean, e.g. First Nations vs Indigenous, because this is something I have not quite understood since I arrived.

교육 기관: Leanna B

2019년 8월 21일

I am white and my ancestors are colonizers. I took this course because I realized how ignorant I was to Indigenous history in Canada. I read stories in the media that I did not understand and wished to seek out a better education. Anything that I learned in the public school system, which was limited to begin with, was post-colonialization and from the perspective of Europeans. Since taking this course and having many conversations about it with my mom, who is currently in grad school, she decided to take an Indigenous Studies class herself. I have also been able to apply to newfound knowledge to conversations with other non-Indigenous folks and have really productive dialogue. I hope to continue the conversation, respect the land I inhabit and be an ally for this community. Many thanks for creating this fantastic course.

교육 기관: Michael H

2017년 6월 12일

I wanted to follow up on the TRC recommendations and become much more aware of historical and contemporary issues faced by indigenous peoples in a Canadian context. I thought this would a good course for accomplishing this. It was a great course!!!! I learned so much in this course and it was easy to do so even as a busy professional. I encourage everyone to take this course. As we celebrate the Canada 150, we should be aware that we are many nations and a smaller part of a much bigger family with a much greater shared destiny. We must find ways to be much more aware of our colonial past and strive toward a much more inclusive future. There is much to learn and this course is a great survey course for getting started. To the course instructors and organizers - Thank you very much, Merci beaucoup, and apijigo megwich!

교육 기관: Stephanie V

2020년 8월 30일

As an individual working with at risk Indigenous youth, I found this course extremely insightful. There are many aspects of my job that pull from generational trauma, and troubles that Indigenous youth may face. I found that with this course it allowed me to have a better understanding of some of the aspects that my youth may have experienced prior to coming into protective care, and allowed me to help preserve the culture in a home based setting. I hope that I am able to use this information in the future to better assist my youth, and help them transition into the community. Thank you for putting on such a great and informative course! With the Covid 19 crisis, I found that being able to have access to online learning has been a godsend, and allowed a sense of "normalcy". I am forever grateful for online learning!

교육 기관: Karen L

2020년 8월 15일

I am so grateful for all of the efforts put in to creating this course. I appreciate that this is a high level overview, and not an easy endeavor to take on with so many indigenous nations in Canada and such a long history as well. I learned so much, and appreciated having the perspective of Indigenous people rather than the same old dusty rhetoric. This has changed much of what I thought I knew, and reinforced much of what I already knew was not right in this country. I really appreciate how multiple facets of Indigenous oppression, and creative activism were front and center. Thank you to the course professors (Tracy and Paul), the instructors, the guest speakers, and the artists (Leah, your work is thoughtful and beautiful) who contributed.

Taking this course has opened my eyes, my mind, and my heart too.

교육 기관: Gudrun v S

2020년 9월 14일

I find this a great course for a deeper, meaningful understanding of indigenous history, the effects of colonialism, injustices, violence, residential schools, systemic racism, the Indian Act and many more themes. Developed and delivered entirely by Canadian indigenous people, it explains and discusses ways in which these issues and the intergenerational trauma caused by them, have been-, and are being- dealt with by the government and by the peoples. It highlights, through many examples, stories, interviews, diverse artwork, historical photos and quotes, the resilience and creativity, as well as past and current political and social activism initiated by indigenous people. I learned a lot and I feel I have a better understanding of many of the issues.

Thank you for making it available and accessible.

교육 기관: DAWN M

2020년 10월 16일

This course was such an exciting educational opportunity for me. I have always wanted to learn more about our Indigenous peoples. I learned so much about Indigenous culture and really began to understand how colonization affected their lives throughout the generations. This is NOT anything that I learned in school! Thinking back to the history lessons that I remember Indigenous people were portrayed in such an unjust light. The history lessons were so skewed. This course has inspired me to learn more, and to educate wherever and whenever I can. Thank you University of Alberta for offering this vital educational opportunity. And thank you to the Educators who shared their knowledge with such passion and pride. This course should be mandatory for all Canadians! Thank you again! Sincerely, Dawn Masters

