Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
6,657개의 평가
2,641개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

ER
2020년 11월 2일

I'm so pleased to have been able to educated myself further on the true history of "Canada", what should have stayed Turtle Island. Being able to continue my learning and hopefully being a better ally

AC
2020년 2월 23일

Very informative. They teach history and mention the aboriginal journey, but this tells another story. Thank you for allowing me an opportunity to glimpse into to the world of an aboriginal of Canada.

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 2,688개 리뷰 중 176~200

교육 기관: Sandy M

2020년 11월 20일

Such a combination of reactions to this course: anger, sadness, guilt towards my own ignorance. And yet, I acknowledge with pride, the resilience over hundreds of years by my Indigenous neighbours. Incorporating a comissioned painting for each module is brilliant and very visually telling. I confess still not understanding some of the tragic behaviours today of substance abuse, poverty and the 'appearance' of not being responsible for one's place in overall society, and one's contribution to bettering community. However, the history of oppression is deep. And, I acknowledge this does not occur within Indigenous communties alone. I will be promoting this course, and I thank you.

교육 기관: Susie M

2020년 10월 21일

The course is wonderful. So much information presented, so much surprising to a non-Indigenous person. (And alarming and disheartening as well, to hear the details about Residential Schools. This horrible era should not have happened and I am so sorry.)

The hosts and accompanying text make learning enjoyable and easy, and the wonderful artwork by Leah Dorion adds extra depth to each week.

I now have a new perspective on Indigenous living in Canada. In coincidence, lectures applied to disturbing activities today on the East Coast and elsewhere, where Treaty rights are being trampled. Thank you for opportunity to learn and to open my eyes to new ideas about Indigenous peoples in Canada.

교육 기관: Lisa T

2020년 9월 19일

I took this course on the recommendation of Dan Levy from Schitt's Creek! I thought it would be an excellent way to learn about a past I was never taught. It was that, and so much more! I learned that in order for me to fully understand the present, that I had to understand the past. I learned more than I thought I would and while I am heartbroken by the tragedies that have happened since the Colonizers arrived; I am happy with the resilience and the re-teaching and reclaiming of Indigenous culture. Thank you so much for this wonderful learning opportunity, I will continue to learn and grow in my quest for a greater understanding and appreciation of our rich Indigenous peoples.

교육 기관: debbie h

2020년 9월 19일

I'm 67; I worked with indigenous communities as a physician in northern turtle island and at an urban indigenous-run health centre. I was lucky to have many teaching circles in those days by indigenous Elders.This current perspective has tremendously enhanced my understanding and makes me wish it had been available in my early working life days (and in primary school, among other times) It is wonderful to keep learning and I am now inspired to read some of the resources that are listed. I feel very grateful that you have shared this with me and hope I can continue to engage in some meaningful work with the Indigenous community in the north, As I have been taught to say, meegwetch

교육 기관: Debra L G

2020년 11월 18일

I really appreciated the format and the modes of presentation: spoken, a text one can read along with the lecturer, images, art, videos, and interviews. Each module synopsis was a helpful review of the material. The quizzes were on point and it was encouraging to be able to retake the quizzes and improve one’s understanding of the material. Very motivating. This was a terrific introductory course to Indigenous history and current concerns. ALL Canadians, in particular settler Canadians, would benefit enormously from enhanced education in Indigenous history, cultures, and present day issues concerning Native People, non-Native people and the preservation of Human Rights for all.

교육 기관: Allison H

2020년 9월 17일

This course was extremely informative. The course notes were comprehensive and the video lectures were delivered with excellent tonality and diction making them easy to comprehend, follow and absorb.

The course material was relevant and although extremely emotionally disturbing in parts (Killing the Indian in the Child, Red Power, Sovereign Lands...to name a few of the the more compelling topics), it served to inform and raise my awareness exponentially.

Having descended from the Taino(Arawak - Jamaica W.I.) my history is all but lost, so to be able to share the experience of this country's Indigenous population, gave me some context and the will to research and explore my own.

교육 기관: Anna M G

2019년 10월 25일

I admit to being rather naïve when it comes to Indigenous Canada. This course is a real eye opener. My heart is heavy as I learn how western civilization imposed its values, morals and worldviews on Indigenous peoples.

As a correctional nurse working in a maximum security detention centre, I learned how much our punitive justice system is juxtaposed with the once practiced restorative justice system of First Nations Peoples.

I have also learned how a society that values not just humans but all life as equals, has much to teach us in are present day " throw away society"

I would recommend this course to any Canadian who wishes to have a better understanding of Indigenous Canada.

