Chevron Left
Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects(으)로 돌아가기

심층적인 교육 솔루션의 Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
82,352개의 평가
22,904개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course gives you easy access to the invaluable learning techniques used by experts in art, music, literature, math, science, sports, and many other disciplines. We’ll learn about how the brain uses two very different learning modes and how it encapsulates (“chunks”) information. We’ll also cover illusions of learning, memory techniques, dealing with procrastination, and best practices shown by research to be most effective in helping you master tough subjects. Using these approaches, no matter what your skill levels in topics you would like to master, you can change your thinking and change your life. If you’re already an expert, this peep under the mental hood will give you ideas for turbocharging successful learning, including counter-intuitive test-taking tips and insights that will help you make the best use of your time on homework and problem sets. If you’re struggling, you’ll see a structured treasure trove of practical techniques that walk you through what you need to do to get on track. If you’ve ever wanted to become better at anything, this course will help serve as your guide. This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or prior to, its companion course, Mindshift. (Learning How to Learn is more learning-focused, and Mindshift is more career-focused.) A related course by the same instructors is Uncommon Sense Teaching. To join the fully translated Portuguese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprender To join the fully translated Spanish version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprendiendo-a-aprender To join the fully translated Chinese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/ruhe-xuexi To join the fully translated French version of the course, visit : http://www.coursera.org/learn/apprendre-comment-apprendre...

최상위 리뷰

MI

2015년 10월 2일

This is an amazing class. It makes my professional life easy as well as my personal life. Everybody should take this class, and also the teachers are brilliant about all subjects that we see in class.

RS

2021년 12월 31일

This class really focused on the process of learning. It taught me so much. I even shared ideas with my college and high school student. They were surprised as some concepts were helpful to them also.

필터링 기준:

Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects의 10,000개 리뷰 중 676~700

교육 기관: Patricia S

2021년 1월 19일

One of the most informative classes I have ever taken. The research was fascinating! The use of visuals and videos made even the most complex and challenging topics easy to understand. The sharing of specific techniques and varied styles of teaching were also helpful. The team approach to teaching and sharing of knowledge was terrific. The recommendations for additional reading/learning were/are much appreciated. Read Dr. Oakley's book 'A Mind for Numbers - How to Excel at Math and Science (Even if you flunked Algebra), as I was taking the course and am now reading Moonwalk with Einstein by Joshua Foer.

교육 기관: VERONICA D U

2021년 1월 11일

Amazing material. The curse contains information highly recommended for everyone than wants to study effectively, or wants to learn and doesn't feel capable, or wants to make the best out of their time.

Every new technique to learn better is backed up by research, and all the material used to make this lectures is also on the references for people to go deeper into it.

I was a little bit sceptic at the beginning of the course, but this is not one of Coursera's number one classes just because: this is a fundamental class that, if taken seriously, will work as a base to keep building knowledge in other courses.

교육 기관: Karen T

2020년 9월 29일

One of the best courses I've taken in Coursera thus far. I consider myself as someone who works well once I’ve discovered how certain systems work, which is why I find it incredibly important that this course taught me how mind works. Being able to understand the different modes of thinking has also allowed me to embrace my humanity and actually be okay with it – that is, because I used to think that resting and sleeping are usually counterproductive for when I’m trying to learn. I find this course essential to people of all age brackets and sizes! It helped me understand my potential and actually act on it.

교육 기관: Mehmet K

2019년 11월 5일

Bu kurs hakkında bulunan yorumlardan birçoğu İngilizce olduğu için Türkçe açıklama yapma gereği hissettim kendimden çünkü bu kursu her İngilizce bilen her insanın, özellikle hayat boyu öğrenme gayreti olacak insanların, almasını şiddetle tavsiye ettiğim 2 tane eğitim ile ilgili uzmanlıkları olan Profesörlerin birtakım işlevsel ve bilimsel tanımlar, örnekler, tüyolar ve kazanımlar vererek "öğrenmeyi öğrenme" konusunu başarılı şekilde aktarıyorlar. Kurs ücretsiz lakin belli bir plana uymayı gerektirebilir verim almak için. Belki de Coursera ya da MOOClar arasındaki en faydalı kurslardan biri diye düşünüyorum.

교육 기관: Wenye Z

2017년 7월 27일

Great stuff! I had a blast with these videos - kinda literally, as I played nearly everything at 1.75x the speed. It was still really fun though, and very useful as well. To be honest, many of the topics that were touched upon were things I had vaguely figured out through my own experiences. However, this course has crystallised and validated those ideas to the point where I feel confident in applying them in real life. I'm absolutely certain that some of my past frustrations with learning were from NOT following the advice here. Thank you for this course! It will help me a lot for my current career-change!

교육 기관: Hisham E

2015년 9월 7일

The concepts of chunking, diffused and focused mode or learning, memory, recall, spaced repetition and and beating procrastination through immersing in the process that leads to a product were beautifully introduced in this course by Barbara Oakley and her co-instructors. The material is presented in such a nice way that makes someone readily identify with what one needs to do in order to become a better learner.