교육 기관: Andrea E

2020년 9월 7일

What a fabulous way to educate Canadians in a collaborative, empathetic and compassion way. Thank you to all of the contributors, academics and visionaries who saw this course through to its completion. As a non-Indigenous elementary school educator, this course gave me that very important ´next step' that I have been looking for the past 3 years. I work alongside the Gord Downie and Chanie Wenjack Fund and with several community groups in The Dish With One Spoon, so becoming better educated in our shared (and tumultuous!) history is of utmost importance back in the classroom and at home with my own young children. I highly recommend the resources available in this course to all Canadians, and hope to rely on this experience moving forward in my own journey to Reconciliation. Miigwech. Andrea Eby

교육 기관: Jamies J L N

2019년 5월 1일

Thank you professors for your time and effort to create this wonderful course. I also graduated from the University of Alberta, and is proud to have these talented teachers who provide the amazing Indigenous Canada course which expands my knowledge in Indigenous history, art and culture. I have learned the traumas and unfair treatment that Indigenous People have faced in Canada, and feel empathetic about their experiences. Some ethnic minorities such as the Chinese has experienced racism before too, such as the Head Tax and Chinese Exclusion Act. I would like to work with Indigenous People in the future to hopefully change their lives to the better. May you continue to create another inspiring course in a different angle or topics, so we can explore more of the unknown of our First Nations People.

교육 기관: Joyce D

2020년 11월 7일

I found this course to be extremely well presented- factual, respectful, informative, comprehensive, with personable presenters. I am very touched, and moved, by the material, as opposed to the very dry, one sided Canadian history I was taught in school. I so appreciate that this course was created, and then made so accessible both via online learning and financially. It is so rare to receive something of such quality without laying out a lot of money. I am the Program Director of a Recovery Program for Women, and our staff team committed to completing this course, pretty much on their own time. I am again grateful for the opportunity to have our whole team move forward together in a much greater appreciation of the reality of the Indigenous communities in Canada.

Thank you so much.

Joyce Durette

교육 기관: Bharti M

2020년 7월 18일

Wish there was more interaction and ways to connect with the faculty and artists. Since I was a child I had been fascinated by your people, this is the first time I explored the surface of your culture and heritage. The course really made me think about the colonized and the colonizer as well. I come from a colonized country too, India, and as a child I would be asked do you mean Indian from India or Indian as in Red Indian. I have not heard the word Red Indian being used for decades but I never had any problem being mistaken for the same but I did always have a problem with being asked the question. Thank you to the faculty and artists who collaborated on the journey to make this available to the world. All the best for the continuation and future ventures as well. Regards, Bharti Mohan

교육 기관: Wojciech T

2020년 11월 19일

Thank you very much for this course. It gave me an opportunity to understand better not only the situation of First Nations, Métis, and Inuit people in Canada, but also reconsider the history and the contemporary situation of a country that I decided to make my own. Also, this course had a special value to me because the institution where I am working is committed to the process of reconciliation and indigenization. I had a rather superficial idea of the consequences of the direction such declaration would take us but now I have the tools and the minimum knowledge to meaningfully contribute to these efforts. Last, as an educator who moved teaching to an online platform due to the pandemic, I learned a lot from the structure , teaching strategies, and methods of evaluation used in this course.

교육 기관: Heather E

2020년 11월 5일

I highly recommend this course to everyone! I had no idea that so much racism existed and still exists within Canada, toward the Indigenous peoples. This course was highly educational because I never learned any of this in my history classes or regular education classes. There were times that I felt ashamed for how Canada treated and continues to treat Indigenous people and I hope that as more people acknowledge that this is occurring, that the racism will be transformed and healed. I found the YouTube talks with Tracy, Paul, Dan and a special guest that week, were really helpful in solidifying the weekly study. Thank you so much for putting this course together, I'm sure it took a lot of hard work and time, it's changed how I am as a person because it affected me deeply in a good way!