교육 기관: Cassidy D

2019년 7월 23일

I found this course to be full of valuable knowledge that I believe the general population should know. With a deeper understanding I am better able to advocate and support the Indigenous population that I work with. I am very thankful that this course was offered for free, as I personally feel that the public school system did a terrible job at educating us on the real historical events that have impacted this beautiful and resilient community. I will be sure to share this course and the information I have learned with others to help spread awareness of how the history of our country has impacted the Indigenous population so severely that its effects are still present today.

교육 기관: Amanda R

2020년 11월 16일

This course opened my eyes to all the work I still need to do to understand the past and present issues faced by Indigenous peoples in Canada. I have never been so drawn in by an online course. I have really taken this course to heart and appreciate the time, expertise and emotional energy put into this course by its creators. A lot of these things I've heard about or knew loosely, but this course really helped me un-learn the misconceptions I took away from being educated as a child within the mainstream settler understanding of Canadian history. I will be taking these lessons with me into the future and will try to steer as many people as I can towards this course.

교육 기관: Katherine M P

2020년 11월 16일

I loved this course!!! I have learned so much. I am thankful to The University of Alberta for preserving this history and culture. It is all of our story whether indigenous or colonial peoples. There are lessons to be learned from the past. Let's honor those memories by not making similar choices in the future. I hope that more will take the time to learn about cultures that differ from their own. Maybe then we will have a better understanding of the strength that comes from those differences. I also want to say thank you to Dan Levy for promoting this course as I would have never known about this offering. Good Luck and continued enrollment. -Katherine M Persinger

교육 기관: Lisa-Patricia L

2020년 11월 1일

TAKE THIS COURSE!!! This is a must for everyone living in Canada, the United States and any country with indigenous peoples; especially if your ancestry makes you part of the settlers. I hope there will be a follow-up course, or many follow-up courses (I feel each class could easily be made into a 12 class courses!!) because I feel this is really just scratching the surface, a very good scratching, it's just there is so much to learn. We have so much listening to do. We have to encourage indigenous peoples to be way more present in politics; they are the ones who can show us how to be one with our surroundings. I am very grateful for this course. Thank you!

교육 기관: Gabriel M

2020년 11월 21일

Great learning about part of the history of this land, to learn about the traditions, lifestyles, societies, arts, etc of some indigenous cultures; the different battles that they have faced through colonization; the current injustices; the movements; and the achievements on getting some autonomy, recognition and respect back. Though the fight is not over. But having this exposure to the general population is an important step so they can recognize, understand and empathize with what the indigenous cultures have been through. A most sincere thank you for the research, work, art, stories, experience sharing, and effort that was put to make this amazing course.

교육 기관: Arlene H

2020년 10월 27일

I feel that the course was very informative and well put together. As a person who has First Nations people in my family i have quite abit of information but the course gave me actual time lines of events and dates that were relevant to what i was told. It certainly made me uncomfortable at times with the way our government dealt with and still does deal with Indigenous issues.

It didnt "pull any punches" when talking about the difference in the way First Nations and Settlers understood or chose to understand the details of treaties and land claims that still apply today

I think it is an excellent course and am glad to have been able to take part in it.

교육 기관: Jennifer T

2020년 10월 22일

This was an amazing course and the journey for myself was enjoyable and thought provoking. I am truly inspired to continue on the native studies earning path. I developed a new perspective to some old knowledge, opinions and experience I have had, both positive and negative. All contributors to the body of work that became this course should have such pride. It should be considered a starting point for our social studies curriculum design in Canada. I especially loved listening to Leah Dorion discuss her art and process of creating the art along side the course content with the faculty members. Great interviews, great flow, just loved this course. Thank you!

교육 기관: Betsy B

2020년 11월 9일

I really appreciated learning from Indigenous folks and Canadians. As a U.S. citizen, I've never known much about the history of Canada, despite living along the shores of Lake Superior! I feel like learning some of it from the Indigenous perspective was especially important. I've worked with Native Americans for years and learned much from them. This has expanded on that. I especially loved the live discussions on Sunday afternoons. I felt I was really part of something and hearing from the instructors themselves, just being themselves, was really valuable. Having Dan the token "learner" was great. It was the best experience I've had this pandemic.

교육 기관: Kate G

2020년 11월 25일

Thank you very very much for creating this program and giving everyone an opportunity to learn and grow in knowledge and history. I have learned and experienced so much in these few short weeks. I have also cried and been very angry. I am now, I feel, educated and enlightened to issues I was blind to, or as a youth, had no care to learn.

Knowing that my ancestors on my mother's side settled in Quebec in the 1640's, I would like to know that they were not part of any problem but shared the land and were decent and respectful people but of course I will never know and can only hope that they were kind and helpful settlers.

Again, thank you.