I recommend this course to everyone regardless of how skillful at learning they are. Understanding your brain and memories is a nice exercise on your road to mastering tough subjects. Kudos Barbara

교육 기관: Pore J

2015년 8월 14일

I registered the course in order to help me understand more about my brain and improve my learning ability. That’s satisfied!

The first week, I feel like both of professors are so weird and the video lectures like the 1960s movie. Surprisingly, after the first week I was looking forward to see them and the next session. I very much enjoy it. I like the course content- understanding how the brain work and how to get better brain.

I am very much happy that I had undertaken the Learning How to Learn course. And thank you so very much Dr. Barb Oakley and Dr. Terry Sejnowski for this course. Happy learning ever :)

교육 기관: Kumar M

2019년 8월 29일

The course was very well detailed and helped me broaden my understanding of the learning process much much more. Both the teachers taught in a very interactive way and I very much liked their teaching style. The bite-sized tests at the end of each video were very helpful in retaining the key parts of the material. I am very sure that this course that I just finished will help me in all areas of my life and definitely will help me learn faster and more effectively, now that I have a brief knowledge of how our brain works. I will recommend this course to anyone who wants to learn, "How to learn effectively".

교육 기관: Isaac B

2020년 7월 31일

Extraordinary course!Wonderful teachers who are enthusiastic, passionate, and entertaining conveying these simple but Highly effective tips and techniques to make learning easy.Deep insights into the working of the mind, and how it works has helped me battle procrastination, become task oriented (by focusing on the processes not the product), and taught me the secrets to retain what I have learned.It's a wonder that this course isn't taught in every school. I went through 12+ years of education and this information was never taught to me.Thank you for this free and powerful course.To a life of learning!

교육 기관: Payal T

2020년 5월 24일

I am 35 and this course took me back to my school/college days and i could really compare that yes unknowingly i was applying, the well defined techniques of this course , by default and those helped me really well in achieving my dream career. I remember i used to write every illustration to feed it in my permanent memory. Also i used to thoroughly read the entire theory part before starting the mathematics illustrations. So i understand and can relate to this course very practically but yes there are enumerous value additions that this course has made in my learning way. Thank you Barbara and Terren.

교육 기관: Lucas V

2017년 7월 21일

Can you imagine a course that can change your life? Learn how to learn is a course like this! I'm 29 old and I'd like to had the opportunity to took this course fifteen years early. Whatever I'm profoundly happy to know better how my brain works. How to improve my memory, how to avoid procrastination, to avoid impostor syndrome and a lot of very interesting stuff. I'me a lecturer in Brazil and I will spread the contents of that course to a thousands of brazilian people. Everybody needs to know this contents. My special thanks to Barbra Oakley, Terence Sejnowski and Coursera's team! You made a great job!

교육 기관: kathryn

2015년 11월 6일

This course has been utterly brilliant. I almost cannot describe the important things I've learnt, the new techniques to try and the confidence it's given me. I am hoping to study a Masters of Research next year, however, it's been a long time since I've done any formal study. This course has given me the confidence to believe I can be successful in my studies, as well as the techniques to make sure that is true. I would recommend it to *anyone* who is considering a new course of study after a period of non-study. This course gives you the tools and confidence to study anything. It is utterly brilliant.

교육 기관: Eugen M N

2022년 2월 10일

This is one of best course i have ever studied. it has expanded my thinking and has increased my confidence in facing any educational challenge. what i have inn thie course in four weeks has given me a different vision about learning anything new. I encourage everybody in all works of life to to try this course just for the pleasures of learning, i bet you, you will want to keep learning. The instructors were superb in their presentations and teaching style. Infact i want to learn a new language. Remember your brain never came with an intructor manual. kudos to DR Barbara Oakley and Dr Terry Sejnowski

교육 기관: Charchit

2019년 6월 15일

The thing is I love learning new things and try continuously to learn new skills. And that's the reason this course attracts me. After completing this course I came to learn about my brain and its working and how can I use my brain more efficiently. Also came to know about various techniques few I already using, few I learnt new and came to know what I was doing wrong.

So I would recommend this course to all students out there. Also recommend it to those who like to learn new things or trying to switch career by learning.

This course gives insight how can you do better in your academic/professional life.

교육 기관: Matthew S

2017년 7월 10일

All the content in this course is really interesting and useful. I watch it at 1.5x speed most of the time.

This class should be required education before attempting to learn anything else. The idea that nearly all students are expected to learn subjects without having first being taught how to learn is ridiculous.Note to Barbara Oakley for whoever is managing this MOOC: Please remove the repetitive superfluous phrases from quizzes, "as several of the videos mentioned," "as one video emphasized," etc. Just remove all references to the videos. They are unnecessary, and only make the quizzes take longer.

교육 기관: manjit s

2020년 5월 6일

THIS Course is extremely useful for every one.The way Barbara Oakley explains is fab .I would recommend any one who is sitting free to utilize their time by doing this course u will love it professor Terrence Sejnowski teaches the working of our mind that will be great help for people not only for particular subjects like maths and science but in each part of life. One could apply THESE principles can take a full control over the procrastination. The course teach exactly what we need to overcome procrastination and will be enjoying various process in their life.Why r u waiting for enroll it now.

