Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
4,278개의 평가
1,602개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

JB

Jan 22, 2018

Excellent course that provides a great foundation for learning about Indigenous cultures and worldviews. Provides thoughtful topics to explore and insightful knowledge. I highly recommend this course!

DN

Aug 31, 2020

This is a great survey course about Indigenous Canada. As a participant, I have learned and unlearned so much about Indigenous Canadians, and more important, this course has inspired me to learn more.

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 1,623개 리뷰 중 201~225

교육 기관: Leanne S

Oct 15, 2020

I am told my father was a survivor of the residential school system. A Cree man from Northern Manitoba. I lost my father a few short weeks after I turned 14 when curiosity of my cultural roots was just beginning to take form. I am taking a journey of education, familiarization and connection to my Indigenous culture and this course has enlightened me, educated me and sparked an intense want to learn more and become connected to not only my culture but my father. For that, I am grateful.

교육 기관: Hugh W

Jul 21, 2020

This was my first online course offered via coursera. I found the course on Indigenous Canada very enlightening, comprehensive, and honest. It was a nice mixture of facts, expert interviews, and relevant artwork. The course notes were very helpful to follow along as I watched the videos from the instructors. The module quizzes were a fairly stress free way to test your understanding. Thanks to the instructors for taking the time to put together such an important course for all Canadians!

교육 기관: Christina F

Sep 16, 2020

This is the Indigenous History that our Canadian schools should have taught us. I greatly appreciated hearing the Indigenous perspectives on the many historical events that shaped this country. I also enjoyed how the course dove into the current movements, concerns and issues that Indigenous people are still facing. I think many minds would be changed after completing this course with an open mind. I am also proud that this course was offered by my Alma Mater, University of Alberta.

교육 기관: William M G

Oct 20, 2020

In my own quest to follow the Red Road This will add another chapter of knowledge to my many chapters I have learned. This program is very easy for me to understand as an elder. It was also very complex because the answers had to be searched for, this allowed me to learn that skill. I am proud to be a student of your program. and am honored to be taught by the best I now know. If you have any more Indigenous study courses in the future please contact me

Chi Meegwiitch Much love

교육 기관: Sarah C

Sep 09, 2020

By far the best overview of Canadian history from an indigenous perspective that I have ever had. I wish I’d been exposed to this sooner! I will say the structure of some quiz questions was weird (grammatically I mean), but the course provides 3 attempts for each quiz so that more than made up for the occasional mistake due to misinterpretation of the strangely worded quiz question and/or answer selection. I will be recommending this course to all my friends and family!

교육 기관: Marnie R

Aug 16, 2020

I learned a lot about the history of the various Indigenous groups across Canada including social, cultural, political and historical challenges, perseverance, and accomplishments. The modules were very well organized and presented in a manner that made it interesting to read and listen to each week. I was very happy with the teachings of this course and will use my newly gained knowledge to be better in my daily life and work life when engaging with Indigenous Peoples.

교육 기관: Laura B

Aug 10, 2020

Very informative and an eye opener for those, like myself, wanting to know more about the Indigenous history that our School System does not include in the history of Canada during my HS years. Loved how you can either watch the lesson and listen, or scroll down and read along while the video is minimized still in view. After certain lessons, I wanted to get a hold of the Bill of Rights and read everything that involves the Treaties, I know there's so much more to know!

교육 기관: Kate C

Aug 30, 2020

I was ashamed to say I knew little about Canada's Indigenous people despite emigrating here a couple of decades ago. This informative and thought-provoking course allowed me the opportunity to expand my knowledge and better understand the effects colonialism had on Canada's Indigenous people. It opened my eyes to a different perspective and view Canada through a different lens. Much appreciation to Coursera and the Faculty of Native Studies at University of Alberta.

교육 기관: Jana C

Apr 10, 2019

Indigenous Canada is an OUTSTANDING course. The lectures were presented in an engaging and professional manner and I appreciated the thought-provoking interviews throughout, as well as the art depiction/description at the end of each module.

This course left me with many emotions, which in turn, has placed within me the desire to delve deeper into the histories and stories of Indigenous people.

Thank you, I am grateful for the opportunity to have taken this course.

교육 기관: Jeannette L

Aug 17, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed the information provided in this course. I also appreciated and enjoyed the three lecturers who came across as sincere and unpretentious. I especially liked how artwork was incorporated into the material. Some of the quiz questions were poorly worded though, causing unnecessary confusion. Based on how the material is presented, the questions did not always make sense, and sometimes two answers were clearly correct, although only one was accepted.

교육 기관: Catherine J

Jul 29, 2020

Miigwech! Thank you for this course. As someone of white settler ancestry, who was educated in rural Ontario several decades ago, I was painfully aware that I was missing a great deal of Indigenous history. It was refreshing to hear some of the same histories I was taught from an Indigenous perspective. As an educator, I appreciate the depth and detail offered in this introductory course, and will recommend it to others. -- Dr. Catherine Jenkins , Ryerson University

교육 기관: Francois C

May 18, 2020

Excellent series of lectures given in the Indigenous oral tradition. Very eye opening for a Canadian whose knowledge of Indigenous people had primarily come from a few pages of a high school history book. The course only touched on many important and current issues which I am now in a better position to appreciate, and will follow with great interest. I offer my sincerest thanks to the lecturers, and to the University of Alberta for making this course available.

