Chevron Left
Investments I: Fundamentals of Performance Evaluation(으)로 돌아가기

일리노이대학교 어버너-섐페인캠퍼스의 Investments I: Fundamentals of Performance Evaluation 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
706개의 평가
159개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

In this course, we will discuss fundamental principles of trading off risk and return, portfolio optimization, and security pricing. We will study and use risk-return models such as the Capital Asset Pricing Model (CAPM) and multi-factor models to evaluate the performance of various securities and portfolios. Specifically, we will learn how to interpret and estimate regressions that provide us with both a benchmark to use for a security given its risk (determined by its beta), as well as a risk-adjusted measure of the security’s performance (measured by its alpha). Building upon this framework, market efficiency and its implications for patterns in stock returns and the asset-management industry will be discussed. Finally, the course will conclude by connecting investment finance with corporate finance by examining firm valuation techniques such as the use of market multiples and discounted cash flow analysis. The course emphasizes real-world examples and applications in Excel throughout. This course is the first of two on Investments that I am offering online (“Investments II: Lessons and Applications for Investors” is the second course). The over-arching goals of this course are to build an understanding of the fundamentals of investment finance and provide an ability to implement key asset-pricing models and firm-valuation techniques in real-world situations. Specifically, upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: • Explain the tradeoffs between risk and return • Form a portfolio of securities and calculate the expected return and standard deviation of that portfolio • Understand the real-world implications of the Separation Theorem of investments • Use the Capital Asset Pricing Model (CAPM) and 3-Factor Model to evaluate the performance of an asset (like stocks) through regression analysis • Estimate and interpret the ALPHA (α) and BETA (β) of a security, two statistics commonly reported on financial websites • Describe what is meant by market efficiency and what it implies for patterns in stock returns and for the asset-management industry • Understand market multiples and income approaches to valuing a firm and its stock, as well as the sensitivity of each approach to assumptions made • Conduct specific examples of a market multiples valuation and a discounted cash flow valuation This course was previously entitled “Financial Evaluation and Strategy: Investments” and was part of a previous specialization entitled "Improving Business and Finances Operations", which is now closed to new learner enrollment. “Financial Evaluation and Strategy: Investments” received an average rating of 4.8 out of 5 based on 199 reviews over the period August 2015 through August 2016. You can view a detailed summary of the ratings and reviews for this course in the Course Overview section. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

최상위 리뷰

DH

Nov 12, 2016

This was a fantastic course, with a realistically attainable amount of material, and a humble, knowledgable professor whose teaching style makes a normally difficult topic very easy to understand.

KL

Dec 07, 2017

Professor Weisbenner is fabulous! He is able to make anyone understand complex investment topics through his delivery and curriculum design. You are missing out not taking Investments from him!

필터링 기준:

Investments I: Fundamentals of Performance Evaluation의 154개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: A G M A T

Aug 21, 2020

This course was really amazing. I'm a mathematics student and I've done project on Black-Scholes model and in future, I intend to do thesis on CAPM, 3 factor and multi factor model which I learnt from this course. Thanks a lot to Prof. Scott Weisbenner and all others related to this course.

교육 기관: Rajesh J

Nov 14, 2018

Outstanding course. The best amongst all Coursera courses I have taken so far. The course was very comprehensive and had a great amount of detail. Looking forward to enroll in the second part of the course.

교육 기관: Pranav S

May 03, 2020

Great course which adds a lot of knowledge. Highly appreciate the humor and creative ways of teaching of Professor Scott who keeps the entire course very informative, detailed and yet very interesting.

교육 기관: Amod T

Apr 09, 2020

The concepts are very well explained with practical examples.The real world examples makes us understand the concepts better and gives us a better understanding of implementing them.

교육 기관: ARVIND K S

Jun 23, 2019

Excellent course with huge nuggets of theoretical wisdom complemented by practical techniques through Data analysis and solver. A must for every investment enthusiast and manager.

교육 기관: Mohammed S A

Dec 16, 2016

Lectures are nicely delivered!!! BUT videos of lectures should be confined within 15 minutes and be cited data sources and how to we can see and obtain data aswell

교육 기관: Kenny S

Dec 19, 2018

Amazing! Shed light on so many questions that I didn't even know to ask and corrected a lot of assumptions I had wrong. Loved this class. A must take class.

교육 기관: Vannisastantin W

Sep 02, 2020

This course is very resourceful and full of useful information that can help me understand accounting and finance information a lot better!

교육 기관: Megan S

Nov 11, 2019

This course is heavy but I learned so much and the information is very relevant and helpful for better understanding financial investments.

교육 기관: Petri T

Aug 30, 2017

Great course and professor. Packs a lot of information and did not find any mistakes. Very smooth course overall. Highly recommended.

교육 기관: Marcelo G L

Nov 21, 2016

Excellent! Professor Scott Weisbenner was brilliant and explained very carefully all lessons, one of the best MOOCs on Coursera!

교육 기관: Anton A

Aug 03, 2020

The course will be usefull for those who is going to start theit career in investments or to understand basics of investments.

교육 기관: Palito J E

Jul 11, 2020

very good combination of learn material, how the professor teach, through case of real world examples, thanks a lot!

교육 기관: Mauri M

Nov 28, 2016

Professor Weisbenner provides practical, data driven analyses to investment management in a fun and engaging manner.

교육 기관: Matthew S

Oct 19, 2020

Excellent Professor with a sense of humor to a somewhat dry subject. I would definitely take a class of his again!

교육 기관: Andre L S F

Sep 10, 2019

I've been using Coursera for almost four years. This course was my best experience so far. Extremely recommended!

교육 기관: Yingyi Z

Jun 09, 2019

Very informative (in fact it's more informative than most Coursera courses I've encountered), but easy to follow.

교육 기관: Bo L

Nov 21, 2018

love the course! professor is very funny and extremely knowledgeful! very educational, learned alot in the class.

교육 기관: VICTOR T

Aug 10, 2020

Very good class, i really liked the explanations and cases discussed; the module is very well connected, Congr

교육 기관: Stephen K

Apr 10, 2019

This course takes hard work, but if you put in the time, it is well worth it. The professor is top-rate.

교육 기관: Trungnhan P

Mar 22, 2017

Thank you, Professor Scott Weisbenner, for an excellence course that you put your heart and passion into.

교육 기관: Pierre L

Dec 09, 2016

Absolutely excellent course. Excellent introduction to investment even without a background in Finance.

교육 기관: Deepak

Dec 30, 2016

Great learning experience. The video's are long but will definitely help you and your personal wealth.

교육 기관: Alexandros C

Sep 14, 2020

Excellent course with plenty of historical data with thorough analysis and very nice presentation.