교육 기관: Armando F

2016년 2월 13일

Muy buen curso, creo que todos los estudiantes desde la educación primaria, deberían tener una capacitación previa en el sentido del aprendizaje, y en las herramientas que permiten una mayor retención de lo aprendido. Cuantas veces hemos estudiado alguna materia solo para poder rendir un examen y luego en el tiempo nos damos cuenta que no podemos recordar absolutamente nada de lo que habíamos leído. La base fundamental no solo es adquirir nuevos conocimientos sino que ademas puedan permanecer en nuestra memoria de manera permanente, y este curso proporciona herramientas muy importantes para ese fin.

교육 기관: Renato G d S

2016년 10월 15일

Very good insights. It is nice to understand how your brains works when it is involved on a leaning process. And even though, it uses some concepts and tips we already know, it is also important to rethink about then, for knowing something exists does't mean you use it properly.

The teacher are just spectacular. The lessons are really enjoyable. And i found it quite useful to learning and practice English.

The questions on the and of each video are very good. They are obvious most of the time but, by reading then, we use the recalling process taught on the second week, and it helps us to chunk then.

교육 기관: Bohdan P

2020년 4월 23일

ENG|UA This course is very powerful. There are a lot of interesting and, what is important, helpful information and practice advices how to use your brain more effectively. And the main teller – dr. Barbara – has a very nice voice, so listening to her is not only interesting, but also enjoyable. Don`t think – JUST JOIN and ENJOY IT!

Надзвичайно корисний та захоплюючий курс. Багато практичних порад, підкріплених багатьма дослідженнями, та інтерв'ю з фахівцями у своїй сфері, які діляться своїм досвідом з навчання. Тому не тягніть кота за хвіст, а реєструйтеся на курс) Приємного навчання про навчання!

교육 기관: Shuchao

2017년 2월 28일

This course is awesome. Dr. Oakley has taught many helpful skills on how to learn. But for me, the most important and most helpful thing, is that you are not born to become who or born to be specifically proficient in some subjects. As long as you learn with right methods, you can learn anything. For long I've been trapped and handicapped by the "einstellung" that I'm not a math or physics learner. Now I'm completely confident that all I need is to walk away from the comfort zone and learn efficiently with those useful and scientific methods. Many thanks to Coursera and the course team. Thank you!

교육 기관: Timothy J M

2022년 1월 18일

One of my college professors recommends this course to all of his students. Compared to my normal courses, this class was a breeze. The focus of this course isn't to be difficult though, it's for people of all ages and professions to understand what techniques to employ or avoid in order for them to better acquire and retain knowledge. If you have a free week, and spend a round an hour a day listening/watching this rather then that next TV drama series you plan to binge you can easily breeze through this course while learning some information that could help you learn some valuable life skills.

교육 기관: Diego C

2017년 9월 3일

Great course. Very useful techniques, easy to understand concepts and helpful to make you more productive. I learned how to stay focused in my studies, keep the information in my memory for more time, how to avoid procrastination, how to prepare for a test and the importance of stress management before test. Also, which part of the material I should focus on when I'm learning new topics. I recommend this course for everyone who's focused in develop yourself and learn techniques that help to learn fast and more easily. The last month was great. Thanks for all. I'm a new student after this course.

교육 기관: Kelly J K

2015년 9월 14일

This course was invaluable to me in teaching best practices for learning. I consider myself a lifelong learner and have been seeking useful techniques for learning difficult material and retaining new material. I didn't take to any suggestions from a previous informal "study habits" mini-course, and for over a decade, I just resigned myself to not being intellectually able or disciplined enough to tackle certain subjects, but Professor Oakley's teachings encourage me to mount and master learning mountains. This was a fantastic course, and I have already recommended Prof. Oakley's work to others.

교육 기관: Maria-Elisa D

2020년 7월 22일

I am 50 years old, I love learning, and I keep on learning! I took this course to get "how to" learning tips to share with my elementary students and my 11 year-old son in their studies; however, even though I have a bachelor's degree and I thought I knew enough techniques on how to learn, I found myself learning interesting and very efficient techniques that I had never heard of before.

I recommend this course to any student, no matter their age, to learn how to efficiently increase their retention capabilities and even how to relieve stress prior to testing.

Thanks Dr. Oakley and Dr. Sejnowski!

교육 기관: CHRISTOPHER B

2018년 2월 24일

This Course was hands down phenomenal and so fundamental for anyone wanted to facilitate a better understanding in how are brains work and process information. If you ever once wonder why sometimes you beat information into your cranium and come to find out a few days later you forgot everything, well this course will explain and talk about focused mode and diffused mode of learning. I would highly recommend this course to anyone looking to be a well rounded and efficient learner. I would like to thank the amazing instructors for this course and this opportunity to grow and enhance our brains.