학생용
Chevron Left
Introduction to Classical Music(으)로 돌아가기

예일 대학교의 Introduction to Classical Music 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
별점
3,181개의 평가
962개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Using a simple and enjoyable teaching style, this course introduces the novice listener to the wonders of classical music, from Bach fugues to Mozart symphonies to Puccini operas....

최상위 리뷰

SL
2019년 3월 6일

Really appreciate Prof. Wright give us such rich content and sophisticated course. I really enjoy and love it. I am looking forward to seeing more high-level courses from Prof. Wright if there is any.

EV
2020년 10월 15일

Wonderful course where Craig Wright delves into all eras of classical music and takes you along for the wonderful ride! Craig Wright is one of the best instructors I have come across! Enjoy the ride!

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Classical Music의 947개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Katie C

2020년 12월 29일

Great course and very knowledgeable professor!

교육 기관: Álvaro D A Z

2021년 1월 3일

Genial. Aprendí y disfruté mucho.

교육 기관: mathy v

2020년 12월 22일

an inspiring professor!

교육 기관: Connor K

2020년 7월 2일

A passable overview of classical music. Somehow it was both too deep and too superficial for me to really enjoy the course. "Let's go super deep on three compositions of one composer, and then oh also here are some other things that were happening at this time." I was hoping we'd engage with a lot of different composers to understand how music changed over time, but it seemed rather slapdash in its approach.

The assessments are my biggest gripe - none of them helped me learn the content any better, and some were downright frustrating because of their complexity and/or irrelevant content.

The professor isn't terribly engaging either, so I ended up moving through the videos pretty quickly except to listen to the music.

교육 기관: Jonathan G

2018년 2월 12일

Interesting course but it had way too many quizzes and was extremely tedious. I would not recommend this course to anyone!

교육 기관: Kaustubh R G

2020년 8월 31일

This course is one of the most unique music courses out there, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Prof. Craig Wright takes you along an amazing journey through the world of music and the high arts. The strongest aspect of this course which makes it outstanding is the parallelism drawn between the historical development of music and corresponding changes in visual art, poetry, literature and even sculpture. For example, not only does this course beautifully cover the musical revolution during the renaissance, but it also gives you a wider context of the ongoing stylistic changes in painting, literature and architecture. The course also helps you get a comprehensive understanding of the life and personalities of the composers In addition to their music. Prof. Wright is a very engaging teacher who will always encourage you to think about and feel the pieces which are analysed. His charisma and charming nature give an extra dimension to this course. The visual tools such as animations go a long way in helping one understand the music more intuitively. Guest appearances from experts and class videos from yale add a cherry on top. I cannot thank this course enough for adding a new dimension to my life and would recommend this course to everyone. trust me, after this you would become a die-hard classical fan.

교육 기관: Sherif M O

2016년 5월 10일

I'm a big fan of Classical music specially of the classical and romantic eras (I listen and practice on piano - my ultimate instrument - too) since many years ago, there were always questions rolling on my head regarding these eras and their most important composers but i never got the guts to search deeply for my answers among the scattered information every where, all this happened before i participated in this course.

On this introductory course, i gained a lot of information and my perceptions of the music generally is expanded hugely in a way i never expected :) :) :)

Before this course i was an ordinary listener, now i'm a much way better listener; and i'm sure this will have a positive effect on my piano practicing too.

Thank you very much Craig Wright, you really did a great job and efforts on simplifying a lot of information and display it in a very easy, organized, and pleasant way, and thank you very much Yale University and every one who participated, supported, and made available any information during the time of this course...you all really made a difference in my life.

교육 기관: Ralitsa P

2021년 4월 5일

My favourite MOOC so far - and I've taken a fair few! I thoroughly enjoyed the exciting and challenging content as a classical music novice. Professor Wright and his team have clearly made so much love and effort in putting this together, thank you so much for keeping the content free and accessible. It felt more than any other MOOC I've taken as a course designed to be studied online as opposed to one that was purely copied and pasted from its original format. The videos from the class were excellent too as well as the demonstrations of the beautiful instruments. It's fantastic to see the link between the different music movements intertwined with the corresponding art movements too as well as the interesting stories about the composers themselves. I hope I can pick up the piano after this course and use it as an inspiration! A huge thank you once again - what an inspiring educational experience!

교육 기관: William L

2017년 2월 18일

Excellent intro course and well produced. The course discusses the various elements that make up the music from different periods. This understanding helps me appreciate the music more and articulate what I like or dislike about a particular piece of music. I was a bit sad after watching the last lecture as I would like this course to go on for longer as I really enjoyed it. It would be great if there could be other courses that goes more deeply analyzing the music of each period.

