Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
17,880개의 평가
6,395개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores the different histories and contemporary perspectives of Indigenous peoples living in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores complex experiences Indigenous peoples face today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

BE

2020년 11월 17일

Thank you so much for this course. Also thanks to Dan Levy for suggesting it. The course and weekly chats helped educate me in Canada's true history, information that I should have received in school.

SW

2021년 6월 23일

Very informative, I really enjoyed this course. The perspectives presented were eye-opening, and it was nice to be able to learn more about Indigenous peoples and what they have endured on their land.

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 6,632개 리뷰 중 176~200

교육 기관: Sharonlee L

2021년 8월 27일

This course was an excellent eye opener to the history and how we can make a better future. Thank you for the opportunity to learn at no cost

교육 기관: Stephanie C

2021년 9월 27일

This course was great and the structure of it really allowed me to study when time permitted. I would highly recommend this course.

교육 기관: Alex I

2021년 8월 27일

A fantastic overview course packed with knowledge that frankly should be delivered to all Canadians in Grade school/ High School.

교육 기관: Scott C

2022년 2월 21일

Really enjoyed this course and would love to do some follow up on topic. I would love a part 2 or direction to another course

교육 기관: SUZANNE S

2022년 2월 21일

Very well presented and informative. Would recommend to anyone wanting to learn more about Indigenous people and history.

교육 기관: Gord W

2021년 8월 27일

This course is the history they should be teaching in high schools in Canada. Fascinating and thought provoking.

교육 기관: Côté M

2021년 9월 27일

This course helped me a lot to understand Indigenous people and theirs claims. You did a great job.

교육 기관: Terry M

2021년 12월 18일

Well worth the time investment. Carefully put together and something in here for everyone.

교육 기관: Wendy B

2021년 8월 27일

I am both humbled and honoured to have taken this course, thank you for the opportunity!

교육 기관: Stephanie D

2021년 8월 26일

This was a very informative course and should be part of all Canadian History B.A.

교육 기관: Bilqis W

2022년 3월 9일

Incredibly enlightening. This shoul be a staple in Canadian higher education.

교육 기관: Brenden M

2021년 12월 18일

Wonderfully accessable and open for everyone's schedule!

교육 기관: Jay P

2021년 8월 27일

An Excellent course!! I've learned a lot.

교육 기관: Kelly K

2021년 8월 28일

A​ll Canadians should take this course.

교육 기관: Jesse M

2021년 8월 27일

E​njoyed this course, and learned lots!

교육 기관: Jamie R

2021년 8월 28일

great course!

교육 기관: Natasha M

2021년 8월 28일

Excellent!!

교육 기관: Theresa G

2017년 6월 19일

When I see indigenous people comment online, they trash-talk both government and first nations community leaders alike. They distrust both the government who never came through on promises and the leaders who have underfunded their communities for their own enjoyment.

I didn't see many solutions suggested or a means to an end to some of these issues in this course so in spite of my new found knowledge it would seem this will remain a vicious circle of poverty, distrust, and fear and this saddens me that that there is still little hope for a resolution.

However, this course did bring to light many aspects of my heritage that I was not aware of. My birth father is Métis however my birth mother is not. I was given up for adoption to a Caucasian family when I was 8 months old, so was unaware of being Métis for almost all of my life, let alone did I ever feel remotely a part of it once I found out. So this course also suggested that when you are no longer a part of the Indigenous culture and do not look Indigenous in any way, and because you will never experience the hardships or really know anyone who has, you will never be part of that culture. It's like you get to sit in the front row but will never be in the show.

The rest of the course was okay, the history I knew, the issues I knew, although the elaboration of them was nice. The introduction of key individuals in forming some semblance of a united indigenous culture were good to know. But this course also reminded me that indigeneity in Canada is also about a fractured and injured culture of people, who are separated by language, distance and who will never have the funding that other communities enjoy, and it will never be a whole. After all had there been more formal territories when NA was colonized, maybe it wouldn't be indigenous Canada, it would be Enoch Territory or Papaschase Territory or State and many others where Alberta currently sits and it would now be the United Territories of North America, but alas that will never be.

교육 기관: Anna A A

2022년 4월 3일

It was such a pleasure to learn, watch, understand, and share this history and experience with the presenters, guests, artists, leaders, elders, scholars, and faculty.

