Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
15,248개의 평가
5,656개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

MJ
2020년 12월 8일

Thanks for teaching me a lot about indigenous history in Canada. I am inspired to learn more. I just finished Chelsea Vowel’s book, Indigenous Writes and I’m currently reading the summary of the RCAP.

ER
2020년 11월 2일

I'm so pleased to have been able to educated myself further on the true history of "Canada", what should have stayed Turtle Island. Being able to continue my learning and hopefully being a better ally

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 5,850개 리뷰 중 176~200

교육 기관: Kelly K

2021년 8월 28일

A​ll Canadians should take this course.

교육 기관: Jesse M

2021년 8월 27일

E​njoyed this course, and learned lots!

교육 기관: Jamie R

2021년 8월 28일

great course!

교육 기관: Natasha M

2021년 8월 28일

Excellent!!

교육 기관: Charlotte M H

2021년 11월 15일

I learned a lot from this course and found that some of the current events of today were more meaningful and relatable with the better understanding of Indigenous people, cultures and history (although I struggle to call much of what has happened history) that were taught.

My only wish would be that the course could be more interactive as I found it harder to stay engaged through all the videos that were largely lecture based.

교육 기관: Ariella Z

2021년 8월 27일

S​trong start, however, difficult to follow the last half of sessions as there was a lot of talking but not enough visuals to drive home learning.

교육 기관: Christine P

2021년 8월 27일

Very informative and thought invoking. Thank you filling in my missing knowledge and better perspective of our world = Turtle Island

교육 기관: Victoria M

2021년 8월 26일

Very informative and elicited some good conversations. Touched on so many issues that require further learning. Thank you

교육 기관: Gerry M

2021년 2월 9일

I completed this course about two weeks ago, and have waited a while to complete this review in order to process my thoughts in a more balanced way. This is an important course, and I am glad that I took the time to complete it. I believe every curious and open-minded Canadian should take it.

I have an undergraduate degree in history, and although I haven't pursued further formal studies in that area, I have read Canadian history my entire life and consider myself a life long learner. In reviewing this course, I have tried to take a historiographical perspective, viewing it as one of many accounts and perspectives on the history of Canada, and especially western Canada. In that regard, I don't consider it a definitive account, but one to be considered in the ongoing mix of interpretations of our complex and still evolving society.

The course is decidedly one-sided, but I did not expect otherwise. As part of the so-called "settler" community, there is a clear attempt to make me feel responsible for the transgressions and unintended consequences of our forefathers, without acknowledging many of us have forefathers who were also oppressed and dispossessed by the same colonial masters in the 19th century. They arrived in Canada at the same time with less than most treaty aboriginals were provided through their treaties. Our ancestors came here to claim a new life and move forward, not to retreat backwards into a mythical idyllic lifestyle. Sorry, but this is the message I get from the course... there is no way forward other than land claims and lawsuits... that is no way to build a society.

Thanks again for providing this course, but I came away feeling a little bit sad, and not very hopeful for the future of my indigenous neighbours.

교육 기관: Teresa P

2021년 3월 23일

The first half of this course was excellent! However, it began to lose steam further on. It needs some updating (some facts, like Neechi Commons, are outdated - this is now closed). The presenters read off of a teleprompter typically, and are often wooden in their speaking. I would have much preferred a more animated approach to such important subject matter. The lesson on Indigenous Art showed almost no actual art, and rather just listed a bunch of artist names, which did not increase my appreciation for Indigenous Art in the least. That said, I found this to have a lot of helpful survey content of Indigenous culture and history in Canada. I think this course would be most useful for newcomers to Canada and non-Canadians, or people who have otherwise never encountered Indigenous issues before.

교육 기관: Alex O

2021년 8월 6일

Here's a tip for people creating courses: Use the media to actually teach rather than distort.

There were so many instances where glib statements were made and not justified by evidence. In several instances, the statements jarred so strikingly with the material being presented that I had to pause the video to look up the details before proceeding. In every case it turned out the statement was either a lie or a gross distortion of what other sources say.

Here's another tip for people creating courses: when listing your sources in your course notes, assume people will want to look them up and read them.

