Chevron Left
Søren Kierkegaard - Subjectivity, Irony and the Crisis of Modernity(으)로 돌아가기

코펜하겐대학교의 Søren Kierkegaard - Subjectivity, Irony and the Crisis of Modernity 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
547개의 평가
151개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

It is often claimed that relativism, subjectivism and nihilism are typically modern philosophical problems that emerge with the breakdown of traditional values, customs and ways of life. The result is the absence of meaning, the lapse of religious faith, and feeling of alienation that is so widespread in modernity. The Danish thinker Søren Kierkegaard (1813-55) gave one of the most penetrating analyses of this complex phenomenon of modernity. But somewhat surprisingly he seeks insight into it not in any modern thinker but rather in an ancient one, the Greek philosopher Socrates. In this course created by former associate professor at the Søren Kierkegaard Research Centre, Jon Stewart, we will explore how Kierkegaard deals with the problems associated with relativism, the lack of meaning and the undermining of religious faith that are typical of modern life. His penetrating analyses are still highly relevant today and have been seen as insightful for the leading figures of Existentialism, Post-Structuralism and Post-Modernism....

최상위 리뷰

AB

Jul 03, 2018

An excellent course on Kierkegaard's use of irony. The teacher is great and the lectures are very interesting. I loved the interviews and the views of Copenhagen. Thanks a lot. Greetings from Madrid!

GH

Aug 30, 2016

Really worthwhile and informative, in-depth review of Kierkegaard as a person, his life, and his works. Can be taken even if you've never touched philosophy before. Great production and selections.

필터링 기준:

Søren Kierkegaard - Subjectivity, Irony and the Crisis of Modernity의 148개 리뷰 중 126~148

교육 기관: Kenner D

Jun 06, 2017

Mt bom!!

교육 기관: Emil

May 09, 2018

D

o

n

e

i

t

교육 기관: Martin J

Nov 26, 2016

I found the course quite interesting overall and it is delivered by an excellent professor. It's a perfect introduction to Soren Kierkegaard's ideas and life. On the (slightly) negative side, sometimes I felt there was too much emphasis on the biographical details with a very light discussion of the philosophical concepts. However, I don't want to misled anyone with this: the course is very enjoyable. I would definitely recommend it to anyone interested in Kierkegaard's philosophy.

교육 기관: Manoj J

Jan 24, 2016

I loved the manner in which the course contents were delivered. The course teacher know the art of articulation. He knows how to teach complex ideas in a simple manner without loosing its essence of the argument. I was so immersed in his lecture, one full night I watched his lecture and finished 80% course material. I wish I could deliver a lecture like it. A big salute to an inspiring teacher.

교육 기관: Angela R

Mar 26, 2020

This was a very interesting course. I have taken quite a few philosophy classes and this was by far the most difficult as it wasn't just really one just one person. It was as if I was taking a refresher class on Socrates as well as Kierkegaard and his views. I became hard to keep it straight about who thought what. But it was a ride worth taking in the long run and I learned a great deal.

교육 기관: Galina G

Apr 12, 2017

Excellent course, most especially for the professor, whose lucid, well-cadenced lectures were more interesting and comprehensible than I would have thought before starting the class, given the subject. Reading Kierkegaard is not easy, and having a professor who presents the topic with such clarity is a gift.

교육 기관: Eric M

Jul 18, 2016

This course is interesting, though the main theme--i.e., how Socrates was a model for much of Kierkegaard's views--gets to be a bit redundant. Also, I did not find the final assignment to be as stimulating/interesting as the course material.

교육 기관: Barry T

Apr 11, 2017

This is an excellent course. The production values are very high and Dr. Stewart is a very good lecturer. I highly recommend this course for anyone interested in the history of thought and/or the intersection of theology and philosophy.

교육 기관: Ruby H

Jan 18, 2016

Enjoyable, very interesting and easy enough to follow. I love how broad yet simultaneously specific the scope of learning is in this course too.

교육 기관: Melinda M

Sep 05, 2016

Prof. Stewart is amazing! He is able to take very complex concepts and make them understandable to a neophyte like me. Thank you very much.

교육 기관: Freddy S

Jan 06, 2016

Very well presented course, but in my view could be somewhat more to the point. Nevertheless, congratulations for a job well done.

교육 기관: Ali V

Jun 07, 2017

thanks to the instructor, this course is a mediating one between an introduction and a scholarly contribution to kierkegaard.

교육 기관: Ronald J B

Apr 23, 2016

I do not intend to write the final essay. I took the course for personal interest and accomplsihed my goals.

교육 기관: Johannes d W

Jun 17, 2018

Great course, I like the way it is organized and how the main theme is always clear.

교육 기관: Iskandar L

Dec 28, 2016

professor jon stewart is a walking kierkegaard

교육 기관: James L

Aug 02, 2016

I love the lectures! Challenging and rigorous.

교육 기관: Deanna M

Oct 28, 2017

Good detail without being boring.

교육 기관: Accelerator

Nov 05, 2019

readings are interesting!!

교육 기관: Breeze S

Apr 11, 2019

A lot of information, without an engaging course and video. I liked what I was learning but, watching the videos quite literally put me to sleep.

교육 기관: Joy S

Mar 10, 2016

long lectures, hard to understand material. Filmed in interesting locations relating to subjects. Not easy but worth the effort

교육 기관: James S

Mar 23, 2017

Asked for more feedback for peers that found my final paper insufficient. Received nothing! Asked for guidance from staff. Received nothing! Excellent course with great content but I have issues with the evaluation process when peers and staff do not participate in the advertised methods of communicating their concerns with my work!

교육 기관: Vitaly K

Jun 01, 2019

If the course content is still interesting and informative, then no one evaluates the final essay for weeks, and there is also no direct contact with the course supervisor (Dr. Timothy Hall).

It is also necessary to take into account the fact of non-objective assessment of the essay.

So keep in mind that you most likely will not be able to complete the course and receive your certificate in time. I recommend the course exclusively for free familiarization.

교육 기관: Nancy W

Nov 14, 2016

Rather uninteresting presentation. I found it hard to become interested in the course or Kierkegaard after having high hopes of truly enjoying it. The best parts of the lectures were when the instructor was taped at venues pertinent to the course. The peer reviewers were not always fair, in my opinion. I'd spend my time elsewhere, personally, especially since this course was something for my own personal edification and not a requirement.