An exemplary, respectful, detailed, thoughtful, inclusive, dynamic, and thorough introductory to Indigenous Canada, Canadian history, colonization, cultural genocide, governance, resistance, Indigenous contributions in every field and area of life, both Indigenous and mainstream, and the important social, historical, cutlural, political, environmental, gender, identity, and colonial patriarchy and control that have shaped Indigenous history and Canadian history.

Some modules could have given more in-depth examples or a critical analysis of certain topics (example, Module 11, Social Media), and many of the figures, artists, movements, etc. presented could have had more representation for greater effect (example, showing the specifc artwork pieces by Odjig, Nicolson, Belcourt, Belmore, etc.). As well, a module on some of the major issues contemporary Indigenous youth, families, and adults face could have been dealt with (example: poverty, discrimination, addictions, displacement). Perhaps the point was not to introduce that topic, and of course, there were references to it, but a discourse on how to work toward healing and reconciliation, from both indidenous and non-indigenous perspectives, action, and responsibility, could have been interesting.

Thank you for the incredible effort, research, representation, artwork, guests, information, course texts, and videos. It was an honour to learn and I am more dedicated and determined than ever to continue my journey of understanding, solidarity, support, and change, for all indigenous peoples and for the better of Canadian society.

Anna Acito Ashton

교육 기관: Kelly P

2021년 12월 2일

I wish I could give this course 5 stars but...

First let me start off by saying I've really enjoyed Indigenous Canada. History as we know it has been so manipulated by our Governments and world leaders. There are so many things that I never knew because it was never taught in school or an incorrect version was taught. This course was very eye opening. I am a spiritual person and I've always felt disconnected from society as we know it. The values and community structures the indigenous people had before colonization were incredibly functional, spiritual and smart. I felt connected again.

That being said, one major complaint I have is that the tests in this course are ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE. Each week I would think I fully understood what I was learning, until I got to the quiz. The wording on some of the questions almost sounds backwards. There were a few times that my brain couldn't comprehend what was being asked. The test questions need to be reworded and SIMPLIFIED. I feel like whoever wrote some of the test questions were trying very hard to use "big" words to sound more educated. However, it did the opposite. Also some of the questions are referred to differently in the videos/course notes than they are in the quiz, I actually doubted myself many times thinking that I didn't study enough or I didn't understand as much as I thought I did. This was extremely frustrating and had me DREADING having to do the quiz every week and because of this my willingness to learn started to diminish. Thank god for CTRL-F. I had to search many key words from the quiz questions to actually get the right answers but even doing this, the answers weren't always clear.

교육 기관: Murray C

2021년 12월 24일

​Overal this course was very interesting. There was alot of information and I learned alot. With this said, I would like to make some suggestions as it relates to the content. I found some of the terminalogy used in this course to be confusing. Often I found myself looking up words to determine their meaning. Including during the quizes. I noted in some of the forums, others spoke of this as well. I would suggest reviewing and changing some of this language to use simple terms/language that is easier to understand. Compicated language causes confusion and stress and is demotivating to students. It is not necessary in my view. My moto has always been, "Let's keep this simple and not compicate things if we can". The second concern was when I read pops up that said things like, "42 percent of people did not pass this quiz on the first attempt, don't get discougaed you can try again". I found this disturbing. If the failure rate is this high, there is a problem with the quiz itself and something needs to change. This can be demotiviating as well to say the least. Another pop up was simliar and had a percentage of around 53% . I just don't recall the exact number but when these percentages are near or over half the entire group in the program that fail a quiz, that's a problem with the quiz/material and not the students abilities. Thank you for this opportunity. As mentoned, overal this was a great program and I learned alot. All the best to you all...

교육 기관: Charlotte M H

2021년 11월 15일

I learned a lot from this course and found that some of the current events of today were more meaningful and relatable with the better understanding of Indigenous people, cultures and history (although I struggle to call much of what has happened history) that were taught.

My only wish would be that the course could be more interactive as I found it harder to stay engaged through all the videos that were largely lecture based.

교육 기관: Ariella Z

2021년 8월 27일

S​trong start, however, difficult to follow the last half of sessions as there was a lot of talking but not enough visuals to drive home learning.

교육 기관: Christine P

2021년 8월 27일

Very informative and thought invoking. Thank you filling in my missing knowledge and better perspective of our world = Turtle Island

교육 기관: Victoria M

2021년 8월 26일

Very informative and elicited some good conversations. Touched on so many issues that require further learning. Thank you