Chevron Left
Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects(으)로 돌아가기

심층적인 교육 솔루션의 Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
82,379개의 평가

강좌 소개

This course gives you easy access to the invaluable learning techniques used by experts in art, music, literature, math, science, sports, and many other disciplines. We’ll learn about how the brain uses two very different learning modes and how it encapsulates (“chunks”) information. We’ll also cover illusions of learning, memory techniques, dealing with procrastination, and best practices shown by research to be most effective in helping you master tough subjects. Using these approaches, no matter what your skill levels in topics you would like to master, you can change your thinking and change your life. If you’re already an expert, this peep under the mental hood will give you ideas for turbocharging successful learning, including counter-intuitive test-taking tips and insights that will help you make the best use of your time on homework and problem sets. If you’re struggling, you’ll see a structured treasure trove of practical techniques that walk you through what you need to do to get on track. If you’ve ever wanted to become better at anything, this course will help serve as your guide. This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or prior to, its companion course, Mindshift. (Learning How to Learn is more learning-focused, and Mindshift is more career-focused.) A related course by the same instructors is Uncommon Sense Teaching. To join the fully translated Portuguese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprender To join the fully translated Spanish version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprendiendo-a-aprender To join the fully translated Chinese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/ruhe-xuexi To join the fully translated French version of the course, visit : http://www.coursera.org/learn/apprendre-comment-apprendre...

최상위 리뷰

MC

2019년 10월 28일

I enjoyed this course so much. I learned a lot about how I can become a better learner. This course was very interesting and useful. I have some tools that I can use to optimize my learning potential.

RS

2021년 12월 31일

This class really focused on the process of learning. It taught me so much. I even shared ideas with my college and high school student. They were surprised as some concepts were helpful to them also.

필터링 기준:

Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects의 10,000개 리뷰 중 626~650

교육 기관: Madina N

2020년 11월 13일

That course was extremely mind-shifting toward better, full of energy and the value life. I am grateful for the insightful technics and interviews with extraordinary people. Along with other resources that I was reading during completing the course it persuades me to change my daily routine, to plan the day work at night before, and make Pomodoro tracker my partner in completing all kinds of cognitive tasks. The way of organization of the course makes all underlined technics and concepts stick in your brain, so I do not have any fears to forget it. Thank you for the unforgettable experience and your contribution to my new lifestyle.

교육 기관: Денис Е

2021년 4월 4일

I liked the course.

I want to emphasize the main points:

1. Helped to understand that there are different ways of thinking.

2. If you are unable to focus quickly and memorize a lot of information, then you belong to a creative group of people.

3. That I can train my brain.

4. Running helps to create new ideas and solve complex problems

5. How to train memory

6. In order not to procrastinate, you need to focus on the process, not the result

7. It's important to practice

8. The best memorization and assimilation of knowledge is a recollection in a new place of what you have learned, and also share this knowledge with others

Thank you!

교육 기관: Angela H

2020년 7월 7일

I've generally been a good student for most of my life but I was interested in what this course had to offer. I was very pleased with the subject matter and it helped me really figure out how I could learn new and challenging concepts more effectively, as well as why I had trouble with certain subjects going through college. I really wish I had this knowledge when slogging through math and chem classes for my undergraduate studies! The instructors are very personable, professional, and knowledgeable. I think that anybody can benefit when learning how to learn, and I cannot wait to apply these techniques and new insights to my life.

교육 기관: Li L

2018년 5월 22일

Thank you so much for teaching us this important lesson in my life! Truly inspiring, and useful. I found it drastically improve my effectiveness in my studying. I used to lose confidence in my science subjects, thinking I am just lacking the so-called "math/science talent", but I found out from this course that it's actually the problem of my methods! Now I am implementing the methods I have learnt from this course, and improve my grades dramatically. Now I am recommending this course to my friends who are struggling with their studies, helping them with what I have learnt.and I believe this will help! After all, thank you so much!

교육 기관: Chris H

2016년 8월 3일

I found this course extremely helpful in doing exactly what it proposes to do. It breaks down ideas on how to study more efficiently, as well as focusing on retention. I especially enjoyed the week focusing on procrastination, as I have a hard time with that to point debilitation at times. This course has helped me to view things I would ordinarily avoid and I now try to make them a challenge or a goal to overcome. The course did not take so much time either, there is no reason you could not fit this into your schedule. I definitely recommend this course to strangers and I have already suggested it to my friends and family as well.

교육 기관: roberto p d

2019년 4월 28일

Ha sido un Curso de muy elevado nivel. Con un formato excelente con preguntas de práctica que me ayudaron mucho a comprender, nuevas formas de aprender, a utilizar la memoria y me siguen entusiasmando para estudiar, más y mejor.

Agradezco a TODOS los profesores, especialmente a la Profesora que dirige los videos, su calidad al presentar los mismos. A los científicos y especialistas en el estudio del cerebro que me han dado una nueva visión de, como somos y de cuánto provecho podemos obtener de nuestras potencialidades! A todos, Muchas Muchas Gracias , desde Uruguay los recomendaré y los recordaré SIEMPRE! Roberto Pagola Uruguay!