One comment about Coursera is that it is irritating that the quiz cannot be saved if you don't pay up front. I like to sample the course before deciding whether I want a certificate. By the time I decided I like the course I was too far along to want to go back and retake the quizzes.

교육 기관: Harry M

2020년 7월 24일

This course was excellent! Dr. Wright's presentations were uniformly clear and interesting. I particularly appreciated the fact that he is not a 'classical music snob'! By that I mean, Dr. Wright was able to convey his love of the classical without being condescending towards the more 'popular' pop music. I learned or re-learned (and hopefully retained) a vast amount of information. I must say that I did not partake in discussion groups nor did I read the accompanying textbook or watch many of the suggested YouTube videos. I took this course during the COVID-19 pandemic and the course was an excellent way to focus on beautiful music during this rather dark period of the virus. Not a fan of some of what I thought were confusing quiz questions, but that's OK.

교육 기관: Natacha M

2020년 7월 17일

Excellentissime ! Un merveilleux mix entre une pédagogie à la portée de tout un chacun et l'exigence artistique nécessaire dans ce domaine. Le professeur est en plus absolument charmant et drôle, on s'y attache très vite et ça aide à aller au bout ! Un seul regret : que les XXe et XXIe siècles ne soient pas davantage explorés. Peut-être pour un autre mooc ?

Excellent! A wonderful mix between a pedagogy within the reach of everyone and the artistic requirement necessary in this area. The professor is also absolutely charming and funny, we get attached to it very quickly and it helps to go to the end! Only one regret: that the XXth and XXIth centuries are not further explored. Maybe for another mooc?

교육 기관: Mingkai Y

2019년 8월 8일

Great course! I enjoyed a lot from the journey of western classical music from medieval till contemporary. The teaching style of Dr. Wright is engaging and accessible for beginners. I will come back to the lectures and the YouTube lists of full pieces of music even after the completion of the course. This course further develops my interests in music, and I started playing keyboard synthesizer during the course and am learning music theory. The only thing that maybe could improve is the quizzes. Currently, all the quizzes are multiple choice questions mainly on musical terminology. It would be even greater to have more listening exercises and different kind of assignment like peer reviewed writing.

교육 기관: Andrey T

2020년 10월 7일

I studied piano for a few years as a kid and grew up loving classical music. I don't know if it was because of my music education or despite of it but I am fond of classical music and I regularly go to concerts, operas etc. I have my favorite classical composers, such as Mozart, Haydn and Chopin, and I know their works quite well.

However, I never went through a systematic, end-to-end introduction to classical music before. There were mandatory "musical literature" classes in my musical school but they were awfully boring, and I didn't get much out of them. This course filled this gap in my musical education, and I can only wish I had someone like Prof. Wright teaching music when I was a kid.

교육 기관: Zhe L

2016년 10월 31일

It took me a long time to finish all the videos and quizzes. Great lectures. I need to watch some videos twice or even more times to fully understand the content. And sometimes when I go back and watch a previous video again I can develop deeper understandings of the content in it. The professor gives great comments on music works that help students understand. I wish I could develop such insights sometime. Music theory is interleaved with music history which is great, with the only problem that sometimes too little training is provided (e.g. asking students to distinguish triads in the quiz can be difficult for those who learn the concepts for the first time and do not have training before).

교육 기관: pierre

2021년 3월 27일

Thank you so much to Professor Craig Wright for these wonderful and engaging brief lessons. I have, like so many people, spent time at my piano or on my guitar enjoying music in one form or another throughout my life, but this course has opened yet another door to me as to how I really listen to music and to gain even more appreciation of it. I am in awe of all the great talent of the instructors and at the same time of their humble attitude as they relay the material of the course. My playlist has somewhat changed as a result of this course as I have so much to explore and can only look forward to more discoveries. Thank you again to all involved for making this possible. Pierre Wery

교육 기관: Mario C

2020년 7월 12일

First of all, thanks to Yale University and Professor Craig for the wonderful Introduction to Classical Music course.

This course helped me understand why I feel the way I feel when I listen to some pieces of classical music. I have always loved listening to classical music, but I had not had the opportunity to learn about music. After the course, I understand a little more about my satisfaction when I listen to classical music.

Speaking about the course, I have to admit that it was a real challenge for me, because I am not an English speaker. This fact obligated me to watch at least 3 times each video. Despite the language difficulties, the course was a real pleasure for me.

