Chevron Left
Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects(으)로 돌아가기

맥마스터대학교의 Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
66,467개의 평가
18,836개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course gives you easy access to the invaluable learning techniques used by experts in art, music, literature, math, science, sports, and many other disciplines. We’ll learn about the how the brain uses two very different learning modes and how it encapsulates (“chunks”) information. We’ll also cover illusions of learning, memory techniques, dealing with procrastination, and best practices shown by research to be most effective in helping you master tough subjects. Using these approaches, no matter what your skill levels in topics you would like to master, you can change your thinking and change your life. If you’re already an expert, this peep under the mental hood will give you ideas for: turbocharging successful learning, including counter-intuitive test-taking tips and insights that will help you make the best use of your time on homework and problem sets. If you’re struggling, you’ll see a structured treasure trove of practical techniques that walk you through what you need to do to get on track. If you’ve ever wanted to become better at anything, this course will help serve as your guide. This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or prior to, its companion course, Mindshift. (Learning How to Learn is more learning focused, and Mindshift is more career focused.) To join the fully translated Portuguese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprender To join the fully translated Spanish version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprendiendo-a-aprender To join the fully translated Chinese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/ruhe-xuexi To join the fully translated French version of the course, visit : http://www.coursera.org/learn/apprendre-comment-apprendre...

최상위 리뷰

LF

May 24, 2020

This course provides soft skills needed for continuous improvements which enhance my learning capabilities. It covers conceptual and practical approach to learn effectively and efficiently. Thank you!

AK

Aug 18, 2017

It was a wonderful journey of learning how to learn. Simple and effective. Wish i had come across something like this a little early in life. But better late than never. Keep up the good work. Thanks.

필터링 기준:

Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects의 10,000개 리뷰 중 126~150

교육 기관: Akash S

Jun 03, 2020

THE coursee was awesome i have learned many new things

교육 기관: Vishal D

Jun 08, 2020

The world needs courses like this. Thank you so much

교육 기관: Amr E

Jan 16, 2019

Amazing and useful course..it’s really help me

교육 기관: Lin J

Jan 14, 2019

很赞,改变了自己对学习的很多看法,能够让自己更好地,更有效率地安排时间和进行学习。

교육 기관: ISHANI C

Jun 09, 2020

It will really help you in learning.

교육 기관: Симкина Е И

Jan 28, 2019

Very informative and super useful!

교육 기관: Suzan H

Mar 25, 2019

We love learning how to learn

교육 기관: Кучер А Д

Jan 27, 2019

Very good and usefull course!

교육 기관: Arash F

Jun 09, 2020

It was Fantastic

Thank you

교육 기관: Sandra M

Jun 08, 2020

Interesting and useful :D

교육 기관: Tiesta D

Jun 09, 2020

Great course! LOVED IT!

교육 기관: Vsevolod K

Jan 16, 2019

Powerful mental tools!

교육 기관: Pranjal C

Jun 08, 2020

Brilliant Course

교육 기관: N V L

Jan 29, 2019

Excellent course

교육 기관: Shivani M

Jun 09, 2020

It's amazing

교육 기관: Ian P

Jul 22, 2020

I have taken more than two dozen online courses in a wide range of subject. This is an excellent course filled with universal practical skills and insights to make the most of your own learning potential in any subject or discipline. Just as useful are the tools and tips provided to overcome the most prevalent bad habits and ingrained behavior that impede learning.

The material is presented primarily through short video lectures (less than 10 minutes) in plain spoken English accessible to high school students yet useful to scholars and life-long learners at any age or level. The lectures are supported with abundant supplemental optional videos from learning experts and scholars along with reading from popular articles and professional literature. The lectures are comprehensively documented with references. My only regret is that I didn't learn what is taught here very early in my academic career.

교육 기관: Mahender K

Jun 08, 2020

User friedly style of the lecturers Barb and Terry impacted possitively and enhanced my comprehenssion as well as retention. I even managed to achieve 96% marks. For me, it has been a great course for rejouvenating my memory as well as boosting my confidence. Mahender Khari, London

교육 기관: Yechuri K

Jun 09, 2020

Its really an amazing first journey with coursera. The content provided through this course was exquisite.

i have understood all those key mistakes i make while learning and all those obstacles i face while studying.

Mrs. Barbara Oakley [ hats off]

교육 기관: Dr. P P

Jun 09, 2020

fantastic. the quizzes were really helpful. But some lectures were extended unnecessarily. Like that famous scientist with a big name that babara mentioned that she read the biography.

교육 기관: Sakshi S S

Jun 09, 2020

Very nice explanation

교육 기관: Jake E P

Sep 22, 2016

What was helpful to me was: the discussion on spaced repetition, which boosted my confidence in applications like Duolingo and Memrise, and helped me discover Anki. The pomodoro technique is nice to know about, though I have rarely used it so far. I think I was already at the point where I don't need an actual pomodoro timer to get into that mindset. The best two things I probably got from the course was changing my way of thinking from focusing on product to focusing on process (though not always possible of course), and using recall to test myself on what I know rather than reading things over and over and just hoping it's gone in.

What I didn't like about the course was the presentation style, the pace, the content density (very low in my opinion), the irrelevant information, the hand-wavey explanations, and so on. The absolute worst of it was the full recommendation for using analogies but with no attempt on explaining how to make *good* anaologies. This is key. Most analogies I come across are misleading for all aspects of a thing but their very narrow scope, and sometimes the thing itself too (after all, you usually make them when you're first learning about a thing, unless you're teaching) and so without knowing how to make good anaologies while they are good for memory they are on average bad for understanding, and I don't think that can be stressed enough.

교육 기관: Vaibhaw R

Aug 26, 2020

This is a really very theoretical course, not really sure how much I can use this in real life. Let's see.

교육 기관: Marcos P

Jun 17, 2019

Based on the reviews I read, my expectations for this course were pretty high. However, the course ended up being very basic and I didn't learn any new learning technique. I think that for most people who have Googled study methods at least once, they will already be familiar with most (if not all) of the methods introduced in the course. The material may be useful for someone totally new to studying, but even then I would not recommend taking it. You can learn just as much is less time watching YouTube videos or reading brief guides on procrastination and learning techniques.

The quality of the course was also disappointing. The volume in each video jumped up and down across lessons or when different speakers took the lead. I am surprised to see there's so much hype around this course despite its simplistic content and poor quality. I've taken more than a dozen courses at Coursera so far and this one doesn't even come close to the best ones I took.

I'd recommend finding something better to invest your time on.

교육 기관: Jack M

Sep 12, 2017

It really didn't help, and all the test questions and answers were jumbled and hard to understand. And i found it extremely difficult to follow along with the videos which just made my quizzes that much harder. It's a good course and all, just not organized and everything the people were saying sounded exactly like the last one. Good idea and concept just not well prepared.

교육 기관: Matthew B

Jan 12, 2019

Some interesting information is presented that could be potentially helpful to students, teachers, & curriculum developers. However, there is little of practical value beyond a few simple statements, e.g. "Spread out your studying over several days." Or "Trying to remember is better than re-reading." Additionally, the course does not practise or model what it preaches.