교육 기관: Matt C

2017년 9월 17일

Absolutely phenomenal. This course should be required for an person who owns a human brain. Dr.'s Oakley and Segnowski have given the world a great gift in this course. The theory resonated with my personal experience over the years and really helped me connect the dots around how my mind works. I was able to apply the practical suggestions immediately (and in fact while taking the course to the course itself!)

This tools I've learned in this course have helped me become more productive in my work and home life and even beyond that I've been able to use what I've learned to help my kids with their schoolwork. Wonderful stuff.

교육 기관: Bojana

2018년 10월 22일

Huge thank you to Dr. Barb Oakley and Dr. Terry Sejnowski for this invaluable gift. I wish I had been taught how to learn before starting school, instead of stumbling blindly through by using my own methods (though it turns out many of them correspond with the concepts of this course).

Dr. Oakley - this course is now in my memory palace associated with an image of you holding the octopus of attention in one hand and a flying mule in the other, all three perched atop my window sill and no taller than 4 inches :)

I promise to teach as many of the concepts I've learned here to people around me who need to know them.

Thank you so much!

교육 기관: Jozra G V P

2018년 2월 17일

I'm doing a PhD on Physics and Astronomy in prestigious university in UK, so one would think I have mastered learning. Nothing would be farther from true, I spent many years in the usual way of learning, which did not leave me with deep knowledge, it was just for the tests. This course have showed me the right tools for really learning, it has brought to my attention several key aspects I inadvertently dismissed when study previous degrees. More importantly it proved me that no matter how old you are, or how far you have advanced in higher education and academia you can still learn how to be better at learning! Fantastic course!!

교육 기관: Micheila

2015년 11월 8일

Phenomenal course content delivered in fun, easily digestible chunks. I loved the references to the latest neuroscience and the stories of hard work and perseverance that led to success, like Santiago Ramon y Cajal. The bonus/extra reading was really helpful and entertaining as well (especially about writing and languages).

It was a real pleasure to have taken this course, my first with Coursera. I wish I'd known this stuff 15 years ago when I was in university... I fell into the trap of re-reading as a learning technique.

I'm telling everyone I know about Learning How to Learn, particularly those who are currently in university.

교육 기관: Abhay B

2020년 9월 20일

The course on learning to learn was immensely helpful. The content presented here was non-trivial, insightful, original and very well presented. I used some of the new techniques that I learned in this course to master the course material itself and also had an easier time completing the final test. I am very confident that the techniques that I've learned from Dr. Oakley and Dr. Sejnowski will help me become a better student and a software engineer. I would love to be associated with this team and learn about newer research and developments that can help me get more out of life, perhaps a "Learning How to learn - Part 2" ?

교육 기관: Luana O S

2020년 7월 4일

I encourage everyone to take this course! The teachers and instructors are amazing, the content is really useful, especially if you are in school, college or just learning in general. Learning How To Learn changed my way of approaching different subjects, by showing study techniques and tips to use in exams and tests that are effective. The neuroscience content also really helped me to understand how the brain works and show me important daily habits that i can bring to my life to help strengthed my mind and take better care of my wellbeing. A huge thank you for everyone involve in this MOOC! Congratulations for the good work!

교육 기관: Huiyi L

2017년 7월 24일

It is really a fantastic course, which I am more than willing to introduce to my families and friends. I have applied some of the techniques I have learned from the course, and they are useful and effective. It also debunks some myths regarding learing. But what I think is the most important is that it have changed my mindset. It alters my conception of learning, and even of other things in my life. I feel lucky having a chance to take this course. And Now I am taking another course of Barb andTerry (Yes, it's Mindshift! ). It's glad to see them again, and to learn something new that will also have a profound impact on my life.

교육 기관: Lhamo T

2015년 10월 16일

I really wish that I had the chance to take this class while i was in college or before I went to college. I was such a dumb that I didn't have these great techniques and I just wasted my 3 year college life. When I recall my college life, I just didn't learn much. I just went for the exams. It's pathetic honestly; however, now I have learned the GREAT tools from this class that I am going to teach all to my brother who is a sophomore in college now, and learning never ends that I can apply all the tools into my life long learning. Thanks a lot for offering such an incredible class for free.

I DEFINITELY RECOMMEND THIS CLASS.

교육 기관: Salvador B L

2020년 7월 3일

When I started this course I was eager to learn and grow, I was already familiar with the pomodoro technique and I did use it some time ago but for some reason I lost the habit. Understanding why it works, along with other concepts such as chunking, the zombie mode, procrastination, the focused and diffuse mode of learning/concentrating is so interesting and eye opening. What I learned through this 4 weeks I will take it with me forever and I'll share this knowledge with everyone I can, It's a must! I'm happy that I was part of this journey, thank you dr. Barbara and Terrence for this class and god bless you. Namaste everyone!

교육 기관: Tejashree T

2020년 6월 4일

Wow, this course.There is so much of information online, so many videos, apps, articles on "How to improve your learning skill?". Like most of the people, I have read a lot about it, indeed. They all had little effect on me. It was all random.Trust me and take this course. It is an organized learning platform and will for sure help. I'm no extraordinary person but I already feel the better change in me. This course has given me a whole new perspective on learning. I got to know my past mistakes. I have changed my way of learning new things for good, to effective and efficient ways. Huge thanks to the whole team of this course!