The sources made for fascinating reading on just how limited the research into this course was. This is shocking given it comes from a Faculty of Native Studies at a university most conveniently located in Canada to invite interviews with many tribespeople and gather evidence that can be presented in a much more complete manner rather than just condensing it in the first video before moving on to topics of grievance and activism for the other videos.

Here's another tip for people creating course: try to hide your agenda a bit better where you have one.

The first video in each module was a fascinating insight to Indian customs, culture and 'ways of knowing' (this is why I am rating this course with two stars rather than one: there was some actual learning in it). Then the videos moved on to just brow-beat everyone non-native and stir up activism without stating why other than to foment outrage. This was particularly evident in the module quizzes, which were an obvious attempt to re-interpret course notes with meaning not imbued in the original presentations and coerce students to interpret course notes in a more militant manner.

Here's another tip for people creating courses: make the tests tests of knowledge not a means to inculcate.

A good test shows the student has taken the facts in and rewards them for retention and understanding, not to present striking new interpretations that must be answered correctly to gain marks. As the course went on and the amount of actual culture and history on display dwindled, more and more time was given over to radical reinterpretations of what the ancient culture must have been and using that as a basis to encourage uprising. The word 'Activism' was introduced far more regularly in later modules and the tests seemed to want to show the students knew how to use activism the best, as well as introducing the concept of 'social justice' (not a happy term to use to white settlers who battled the scourge of Soviet Communism - from where that term hails). Here's some reading for you: "Black Is Beautiful, Communism Is Not" by Yuri Bezmenov a.k.a. Tomas Schuman https://archive.org/details/1985BlackIsBeautifulCommunismIsNot.

Lastly, it was [un]fortunate timing that I was reading Tom Bingham's "The Rule of Law" at the same time as taking the module on Indigenous law and governance. Don't ever tell me that indigenous law - where the accused must plead guilty before restitution can be made - is in any way superior to a system that presumes innocence until proven guilty.

Oh, and you might want to rethink describing 'governance' correctly in one module before completely redefining it in the most incorrect manner possible in a later module. That kind of inconsistency looks deliberate and is not something to be 'forgiven' as you ask in the last video.

This course could have been a genuine joy and a true learning experience. Instead I feel grubby from being encouraged to become an activist.

...and I'm still not much more educated about what the culture of Indigenous people is. I got more information out of "The Adventures and Sufferings of John R. Jewitt" the memoir of a British armourer taken slave by the Maquinna of Nootka Sound on Vancouver Island for nearly three years before he escaped.

What were their regional diets, how was migration undertaken, why was there no written language, why was even stonemasonry not invented, why did the peoples not interact with the much larger and more successful Central American civilizations, what other stories were used to pass on intergenerational knowledge and what are the key themes to be able to know how to interpret them?

교육 기관: Paul L

2021년 8월 1일

An interesting topic presented in a rather dry and boring way. The lecturers are mainly reading the script without much enthusiasm

교육 기관: the t W

2021년 7월 15일

For what it's worth it is a decent project, but that being said both the presentation and course material were troubling:

The videos failed to utilize the potential of motion pictures and instead relied on teleprompter reading and helpful but sporadic maps (just look at crash course dammit). The reading "notes" were massive bodies of text and the lecture often follows a uniquely confusing structure.

The course material also begins to be progressively more biased tone which, while understandable given the context, disengages non-native audiences.

Personally would not recommend. I want to understand and appreciate indigenous people, their culture and their concerns, but this course just doesn't deliver. one star

교육 기관: Kent T

2021년 10월 28일

How do you write the history of a movement when you are still a part of that movement? Whom do you believe when leading participants in those historical events disagree strongly not only on why things happened, but also on what happened? What imparts the ring of truth to a people’s history? Let the records speak for themselves!

The contributors to this initiative have failed drastically in this endeavour. This presentation is rife with inaccurate information that is consistently presented as fact. The biases of the contributors are glaring. Often these opinions are spoken in the most acrimonious of terms. This project certainly fails in providing a platform for truth and reconciliation.

교육 기관: B A - J B C

2021년 7월 3일

This course downplayed the atrocities of colonialism and especially residential schools; I'd heard such good things from other people who'd taken it, but it really was nothing new that I hadn't already heard in high school. They made it sound like children just happened to die at these schools and colonialism itself was responsible for genocide, not actual people who intentionally tortured and murdered. I guess it's great to focus on the art and accomplishments of modern Indigenous people, but I'd really hoped they'd acknowledge that the European settlers were responsible for so much death and destruction, rather than it just unfortunately happening somehow.

