Chevron Left
Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects(으)로 돌아가기

맥마스터대학교의 Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
61,571개의 평가
17,338개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course gives you easy access to the invaluable learning techniques used by experts in art, music, literature, math, science, sports, and many other disciplines. We’ll learn about the how the brain uses two very different learning modes and how it encapsulates (“chunks”) information. We’ll also cover illusions of learning, memory techniques, dealing with procrastination, and best practices shown by research to be most effective in helping you master tough subjects. Using these approaches, no matter what your skill levels in topics you would like to master, you can change your thinking and change your life. If you’re already an expert, this peep under the mental hood will give you ideas for: turbocharging successful learning, including counter-intuitive test-taking tips and insights that will help you make the best use of your time on homework and problem sets. If you’re struggling, you’ll see a structured treasure trove of practical techniques that walk you through what you need to do to get on track. If you’ve ever wanted to become better at anything, this course will help serve as your guide. This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or prior to, its companion course, Mindshift. (Learning How to Learn is more learning focused, and Mindshift is more career focused.) To join the fully translated Portuguese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprender To join the fully translated Spanish version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprendiendo-a-aprender To join the fully translated Chinese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/ruhe-xuexi To join the fully translated French version of the course, visit : http://www.coursera.org/learn/apprendre-comment-apprendre...

최상위 리뷰

JS

Aug 14, 2017

I really appreciate the time these guys invested in this course and am willing to take it again if they re-explain some topics in order to refresh some things that with time haven't stayed in my mind.

BA

Nov 06, 2016

Amazing course, I learned a lot of new techniques for self motivation, and effecient learning. Now, I feel more confident to take further steps in improving and developing myself. Thank you so much :)

필터링 기준:

Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects의 10,000개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Carol2017

Dec 26, 2017

fine

교육 기관: Liem P F

May 24, 2020

This course provides soft skills needed for continuous improvements which enhance my learning capabilities. It covers conceptual and practical approach to learn effectively and efficiently. Thank you!

교육 기관: Alexander

Sep 14, 2015

It is great learning course brought me clear understanding strong structure of how to learn more effective. I regret only about one, that I didn't passed this course when I started learning at school.

교육 기관: Ivan B

Jun 14, 2017

The course has useful information, but I think it was a little superficial and too focused on studying for exams, instead of focused on studying for your professional life or just intelectual self development.

교육 기관: Anastasiia P

Jan 28, 2020

I have finished the course, but I can't understand why everyone is giving such a high rating. Each and every advice in this course can easily fit in one 5 mins video and honestly I have learned far more simply by looking for learning techniques on youtube several years ago (I think now you can find even more information!). I thought in this course I could learn something new and interesting, but it was beyond measurement boring. I came to a point where I just made the quiz without looking the video or reading the text, because it is pretty obvious what the right answer is and you do not need to bore yourself with time-wasting videos or texts.

To sum things from this course up: everyone can learn better through avoiding procrastination, focusing for short period of time, rewarding yourself for good results and doing basic stuff like training and good sleep. Here you go, the whole course content in one sentence!

Save your time and certificate money (! I really don't know who would pay for such a crap!), it does not worthy to waste your resources on this course!

교육 기관: Leena

Mar 21, 2018

The reason I gave just 1 rating is nor because course is well designed or bad content. I gave simply 1 rating because inspite of very intresting course content, voice quality is very bad. Specially when Barbara speaks, I tried to listen her with higest volume but she was not speaking louder enough.So I decided to sto stop the course. I didn't even complete week 1. I LOST MY INTEREST

교육 기관: Rohan M

Oct 06, 2017

I am very much grateful for the video. But I find the videos very much boring. Further, the concepts were not new as well. I believe that rating and giving an honest feedback would help the community.

교육 기관: Nirmal S

Oct 18, 2015

Practical tips are few, and neuroscience is not the title of the course, but is widely discussed. The title implies "Tools for learning" but I didn't get anything useful out of this course.

교육 기관: Liliana S R M

Feb 01, 2016

This course did not motivate me at all. Videos where mainly repetitive and the questions seemed to be there to serve no purpose.

교육 기관: mohamad w a

Sep 09, 2019

its too bad course

교육 기관: Marwan S

May 21, 2017

not very useful

교육 기관: Thierry D

Jul 23, 2016

nul de chez nul

교육 기관: Neeraj K

Mar 18, 2016

waste of time

교육 기관: kevin b

Sep 29, 2016

I

교육 기관: Jacques K

Jul 05, 2019

Exceptional course. I work on personal development now for 13 years, have for example read from scott h young a decade ago - and now he is interviewed here and mentioned. Great to see one of my "teachers" featured here.

I have a bachelors and masters degree, recently got some more hard certifications (AWS cloud architect and developer) and needed a way to even learn more and more efficiently in the future both for work / career and personal life.

iI want to learn davinci resolve video cutting, improve in photography, photoshop. lightroom.

As mentioned, i have been working towards personal dvelopment for 13 years, read though about 50 books and 1000 pages of blog posts, but never retained much info - now i have the tools to retain that info, test myself on it, and use spaced repetition to retain it for a decade. Discuss it with my wife to even more deepen the knowledge. Use pomodoro and other techniques to really do my courses 100 percent and not loose interest after 10%.