교육 기관: Susan M

2020년 11월 9일

Indigenous Canada is an excellent course in all regards. The material is presented very effectively in that the material is layered so that learning is also layered as the weeks proceed. The course creators very effectively organized the materials. The production of videos, notes and interviews is also excellent and provides wonderful resource material for the future. The speakers are very engaging and communicated the material with knowledge and passion. While not part of the course material per se, the weekly Q&A with Dan Levy, Dr. Bear and Dr. Gareau and multiple guest speakers added a treasured aspect to the course that I am extremely grateful for. The Q&A brought it all even more to life and I enjoyed the visiting more than I can express. So overall, thank you for everything!

교육 기관: KAMALA R

2018년 2월 4일

I think this course should be part of our mandatory mainstream education. Although I had some superficial familiarity with the course content through Social Studies education in 1980s Alberta, a lot of this content was delivered expertly to someone with fresh eyes, perspective, and enthusiasm for learning the truth about indigenous peoples, history, and culture. As a resident living in unceded territory of Tsleil-Waututh First Nation, I believe it is my duty to learn as much as I can in honour of the indigenous people's contributions to this land, and for the debt of gratitude we owe to them. I hope for more classes on native studies through coursera or on my own. I am also a U of A alumni and wish I could go back a couple decades in a time machine so I could have taken courses then.

교육 기관: James J

2020년 10월 17일

As a big-city descendant of "settlers" I have had a woefully weak knowledge of the injustices suffered by Indigenous Canadians. This marvellous course has opened my mind and heart. None of my ancestors, to my knowledge, had direct responsibility for Indigenous=settler relations or government decisions. I wish I could talk with them now, to see if they would be as ashamed as I feel.

I found out about this course thru a link from HIP (Honouring Indigenous People) which I support as they appear to offer constructive projects in partnership with Indigenous communities. This U of A course has taught me a lot. But in the spirit of "Idle No More" I feel called to participate more actively in these projects - financial support may help with the shame I feel, but that's not enough.

교육 기관: Hope C

2020년 11월 8일

What a beautifully presented course. As an American neighbor to Canada our history is woven together. Our history has been white washed and presented to us from only one point of view. A view that makes us believe the lands were our right to take and inhabit as we founded them. We've been led to believe untruths about Indigenous people. This course opened up those false truths, shed light on things that have been glossed over in a positive light to make the history more appeasing and less brutal than it actually was. This course is very important and should be introduced to all learners in our school systems. Thank you very much, I've learned a lot and I will take those lessons with me and integrate them into my life going forward. I'm committed to being a life long learner.

교육 기관: Chris L

2020년 11월 6일

Compelling course detailing the vibrant and diverse ways of being and knowing of our country's indigenous people. A great introductory course that traces the history and perspectives of indigenous cultures from pre-contact to today, it is not afraid to address some of the more catastrophic and tragic interactions between settlers and aboriginal people.

The videos contain some very insightful interviews with indigenous scholars, authors, and artists, both in English and native languages.

I would recommend this course to any Canadian who wants to gain a greater understanding of indigenous issues, wants to learn about the tremendous diversity of cultural beliefs and practices of indigenous people, and how these beliefs and practices interact with modern western settler culture.

교육 기관: Katherine M

2020년 8월 5일

Fantastic information, I learned a lot from it and look forward to sharing my knowledge with my students. I'm a Canadian Forces Military Police member and worked in Cold Lake for 7 years. I now teach at the Canadian Forces Military Police Academy, and I think that it is very important for Military Police (and police in general) to know about the complexities of policing the Indigenous communities and to have a better understanding of their mistrust for the police. A lot of things mentioned in the course are things I heard of, but did not know in depth. The readings and videos, as well as interactive interviews really ensured that all students could capture the information and fully understand the importance of what was being taught. I would definitely recommend to anyone.

교육 기관: Lynn G

2020년 10월 26일

Very enjoyable course! I learned some new concepts that I was unaware of and reminded of some that I had misplaced over the years. The only criticism that I have is I would have liked to see the presenters speaking more free-form and sharing their knowledge, rather than just reading from a script (that ended up being our course notes!). But overall, the lessons were well-presented and the material was engaging. I would recommend that the course provide the student with links to outside materials such as websites and Youtube videos on some of the topics, For e.g. I found it most helpful to go and watch some CBC archival footage on the Oka Crisis and to watch the interviews on the Truth and Reconciliation website. This additional material rounded out the course.