Chevron Left
International Law in Action: A Guide to the International Courts and Tribunals in The Hague(으)로 돌아가기

레이던 대학의 International Law in Action: A Guide to the International Courts and Tribunals in The Hague 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
874개의 평가
175개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

International Law in Action explains the functions of each international court and tribunal present in The Hague, and it looks at how these institutions address contemporary problems. On the basis of selected cases, and through interviews with judges and lawyers, you will explore the role of these courts and tribunals and their potential to contribute to global justice. The first module of the course will investigate how judicial settlement is different from other more political forms of dispute settlement, such as negotiation and mediation. It offers a brief historical overview and introduces the judicial and arbitral bodies based in The Hague. In the remaining modules you will learn about the functions of these courts and tribunals, and some of the challenges and prospects that they face. Three cross-cutting themes tie together all of these modules: (i) The interaction between law and politics; (ii) The continuing role of State consent; and (iii) The ability of international courts and tribunals to protect the public interest and global values. This course offers you an opportunity to gain a better insight into the functions and features of the courts and tribunals present in The Hague. You will gain a familiarity with each court or tribunal. You will develop realistic expectations of their capacity to address contemporary problems and an awareness of their limitations. You will also be able to discuss some of their most prominent cases. If you would like to have a better understanding of international law in action in The Hague, this is definitely the course for you! This course is free to join and to participate in. There is the possibility to get a verified certificate for the course, which is a paid option. If you want a certificate, but are unable to pay for it, you can request financial aid via Coursera...

최상위 리뷰

MV

Apr 29, 2019

It was good overview course about three main international courts in The Hague. The lectures were good structured and clear. Interviews were impressed and made international court practices "real".

TD

Mar 24, 2019

Very informative and quite challenging\n\nThis course has provided me with material and resources to be able to think about larger ideas and the extent to which International Law is important.

필터링 기준:

International Law in Action: A Guide to the International Courts and Tribunals in The Hague의 172개 리뷰 중 126~150

교육 기관: Dan O M M

Aug 31, 2017

Highly recommended!

교육 기관: MOHAMMED D S

Aug 10, 2016

academically useful

교육 기관: Enrique V S

Feb 20, 2016

Muy completo y útil

교육 기관: Aleksei V U

Feb 12, 2018

Excellent. Very i

교육 기관: Aldo G Q

Jul 10, 2016

Excellent course.

교육 기관: Gerrard T

Jul 23, 2018

Great Course

교육 기관: Sooriya A

Dec 30, 2018

Preferable!

교육 기관: Guadalupe P S

Nov 13, 2019

Amazing!!!

교육 기관: Ingrid B w

Feb 28, 2018

excellent!

교육 기관: Jimmy M L S S

Feb 22, 2016

Muy bueno.

교육 기관: MD. A A

Feb 21, 2016

excellent.

교육 기관: Khvtiso M

Jun 22, 2020

The BEST!

교육 기관: carlos d p

Feb 09, 2017

excelente

교육 기관: Julyana M S B

Jan 22, 2018

I adore

교육 기관: Mohsen L G

Oct 11, 2016

good

교육 기관: Ricardo J O

Jan 24, 2016

I will give it a 4, but 3.5 would be my review if the 3.5 mark would be available.

Strenghts of the course: Solid and elegant presentations, good readings, and the interviews presented with the ICJ judge and the PCA secretary added value.

Weakeness and Opportunites: No slides, excessivelly short course in video resources (discounting the interviews, it had about 20-40 minutes of videos, what is clearly insuficient, when benchmarking with other offerings in the MOOC 'arena') and allowing quizzes to be taken on a 2x per hour is not in my opinion adequate. It makes it too easy and fast to finish the course and does not create an incentive to review the materials. Leiden should focus in presenting more specializations in the educational fields that it has reputation - Law, Tax Law, International Studies, in order to capture more value from the current lack of offerings of specializations in that niche markets.

Threats: There is a lot of offerings on the MOOC space, with a finite time availability to make choices. By having courses that are very short, there is the risk that people become inclined to chose other offerings that offer more video resources and other materials.

Besides my opinion - I am a critic by design, thank you for continuing offering courses in this platform.

I wish you luck.

Ricardo Oliveira

교육 기관: Beng K J L

Nov 20, 2019

Only into week 2 of course syllabus and to discover the extremely knowledgeable and powerful ways of how international laws have the effects on the relativity of states and our modern society. The contents of the course were at the same time intriguing to direct and guide on how international laws can protect and serve justice towards peace and understanding. This course also enhances ones ability to understand "personal rights" and how the courts and laws can aid in these current times. Points out the flaws and the ugly side to the realities of the functions of modern warfare and it's dirt!

Clearly astonishing!

교육 기관: Ashley B

Feb 11, 2017

The course itself was well designed and presented, however, there was sometimes too much information included in each sentence for someone who was unfamiliar with the topic. I had to watch several of the videos more than twice in order to note down and clarify the information that was presented. Also, some of the quizzes included information that was briefly mentioned in the videos but not clearly elaborated resulting in some confusion when it was time to complete the evaluation.

교육 기관: Oliver B

Jul 13, 2017

This course is an excellent introduction to the various courts based in The Hague. It is introductory, but has a wide scope and sufficient detail as such. The mode of examination is not too difficult, so it doesn't feel 'prestigious' or anything, but this also means it is low pressure and accessible. I would recommend this course to anyone interested in the institutions.

:)

교육 기관: Sarah P

May 25, 2020

This course was a fantastic introduction to International Law for me. I found some of the readings challenging, but the videos helped create a great framework to work from. I am hoping to take the other MOOCs in this wheelhouse!

교육 기관: Budulla T F M

Jan 24, 2017

A great course with a very good overview on the international courts and tribunals of the hague and is very helpful to the better understanding of internationals tribunals specially for law students in their first years.

교육 기관: Carmelo M

Feb 16, 2016

A very informative and valuable learning experience. Highly recommended for the global citizen striving to navigate the often complex halls of international power and justice.

교육 기관: Pedro M

Aug 30, 2016

Excellent course! I have learnt a lot about international justice tribunals, arbitration and international law. Highly recommended for general knowledge and for law students.

교육 기관: Jose A C R

May 21, 2016

Excellent introduction to the International courts system. More details on Investor-State Arbitration or perhaps a course exclusively on the topic would be great!

교육 기관: Neira D

Feb 12, 2018

The course was very informative, with repeating themes that embedded the information into my memory. Would recommend if you have an interest for the topic.