교육 기관: Drew w

Oct 05, 2020

This course has challenged me so much. It has built on my personal experience from my visit to the First Nations University of Canada in Regina in 2019, and spending time with some of the cast from Treaty 4, through to attending a conference in Swift Current Know Your Neighbour, I have been moved by my ignorance and wanted to learn more, thank you this is been very insightful. I wish to learn more and one day come and visit your university and faculty from the UK.

교육 기관: Sean M

Jul 16, 2019

I would recommend Indigenous Canada to anyone with an interest in acquiring knowledge about Aboriginal/non-Aboriginal relationships and how our collective history shapes our relationships today.

The course is a worthwhile investment of time for those who are interested in seeing matters from an indigenous perspective. It was certainly helpful for me and brought me to a new level of understanding of the complex history of indigenous people and the nation of Canada.

교육 기관: Heidi M

Oct 27, 2017

It was fantastic in every way. I highly recommend this course. The format and the quality of the videos and course notes were very high. The actual content was delivered in a concise but thoughtful way. I have taken previous courses on Indigenous history and learned more in this course then I have in all the others combined (including the history classes/courses from high school and university). This is really something every settler in Canada should have to take.

교육 기관: Tom C

Oct 12, 2020

I really enjoyed the opportunity to learn more about the history of Indigenous Canada through this course. Very engaging and well laid out, and I appreciated the ability to do it on my own time. I also want to thank you for being able to take this course and use the resources for free. I grew up in the United States, and I know that I have a great deal to learn, but for me, this was a really good overview of the things I need to look for as I continue. Thank you.

교육 기관: Nicole M B

May 06, 2020

There is so much covered in this course. It is very thorough in a lot of different subjects affecting indigenous populations, from the past up through the present. There is a lot of content regarding the various treaties, laws, and interactions with the Canadian government, and they are particularly thorough with this material. If you are looking for a class that will give an broad introductory base in indigenous law, culture and thought, this course is for you.

교육 기관: Caitlin C D

Apr 30, 2017

This course is absolutely phenomenal. I learned a great deal about a wide range of topics, such as the diversity of indigenous groups in Canada, the history of colonisation and its ongoing negative impacts on indigenous communities, and the struggles currently faced by indigenous communities and individuals.

I would recommend this course to anyone. I want to thank the course creators for sharing their knowledge and insight concerning these important topics.

교육 기관: Val H

Jul 03, 2017

Excellent course! I can not say enough good things about it. I especially appreciated going through history in chronological order from and Indigenous perspective. The lectures were extremely well done, the information was concise and easy to understand. I highly recommend this course for all Alberta teachers in preparation for the new Teacher Quality Standards. The information provided will give you a solid foundation to hang all future learnings from.

교육 기관: kum m o

Aug 02, 2020

learnt a lot , enjoyed the course. Thank you I will be forever be grateful to the generosity for the indigenous people for allowing me to live in your beautiful land Canada. I hear and feel your sufferings, you have been unjustly and cruelly treated, I cried for you. Please continue to be the real caretaker of the land, the air the rivers, the animals, the forest, the natural resources and all that is beautiful in This Canada.

God bless each one of you

교육 기관: Nina R

May 18, 2020

A very well done course. I have learn a lot about the History of Canada from an Indigenous people's perspective and most important, I have understood and embraced way more their culture, their traditions, their sacred ways to do things and the value that they give to the land and their connection with it. Western world should learn so much about their values and their respect for the environment/land and the human soul. It's priceless. Thank you so much!

교육 기관: Aurelija M

Aug 01, 2017

Fantastic course! Even though I knew quite a bit before, some passages were still incredibly moving to learn, making me angry, reading about the atrocities committed by the settlers. The materials provided were really good, the lecturers were really good. 10/10 would take this course again if I could! Would love to see more of such courses on Coursera as it's super important to learn about the history and how to become an ally, even though being European.

교육 기관: SAMJAILA T

Feb 18, 2018

I am so grateful to the University of Alberta and staff member of this course "Indigenous Canada". It provides a vast knowledge on the people, history, and lives of Aboriginals in Canada which explores a distinct narrative through different forms of art, story telling, painting, interviews, and detail explanation with a great evidence and materials. I am so glad and also thankful to everyone involved in this thought provoking course. Highly recommended !

교육 기관: Carmen R

Sep 21, 2020

THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU! This course was incredible! I am beyond grateful for it and for the information is provided me with. THANK YOU for teaching me, inspiring me to learn more, inspiring to examine my own space and for inspiring me to examine EVERYTHING when it comes to my life in Canada. I am deeply grateful. It is a great disservice that more people are not made aware of the incredible Indigenous history, culture and people. Thank you. xo

교육 기관: Julio C M H

Jul 25, 2020

Although it is a "fast" course, I think that the diversity of topics gives a very complete picture of the history and contemporary socio-cultural problems of the Aboriginal peoples of Canada. Furthermore, despite the fact that they are many topics, the cross-cutting topics that guide all the sections are very good so as not to lose sight of the historical memory and the main problems with which the indigenous peoples in Canada have long had to struggle.