Elisabeth Green

교육 기관: Pam B

2020년 9월 20일

This is an excellent course. I highly recommend it. As someone who grew up on Treaty six territory, I never learned the history of the indigenous peoples who were here before my family came to Canada. I appreciate that the course creators do not present the indigenous peoples of Canada as a single homogenous group, but rather use examples from different cultures to illustrate larger points. This course changed me and gave me a perspective of indigenous history and culture I have never had before. I really believe that this, or a course like this, should be mandatory for all Canadians. And it should certainly be mandatory for anyone seeking public office.

교육 기관: Brenda B

2020년 11월 24일

I learned a ton about our Canadian history I had no idea existed. Things I learned in this course about our indigenous Canadians history, that I had no knowledge. Of course, I do recall much of the news stories, growing up regarding the treaties, the blockades, but we never heard much about what the cause or concern from the indigenous perspective. This course was enlightening and I am so grateful for the opportunity to have taken it. Thank you for the all the fantastic material. I have a much better understanding of the horrors of the residential schools, the detriment and harm caused by colonization and the importance of understanding and empathy.

교육 기관: Jessica T L

2018년 7월 24일

Although I am a Mohawk woman, I haven't been taught the right history to its full extent. This course has helped me in many ways, to guide my mind and to help me help my community in the best ways that I can. Having this knowledge has brought on many discussions and conversations about the colonization and what it means to be a modern day Onkwehonwe. We are still here, there are some of us that do practice our traditions, and many of us who still have the knowledge and language of our ancestors. As Onkwehonwe, we must act accordingly to our original ways and teach those who do not know, and fulfill the responsibilities that the Creator has given us.

교육 기관: Alison H

2020년 11월 15일

I learned so much about the history of Indigenous people in Canada and their ongoing contributions and resilience in the face of an incredibly long, powerful attempt to colonize, assimilate, and dismiss Indigenous voices and culture. I am able to comprehend far more about current headlines (Wetsuwe'ten pipeline resistance; Mi'kmaq Fishery/Moderate LIvelihood in Nova Scotia; my favourite artist Alex Janvier) than I had been. I appreciate the blending of past and present, history and future, and am inspired to work toward reconciliation wherever and whenever I can as a settler Canadian living on the traditional territory of the Anishnaabe in Quebec.

교육 기관: Wendy M

2020년 9월 30일

I never really understood the true meaning of my being a "Canadian". This course opened my eyes to my great appreciation to the First Nations, Metis and Inuit Peoples, for their willingness to share this great land. It took much of the course for me to overcome my feelings of guilt, being a child descended from European colonialists. But I overcame that by choosing to reinvent what Canadian means to me: co-existing in this beautiful nation with people who understand the true meaning of strength, love, reciprocity and respect for Mother Earth: the Indigenous Peoples of Canada. Thank you for an extremely rewarding course, I am eternally grateful!!

교육 기관: Nathalie T

2020년 11월 25일

A big thank you for putting this course together. I have learned so much, and will continue to deepen my knowledge on Indigenous life and culture. This course should be mandatory for all Canadians as it helps us understand one another, create bridges and open our eyes to all the traumas of the past and even the present. Each module could be a course in itself as there is so much information. The 3 presentators really know how to maintain our attention and interest. The added interviews and testimonies show us an insight and an expression of all the pride of Indigenous people for their culture and as a Nation. Thank you again ! Merci beaucoup !

교육 기관: Maureen S

2020년 10월 16일

Excellent course. I learned a tremendous amount and now have a list of resources to pursue as I go forward learning more about Indigenous Canada. The presenters were professional and articulate and presented the material in bite sized chunks that were easy to grasp. The accountability of taking a quiz at the end of each module was an effective way to consolidate knowledge. I was able to review and retake the quizzes and noted that the questions could change making sure that I was paying attention to what was asked. This should be required viewing for every Canadian and would be an excellent resources for schools as a learning tool. Thank you.

교육 기관: Joseph G L

2020년 11월 14일

This was an excellent course, easy to comprehend and the course content flowed nicely from one module to the next. Most importantly though, I learned so much. The key to reconciliation and understanding is education, and unfortunately, most Canadians know very little of the rich heritage and culture of our First Nations, Inuit and Metis people. I will certainly spread the word among friends and colleagues that Indigenous Canada is a course they should thoughtfully consider. Personally, I plan to learn more through additional reading and research.

My sincere thanks to the Native Studies Faculty, University of Alberta.

Joe Latour.

교육 기관: Julia C

2020년 11월 14일

I want to thank Dan Levy for getting on Twitter to promote this course otherwise I might never have known about it. This course is interesting, sometimes disturbing (esp. learning about Residential Schools) but always fascinating. There were a number of historical facts that I had never learned during my school years. I've learned how to better understand events across Canada that I read about in the news, such as the lobster fishery disputes in Nova Scotia and land issues in Caledonia.

More importantly for me, I've reached out to people on Twitter, both Indigenous and settler (like me!) to discuss events and our lives in general.