교육 기관: Cheryl G

2021년 3월 3일

The two students were excellent communicators. Tracy Bear needs to learn how to speak without moving her hands in such a distracting and off-putting manner.

The course does an excellent job of providing an overview of the negative impact of colonization, but completely fails to mention any indigenous issues from before colonization, instead characterizing everything as perfect prior to colonization. Some mention of Iroquois slavery or other historical issues would paint a much more balanced picture. Note that I do not condone the horrible treatment from colonization.

교육 기관: Alix A

2021년 7월 1일

​This waa awkwardly terrible and contained racist phrases like "enthusiasm for war" re: indigenous people. It often tried to justify colonialism and used passive language, for example that children were hurt or lost their lives at residential schools, rather than priests and nuns murdered them. It often felt as though the presenters had never read the scripts before, and they were clearly written for indigenous people to recite by someone with a vested interest in sugarcoating the past. This was not at all acceptable in 2021.

교육 기관: Lucas T

2020년 10월 1일

Could not follow lessons. Information in the videos is very scattered.

교육 기관: ken c

2021년 1월 30일

Not worth finishing. Mostly redundant info.

교육 기관: Carter B

2021년 9월 19일

Totally politicized from start to finish

교육 기관: Kim L R

2021년 11월 15일

I came to this course as an awkward 62 year old white woman who had enjoyed audio books written by indigenous authors and a very sketchy understanding of first nations history. I met the walkers for the 215+ I wanna come home group who were walking from Winnipeg to Kamloops carrying tiny moccasins. I met them on our nations first TRC day, Sept 30, 2021 in Moose Jaw. A friend posted a link to this course a few days later in Facebook, and inspired by the 215+ walkers, decided to match their journey by doing this course. I thought it would be easy.

I did not find this course to be “easy” .I was dealing with an old mind that had not studied in over 40 years. I was pushing through old ideas and beliefs, challenging them at every step. A module that was advertised to take 2 hours of study often took me four times that long. It took multiple tabs on Chrome, a history of Canada in an excel spreadsheet and pages of notes for me to plow through all this material. The language was tough for me, as my white ears struggled to spell and pronounce the indigenous names. All I can say is that it was worth it, and it comes easier to me now.

I cried through some of these modules. I realized how close I had been to so many important issues and things, but didn’t see them for what they were at the time. I have travelled extensively throughout this nation as a former military member. I need to make trips all over again to see what I missed the first time. I was posted in Cold Lake. How I wish I could have met Alex Janvier in the early 80’s when I was there, to see his art .I saw Trace at the Museum of Human Rights, but didn’t know the full story. I brought my grandsons to the Forks to see the rivers and to find Louis Riel’s grave, but was unable to tell them all the history that happened on those shores. I am much better equipped to do that now, thanks to this course.

This course could not have been easy to put together, and it is not lost on me that it needed to be severely edited to stay on track. As fast as I learned material, I wound up with more questions. I am very grateful to the teachers and presenters who brought this material my way. Please know my home in Moose Jaw on Treaty 4 land is open to you anytime you come through. I remain forever in your debt.

Kim Reynolds

교육 기관: Susan S

2021년 8월 22일

This course was personally fulfilling for me and I am both humbled and proud to complete it. Completing the course has given me a profound sense of all I didn't know about my own country's history but I committed to taking this course to start to rectify my own lack of knowledge. I guess I also took up the call to begin my own journey to truth and reconciliation and acknowledge my settler identity. I learned a great deal, too much to relate here. But, the instructors did a fantastic job of helping me 'relearn' and 'unlearn' much of what I remember from school history classes (and other post secondary classes). Those classes glossed over or didn't even mention Indigenous Peoples in Canada! I am ashamed I didn't know a lot about these First Peoples in Canada. As the instructors indicated, this is a primer course that could not cover everything, but contained so much valuable and rich information that will now motivate me to continue learning about the founding peoples of this land. I think one overarching message that will remain is the profound connection Indigenous Peoples have with the land, water and air, something we settlers just can't fully appreciate. Also, the connection with family and the importance of the wisdom of elders in passing down essential stories to younger generations. The respect for elders is again, something that is not universal in our settler, western society. Modules were really well organized and covered so many relevant topics and issues. Also, a big shout out to Leah Dorion whose vivid, colourful, impactful, provocative, humorous, thought-provoking and relatable artwork contributed so much to me to help me learn more during each of the modules. It was a pleasure to watch the final video on course art that really brought together her vision and thought processes for each piece. Kudos to the faculty for choosing to collaborate with her! I cannot say enough about the impact this course has had on me personally and I thank everyone involved at the university for putting this course together. It has truly been a gratifying experience for me.

