Chevron Left
Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects(으)로 돌아가기

심층적인 교육 솔루션의 Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
77,035개의 평가
21,751개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course gives you easy access to the invaluable learning techniques used by experts in art, music, literature, math, science, sports, and many other disciplines. We’ll learn about how the brain uses two very different learning modes and how it encapsulates (“chunks”) information. We’ll also cover illusions of learning, memory techniques, dealing with procrastination, and best practices shown by research to be most effective in helping you master tough subjects. Using these approaches, no matter what your skill levels in topics you would like to master, you can change your thinking and change your life. If you’re already an expert, this peep under the mental hood will give you ideas for turbocharging successful learning, including counter-intuitive test-taking tips and insights that will help you make the best use of your time on homework and problem sets. If you’re struggling, you’ll see a structured treasure trove of practical techniques that walk you through what you need to do to get on track. If you’ve ever wanted to become better at anything, this course will help serve as your guide. This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or prior to, its companion course, Mindshift. (Learning How to Learn is more learning-focused, and Mindshift is more career-focused.) A related course by the same instructors is Uncommon Sense Teaching. To join the fully translated Portuguese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprender To join the fully translated Spanish version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprendiendo-a-aprender To join the fully translated Chinese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/ruhe-xuexi To join the fully translated French version of the course, visit : http://www.coursera.org/learn/apprendre-comment-apprendre...

최상위 리뷰

BH
2015년 11월 13일

I found this course to be incredibly helpful. I am 33 and wish that I would have been taught a more efficient way of learning many years ago. There are definitely some great takeaways from this class.

GG
2016년 9월 9일

This is a course which I enjoyed. It gave a good insight of the learning methodologies which we have often heard of but not given due importance. Also, the brain facts is cool :) My 5/5 to this course

필터링 기준:

Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects의 10,000개 리뷰 중 151~175

교육 기관: Vsevolod K

2019년 1월 16일

Powerful mental tools!

교육 기관: Pranjal C

2020년 6월 8일

Brilliant Course

교육 기관: N V L

2019년 1월 29일

Excellent course

교육 기관: Shivani M

2020년 6월 9일

It's amazing

교육 기관: Ian P

2020년 7월 21일

I have taken more than two dozen online courses in a wide range of subject. This is an excellent course filled with universal practical skills and insights to make the most of your own learning potential in any subject or discipline. Just as useful are the tools and tips provided to overcome the most prevalent bad habits and ingrained behavior that impede learning.

The material is presented primarily through short video lectures (less than 10 minutes) in plain spoken English accessible to high school students yet useful to scholars and life-long learners at any age or level. The lectures are supported with abundant supplemental optional videos from learning experts and scholars along with reading from popular articles and professional literature. The lectures are comprehensively documented with references. My only regret is that I didn't learn what is taught here very early in my academic career.

교육 기관: Mahender K

2020년 6월 8일

User friedly style of the lecturers Barb and Terry impacted possitively and enhanced my comprehenssion as well as retention. I even managed to achieve 96% marks. For me, it has been a great course for rejouvenating my memory as well as boosting my confidence. Mahender Khari, London

교육 기관: Nefeli V H

2020년 11월 24일

Great content, poor presentation. Mostly interesting for young/new students, especially the last part with more practical tips on how to better learn, study and take tests. First parts are very insightful on the functioning of the brain and how memory works.

교육 기관: Yechuri K

2020년 6월 9일

Its really an amazing first journey with coursera. The content provided through this course was exquisite.

i have understood all those key mistakes i make while learning and all those obstacles i face while studying.

Mrs. Barbara Oakley [ hats off]

교육 기관: Dr. P P

2020년 6월 9일

fantastic. the quizzes were really helpful. But some lectures were extended unnecessarily. Like that famous scientist with a big name that babara mentioned that she read the biography.

교육 기관: Nadia E V M

2021년 3월 9일

Pienso que las entrevistas opcionales fueron de gran valor. Lo único que cambiaría sería el diseño, se me hizo un poco anticuado.

교육 기관: Alexandria W

2020년 10월 28일

Informative, but not ground-breaking. A nice place to start if you're not sure Coursera is for you.

교육 기관: Sakshi S S

2020년 6월 9일

Very nice explanation

교육 기관: Emil M

2015년 8월 31일

There were some interesting insights coinciding with my own experience of learning (I have learnt 8 languages by myself). Particularly the part about chunking was a really good one. On the other hand, Week 4 focusing on how to pass a test in my opinion jumbled the previous material up - passing a test doesn't mean knowledge, it means ability to pass a test. Half of the questions used in the final Quiz shows that this course itself has tried not to develop chunks they were recommending but to make students memorize the content of the video without checking whether or not the content was actually understood and "chunked" into real knowledge.

So, a better name for this course would be "Learning how to learn academically". As for me, I appreciate non-academical knowledge. Kids master their native language without getting the ability to teach it - and this is the true knowledge even though in the farewell video prof. Sejnowski equalized the ability to teach to the knowledge.