Thanks Barbara and Terence for this great course which is a lifechanger for me even after i already gained so much knowledge in my past 38 years on this earth.

This course should be mandatory in every school education all of the world as it explains the PROCESS of learning and not just focused on the PRODUCT. I wish, i knew about this course when i was 15 or even 20 years only (now that i am 38).

교육 기관: Hongmei L

Mar 24, 2019

I decided to take several online courses to help advance my career, and all of them are new subjects to me. When I was at school, I had no problem passing all the tests needed, but I don't feel I retained the knowledge as well as some of my classmates did after the semester (and all the tests) was (were) over. Nowadays in real life, there are projects to be completed and I kept on procrastinating to the last minute. It's rather stressful to handle work responsibilities this way. I am grateful that this course provides many practical techniques that I can utilize in my daily work and my self-learning plans, from how to avoid procrastination, how to retain more from what is learned, to how to make weekly/daily learning plans. Highly recommended to anyone who is serious about learning and is looking for strategies to learn effectively.

교육 기관: Nikita K

Jun 09, 2020

Прекрасный курс!

Мой фидбэк будет покрывать не только данный курс, но еще и книгу A Mind for Numbers, т.к. я читал ее параллельно курсу.

Данный курс помог мне понять и освоить многие вещи, связанные с процессом обучения в целом. Проходя его ты узнаешь как работает память, зачем надо хорошо высыпаться за день до экзамена, почему групповая работа важна и как быстро выводить себя из состояния прокрастинации. Здесь так же стоит сказать, что сам курс довольно хорошо освещает все эти темы и многое другое, но все видео довольно коротенькие, и сама информация подается в сжатом виде. В этот момент на помощь приходить книга Думай как Математик. И она вовсе не про математику. Эта книга - как детальный путеводитель, дополняющий курс и помогающий осваивать некоторые из техник, предлагаемые за время курса.

교육 기관: tio w

Jan 19, 2019

As someone who has taken "the science of everyday thinking" on EDX, I thought there'd be no online courses that are as insightful, transformative, and broadly applicable in life as it is until I discovered "Learning how to learn" on Coursera. Although both share some similar advice and tips, LHTL has a much more in-depth look at human brains' way of absorbing and processing information from a neuroscientific point of view. Not to mention that both instructors are highly respected and excellent at presenting knowledge throughout the whole course. I genuinely hope that this course can reach more and more people trying to lead a more productive and meaningful life.

교육 기관: Anna S

Jun 03, 2020

This course provides excellent strategies to improve memory when learning and to increase understanding without spending hours studying material. In addition, the course instructors do not waffle - they get to the point fast and so, this course does not feel heavy or boring to learn, but a large amount of valuable material IS covered! There are a tonne of eclectic resources provided and learners can go as deep as they want into improving or developing their own learning techniques with guidance from this course. I highly recommend this for educators as well as learners.

교육 기관: Valentin L K

Feb 09, 2020

A very comprehensive course on the subject of learning. I have used the research-backed methods taught in this course to improve my learning and not only did I gain a better understanding of the material I was studying but as an adult/lifelong learner, I use the techniques in this course to retain a lot more of my daily reading on various subjects.

I also strongly recommend (to everyone not just Math/Science majors) reading Dr. Barbara Oakley's "A Mind for Numbers" - which is a very useful complementary text for the course.

교육 기관: Xhely

Apr 17, 2020

I really loved this course. It wasn't love at first sight, of course, and the first date didn't catch me at all. But as I progressed, I became more and more interested, until I finally loved it.

It is a course that I recommend for people of all ages, as we are constantly learning throughout life. But I recommend it above all to parents, as this way they can guide their children much better in the learning process.

I would have loved to know this material long before, but it's never too late :) I learned a lot,

Thank you!

교육 기관: Swan L

Jun 03, 2020

Thank you for this course. I've been out of the structured learning environment for a while now, and this course not only instilled some good learning habits (anybody can do one or two Pomodoro), knowing the why behind these habits helped. So now, when my brain gets foggy, I step away from my books / computer and go do something else that allows me to switch my brain to a different mode.

교육 기관: Tatsiana S

Jan 28, 2019

This course is really beneficial! I am so amazed that every statement here is based on proven scientific facts. And we can use every piece of knowledge from this course in our real life. I could not stop to return to this video day by day until I finished. It is really the first course on Coursera I have completed. I appreciate authors amazing work and look forward to Part II.

교육 기관: OMAR C

Jun 16, 2020

This is by far one of the best personal development courses I've completed. I hope I would have found this course earlier in my career.This is highly recommended to anyone, especially students who are in the path of learning so they can 'Learn how to Learn'.I'm going to ask my daughter to take this course as well.Thanks to Dr. Oakley and Dr. Sejnowski for design this course.

교육 기관: Kenneth A L

Feb 08, 2020

This is a brilliant course. It has taught me so much. Sometimes I was skeptical as when it was suggested that switching from focused to diffused mode of thinking can solve problems: but I tried it out and it really works! Chunking, memory, testing, procrastination avoidance etc.; all are covered and the techniques used allow you to really learn and master a subject.