교육 기관: Lisa G

2020년 7월 22일

I have thoroughly enjoyed this course. I’ve never studied music in any way before, and having this on line course enabled me to study from home in the UK (during lockdown) and learn so much. I decided to purchase the certificate after putting in so much effort, however, the course is still freely available to all students which is amazing. I thought the videos were excellent and the course also introduced different elements of the arts as well, e.g. architecture and art work, and it then showed how this related to the musical world. I think Prof Wright and his colleagues are great. I would recommend listening to all the bonus content and You tube playlists as well.

교육 기관: Stefania D

2020년 4월 19일

I am enthusiastic about this course! It is clear but rigorous and so engaging.

Prof Craig is a perfect teacher, friendly but inspiring! Every student can see immediately how much he loves his matter and loves teaching. The mix of talks, examples at the synthesizer, paintings or pictures and drawings, original performances and talks with experts is so lively and stimulating. I was really sad when I finished, I would have wanted to go ahead for ever.

I hope that Prof. Craig will teach other courses on music; I will register for sure to any proposal from him in the future.

Thanks so much for this experience and best wishes to Prof Craig and his team!

교육 기관: Stéphanie L

2017년 1월 16일

Professor Craig Wright is a passionate teacher and music lover who makes information easily accessible to anyone regardless of previous musical knowledge. I can better appreciate music since I've taken this course, simply because I can understand it better. I can identify musical styles, periods, and even composers. Pr. Wright shares anecdotes on composers and events that make the history and theory easier to remember. I have to admit that I wasn't sure if I'd like his teaching style when I watched the first few videos, but I was quickly converted. Professor Wright is so endearing and funny! An expert, really. I absolutely loved this course.

교육 기관: ANASTASIA C

2021년 2월 1일

Taking this course was one of the best things I've done in my life. I took this course during the COVID -19 lockdown and couldn't get enough of all the fascinating things I was learning and I thoroughly enjoyed the fantastic journey I took in the history of classical music and art. Being a pianist myself, I found the material in the course so rich and interesting, it gave me even great motivation to study, practice and listen to music. Professor Wright was incredible, his way of teaching and delivering was impeccable. I will always be grateful for what this course has offered me, I wish I could start all over again! Thank you!!!

교육 기관: Ilze B

2016년 10월 18일

Absolutely lovely, wonderful and incredibly engaging course. I developed a habit to watch the lecture on my way to and from work and couple of times almost missed my stop to get out. :)

I used to listen to classical music before taking the course, because I simply liked the feel it created. This course has allowed me to listen to it more intelligently, to know and recognize more of what I actually hear, and in case of postmodern music, explained nicely what are the elements that over time have become reasons for me not really liking it.

Long story short, I use this course as an example to tell friends how amazing Coursera is.

교육 기관: Miren J

2020년 6월 21일

This is an excellent course! I completed it during the "lockdown" due to the Corvid19 as I have had a lot more time on my hands, and it has been a wonderful experience. Craig Wright is a fantastic teacher and the course is extremely well put together with a really good combination of music, music theory, biographical information about the composers profiled and general art history too. I used to play the flute, and the course has inspired me to pick up my flute (for the first time in over ten years) which has also been a lot of fun. If you have any interest in classical music, I wholeheartedly recommend this course.

교육 기관: Roger G

2020년 8월 7일

Great course! I have sang in our church choir and our community symphony choir for many years but I learned music terms which aids in my music comprehension. The quizzes were challenging and required some outside resources (especially identifying the different triads). I have taken a music appreciation course at my local college but this course went into greater depth in music theory and history. I have taken 7 online courses from various universities but this is the finest course I have taken. Kudos to Professor Wright and his staff for constructing an outstanding course. Submitted by Roger Gray, Canton, Ohio , USA

교육 기관: Jagannath S

2018년 4월 3일

Excellent. I thoroughly enjoyed the course. My sincere thanks to Prof Craig White and his colleagues. Apart from his knowledge and skill, I am deeply impressed (and positively influenced) by Prof White's enthusiasm to teach the program and make it interesting to learners. I had zero exposure to any type of classical music before - but now i have developed a sincere appreciation of western classical music. I still struggle with identifying the scales and notes :( but that means i need to listen more. Overall, i loved the program. Thanks to Yale University for creating this.

교육 기관: Dawn S

2020년 7월 14일

Fantastic course! I can't say enough about it! I enjoyed it from beginning to end! Great professor, great videos, great format, tying in art to music to the great human experience! This class has it all drama and passion from these past great composers and artist, I can say learning about the human side of these artist helped me to appreciate one universal truth about creative people they are innovators, often misunderstood and usually have to leave this plan of existence to be really seen and appreciated. Thank you so much for this course it was utterly fantastic