교육 기관: Laurence H V

2021년 7월 23일

​I very much enjoyed this course. It provided me with an expanded perspective and a new lens for which me to look through at indigenous communities of Canada. This course has provide me with a base knowledge and insight into indigenous ways and laid the foundation for building blocks on an ever icreasing journey of knowledge about indigenous culture, history, art, believes, governence, gender and more. I learned things i didn't know, or where not taught, about the ways indegenous communities where treated because of colonialsm, by both church and state, and the resilancy of indegenous communties through unimaginable atrocities. It challenged my whiteness, my prespective and my own colonialist education. Changing the way I view, what I believe and how i see the impacts of what white settler colonialism has had and is still having on indigenous communities across Canada. How the indigenous communities of Canada have struggled, are struggling and continue to struggle against white settler colonialism and its systemic damaging effects to women, youth and the purposeful distruction of cultural identity in trying to "remove the indian" from indegenous communities via residential schools, the Indian Act and "lawful" means.

Thank you as well to all the facilitator, educators, story tellers and anybody who contributed to this immensely rich educational program. I very much appreciate the opportunity to watch, listen and follow along as I learned. Very much engaging a broad spectrum of educational inclusive tactics to engage a broad soectrum of learner needs, styles and mechanisms. I am grateful f

Amazingly well done

교육 기관: Karen K

2021년 10월 5일

Very informative. I have been trying to learn about the Indigenous ways of knowing and being - especially to do with the Justice system and the environment. I wish that Western society would wake up and understand that if we changed our philosophy of life to be more in tune with yours, a lot of our problems would disappear, and Mother Earth and all her inhabitants would be much better off.

I did know about the residential schools and their impacts quite a long time ago, ironically through a TV show on CBC called North of 60 which came out about 1990. It had a lot of amazing indigenous actors, and many of the characters had been to residential school and of course were still suffering from its impacts, and those of the Indian Act. I took a course in Indigenous Studies at university in the late 1970's. I remember learning about the White Paper, and for some reason thought it was a good thing. It was enlightening to see it through Indigenous eyes.

I am so glad that I took this course. It was recommended on CBC radio, and apparently also by Daniel Levy! My next goal in my learning is to read the Calls to Action from the TRC and to listen again to Roseanna Dearchild's interview of Murray Sinclair on CBC radio where he gives a great summary of what we can do to help make reconciliation happen. I feel that I have begun - I am a Kindergarten teacher and we just celebrated Orange Shirt Day. I found I was much better prepared to talk about such a difficult subject, even with children of such a young age, because of your course.

Thanks again!!.

교육 기관: Adina L

2021년 8월 15일

Fabulous course! It's eye opening to hear the history of indigenous people from indigenous people......the differences in values- collective rights and wellness vs individual rights in European, the difference between the holistic views of the indigenous peoples and of interrelationship between people land, animals and spirits and the material, power and money perspective of the colonizers.......they couldn't have understood one another from the get go....it wasn't just a question of language.....they were coming from totally different worlds, values, systems of organizing, ways of being, beliefs, traditions ..., And yet from the time colonizers showed upon this soil indigenous people helped them - find food, dress, survive in this climate ..showing a more caring, sharing way of being and wisdom that is so badly needed these days .....now in 2021, we have a new Indigenous GG, a new Female head of the indigenous First Nations Council in Ottawa and hopefully the wisdom and leadership of these indigenous leaders as well as other indigenous leaders speaking across the country about the path of the "Truth and Reconciliation" journey led by indigenous peoples and their allies will usher in a new era of interdependence, sharing and caring which is much needed in Canadian society today.