교육 기관: Piotr M

2020년 4월 18일

I really liked the course, it was very interesting to find out how the process of learning work and why it is important to review information. When I ma learning something new on the internet i just want to go to the next step of the course or training to finish it fast and i never wanted to go back to the part that i already passed. It was like: " yee i have done the assignments and passed the test, so i don t have to go back". But now i understand i have been a little stupid in my approach and reviewing things i have learned is good thing and not counterproductive. Thank you for your teaching it was great experience for me .

교육 기관: Julian C

2015년 11월 29일

Learning How to Learn is an excellent class for individuals wanting to polish their rusty learning skills, and expand their learning tool-kits. I especially enjoyed learning about new ways to learn, how other people learn, the common struggles many of us experience, and the latest in research on learning. The tools, suggestions, and topics have already helped me expand my Chunked Mental Library. Useful resources were also provided; I purchased the book Fluent in 3 Months by Benny Lewis and signed up for the Publicationcoach.com. I can't wait to dive into these resources. Thank you for a fantastic course. Julia, Carlsbad, CA.

교육 기관: Leo S

2016년 1월 31일

It changes my mind about learning, long term before I encountered this course, I knew it must be something wrong in my learning method which conduct a very ineffective learning-product. This neuroscientific based course enlightens me in scientific learning and makes me start to think seriously about how to learn more effectively. It's really a great honor to encountered this course, and I'm sure it would be one of the most powerful asset I ever had in my lifetime. My sincere gratitude to Dr. Barbara Oakley, Dr. Terrence Sejnowski, How to Learn Team and all the interviewees invited. Thank you for all your great insights on me.

교육 기관: Souvik B

2022년 2월 21일

I have taken almost 9 mooc courses in 2 years in various fields. But this is the only course that I have finished and also in time! 😅 It is such a great course and the tests or assignment are very very useful and interective that I didn't even feel that this is a online course than It is far better from our offline courses. I highly recommend to anyone of you who are willing to go through this course. And lastly I will thank Prof. Barbara Oakley and Dr. Terrence Sejnowski to make this such a great course and all the great interviewers and also my peers who helped me complete this course. Very very thanks to all of you. 🙏❤

교육 기관: Tony C

2019년 11월 29일

It's a fantastic course. It has shed light on all the learning problems i have been facing in my career. My career needs me to keep updating myself. But I lost track over a period of time. Things I need to learn accumulated over a period of time and when I looked at them it was overwhelming. That's when I started taking this course. It has highlighted all the mistakes I have been doing learning and gave me tools address them .

Thank you so much Professors.

For other learners like me, a piece of advice: Watch the optional interviews given in the course. They are real eye openers. You get to hear a lots of stuff from legends.

교육 기관: Ostap A

2016년 1월 28일

This course is great. I'd say I became an evangelist of this course. I told about it to lots of my co-workers and I already feel I'm getting better at learning.

One of the main issues I always suffered with was "cramming everything on 1 day". I still believe I did the same during this course. But now, at least, I recalled the material from time to time in various places, explained it to my co-workers, listened to summary videos from time to time and testedmemorizing various stuff using memory palace technique.

This is a great course! Barbara & Terrence, thanks a lot!

Best wishes & thanks for learning how to learn!

Ostap Andrusiv

교육 기관: Peter K

2019년 7월 18일

I have been struggling with reading, and the more I read the better I have become at reading. Problem solving has improved greatly!

I am 67 years young, and look forward to new challenges everyday!

My hobbies include Photography, tinkering with devices [fixing them] also gardening, if it does not grow this year try next year! I consider failures as successes as long as I learned from the experience.

My deep appreciation goes out to Barbara Oakley [I am also a veteran US Navy I crossed the Pacific and Indian oceans] so I also have a deep respect for all the people who have taken this course no mater where they live and reside!

교육 기관: Shubhra S

2017년 4월 12일

This course has been a wonderful resource about learning and I feel it has equipped me with many efficient tools of learning such as The Pomodoro technique, the importance of sleep, the importance of subconscious mind and the diffused mode of thinking and various ways of grasping the material and retaining it in our long term memory such as recall, testing, and spaced repetition and all of this has only made me a better learner. So I am really grateful to Coursera for giving us the opportunity to learn, and to our instructors, Barbara Oakley and Terry Sejnowski for dedicating their time and compiling such an amazing course.

교육 기관: Jennifer M

2015년 12월 10일

This class is wonderful! I learned so many different things about the brain, thinking, memory, tools, tips for more efficient studying, and the list goes on. This is the first step in my journey, and I will take all that I've learned here and apply it not only in my future studies, but my daily life as well. Thank you Coursera for offering such wonderful opportunities for people to gain knowledge and understanding on many levels. And finally, ( the best for last ) Thank you so much to the fantastic professors for making it fun and funny at times, for all the wonderful tools and for the opportunity to Learn how to Learn.