교육 기관: olga d

2016년 12월 4일

This course targets mostly students audience, but not people with the aim of self-development, who passed their academic study long time ago. Therefore, information concerning learning process somehow too much basic, but at the same time can be quite useful if you are not aware of all these facts. What didn't also suit me is a lack of structure and a bit confusing videos explaining different concepts of brain structure and functioning, that seemed too much scientific in the frame of this course. But what really hit my interest is enthralling optional interviews with different scientists and just talented people. They were really motivating and inspiring!

교육 기관: R. R

2021년 6월 14일

Эту бы воду да в засушливые регионы, или лесные пожары в Калифорнии тушить... Я прослушал лекции за две недели. Нового — нуль. Всё эти рекомендации, метод Помодоро, интервальное обучение, польза сна — всё баянистые баяны. А, и самое в этом весёленькое: рекомендация «Сфокусируйтесь!» Да если б у меня не было проблем с концентрацией, нужен был бы мне курс о том как учиться?! Ещё одна чудесная вишенка — интервью с разными персонажами. Да на кой ляд мне рассказ старушки о том, как ей помог этот курс, если курс ниочём? И это, как насчёт неприкрытого манипулирования и навязывания студентам ошибки выжевшего? Очень, блин, научно.

교육 기관: Mark C

2015년 8월 16일

Meh.

I appreciated the new perspectives on learning, and the smaller chunks of video and assignments (which allowed me to spread the work out over the week).

The "Thanks for Learning about Learning" phrase was fine for the course introduction and the final module, but became annoying as the closing phrase. of. every. video.

Dr Sejnowski's skills are reading a teleprompter distracted me - I suggest doing some practice and redoing the videos when the TP won't be such a distraction (watching his eyes track back and forth didn't do it for me).

교육 기관: Luis G d l F

2019년 7월 25일

Very good material for high school, college or university students. Not enough for more serious applications such as business people or researchers. Course challenges / Things nor properly addressed:

- Relationship of Learning to emotions and meaning. - Skills depvelopment vs Academic learning - What drugs / supplements are good to improve learning, besides doing exercise. - More info about subconscious, emotions and their impact on learning. - Please do not include links you need to pay / subscribe (NYT)

Thks for all.

교육 기관: Vaibhaw R

2020년 8월 26일

This is a really very theoretical course, not really sure how much I can use this in real life. Let's see.

교육 기관: M

2019년 6월 17일

Based on the reviews I read, my expectations for this course were pretty high. However, the course ended up being very basic and I didn't learn any new learning technique. I think that for most people who have Googled study methods at least once, they will already be familiar with most (if not all) of the methods introduced in the course. The material may be useful for someone totally new to studying, but even then I would not recommend taking it. You can learn just as much is less time watching YouTube videos or reading brief guides on procrastination and learning techniques.

The quality of the course was also disappointing. The volume in each video jumped up and down across lessons or when different speakers took the lead. I am surprised to see there's so much hype around this course despite its simplistic content and poor quality. I've taken more than a dozen courses at Coursera so far and this one doesn't even come close to the best ones I took.

I'd recommend finding something better to invest your time on.

교육 기관: Jack M

2017년 9월 12일

It really didn't help, and all the test questions and answers were jumbled and hard to understand. And i found it extremely difficult to follow along with the videos which just made my quizzes that much harder. It's a good course and all, just not organized and everything the people were saying sounded exactly like the last one. Good idea and concept just not well prepared.

교육 기관: Matthew B

2019년 1월 12일

Some interesting information is presented that could be potentially helpful to students, teachers, & curriculum developers. However, there is little of practical value beyond a few simple statements, e.g. "Spread out your studying over several days." Or "Trying to remember is better than re-reading." Additionally, the course does not practise or model what it preaches.

교육 기관: Arman Z

2019년 5월 23일

Most of the information I learned was either already known to me or not that effective. I prefer more exercises and practical methods that would teach me discipline and let me implement the methods I've learned. The tests after each material are good and helpful for remembering the information; however, they are not practical to implement the methods themselves

교육 기관: Gleb A

2017년 8월 26일

The content is nice -- a few useful techniques with some scientific foundations, but why Barbara after EACH video reminds us her name, and this strange arrows with very unpleasant sound in the start of the videos about chunking -- why? There are a lot of things I can not understand in the production part, but overall course is worth taking in 1.5x+ speed.

교육 기관: Oeuvrard S

2017년 2월 27일

I found difficult to navigate within the course and the style of the course is not very modern. I felt difficult to follow the whole program, which might be also linked to my level of English that might not have been good enough, considering the technical vocabulary used in the program. However some interesting and very concrete tips to learn

교육 기관: Ali A

2015년 9월 3일

This will be an excellent course for undergrads and high school students but not much in depth knowledge and learning strategy for higher levels of education.

Teachers show mastery on their subject matter , though their presentation style is not genuine and naturally animated, to the point that it may feel boring.